Reference Sources
- Department of Defense Dictionary of Military and Associated TermsOpen-access US Government website (will download a PDF)
Sets forth standard US military and associated terminology to encompass the joint activity of
the Armed Forces of the United States. These military and associated terms, together with their definitions, constitute approved Department of Defense (DOD) terminology for general use by all DOD components. Updated Monthly. - Dictionary of Military Terms byCall Number: Reference U24 .B69 20043rd Edition (2007): Online book; UCSB login required if off campus
3rd Edition (2004): Print Book in Reference Area
1st Edition (1999): Sciences & Engineering U24 .B69 1999b
English is the language most frequently used in international military and peacekeeping operations. This dictionary contains over 6,000 entries providing up-to-date coverage of British, American and international military vocabulary, including training, personnel, logistics, manoeuvres, vehicles, tactics, commands, weapons and equipment.
Supplements include the phonetic alphabet, ranks, formal orders and military grouping symbols.
- Encyclopedia of Military Technology and Innovation byCall Number: Reference U24 .B85 2004Online book; UCSB login required if off campus
From the Abrams M1 tank to the zeppelin, this essential reference details the invention and evolution of nearly 600 of the most important advances in military technology from prehistory to the present. International in scope, it covers weapons, ammunition, defenses, land vehicles, aircraft, ships, detection, stealth, gear, supplies, weapons of mass destruction, and much more. Whether researching such cutting-edge technologies as the B-2 Stealth Bomber, Patriot Missile, and the Roborat project or such historical topics as forts, Molotov cocktails, or the U-2, Encyclopedia of Military Technology and Innovation is a must-have reference.Warfare and national defense have provided a strong stimulus for technological advances throughout history. This reference provides students and researchers from high school through college, scholars, and the general public essential information, historical perspective, and scientific context to understand better the development, capabilities, and uses of major military technologies. Fifty illustrations, helpful cross-references, a bibliography, and an index help users navigate this reference and supplement their research. - Encyclopedia of the American Military byCall Number: Reference UA23 .E56 1994 v. 1-3Print book in Reference Area
Spanning almost four centuries, this set chronicles the evolution of the American military from Colonial times to the 1990s. - Ethnic and Racial Minorities in the U.S. military: An EncyclopediaPublication Date: 2013Online book; UCSB login required if off campus
This encyclopedia details the participation of individual ethnic and racial minority groups throughout U.S. military history. 
Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. History: Government and PoliticsPublication Date: 2008Online book; UCSB login required if off campus
Traces the development of the government of the United States from the European powers that explored and colonized the New World beginning in the fifteenth century--and the native people they displaced--to the present day. In eleven chronological chapters, Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. History: Government and Politics presents four hundred entries about the people, institutions, laws, and social movements responsible for the evolution of the U.S. government.
Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. History: WarPublication Date: 2008Online book; UCSB login required if off campus
Provides a broad overview of war throughout American history, with a special emphasis on how war effects, and is affected by, political, economic, and social change in American and global society.- Gale Encyclopedia of World History: GovernmentsPublication Date: 2008Online book; UCSB login required if off campus
Provides a broad overview of national governments throughout history, explaining their structures and histories, key players and events, and how governments affect, and are affected by, social change. - Gale Encyclopedia of World History: WarPublication Date: 2008Online book; UCSB login required if off campus
Provides a broad overview of war throughout world history, from ancient times to present, with a special emphasis on its causes and repercussions.
Tip:
To find books and articles on US Army weaponry, try searching in UCSB Library Search using these keywords:
- army united states weaponry
You can also try searching on the name of a specific weapon.
Note: The books listed below are useful for research on aircraft and ships.
- Jane's All the World's AircraftCall Number: Reference TL670 .J36 2018Publication Date: 1909-2019 (various years)Print book
Most recent in Reference Area TL670 .J36 2018
Older editions are located in Sciences & Engineering, TL501 .J3.
Excellent resource for quick information on aircraft. - Jane's Fighting ShipsCall Number: Sciences & Engineering VA40 .J3Publication Date: 1898-2008Guide to naval vessels
Print book in Sciences & Engineering VA40 .J3
- Who's Who in Military History: From 1453 to the Present DayCall Number: Reference U51 .K43 2002Publication Date: 2002Print book in Reference Area
- Who's Who in Naval History: From 1550 to the PresentCall Number: Reference V61 .W54 2004Publication Date: 2004Print book in Reference Area
- World Military Leaders: A Biographical DictionaryPublication Date: 2007Online book; UCSB login required if off campus
- The Military BalanceOnline book; UCSB login required if off campus
Annual assessment of the military capabilities and defense economics of 170 countries world-wide. (London: Institute for Strategic Studies)
Why Use Reference Works?
Reference works provide quick access to basic information about your topic. You should select the type of reference work you want depending on the type and depth of information you need.
Dictionaries:
- Subject dictionaries are a great way to familiarize yourself with words and phrases used in military science.
Encyclopedias:
- Specialized encyclopedias provide excellent introductions to many aspects of military science and military history.
- Articles are usually written by experts in the subject, and will include a bibliography to get you started on your research.
Other Types of Sources:
- The other sources listed below might also be useful for your research.
NOTE: The lists below are a mix of print and electronic resources. E-books are marked with a padlock and require a UCSBnet ID and password to access when off campus.