HIST 2C: World History from 1700 to the Present (Spickard, Spring 2024): Recommended Primary Source Databases for this Class

Collections are arranged into 8 subject modules:

• Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle
• Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War
• Women's Studies
• Workers, Labor Unions, and Radical Politics
• American Indians and the American West
• American Politics and Society from Kennedy to Watergate
• International Relations and Military Conflicts
• Revolutionary War and Early America
• Latino Civil Rights during the Carter Administration
• American Federation of Labor: Samuel Gompers Era Records,1877-1937
• Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantation Records, Part 3 

Learn more about using History Vault with ProQuest's History Vault LibGuide.

• MOMW Part I (1450-1850): The Goldsmiths'-Kress Collection with works on pre-Marxian socialism, trade, and commerce.
• MOMW Part II (1851-1914): Documents the birth of the modern corporation and the political and social conditions of nineteenth-century workers, factory owners, and national economies.
• MOMW Part III (1890-1945): Sourced from the Senate House Library at the University of London and covers general political and philosophical thought of the period.
• MOMW Part IV (1800–1890): Covers the Victorian period.

• Diplomacy and Political Secrets (1869-1950) comprises a compilation of 4,204 rare China-related historical documents carefully selected from three series within the India Office Records held at the British Library.
• Hong Kong, Britain and China (1841–1951) presents a collection of British Colonial Office records on colonial Hong Kong.
• Records of the Maritime Customs Service of China (1854–1949) include official correspondence, dispatches, reports, memoranda, and private and confidential letters.
• The Missionary, Sinology and Literary Periodicals (1817-1949) includes seventeen English-language periodicals in or about China during a period of of over 130 years, when the People's Republic of China was founded.

Books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints: 

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 -- Books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints listed in the renowned bibliography by Charles Evans, including publications unavailable earlier.
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 -- Books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints listed in the distinguished bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker, including thousands of publications unavailable earlier.

Newspapers: 

Early American Newspapers, Series I, 1690-1876 -- More than a million pages of hundreds of historic newspapers listed in the authoritative bibliographies of Clarence Brigham and others.
Early American Newspapers, Series 2 complements Series 1 by offering more than 200 significant 18th and 19th-century newspapers. The bulk of Series 2 focuses on the period between 1820 and 1860, when the number of American newspapers rose dramatically. Based primarily on the newspaper collection of the American Antiquarian Society, Series 2 also includes titles from the holdings of the Library of Congress, the Wisconsin Historical Society and other organizations.

Government publications:

American State Papers, 1789-1838 -- U.S. congressional materials originating from 1789 and covering through 1838 but not published until the second and third quarters of the 19th century.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 -- Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, originally published in approximately 13,800 bound volumes.

• Collection I: Over 160 journals from the UMI microfilm collection Early British Periodicals. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences.
• Collection II: Over 300 journals from the UMI microfilm collections English Literary Periodicals and British Periodicals in the Creative Arts. Topics include literature, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
• Collection III: Leading publications from the early 20th century, taken from the “Great Eight” illustrated periodicals. Topics include news, politics, miscellany, art, photography, literature, and satire.
• Collection IV : Eclectic mix of major popular titles from the 20th century.Topics include socialism, the labour movement, international affairs and conflicts, leisure, rural life, the arts, travel, empire, and childhood.

Our access includes the following modules

• Nineteenth Century Collections Online Archive 1: British Politics and Society. Includes primary sources related to the political climate in Great Britain during the “long” nineteenth century. 
• Nineteenth Century Collections Online Archive 2: Asia West & Diplomacy Cultural Exchange. Features a range of primary source collections related to international relations between Asian countries and the West during the 19th century. Includes government reports, diplomatic correspondence, periodicals, newspapers, treaties, trade agreements, NGO papers, and more, offering a detailed look at the inner workings of international relations.
• Nineteenth Century Collections Online Archive 3: British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture. Features a wide range of primary sources related to the arts in the Victorian era, from playbills and scripts to operas and complete scores. Sourced from the British Library and other renowned institutions, and curated by experts in British arts history.
• Nineteenth Century Collections Online Archive 4: Corvey Collection of European Literature. Includes the full-text of English, French and German titles. Sourced from the remarkable library of Victor Amadeus, whose Castle Corvey collection which comprises one of the most important collections of Romantic era writing in existence anywhere – including fiction, short prose, dramatic works, poetry and more – with a focus on especially difficult-to-find works by lesser-known, historically neglected writers.