Still Image Resources - World History
- Associated Press Images Collection This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
The Associated Press wire service's current photos and a selection of pictures from their 50 million image print and negative library. - ARTstor This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Digital copies of images from across cultures and time periods, focusing on but not limited to the arts.
- Library of Congress. Prints & Photographs Online Catalog.Photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings held by the Library of Congress. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.
- LIFE Magazine Photo ArchiveMillions of photos from the LIFE photo archive, dating from the 1750s to the present day, made available by LIFE magazine and hosted by Google.
- LUCI: Library of University of California Images.An inter-campus digital image databank.
- LUCI1: Classical Greece and Rome.
- LUCI2: California art and architecture. - New York Public Library. Digital Collections.Over 750,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs, streaming video and more.
Audio, Film & Television Sources - World History
- 60 Minutes: 1997-2014 This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
350 hours of video from 17 years of '60 Minutes' broadcasts, covering a wide range of topics. - AP Newsreel Archive This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
The film and video archive of the Associated Press, featuring newsreel clips going back as far as the 1890s.
- C-SPAN Video LibraryCSPAN video programming – recording live gavel-to-gavel proceedings of the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate, and to other forums where public policy is discussed, debated and decided – from 1987 to the present day.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Report (FBIS) This link opens in a new window[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Report was the United States' principal historical record of political open source intelligence, monitoring, recording, transcribing and translating intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. Coverage: 1941-1996
- ITN Archive.Footage from Reuters (including historic newsreel collections), ITN, ITV Productions, Fox News and Fox Movietone, Channel 9 News, UTV, Asian News International and other specialist collections, made available via Getty Images.
- New York Public Library. Digital Collections.Over 750,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs, streaming video and more.
- Socialism on Film: The Cold War and International Propaganda[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
A collection of international documentary, newsreel and feature films reveals the world as seen by Soviet, Chinese, Vietnamese, East European, and Latin American filmmakers. Socialism on Film is a streaming video collection comprised of 20th century documentaries, newsreels, and feature films created in the communist world and later modified with English language enhancements for distribution to Western audiences. - Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new windowArchive of television news from major U.S. national broadcast networks, covering special reports and periodic news broadcasts such as political campaign coverage and wars. Includes: ABC Evening News: 1968 - present, CBS Evening News: 1968 - present, NBC Evening News: 1968 - present, CNN WorldView: 1995 - 2000, CNN Wolf Blitzer Reports: 2001, CNN NewsNight: 2001 - present, Special Reports: 1968 - present, ABC Nightline: 1988 - present, Other networks, e.g., PBS.