Alternative Access Options for Canceled Resources
Although some subscriptions are being discontinued, access to most of the affected content remains available through alternative means, including:
-
Interlibrary Loan (ILL): Use the ILL service to obtain articles, book chapters, or books from other libraries.
-
Access individual titles on publishers' platforms through UCSB Library Search or Journal Search: Most cancelled resources were index databases or aggregator platforms with limited or no full-text content. But the actual content is still available through other Publishers' platforms and alternative databases that we still subscribe to. If you are unsure how to locate a title, we can help identify the best access point. See below for a list of these alternative resources.
-
Request to purchase individual ebooks: For titles formerly available through cancelled ebook packages, please submit a request using the Recommend a Purchase Form. Our team will evaluate and, when possible, purchase the individual title for local access.
-
This option is particularly useful in the case of Wiley Online Library eBooks, Cambridge eBooks without Partner Presses, and Knovel for titles that we don't own.
-
-
Open Access repositories: Explore freely available versions of research content through the Directory of Open Access Journals and institutional open access repositories like eScholarship.
-
For example, many of the journals from Thieme Connect Journals are Open Access!
-
-
Request a copy directly from authors: Many authors are willing to share copies of their publications upon request, particularly if the work was produced under an open access mandate.
Alternative Resources and Access Options
The Library will continue to assist users in locating and obtaining materials to support their research and teaching needs. To help mitigate the impact of canceled subscriptions, we are providing lists of alternative resources that offer access to related or comparable content. While there are no exact one-to-one replacements, these resources provide pathways to full-text materials and subject coverage similar to that of the discontinued titles.
Finding Alternative Resources
| Bibliography of British and Irish History | RIPM: Restrospective Index to Music Periodicals |
| PhilPapers: Philosophical Research Online | RLG database package-Index to History of Science, Technology, and Medicine |
| Cambridge eBooks without Partner Presses | RLG database package-Index to Nineteenth-Century American Art Periodicals |
| Music Index Online |
Below is a list of alternative resources:
-
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) This link opens in a new window
Indexes monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world; unpublished doctoral dissertations are covered for the period 1920-1999. Consists of 80 volumes, beginning in 1920 and issued annually. Available online through Literature Online (LION).
-
ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
Indexes publications about modern and contemporary arts starting with the late 19th century. Emphasis is placed upon adding new and lesser-known artists and coverage of foreign-language literature. Covers all aspects of modern and contemporary art, including performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theater arts, crafts, jewelry, illustration, as well as the traditional fine arts of painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.
-
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science covers thousands of research journals across hundreds of disciplines as well as some conference proceedings and books. To search only Arts & Humanities Citation Index, use the “Editions: All” selection tool and uncheck unwanted databases. Note that some humanities fields may overlap into the social sciences and sciences.
-
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of biographical information on more than one million people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death years and places, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search path.
-
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Indexes journals published throughout the world. Also includes a targeted selection of journals in the social sciences and humanities that are of special interest to researchers and students of history.
-
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism This link opens in a new window
A resource for scholars and students of literary theory and discourse. Presents a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements and is updated annually. Includes entries and subentries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.
-
Literary Sources from Gale This link opens in a new window
Gateway to the following literature resources: Dictionary of Literary Biography, Gale Virtual Reference Library, Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center (LRC), Scribner Writers, Twayne's Authors, etc.
-
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Provides criticism and commentary on authors and their literary works written by contemporary and modern scholars. Includes the following series: Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Literature Criticism 1400-1800, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespeare Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.
-
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. Covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, epistemology, logic, and metaphysics as well as material on the philosophy of disciplines, such as law, religion, science, history, and education.
| RLG database package- Anthropology Plus | LGBTQ+ Life |
| RLG database package- Chicano Database | Women's Studies International |
| Global Financial Data | EBSCOhost Library Literature & Information Science Full Text |
Below is a list of alternative resources:
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database covering thousands of journals and other publications. Includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, and indexing/abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
-
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text anthropological resources from the publications of the American Anthropological Association. Contains more than 250,000 articles from AAA journals, newsletters, bulletins, and monographs covering a range of fields in anthropology.
-
Oxford Bibliographies in Anthropology This link opens in a new window
Provides expert commentary to help students and scholars find, negotiate, and assess the large amount of information readily available to them. Facilitates research by providing direct links to online library catalogs and other online resources.
-
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Contains news, culture and history from the ethnic, minority and native press. Includes complete articles and archival material. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages; more than 100,000 articles are in Spanish.
-
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
Authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Contains citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
-
Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new window
Brings together relevant content from mainstream periodicals, "gray" literature, and the alternative press -- with a focus on the critical issues and events that influence women's lives in more than 190 countries. Includes English-language titles from East and West Africa, Asia, and South and Central America, the Caribbean, North America and Europe.
-
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Covers scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, non-governmental-organization and special reports. Provides in-depth coverage of the subjects that are uniquely central to women's lives, and the impact of gender and gender roles on society.
-
Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Includes abstracts of thousands of journal articles and books in all areas of women's studies.
-
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Covers thousands of research journals across hundreds of disciplines, as well as conference proceedings and books. Expand “Additional Info” for tips on limiting to just Social Sciences Citation Index.
| Science of synthesis : Houben-Weyl methods of molecular transformations | Thieme Connect Journals |
| Compendex | GeoRef |
| Knovel |
Below is a list of alternative resources:
-
Science of synthesis : Houben-Weyl methods of molecular transformations.The Systemwide Library Facility North (SLF-N) has the 48 volume print edition (5th) that can be requested via Interlibrary Loan.
-
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text repository of papers from ACM journal and newsletter articles and conference proceedings published, co-published, or co-marketed by the Association for Computing Machinery and other publishers.
-
ASME Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
The ASME Digital Collection includes the research journals of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, covering all areas of mechanical engineering.
Note that the UCSB subscription does not include archival journals prior to 2000, conference proceedings or e-books. -
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications.
-
National Geologic Map Database This link opens in a new window
NGMDB makes widely available a national archive of standardized maps. The database is the product of a partnership between the United States Geological Survey (USGS) and the Association of American State Geologists (AASG). Site includes the catalog, the lexicon, the map interface and the historical topographic map collection. The lexicon has stratigraphic information – geologic names, charts, time scales, and guidelines.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowIncludes, among other resources in the Humanities & Social Sciences, the following resources that support sciences:
Science Citation Index Expanded
Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Sciences
Book Citation Index - Science
Current Chemical Reactions
Index Chemicus
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Citation Index
Zoological Record
Many of the content available through the indexed databases cancelled can be found using many of the multidisciplinary indexes and journal platforms that the UCSB Library has access to. Just search any of these options to find academic articles, proceedings, reports, and much more!
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database covering thousands of journals and other publications. Includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, and indexing/abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes full text of journals and books in a wide range of subject areas. Also includes high-quality primary sources and images from around the world, including artworks, maps, photographs, and more (including those from Artstor).
-
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides access to essential humanities and social science research. Hosts journals and books from leading university presses, scholarly societies, and related publishers. Note that UCSB does not subscribe to all of the journals or books on the Project Muse platform; items whose full text is accessible are denoted by a green check mark.
-
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Indexes full text journals from SAGE. Includes bibliographic records, abstract, and the complete text of each journal article. Journals cover topics in area studies, ethnic and gender studies, humanities, health sciences, materials science and the social sciences.
-
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
Allows searching of articles from hundreds of electronic journals published by Taylor & Francis and its subsidiaries.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Covers thousands of research journals, and extensive collections of conference proceedings and books across hundreds of disciplines.