Recommended Article Databases for this Class
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAlways a great place to start! Huge database that covers both scholarly and popular sources in every discipline. Be sure to limit your results to "Peer Reviewed" if you want to search only academic content.
- Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new windowCitations from roughly 380 alternative, radical, and left publications, which report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowExcellent database for in-depth coverage of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowNews, culture and history from publications of the ethnic, minority and native press.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowThe go-to resource for the latest research in sociology and related disciplines. International in scope.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCurrent research in political science and related fields, including public administration and policy.
- PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Index This link opens in a new windowGovernment, international relations, poli sci, statistics, and related areas.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowDespite its name, Web of Science covers research journals and other materials across hundreds of disciplines
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowCitations to articles on the history of the U.S. and Canada from prehistory to the present.
- Oxford Handbooks in Criminology and Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window
Reference work on criminology, the study of the causes of crime, and criminal justice, the study of the institutions and processes involved in the enforcement of the criminal law. Interdisciplinary coverage covers the behavioral and social sciences and the humanities from biology and neurology through sociology, psychology, and political science to literature, history, and philosophy.
- Oxford Handbooks in Law
Oxford Handbooks Online in Law is an ambitious project that reflects, facilitates, and shapes the transformation of law into a multifaceted global discipline. Supplementing and enhancing Oxford Handbooks in book form, Oxford Handbooks Online seizes the unique opportunities for systemic interconnection and quick publication presented by online publication to capture the continuously evolving body of research on all aspects of law from the wide variety of methodological perspectives that are being brought to bear on law as a field of study.
NOTE: We do not have access to all content in this database; only to material that shows as "unlocked" or "free".
How to Interpret Citations
Once you find a useful source, check the bibliography to find other, related sources. How do you know if a citation refers to a book or an article? Here are two quick ways to check:
1. If you see a place of publication, like New York or London, the citation is for a book or book chapter. Example:
Davis, Thadious M. Games of Property Law, Race, Gender, and Faulkner's Go Down, Moses. Durham: Duke UP, 2003
2. If you see two titles and coded reference to a volume and issue number, the citation refers to a journal article.
Jerng, Mark. "The Character of Race: Adoption and Individuation in William Faulkner's Light in August and Charles Chesnutt's The Quarry." The Arizona Quarterly: A Journal of American Literature, Culture, and Theory. 64.4 (2008): 69-102.