HIST 9 - Historical Methods: Global Histories of Sugar (Schmidt, Winter 2024): Recommended Article Databases for this Class

This database covers both scholarly and popular sources in ALL disciplines. You can restrict your search to peer-reviewed sources in the left margin.

Citations to articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Currently indexes over 2,000 journals published throughout the world.

Citations to articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. The database covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide.

Covers the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database draws information from an international selection of thousands of journals and other sources.

Contents include American professional journals, popular magazines, and trade journals, from colonial days to the early 20th century.

An index to journal articles published in the arts, humanities, social sciences, psychology and geography. The scope is international

Primarily an archive (JSTOR stands for "journal storage."). Contains the full-text content of scholarly journals from early issues to roughly 3-5 years from the present. Searches may be limited to a specific subject category of journals.
UCSB now has access to some recent ebooks on JSTOR -- look for a green icon.

Index to research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. The database covers over 1000 journals drawn from the international serials literature.

International coverage of materials in government, international relations, legislation, political science, statistics, and related areas

Comprehensive coverage of biological science fields . There is quite a bit of useful information on food studies and the sugar trade.

If your History 9 project is at all related to literature and literary studies, LION is an excellent database to use.