Some Useful Books to Explore
Advanced Techniques in Diagnostic Microbiology Volume 1: Techniques
In recent years, advanced molecular techniques in diagnostic microbiology have been revolutionizing the practice of clinical microbiology in the hospital setting. Molecular diagnostic testing in general and nucleic acid-based amplification methods in particular have been heralded as diagnostic tools for the new millennium. This third edition covers not only the most recent updates and advances, but details newly invented omic techniques, such as next generation sequencing. It is divided into two distinct volumes, with Volume 1 describing the techniques, and Volume 2 addressing their applications in the field. In addition, both volumes focus more so on the clinical relevance of the test results generated by these techniques than previous editions.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2018
Advanced Techniques in Diagnostic Microbiology Volume 2: Applications
Bacterial identification based on universal gene amplification and sequencing -- Molecular techniques for blood and blood product screening -- Molecular diagnostics of sexual transmitted disease -- Advances in the diagnosis of Mycobacterium tuberculosis -- Advanced typing techniques in molecular epidemiology investigations -- Molecular detection and characterization of carbapenem-resistant Enterobacteriaceae -- Rapid Screening and Identification of MRSA -- Advanced methods for detection of food-borne pathogens -- Technical and clinical niches for point of care molecular devices -- Molecular diagnosis of emerging coronavirus infections -- Technical advances in veterinary diagnostic microbiology -- Recent advances in veterinary diagnostic virology -- Deep sequencing: technical advances and clinical microbiology applications -- Splicing RNA and application in clinical microbiology -- Application of microarrays for laboratory diagnosis of fungal infections -- Laboratory technical advances in diagnosis of Clostridium difficile infections -- Clostridium difficile infections in one health -- Technical advances in molecular diagnostics of HIV-1 infections -- Multiplex techniques for detection and identification of microbial pathogens -- Molecular diagnosis and monitoring of human papillomavirus infections -- Molecular niches for laboratory diagnosis of sepsis -- Advanced pathology techniques for emerging infectious disease pathogens -- Diagnosis and assessment of microbial infections with host miRNA profiles -- Microbiome in diagnosis and monitoring of microbial infections -- Whole genome sequencing for microbial pathogen detection and identification -- Host immune repertoire and microbial infections -- Advanced techniques for antiviral drug resistance determination -- Test algorithms using advanced techniques -- Clinical interpretation and relevance of advanced technique results.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2018
Bergey's Manual of Determinative Bacteriology
Based on the data contained in the four-volume Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology, BMDB-9 also includes new genera and species, new combinations, and new taxa published through the January 1992 issue of the IJSB. Users will find short general descriptions that encompass all organisms by Groups; shape and size, Gram reaction, other pertinent morphological features, motility and flagella, relations to oxygen, basic type of metabolism, carbon and energy sources, habitat and ecology. BMDB-9 also includes discussions of difficulties in identification, keys or tables to genera and species, genus descriptions, synonyms, other nomenclatural changes, and numerous illustrations.
Call Number: QR81 .A5 1994 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1993
Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology. Volume 1: The Archaea and the Deeply Branching and Phototrophic BacteriaCall Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 1984
Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology. Volume 2 Part A: The Proteobacteria, Introductory Essays
Includes introductory chapters on classification of prokaryotes, the concept of bacterial species, numerical and polyphasic taxonomy, bacterial nomenclature and the etymology of prokaryotic names, nucleic acid probes and their application in environmental microbiology, culture collections, and the intellectual property of prokaryotes. The first Road Map to the prokaryotes is included as well as an overview of the phylogenetic backbone and taxonomic framework for prokaryotic systematics.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2001
Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology. Volume 2 Part B: The Proteobacteria, The Gammaproteobacteria
Includes a description of the Gammaproteobacteria (1203 pages, 222 figures, and 300 tables). This large taxon includes many well known medically and environmentally important groups. Especially notable are the Enterobacteriaceae, Aeromonas, Beggiatoa, Chromatium, Legionella, Nitrococcus, Oceanospirillum, Pseudomonas, Rickettsiella, Vibrio, Xanthomonas and 155 additional genera.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2007
Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology. Volume 2 Part C: The Proteobacteria, The Gammaproteobacteria, The Alpha-, Beta-, Delta-, and Epsilonproteabacteria
Includes a description of the Alpha-, Beta-, Delta-, and Epsilonproteabacteria (1256 pages, 512 figures, and 371 tables). This large taxa include many well known medically and environmentally important groups. Especially notable are Acetobacter, Agrobacterium, Aquospirillum, Brucella, Burkholderia, Caulobacter, Desulfovibrio, Gluconobacter, Hyphomicrobium, Leptothrix, Myxococcus, Neisseria, Paracoccus, Propionibacter, Rhizobium, Rickettsia, Sphingomonas, Thiobacillus, Xanthobacter and 268 additional genera.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2006
Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology. Volume 3: The Firmicutes
One of the most authoritative works in bacterial taxonomy, this resource has been extensively revised. This five volume second edition has been reorganized along phylogenetic lines to reflect the current state of prokaryotic taxonomy. In addition to the detailed treatments provided for all of the validly named and well-known species of prokaryotes, this edition includes new ecological information and more extensive introductory chapters.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2008
Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology. Volume 4: The Bacteroidetes, Spirochaetes, Tenericutes (Mollicutes), Acidobacteria, Fibrobacteres, Fusobacteria, Dictyoglomi, Gemmatimonadetes, Lentisphaerae, Verrucomicrobia, Chlamydiae, and Planctomycetes
Includes a revised taxonomic outline for the phyla Bacteroidetes, Planctomycetes, Chlamydiae, Spirochetes, Fibrobacteres, Fusobacteria, Acidobacteria, Verrucomicrobia, Dictyoglomi, and Gemmatimonadetes based upon the SILVA project as well as a description of more than 153 genera in 29 families. Includes many medically important taxa.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2010
Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology. Volume 5: The Actinobacteria
Includes a revised taxonomic outline for the Actinobacteria or the high G+C Gram positives is based upon the SILVA project as well as a description of greater than 200 genera in 49 families. Includes many medically and industrially important taxa.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2012
Diagnostic Bacteriology: Methods and Protocols
This volume provides a comprehensive collection of protocols on molecular diagnostics of bacteria that will suit the needs of molecular biologists, clinical laboratorians, and physician scientists alike. Chapters detail common bacterial pathogens, protocols that can be applied to diverse or even unknown pathogens, digital PCR, next generation sequencing, and bioinformatic analyses. Written in the highly successful Methods in Molecular Biology series format, chapters include introductions to their respective topics, lists of the necessary materials and reagents, step-by-step, readily reproducible laboratory protocols, and tips on troubleshooting and avoiding known pitfalls. Authoritative and practical, Diagnostic Bacteriology: Methods and Protocols delivers a wide range of assay types all on the cutting edge of diagnostic bacteriology.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2017
Diagnostic Bacteriology Protocols
This fully updated edition includes the novel identification, detection, and typing technologies that are transforming the field of diagnostic testing. The authors, working at the forefront of diagnostic test development, highlight these new technologies and describe current and future molecular diagnostic tests and related nucleic acid extraction methods. The protocols range from advanced molecular detection, quantification, and typing systems, to protocols for diagnostic protein identification, serological testing, and cell culture-based assays. The emphasis is on nucleic acid-based diagnostics and alternative biochemically- and immunologically-based formats that can provide significant potential for multiparameter testing and automation.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2006
Environmental Microbiology: Fundamentals and Applications
This book is a treatise on microbial ecology that covers traditional and cutting-edge issues in the ecology of microbes in the biosphere. It emphasizes on study tools, microbial taxonomy and the fundamentals of microbial activities and interactions within their communities and environment as well as on the related food web dynamics and biogeochemical cycling. The work exceeds the traditional domain of microbial ecology by revisiting the evolution of cellular prokaryotes and eukaryotes and stressing the general principles of ecology. The overview of the topics, authored by more than 80 specialists, is one of the broadest in the field of environmental microbiology. The overview of the topics, authored by more than 80 specialists, is one of the broadest in the field of environmental microbiology.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2015
Enzyme and Microbial Biosensors: Techniques and Protocols
In 1962 Clark and Lyons pioneered the concept of a biosensor. They p- posed immobilizing enzymes at electrochemical detectors to form "enzyme el- trodes" in order to expand the analyte range of ther base sensor. Smce then, the field of blosensors has greatly expanded. Some of the reasons for the expansion include both advances in signal transduction technologies and the incorporation of different biological sensing elements (Table 1). As a consequence, there are now a bewildering array of permutations of the biological sensing element and signal transducers that can be used to c- struct a biosensor. The purpose of the two volumes of Protocols and Te- niques in Biosensors is to provide a basic reference tool and starting point for use by graduate students, postdoctoral and senior researchers, and technicians m academics, industry, and government research establishments, to enable rapid entry into the field of biosensors. There are a variety of approaches that researchers employ to select a combination of bioaffinity elements and signal transducers. One commonly used approach is to identtfy the compound or compounds of interest; identify the biological molecule that yields an appropriate recognitionlselectivtty and dynamic concentration range for the assay; and choose an assay format and signal transduction technology that will meet the analytical requirements for the proposed application, This volume, Enzyme and Microbial Biosensors: Techniques and Protocols, describes a variety of transduction technologies that have been interfaced to enzymes and microorganisms.
Call Number: R857.B54 E59 1998 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 1998
Informatics for the Clinical Laboratory
This series is directed to healthcare professionals who are leading the tra- formation of health care by using information and knowledge. Launched in 1988 as Computers in Health Care, the series offers a broad range of titles: some addressed to specific professions such as nursing, medicine, and health administration; others to special areas of practice such as trauma and radi- ogy. Still other books in the series focus on interdisciplinary issues, such as the computer-based patient record, electronic health records, and networked healthcare systems. Renamed Health Informatics in 1998 to reflect the rapid evolution in the discipline now known as health informatics, the series will continue to add titles that contribute to the evolution of the field. In the series, eminent - perts, serving as editors or authors, offer their accounts of innovations in health informatics. Increasingly, these accounts go beyond hardware and so- ware to address the role of information in influencing the transformation of healthcare delivery systems around the world. The series also increasingly focuses on "peopleware" and the organizational, behavioral, and societal changes that accompany the diffusion of information technology in health services environments.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2005
Laboratory Methods in Microbiology and Molecular Biology
Laboratory Methods in Microbiology and Molecular Biology describes various microbiological, biochemical, and molecular methods employed for the characterization, identification, and analysis of actinomycetes, bacteria and fungi. The book details general guidelines, expectations, and responsibilities for good lab practices and consists of chapters that covers basic microbiological, physiological, biochemical, and molecular aspects as well as in silico analysis using various bioinformatic tools. Other topics in the book include how to make solutions, microscopy and imaging of microorganisms, sero-diagnostics, and basic concepts of phylogeny, physiology, biotechnology, soil, food, and environmental microbiology while working in laboratory. Laboratory Methods in Microbiology and Molecular Biology is an informative update to current practices and future perspectives for the field of microbial biotechnology. It aims to facilitate professors, researchers, and graduate students in monitoring the precision and accuracy of the qualitative and quantitative methods in their research. Involves various procedures in diverse disciplines, from microbiology to genetics, molecular biology and biochemistry Lists the principles and facts underlying practical applications of bacteria and fungi which have prospects in various technologies Includes the questions 'how' and 'why' as an explanation for novice students and researchers to modify protocols Facilitates students, teachers and researchers to monitor the precision and accuracy of their qualitative and quantitative methods practically
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2023
Microbial Diversity and Biotechnology in Food Security
The roles of microbes in agriculture, industry and environment have been the point of interest since long time for their potential exploitation. Although only a fraction of microbial diversity was accessed by microbiologists earlier for harnessing them owing to limited techniques available. The molecular techniques have opened new vistas to access the wide field of the unexplored microbes and their exploitation for useful genes and novel metabolites. Sincere efforts have been made in biotechnology using microbes leading to improve our life with respect to agriculture and people health. This comprehensive volume covers different aspects of microbial biotechnology and its management in sustainable agriculture for food security and improved human health. The book comprises four sections: Endophytes and Mycorrhizae, Microbial Diversity and Plant Protection, Microbial Functions and Biotechnology, and Microbes and the Environment, which contain 53 chapters. The book examines the aspects on endophytes and mycorrhizae, bioactive compounds, growth promoting microorganisms, disease management with emphasis on biocontrol, genetics of disease resistance, microbial enzymes, advances in potential of microbes and their industrial as well as pharmaceutical applications. In addition, the use of botanicals, and the etiology and management of medicinal and aromatic plants in the post harvest management have been reviewed in greater depth for the benefit of teaching and research community.nbsp;nbsp; The biotechnological developments using microbe potential have enabled us combat the environment and human health problems worldwide in ecofriendly manner. We are sure that this volume will be highly useful to all those concerned with fungi, bacteria, viruses and their biology, including environmental and public health officers and professionals in the field of interest. The volume is an exhaustive coverage of almost all the aspects of microbial biology and biotechnology.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2014
Microbiome Community Ecology: Fundamentals and Applications
This book reviews the mechanisms, patterns, and processes that regulate prokaryotic diversity through different habitats in the context of evolutionary and ecological hypotheses, principles, and theories. Despite the tremendous role of prokaryotic diversity in the function of the global ecosystem, it remains understudied in comparison to the rest of biological diversity. In this book, the authors argue that understanding the mechanisms of species coexistence, functioning relationships (e.g. nutrient cycling and host fitness), and trophic and non-trophic interactions are helpful in addressing the future challenges in basic and applied research in microbial ecology. The authors also examine the ecological and evolutionary responses of prokaryotes to global change and biodiversity loss. Ecological Diversity of the Microbiome in the Context of Ecology Theory and Climate Changeaims to bring prokaryotes into the focus of ecological and evolutionary research, especially in the context of global change.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2015
Modern Tools and Techniques to Understand Microbes
This book provides essential molecular techniques and protocols for analyzing microbes that are useful for developing novel bio-chemicals, such as medicines, biofuels, and plant protection substances. The topics and techniques covered include: microbial diversity and composition; microorganisms in the food industry; mass cultivation of sebacinales; host-microbe interaction; targeted gene disruption; function-based metagenomics to reveal the rhizosphere microbiome; mycotoxin biosynthetic pathways; legume-rhizobium symbioses; multidrug transporters of yeast; drug-resistant bacteria; the fungal endophyte piriformospora indica; medicinal plants; arbuscular mycorrhizal fungi; biosurfactants in microbial enhanced oil recovery; and biocontrol of the soybean cyst nematode with root endophytic fungi; as well as microbe-mediated drought tolerance in plants.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2017
The Prokaryotes (multiple volumes)
The Prokaryotes is a comprehensive, multi-authored, peer reviewed reference work on Bacteria and Achaea.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2014
