LibGuides: Open Educational Resources (OER): Finding Open Educational Resources

Where to look for Open Educational Textbooks

BCCampus OpenEd
The B.C. Open Textbook Collection is home to a growing selection of open textbooks for a variety of subjects and specialties. Discover open textbooks that have been reviewed by faculty, meet our accessibility requirements, and/or include ancillary materials (quizzes, test banks, slides, videos, etc.).
Directory of Open Access Books
Florida State Open Publishing - Books and Textbooks
MERLOT
OER Commons
Open Culture
Open Education Consortium
OpenStax
With free ancillary materials for instructors and students,
OpenStax developed LMS course cartridges, lecture slides, and more resources to help instructors teach online. Visit the “Instructor resources” tab of each book page to learn more.
OpenStax CNX
Open Textbook Library
Open textbooks are licensed by authors and publishers to be freely used and adapted. Download, edit and distribute them at no cost. The Open Textbook Library is supported by the Open Education Network.
SUNY Open Textbooks
Open Educational Resources and Political Science
Open Educational Resources and practices for political science faculty and students

OpenStax OER by Discipline

OpenStax - Business

OpenStax - Humanities

OpenStax - Sciences Openly Licensed Free Textbooks

OpenStax - OERs for Social Sciences

Open Textbook Library OER by Discipline

Open Textbook Library - Business

Open Textbook Library - Humanities

Open Textbook Library - Natural Sciences

Open Textbook Library - Social Sciences

Open Educational Resources for Chemistry and Biochemistry

Chemistry Coach
This site, created by Francois Vermersch, texts, quizzes, examples and exams for three sections of general chemistry and three sections of organic chemistry.
Openstax Chemistry 2e
General chemistry textbook, with instructor and student resources, from the Openstax collection of open textbooks across many disciplines.
Openstax Chemistry: Atoms First
Another Openstax general chemistry textbook.
Organic Chemistry with a Biological Emphais, Volumes 1 & II
Introductor organic chemistry texts from the University of British Columbia's Open Education site.
Introductory Chemistry
General chemistry textbook from University of British Columbia's OpenEd.
Analytical Chemistry 2.0
Analytical chemistry textbook via Univesity of British Columbia's OpenEd.
LibreTexts: Chemistry
A large collection of textbooks across many areas of chemistry, from a host of university sources. Also incluses demonstrations and applications. LibreTexts originated at UC Davis.
LibreTexts: Biology
A large collection of biology textbooks (including biochemistry and molecular biology) from LibreTexts. LibreTexts oriinated at UC Davis.
Open Textbook LibraryL Chemistry
A collection of open textbooks across a wide area of chemistry and biochemistry (including some of the texts individually listed on this page.)
Virtual Textbook of Organic Chemistry
Created by William Reusch and made available under a Creative Commons license.
Cheminformatics OLCC
An Open Learning Cheminformatics course, aimed at undergraduates, 2019 version
OER Commons: Chemistry
A collection of OER texts with the assined subject heading Chemistry
Boundless Chemistry
A collection of text, lecture notes and illustation for a full courdse of freshman chemistry
OAPEN Chemistry
A collection of mongraphs in chemistry and biochemistry, possibly useful for upper-division undergraduate or graduate courses.

UCI Open - Open Chemistry
An excellent collection of open video courses for both undergraduate and graduate chemistry education, from the University of California - Irvine.
YouTube: Chemistry Lectures
A search of the YouTube.com video site for "chemistry lectures". Note that these videos vary tremendously in qualiity, and the collection is not curated.
Vimeo: Chemistry
A search of the Vimeo video site for "chemistry". Note that these videos vary tremendously in quality, and the collection is not curated.
Open Learning Institute: Chemistry and Biochemistry
Courses in introductory chemistry and biochemistry created at Stanford's Open Learning Institute.
MIT OpenCourseWare: Chemistry
A large collection of free and open courses in chemistry and biochemistry from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT).
MIT OpenCourseWare: Biology
This collection includes biochemistry.
Open Access Explained
Animated video explaining the background of and rationale for open access publishing.
Wikimedia Commons: Chemistry
A collection of graphics, audio and video made available by their authors under a Creative Commons license.
Open Yale Courses: Chemistry
The Yale University Department of Chemistry provides open lectures for Freshman Organic Chemicstry * and II.
Coursera: Chemistry
Assortment of chemistry course videos
Coursera: Biochemistry
Assortment of biochemistry course videos.

Chemistry World
Affiliate with Chemistry Wrld magazine, the podcast collection covers elements, compounds and a science book club.
Distillations
Podcasts on the history of chemistry and other sciences from the Science History Institute (Philadelphia, PA).
ACS Science Elements
Science news podcasts produced by the American Chemical Society (ACS).
ACS Orbitals
Podcast series about chemistry of popular interst from the American Cehemical Cociety (ACS).
C&EN's Stereo Chemistry
Monthly sereis of podcasts about chemistry in the news from Chemical & Engineering News (C&EN), the news magazine of the American Chemical Society (ACS).
Chemistry for Your Life
Biweekly series of podcasts about "everyday chemistry", , hosted by Melissa Collini and Jam Robinson.
My Fave Queer Chemist
A series of interviews by two graduate students at the University of Michigan with LGBTQ+ chemists in academia and industry about hteir research and career experiences.

General Chemistry Tutorials from UIUC
A collection of free tutorials for introductory chemistry from the Chemistry Larning Center, Dept. of Chemistry, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (UIUC)
SciFinder Training
Videos and tutorials on classic SciFinder from CAS.
SciFinder-n Training
Webinars and other videos for training in SciFinder-n from CAS.
Reaxys Tutorials
Video tutorials for Reaxys from Elsevier.
Clarivate Video Tutorials
Video tutorials for users of Clarivate Analytics prducts, including Web of Science, EndNote and Journal Citation Reports.
Derwent Learning
Video tutorials and other resources for sophisticated patent searching in the Derwent databases, from Clarivate Analytics. (Note: Examples may not use the Derwent Innovations Index interface.)
Science of Synthesis Tutorials
Video tutorials for the Science of Synthesis database from Thieme Chemistry.
EBSCO Interface Tutorials
A wide range of tutorials on the EBSCOhost interface (including databases like Academic Search Complete and Business Ssource Complete.)
ProQuest Training
Video tutorials on using the ProQuest platform and ProQuest e-Book Central.
Engineering Village Tutorials
Video tutorials for the Engineering Village platform (includes Compendex) from Elsevier.
Altmetric.com YouTube Channel
Video tutorials from Altmetric.com.
Zotero - list of tutorial videos
A collection of tutorial videos for the Zotero bibliographic database software.
Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre Video Channel
Webinars and tutorials from the Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre (CCDC).
BIO-RAD Video Tuorials
Vidoe tutorials, primary on biochemical and microbiological lab techniques, from BIO-RAD.
NIST tutorials in Analytical Chemistry
A series of video and PowerPoint tutorials on various aspects of analytical chemistry from the National Institute for Standards and Technnlogy (NIST)>
NCBI Tutorials
Tutorials on the tools and resources available at the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), a division of the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Ncbi Webinar Archive
Archived webinars from NCBI

ChemEd DL
A collection of resources aimed at teachers of chemistry, sy yjr johj dvjpp; smf vp;;rhr ;rbr;/
PhET: Chemistry
A collection of online simulations for use with chemistry instruction.
Merlot: Chemistry
Collection of a wide range of types of resources for chemistry (includs some resources linked individaully on this page.)
Merlot: Biochemistry
A collection of a wide range of types of resources for biochemistry (including some individualy linked on this page.)
OER Commons
OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum.
Mason OER Metafinder
Search tool for locating Open Educational Resources. This powerful tol lets you filter by topic, author, source, etc.
Creative Commons
Free tools to let you license your creations as open resources.
Creative Commons Search (CC Search)
This tool allows you to search for images which are available under Creative Commons license for you to use in teaching and larning.
Wikimedia Commons
Site for locating free reusable images, audio and video under Creative Commons license. You can also upload and share your own content here.
Librivox: Chemistry
Librivox is a collection of free audiobooks, browsable by genre and subject. This link connects to their Chemistry collection.
RSC Education
A broad collection of education resources from the Royal Society of Chemistry (Rsca)>
ACS Molecule of the Week Archive
Collection of artilces on interesting moleculaes from the American Chemical Society (ACS).
ChemCollective
A collection of teaching resources from Carnegie Mellon University, aimed primarily at high chool chemistry instruction, but which can also be useful for introductory college-level students.

Other OER Resources

The Collection of Creative Writing By Learners of Japanese
UCLA
Collection of Creative Writing by Learners of Japanese

Publication Date
2019-12-01
Peer reviewed

Libguides from other institutions

Engineering Library Division, American Society for Engineering Education