LibGuides: Comparative Literature: Article Databases

Article Databases

There are a number of useful resources for finding articles and other resources in comparative literature. Below are some recommended article databases, many of which contain the full text of articles. If you do not see a link to the full text, use the link to find a different access point or to order a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

MLA and Literature Online (LION) are the most often used databases for literary studies, but see also the interdisciplinary resources listed below.

For research databases devoted to other subjects or countries, see the corresponding subject guides.

Literature Databases

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage includes journal articles, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies.
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
Resource for the study and teaching of literature in English, combining the texts of literary works with a vast library of key criticism and reference resources. Full-text journals and author biographies help keep you up to date on the latest research into every aspect of literary and linguistic study.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Provides criticism and commentary on authors and their literary works written by contemporary and modern scholars. Includes the following series: Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Literature Criticism 1400-1800, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespeare Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.
Includes:
- Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism
- Contemporary Literary Criticism
- Drama Criticism
- Literature Criticism 1400-1800
- Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism
- Poetry Criticism
- Shakespeare Criticism
- Short Story Criticism
- Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism

Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database that covers both scholarly and popular journals and other publications. Includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. The database features some PDF content going back as far as 1867.
FRANCIS This link opens in a new window
An international index to 3,000 journals across major scholarly disciplines, with a particular emphasis on current trends in European and world literature. Covers a wide range of multilingual, multidisciplinary information in the humanities, social sciences, and economics.
Searches can be limited to French language only. Provides an archive of the PASCAL and FRANCIS bibliographic databases produced by the l’Inist-CNRS (1972 and 2015).
Brepolis Medieval & Early Modern Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Comprises articles about the medieval period derived from periodicals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues). All articles are classified with full bibliographical details and subject classifications and indexing familiar to medievalists.
ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Bibliography on the Renaissance (1300-1700) and Middle Ages (400-1500). Includes citations for books, journal material, dissertations, and essays in books.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes full text of journals and books in a wide range of subject areas. Also includes high-quality primary sources and images from around the world, including artworks, maps, photographs, and more (including those from Artstor).
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Includes digitized, full-image journal articles published in the arts, humanities, social sciences, psychology and geography from 1802-2005.
Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles published in the arts, humanities, social sciences, psychology and geography (1665-1995).
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides access to essential humanities and social science research. Hosts journals and books from leading university presses, scholarly societies, and related publishers. Also offers thousands of open access books and several open access journals on the platform.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
News, culture and history from 200 publications of the ethnic, minority and native press. Nearly 500,000 complete articles dating back to 1990 are available, along with archival material dating back to the mid 1980's. More than 7,500 new articles are added each month. Ethnic NewsWatch is searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages; more than 100,000 articles are in Spanish.
Materials Indexed: Newspaper Articles, Book Reviews
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Indexes journals published throughout the world. Also includes a targeted selection of journals in the social sciences and humanities that are of special interest to researchers and students of history.
Literary Sources from Gale This link opens in a new window
Gateway to the following literature resources: Dictionary of Literary Biography, Gale Virtual Reference Library, Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center (LRC), Scribner Writers, Twayne's Authors, etc.