Find background information in encyclopedias and handbooks:
For quick, reliable background information on your topic, check subject encyclopedias and handbooks. These are also a good way to discover keywords for your topic.
Coastal and Marine Ecosystems by
Authored by world-class scientists and scholars, The Handbook of Natural Resources, Second Edition, is an excellent reference for understanding the consequences of changing natural resources to the degradation of ecological integrity and the sustainability of life. Based on the content of the bestselling and CHOICE-awarded Encyclopedia of Natural Resources, this new edition demonstrates the major challenges that the society is facing for the sustainability of all well-being on the planet Earth. The experience, evidence, methods, and models used in studying natural resources are presented in six stand-alone volumes, arranged along the main systems of land, water, and air. It reviews state-of-the-art knowledge, highlights advances made in different areas, and provides guidance for the appropriate use of remote sensing and geospatial data with field-based measurements in the study of natural resources. Volume 5, Coastal and Marine Environments, discusses marine and coastal ecosystems, their biodiversity, conservation, and integrated marine management plans. It provides fundamental information on coastal and estuarine systems and includes discussions on coastal erosion and shoreline change, natural disasters, evaporation and energy balance, fisheries and marine resource management, and more. New in this edition are discussions on sea level rise, renewable energy, coral reef restoration, fishery resource economics, and coastal remote sensing. This volume demonstrates the key processes, methods, and models used through many case studies from around the world. Written in an easy-to-reference manner, The Handbook of Natural Resources, Second Edition, as individual volumes or as a complete set, is an essential reading for anyone looking for a deeper understanding of the science and management of natural resources. Public and private libraries, educational and research institutions, scientists, scholars, and resource managers will benefit enormously from this set. Individual volumes and chapters can also be used in a wide variety of both graduate and undergraduate courses in environmental science and natural science at different levels and disciplines, such as biology, geography, earth system science, and ecology.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 1138339636Publication Date: 2020-06-08
Ecology and Applications of Benthic Foraminifera by
In this 2006 volume John Murray investigates the ecological processes that control the distribution, abundance and species diversity of benthic foraminifera in environments ranging from marsh to the deepest ocean. To interpret the fossil record it is necessary to have an understanding of the ecology of modern foraminifera and the processes operating after death leading to burial and fossilisation. This book presents the ecological background required to explain how fossil forms are used in dating rocks and reconstructing past environmental features including changes of sea level. It demonstrates how living foraminifera can be used to monitor modern-day environmental change. Ecology and Applications of Benthic Foraminifera presents a comprehensive and global coverage of the subject using all the available literature. It is supported by a website hosting a large database of additional ecological information (www.cambridge.org/0521828392) and will form an important reference for academic researchers and graduate students in Earth and Environmental Sciences.
Call Number: QL368.F6 M827 2006 (Print Resource)ISBN: 9780521828390Publication Date: 2006-10-26
Ecology of Aquatic Systems by
Aquatic systems exhibit incredible diversity - from mountain streams to deep oceans, from lakes and ponds to the estuaries that link river and sea. Despite their distinct characters, however, these systems share common properties and, at the level of ecology, are not all that different afterall. But how can this be?Ecology of Aquatic Systems brings together coverage of freshwater and marine systems to illustrate the principles and properties that unify aquatic systems. Using examples drawn from a wide geographical range, the book presents a broad survey of the field that acts as the ideal foundation forfurther study.Opening with a review of the different types of aquatic system and their interconnected nature, and the diversity of life within aquatic systems, the book goes on to explore the key types of aquatic habitat, emphasising the ecological themes that pervade each system.Written with students in the centre of the frame, Ecology of Aquatic Systems retains the succinct, lucid style for which the first edition was praised, and includes cross-references throughout, a substantial glossary, and extensive index, to help readers engage with, and fully understand, thematerial presented.With the global importance of aquatic systems becoming more apparent - and the need for effective management of these systems becoming increasingly clear - there has never been a more important time for students to fully grasp the fundamentals of aquatic systems. Ecology of Aquatic Systems is theideal course companion to achieve this goal.Online Resource Centre:The Online Resource Centre features:For registered adopters of the text:- Figures from the book in electronic format, ready to download;- A testbank of multiple-choice questions, for use in formative or summative assessmentFor students:- Hyperlinks to literature articles cited in the text
Call Number: SH327.5 .D63 2009 (Print Resource)ISBN: 9780199297542Publication Date: 2009-01-30
Encyclopedia of Ecology by
Encyclopedia of Ecology, Second Edition continues the acclaimed work of the previous edition published in 2008. It covers all scales of biological organization, from organisms, to populations, to communities and ecosystems. Laboratory, field, simulation modelling, and theoretical approaches are presented to show how living systems sustain structure and function in space and time. New areas of focus include micro- and macro scales, molecular and genetic ecology, and global ecology (e.g., climate change, earth transformations, ecosystem services, and the food-water-energy nexus) are included. In addition, new, international experts in ecology contribute on a variety of topics.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 0444637680Publication Date: 2018-09-27
Encyclopedia of Estuaries by
The Encyclopedia of Estuaries, part of Springer's Encyclopedia of Earth Sciences Series, provides a single, state-of-the-art, comprehensive reference volume on estuaries for research scientists, educators, students, and others. Consisting of almost 270 subject entries in an easy-to-use format, this volume covers the physical, chemical, and biological characteristics of estuaries. In total more than 225 authors from around the world have contributed to the encyclopedia on such diverse subjects as biotic communities, essential habitats, food webs, fisheries, hydrology, pollution, conservation, and many more. The Encyclopedia of Estuaries will meet the needs of professionals worldwide by supplying detailed information from world-class estuarine and marine scientists as well as experts from other fields of study.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9401788014Publication Date: 2015-08-11
Encyclopedia of Islands by
Islands have captured the imagination of scientists and the public for centuries--unique and rare environments, their isolation makes them natural laboratories for ecology and evolution. This authoritative, alphabetically arranged reference, featuring more than 200 succinct articles by leading scientists from around the world, provides broad coverage of all the island sciences. But what exactly is an island? The volume editors define it here as any discrete habitat isolated from other habitats by inhospitable surroundings. The Encyclopedia of Islands examines many such insular settings--oceanic and continental islands as well as places such as caves, mountaintops, and whale falls at the bottom of the ocean. This essential, one-stop resource, extensively illustrated with color photographs, clear maps, and graphics will introduce island science to a wide audience and spur further research on some of the planet's most fascinating habitats.
Call Number: GB471 .E53 2009 (Print and Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9780520256491Publication Date: 2009-08-19
Encyclopedia of Marine Geosciences by
Globally growing demand of energy and mineral resources, reliable future projection of climate processes and the protection of coasts to mitigate the threats of disasters and hazards require a comprehensive understanding of the structure, ongoing processes and genesis of the marine geosphere. Beyond the “classical” research fields in marine geology in current time more general concepts have been evolved integrating marine geophysics, hydrography, marine biology, climatology and ecology. As an umbrella the term “marine geosciences” has been broadly accepted for this new complex field of research and the solutions of practical tasks in the marine realm. The “Encyclopedia of Marine Geosciences” comprises the current knowledge in marine geosciences whereby not only basic but also applied and technical sciences are covered. Through this concept a broad scale of users in the field of marine sciences and techniques is addressed from students and scholars in academia to engineers and decision makers in industry and politics.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9400766440Publication Date: 2020
Encyclopedia of Marine Mammals by
This thorough revision of the classic Encyclopedia of Marine Mammals brings this authoritative book right up-to-date. Articles describe every species in detail, based on the very latest taxonomy, and a host of biological, ecological and sociological aspects relating to marine mammals. The latest information on the biology, ecology, anatomy, behavior and interactions with man is provided by a cast of expert authors - all presented in such detail and clarity to support both marine mammal specialists and the serious naturalist. Fully referenced throughout and with a fresh selection of the best color photographs available, the long-awaited second edition remains at the forefront as the go-to reference on marine mammals. More than 20% NEW MATERIAL includes articles on Climate Change, Pacific White-sided Dolphins, Sociobiology, Habitat Use, Feeding Morphology and more Over 260 articles on the individual species with topics ranging from anatomy and behavior, to conservation, exploitation and the impact of global climate change on marine mammals New color illustrations show every species and document topical articles FROM THE FIRST EDITION "This book is so good...a bargain, full of riches...packed with fascinating up to date information. I recommend it unreservedly it to individuals, students, and researchers, as well as libraries." --Richard M. Laws, MARINE MAMMALS SCIENCE "...establishes a solid and satisfying foundation for current study and future exploration" --Ronald J. Shusterman, SCIENCE
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9780080919935Publication Date: 2009-02-26
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences by
The Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences is the most current, authoritative, and comprehensive resource on the science of the oceans. This ambitious work includes contributions from leading scientists around the world on the physical processes that drive the oceans and the chemical, biological, and geological disciplines. The Encyclopedia also covers ancillary topics such as ocean technology, law of the oceans, global programs, marine policy, the use of the oceans for food and energy, and the impact of pollution and climate changes. The many different methods used to study the oceans are covered, from ship-based systems to satellite remote sensing. Users will enjoy easy access to more than 400 articles, each approximately 3000-4000 words in length with further reading lists and extensive cross referencing. Each article provides comprehensive coverage of a particular topic, and is designed for a wide audience of students, academics, researchers, and professionals. The articles are written at a level that allows undergraduate students to understand the material, while providing active researchers with the latest technical information. Also available online on ScienceDirect. For online version information, please visit http://www.info.sciencedirect.com/reference_works
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 012227430XPublication Date: 2013
Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology
The Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology (ESST) addresses the grand challenge for science and engineering today. It provides unprecedented, peer-reviewed coverage of sustainability science and technology with contributions from nearly 1,000 of the world’s leading scientists and engineers, who write on more than 600 separate topics in 42 sections. ESST establishes a foundation for the many sustainability and policy evaluations being performed in institutions worldwide. An indispensable resource for scientists and engineers in developing new technologies and for applying existing technologies to sustainability, the Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology is presented at the university and professional level needed for scientists, engineers, and their students to support real progress in sustainability science and technology. Although the emphasis is on science and technology rather than policy, the Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology is also a comprehensive and authoritative resource for policy makers who want to understand the scope of research and development and how these bottom-up innovations map on to the sustainability challenge.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2020
Encyclopedia of Theoretical Ecology by
This major reference is an overview of the current state of theoretical ecology through a series of topical entries centered on both ecological and statistical themes. Coverage ranges across scales--from the physiological, to populations, landscapes, and ecosystems. Entries provide an introduction to broad fields such as Applied Ecology, Behavioral Ecology, Computational Ecology, Ecosystem Ecology, Epidemiology and Epidemic Modeling, Population Ecology, Spatial Ecology and Statistics in Ecology. Others provide greater specificity and depth, including discussions on the Allee effect, ordinary differential equations, and ecosystem services. Descriptions of modern statistical and modeling approaches and how they contributed to advances in theoretical ecology are also included. Succinct, uncompromising, and authoritative--a "must have" for those interested in the use of theory in the ecological sciences.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9780520951785Publication Date: 2012-05-31
Encyclopedia of Tidepools and Rocky Shores by
Tidepools and rocky shores are among the most physically stressful environments on earth. When the tide is high, waves can sweep over plants and animals at velocities as high as 60 miles per hour, while at low tide, the same organisms dry up and bake in the sun. Yet despite this seeming inhospitality, tidepools and rocky shores are exceptionally complex and biologically diverse. This comprehensive encyclopedia is an authoritative, one-stop reference for everyone interested in the biology and ecology of this fascinating and uniquely accessible environment. Conveniently arranged alphabetically, nearly 200 wide-ranging entries written in clear language by scientists from around the world provide a state-of-the-art picture of tidepools and rocky shore science. From Abalones, Barnacles, and Climate Change through Seagrasses, Tides, and Wind, the articles discuss the animals and plants that live in tidepools, the physics and chemistry of the rocky shore environment, the ecological principles that govern tidepools, and many other interdisciplinary topics. * Generously illustrated with hundreds of color photographs, drawings, and diagrams * The only comprehensive volume available on tidepools and rocky shores * Articles include in-depth looks at animal and algal diversity and overviews of the history of research, rocky shore management, and conservation * Contributors are experts on physics and physical oceanography, experimental ecology, population genetics, taxonomy, and other disciplines
Call Number: Reference QH541.5.S35 E53 2007 (Print and Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9780520251182Publication Date: 2007-09-03
Encyclopedia of Underwater Life: Aquatic Invertebrates and Fishes by
A fascinating, in-depth exploration of the hidden underwater world, this spectacularly illustrated encyclopedia examines the creatures that inhabit our seas, rivers, lakes, and oceans, revealing the often unexpected and bewilderingly diverse secrets of the deep. detailed, comprehensive coverage of thousands of underwater species, among them barracudas, piranhas, sharks, octopuses, corals, sponges, jellyfish, and leeches, describing the distribution, habitat, anatomy, behaviour, breeding, and conservation status of groups. Clear, authoritative scholarship from an international team of experts is enhanced by incredible colour photographs and explanatory diagrams. distribution of species; and there are feature articles on key topics such as the biological organization of coral reefs, and the lifecycle of the salmon. A list of scientific names, a glossary, and a general index make this encyclopedia accessible and easy to navigate. anyone interested in learning more about aquatic life.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 0192806742Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Fishes of the World by
Take your knowledge of fishes to the next level Fishes of the World, Fifth Edition is the only modern, phylogenetically based classification of the world's fishes. The updated text offers new phylogenetic diagrams that clarify the relationships among fish groups, as well as cutting-edge global knowledge that brings this classic reference up to date. With this resource, you can classify orders, families, and genera of fishes, understand the connections among fish groups, organize fishes in their evolutionary context, and imagine new areas of research. To further assist your work, this text provides representative drawings, many of them new, for most families of fishes, allowing you to make visual connections to the information as you read. It also contains many references to the classical as well as the most up-to-date literature on fish relationships, based on both morphology and molecular biology. The study of fishes is one that certainly requires dedication--and access to reliable, accurate information. With more than 30,000 known species of sharks, rays, and bony fishes, both lobe-finned and ray-finned, you will need to master your area of study with the assistance of the best reference materials available. This text will help you bring your knowledge of fishes to the next level. Explore the anatomical characteristics, distribution, common and scientific names, and phylogenetic relationships of fishes Access biological and anatomical information on more than 515 families of living fishes Better appreciate the complexities and controversies behind the modern view of fish relationships Refer to an extensive bibliography, which points you in the direction of additional, valuable, and up-to-date information, much of it published within the last few years Fishes of the World, Fifth Edition is an invaluable resource for professional ichthyologists, aquatic ecologists, marine biologists, fish breeders, aquaculturists, and conservationists.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 1119220815Publication Date: 2016-03-16
Handbook of Ecological Indicators for Assessment of Ecosystem Health by
Continuing in the tradition of its bestselling predecessor, the Handbook of Ecological Indicators for Assessment of Ecosystem Health, Second Edition brings together world-class editors and contributors who have been at the forefront of ecosystem health assessment research for decades, to provide a sound approach to environmental management and sust
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 1439809372Publication Date: 2016-04-19
Handbook of Scaling Methods in Aquatic Ecology by
The evolution of observational instruments, simulation techniques, and computing power has given aquatic scientists a new understanding of biological and physical processes that span temporal and spatial scales. This has created a need for a single volume that addresses concepts of scale in a manner that builds bridges between experimentalists and theoreticians in aquatic ecology. Handbook of Scaling Methods in Aquatic Ecology: Measurement, Analysis, Simulation is the first comprehensive compilation of modern scaling methods used in marine and freshwater ecological research. Written by leading researchers, it presents a systematic approach to dealing with space and time in aquatic ecology. This is a compendium that analyzes themes related to the response or behavior of organisms to processes occurring over multiple spatial and temporal scales. This book covers: novel techniques for data collection, focusing on processes over a broad range of scales (from bacteria to ocean basins); newly-developed concepts and data analysis algorithms; and innovative computer models and simulations to mimic complex biological processes. The Handbook serves as a reference volume for investigators seeking insight into new experimental approaches and data analysis, as well as the sensor design required for optimal sampling. Many of the algorithms and models provided are directly applicable to your experimental data. This comprehensive treatment of scaling methods and applications can help foster a unified understanding of subject matter among the modeling, experimental, and field research communities.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 0849313449Publication Date: 2003-09-25
Human Impacts on Ancient Marine Ecosystems: A Global Perspective by
Archaeological data now show that relatively intense human adaptations to coastal environments developed much earlier than once believed--more than 125,000 years ago. With our oceans and marine fisheries currently in a state of crisis, coastal archaeological sites contain a wealth of data that can shed light on the history of human exploitation of marine ecosystems. In eleven case studies from the Americas, Pacific Islands, North Sea, Caribbean, Europe, and Africa, leading researchers working in coastal areas around the world cover diverse marine ecosystems, reaching into deep history to discover how humans interacted with and impacted these aquatic environments and shedding new light on our understanding of contemporary environmental problems.
Call Number: GN784 .H86 2008 (Print and Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9780520253438Publication Date: 2008-04-29
Impact of Climate Changes on Marine Environments by
This book contributes to the current discussion on global environmental changes by discussing modifications in marine ecosystems related to global climate changes. In marine ecosystems, rising atmospheric CO2 and climate changes are associated with shifts in temperature, circulation, stratification, nutrient input, oxygen concentration and ocean acidification, which have significant biological effects on a regional and global scale. Knowing how these changes affect the distribution and abundance of plankton in the ocean currents is crucial to our understanding of how climate change impacts the marine environment. Ocean temperatures, weather and climatic changes greatly influence the amount and location of nutrients in the water column. If temperatures and currents change, the plankton production cycle may not coincide with the reproduction cycle of fish. The above changes are closely related to the changes in radiative forcing, which initiate feedback mechanisms like changes in surface temperature, circulation, and atmospheric chemistry.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9783319142838Publication Date: 2015-01-28
Invasive Species Management: A Handbook of Principles and Techniques by
Invasive alien species are a major and growing threat to biodiversity worldwide. The transport of organisms through increased levels of trade and tourism is leading to the widespread breaching of natural biogeographic barriers at unprecedented rates. Consequences can be severe, especially innaturally isolated ecosystems. Invasive alien species can cause the extinction of vulnerable endemic species, alter the structure and composition of communities, disrupt successional pathways, and lead to the loss of ecosystem services. Global climate change may further exacerbate the spread ofalien species, as climatic zones shift and potential ranges alter.The effective management of invasive alien species is clearly a priority for biological conservation worldwide. This book first provides strategies for managing such species at successive invasion stages, from prevention at the border to control of major infestations. It then describes the generaltools and approaches that are recommended for successful management of particular groups of invasive organisms in a range of environments. In each case, the ecological basis and practical requirements of invasive alien species management are addressed.This integration of proven techniques and policies will be useful to a wide readership of students, academics, conservation practitioners, invasive species managers, legislators, and to the broader community concerned with biological conservation.
Call Number: QH353 .I599 2009 (Print Resource)ISBN: 0199216320Publication Date: 2009-09-28
Marine Chemical Ecology by
The interdisciplinary field of marine chemical ecology is an expanding and dynamic science. It is no surprise that the breadth of marine organisms studied expanded in concert with developments in underwater technology. With its up-to-date subject reviews by experts, Marine Chemical Ecology is the most current, comprehensive book on the subject. The book provides cellular, physiological, organismal, evolutionary, and applied perspectives creating a high-resolution snapshot of the field at the start of the 21st century. The introductory section provides a broad phylogenic overview of marine organic chemistry. With its emphasis on evolutionary, ecological, and biosynthetic considerations, it sets a foundation for the chapters that follow. The second section takes an organismal approach to understanding the role of secondary metabolites in mediating trophic interrelationships. Section three reviews cellular and physiological aspects of marine chemical ecology. The final section discusses practical applications. Fully detailed with figures, tables, and chemical structural diagrams, the book's coverage spans aspects of marine ecology from molecular to community levels, bridging diverse disciplines. Written by an international panel, Marine Chemical Ecology provides a conceptual synthesis and overview of the discipline. You get an integrated perspective of the current state of the field, and its future.
Call Number: QH541.5.S3 M254 2001 (Print and Electronic Resource)ISBN: 0849390648Publication Date: 2001-06-13
Marine Conservation Ecology by
This major textbook provides a broad coverage of the ecological foundations of marine conservation, including the rationale, importance and practicalities of various approaches to marine conservation and management. The scope of the book encompasses an understanding of the elements of marine biodiversity - from global to local levels - threats to marine biodiversity, and the structure and function of marine environments as related to conservation issues. The authors describe the potential approaches, initiatives and various options for conservation, from the genetic to the species, community and ecosystem levels in marine environments. They explore methods for identifying the units of conservation, and the development of defensible frameworks for marine conservation. They describe planning of ecologically integrated conservation strategies, including decision-making on size, boundaries, numbers and connectivity of protected area networks. The book also addresses relationships between fisheries and biodiversity, novel methods for conservation planning in the coastal zone and the evaluation of conservation initiatives.
Call Number: GC1018 .R64 2011 (Print Resource)ISBN: 9781844078837Publication Date: 2011-06-27
Marine Ecological Field Methods: A Guide for Marine Biologists and Fisheries Scientists by
A comprehensive, clear, and detailed guide to procedures for conducting marine ecological field studies Marine Ecological Field Methods is a comprehensive resource that offers the most relevant sampling methodologies for quantitative and qualitative studies of mesopelagic, demersal, littoral, and soft-bottom organisms, as well as relevant physical parameters. The authors describe how various sampling gears work, how to operate them, their limitations, guides on sorting and measuring collected organisms, and how to deal with subsamples of large catches. The text also explains how to use acoustic equipment for monitoring aggregations of organisms, for example fish shoals, as well as the use of sensors for registering environmental variables such as salinity, temperature, oxygen, and light. The text contains cutting-edge research techniques that are in their final stages of development for use in research surveys. Marine Ecological Field Methods is designed to help with the entire procedure for conducting a field study, including the generation of hypotheses, planning field collection of data, conducting field work, data exploration and statistical analysis with the use of R, and presentation of results in a final report. This essential resource: Covers a wide range of techniques and methods for the marine environment Includes tried and trusted methodologies and techniques from a team of noted experts in the field Contains information on sampling equipment ranging from those that are useful in the littoral zone to shallow nearshore areas, including bottles, secchi discs, and gillnets, and finally large trawls, benthic sleds, ROV and advanced technologies for remote sensing in the open ocean. Explores the step-by-step procedures for conducting a field study, from formulating hypotheses to the process of registering and reporting results Written for students and professionals in the field, this vital resource describes marine ecological sampling equipment, methods and analysis, ranging from physical parameters to fish, microalgae, zooplankton, benthos and macroalgae.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9781119184300Publication Date: 2018-02-05
Marine Ecological Processes by
The oceans represent a vast, complex and poorly understood ecosystem. Marine Ecological Processes is a modern review and synthesis of marine ecology that provides the reader with a lucid introduction to the intellectual concepts, approaches, and methods of this evolving discipline. Comprehensive in its coverage, this book focuses on the processes controlling marine ecosystems, communities, and populations and demonstrates how general ecological principles--derived from terrestrial and freshwater systems as well--apply to marine ecosystems. Global warming and increased eutrophication and wetland destruction in recent years has made the study of ecological processes even more important for the preservation of marine environments. This thoroughly updated and expanded edition will provide students of marine ecology, marine biology, and oceanography with numerous illustrations, examples, and references which clearly impart to the reader the current state of research in this field: its achievements as well as unresolved controversies.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 0387790683Publication Date: 2016-03-23
Marine Ecology: Concepts and Applications by
This book began life as a series of lectures given to second and third year undergraduates at Oxford University. These lectures were designed to give students insights as to how marine ecosystems functioned, how they were being affected by natural and human interventions, and how we might be able to conserve them and manage them sustainably for the good of people, both recreationally and economically. This book presents 10 chapters, beginning with principles of oceanography important to ecology, through discussions of the magnitude of marine biodiversity and the factors influencing it, the functioning of marine ecosystems at within trophic levels such as primary production, competition and dispersal, to different trophic level interactions such as herbivory, predation and parasitism. The final three chapters look at the more applied aspects of marine ecology, discussion fisheries, human impacts, and management and conservation. Other textbooks covering similar topics tend to treat the topics from the point of view of separate ecosystems, with chapters on reefs, rocks and deep sea. This book however is topic driven as described above, and each chapter makes full use of examples from all appropriate marine ecosystems. The book is illustrated throughout with many full colour diagrams and high quality photographs. The book is aimed at undergraduate and graduate students at colleges and universities, and it is hoped that the many examples from all over the world will provide global relevance and interest. Both authors have long experience of research and teaching in marine ecology. Martin Speight's first degree was in marine zoology at UCNW Bangor, and he has taught marine ecology and conservation at Oxford for 25 years. His research students study tropical marine ecology from the Caribbean through East Africa to the Far East. Peter Henderson is a Senior Research Associate at the University of Oxford, and is Director of Pisces Conservation in the UK. He has worked on marine and freshwater fisheries, as well as ecological and economic impacts and exploitation of the sea in North and South America as well as Europe.
Call Number: QH541.5.S3 S655 2010 (Print Resource)ISBN: 140512699XPublication Date: 2010-05-10
Marine Ecosystem-Based Management in Practice: Different Pathways, Common Lessons by
Julia Wondolleck and Steven Yaffee are hopeful. Rather than lamenting the persistent conflicts in global marine ecosystems, they instead sought out examples where managers were doing things differently and making progress against great odds. They interviewed planners, managers, community members, fishermen, and environmentalists throughout the world to find the best lessons for others hoping to advance marine conservation. Their surprising discovery? Successful marine management requires not only the right mix of science, law, financing, and organizational structure, but also an atmosphere of collaboration--a comfortable place for participants to learn about issues, craft solutions, and develop the interpersonal relationships, trust, and understanding needed to put plans into action. Marine Ecosystem-Based Management in Practice is the first practical guide for the marine conservation realm. In a unique collection of case studies, the authors showcase successful collaborative approaches to ecosystem-based management. The authors introduce the basic concepts of ecosystem-based management and five different pathways for making progress from community to multinational levels. They spotlight the characteristics that are evident in all successful cases --the governance structures and social motivations that make it work. Case analyses ranging from the Gulf of Maine to the Channel Islands in Southern California comprise the bulk of the book, augmented by text boxes showcasing examples of guiding documents important to the process. They devote several ending chapters to discussion of the interpersonal relationships critical to successful implementation of marine ecosystem-based management. The book concludes with a discussion of the implications for policy and on-the-ground practice. This book offers a hopeful message to policy makers, managers, practitioners, and students who will find this an indispensable guide to field-tested, replicable marine conservation management practices that work.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9781610917988Publication Date: 2017-02-14
Marine Historical Ecology in Conservation by
This pioneering volume provides a blueprint for managing the challenges of ocean conservation using marine historical ecology--an interdisciplinary area of study that is helping society to gain a more in-depth understanding of past human-environmental interactions in coastal and marine ecosystems and of the ecological and social outcomes associated with these interactions. Developed by groundbreaking practitioners in the field, Marine Historical Ecology in Conservation highlights the innovative ways that historical ecology can be applied to improve conservation and management efforts in the oceans. The book focuses on four key challenges that confront marine conservation: (1) recovering endangered species, (2) conserving fisheries, (3) restoring ecosystems, and (4) engaging the public. Chapters emphasize real-world conservation scenarios appropriate for students, faculty, researchers, and practitioners in marine science, conservation biology, natural resource management, paleoecology, and marine and coastal archaeology. By focusing on success stories and applied solutions, this volume delivers the required up-to-date science and tools needed for restoration and protection of ocean and coastal ecosystems.
Call Number: QH541.5.S3 M2828 2015 (Print and Electronic Resource)ISBN: 0520276949Publication Date: 2014-12-24
Marine Macroecology by
Pioneered in the late 1980s, the concept of macroecology--a framework for studying ecological communities with a focus on patterns and processes--revolutionized the field. Although this approach has been applied mainly to terrestrial ecosystems, there is increasing interest in quantifying macroecological patterns in the sea and understanding the processes that generate them. Taking stock of the current work in the field and advocating a research agenda for the decades ahead, Marine Macroecology draws together insights and approaches from a diverse group of scientists to show how marine ecology can benefit from the adoption of macroecological approaches. Divided into three parts, Marine Macroecology first provides an overview of marine diversity patterns and offers case studies of specific habitats and taxonomic groups. In the second part, contributors focus on process-based explanations for marine ecological patterns. The third part presents new approaches to understanding processes driving the macroecolgical patterns in the sea. Uniting unique insights from different perspectives with the common goal of identifying and understanding large-scale biodiversity patterns, Marine Macroecology will inspire the next wave of marine ecologists to approach their research from a macroecological perspective.
Call Number: QH541.5.S3 M2829 2009 (Print Resource)ISBN: 9780226904115Publication Date: 2009-10-15
Marine Mammal Ecology and Conservation: A Handbook of Techniques by
Marine mammals command a high level of public attention, reflected in specific legislation for their protection and management in many countries. They also present particular challenges to ecologists and conservation biologists. They are mostly difficult to observe, they occupy an environmentthat is vast in its three dimensional extent, there are often perceived conflicts between marine mammals and people, and furthermore several species are now close to extinction.Marine mammals have some intriguing features in their biology - the ability to dive to crushing depths, to perform breath-hold dives that defy our current understanding of mammalian physiology, and many have an ability to hunt down prey using sophisticated sonar that we are only just beginning tounderstand. Many species also have complex social structures. We still have much to learn about these extraordinary animals so a comprehensive and authoritative overview of current methodology is now timely. The intention of this book is both to summarize the state-of-the-art and to encourageinnovation and further progress in this research field.
Call Number: QL713.2 .M274 2010 (Print Resource)ISBN: 9780199216567Publication Date: 2010-10-24
Marine Microbiology: Ecology and Applications by
Marine Microbiology brings together microbial biology and ecology to create an integrated approach that addresses environmental management, human health, and economic concerns. The Second Edition takes into account many new discoveries in the field including the role of microbes in ocean processes and nutrient cycles, the importance of viruses, the beneficial role of marine microbes in biotechnology, biofuels, metagenomics and synthetic biology, and new research on the impact of climate change and ocean acidification. The first three sections review the main features of the marine environment and key aspects of marine microbial life; the second section examines the role of marine microorganisms in ecology; and the final section considers some of the applications of this knowledge in areas such as disease and biodegradation. Marine Microbiology is ideally suited for upper level undergraduate and graduate students, and researchers.
Call Number: QR106 .M86 2011 (Print Resource)ISBN: 9780815365174Publication Date: 2011-04-01
Microbial Ecology of the Oceans by
Wiley Series in Ecological and Applied Microbiology, Ralph Mitchell, Series Editor Microbial ecology is now recognized to be fundamental for understanding the natural world around us and is essential for examining life in the oceans. For the first time, this book brings together international experts to explore the incredibly diverse collection of microbes (and viruses) found in the oceans and to dissect many of the processes mediated by these microbes in aquatic environments. Although the oceans are emphasized, the organisms and processes discussed in the book occur in nearly all natural environments, including rivers and lakes. Microbial Ecology of the Oceans reviews some basics of marine microbiology andprovides a foundation for researchers and students new to the field while also examining several questions currently being discussed in modern microbial ecology. The book brings together concepts from autoecological studies of individual bacterial groups and from ecological studies of microbial assemblages in the oceans. In addition to drawing on the rich history of microbiology, Microbial Ecology of the Oceans uses the latest advances in biological and chemical oceanography and limnology to examine the role of marine microbes and viruses in the oceans. Some of the topics covered by this informative book include: * Microbial evolution, as revealed by molecular techniques * Microbes in carbon budgets and cycles * Viruses and grazers of bacteria * Competition between bacteria and phytoplankton for limited nutrientsMarine symbiosis Microbial Ecology of the Oceans elucidates the role of microbes in food web dynamics and biogeochemical cycles in the ocean. It will prove to be an indispensable resource for students and researchers in biological and chemical oceanography, geochemistry, marine chemistry, freshwater ecology, and microbiology. Also in this series: Biofilms II: Analysis, Process, and Applications, James D. Bryers; Extremophiles: Microbial Life in Extreme Environments, Koki Horikoshi, William D. Grant; Wastewater Microbiology, Second Edition, Gabriel Bitton
Call Number: QR106 .M53 2000 (Print Resource)ISBN: 0471299936Publication Date: 2000-05-01
Oceans and Marine Resources in a Changing Climate by
Prepared for the 2013 National Climate Assessment and a landmark study in terms of its breadth and depth of coverage, Oceans and Marine Resources in a Changing Climate is the result of a collaboration among numerous local, state, federal, and nongovernmental agencies to develop a comprehensive, state of the art look at the effects of climate change on the oceans and marine ecosystems under U.S. jurisdiction. This book provides an assessment of scientific knowledge of the current and projected impacts of climate change and ocean acidification on the physical, chemical, and biological components and human uses of marine ecosystems under U.S. jurisdiction. It also provides assessment of the international implications for the U.S. due to climate impacts on ocean ecosystems and of efforts to prepare for and adapt to climate and acidification impacts on ocean ecosystem, including · Climate-Driven Physical and Chemical Changes in Marine Ecosystems · Impacts of Climate Change on Marine Organisms · Impacts of Climate Change on Human Uses of the Ocean · International Implications of Climate Change · Ocean Management Challenges, Adaptation Approaches, and Opportunities in a Changing Climate · Sustaining the Assessment of Climate Impacts on Oceans and Marine Resources Rich in science and case studies, it examines the latest climate change impacts, scenarios, vulnerabilities, and adaptive capacity and offers decision makers and stakeholders a substantial basis from which to make informed choices that will affect the well-being of the region's inhabitants in the decades to come.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9781610914802Publication Date: 2013-09-19
Ocean Science Data: Collection, Management, Networking and Services by
Ocean Science Data: Collection, Management, Networking, and Services presents the evolution of ocean science, information, theories, and data services for oceanographers looking for a better understanding of big data. The book is divided into chapters organized under the following main issues: marine science, history and data archaeology, data services in ocean science, society-driven data, and coproduction and education. Throughout the book, particular emphasis is put on data products quality and big data management strategy; embracing tools enabling data discovery, data preparation, self-service data accessibility, collaborative semantic metadata management, data standardization, and stream processing engines. Ocean Science Data provides an opportunity to start a new roadmap for data management issues, to be used for future collaboration among disciplines. This will include a focus on organizational objectives such as improved performance, competitive advantage, innovation, the sharing of lessons learned, integration, and continuous improvement of data management organization. This book is written for ocean scientists at postgraduate level and above as well as marine scientists and climate change scientists.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9780128234273Publication Date: 2021-10-08
Practical Handbook of Marine Science by
The heavily-revised Practical Handbook of Marine Science, Fourth Edition continues its tradition as a state-of-the-art reference that updates the field of marine science to meet the interdisciplinary research needs of physical oceanographers, marine biologists, marine chemists, and marine geologists. This edition adds an entirely new section devoted to Climate Change and Climate Change Effects. It also adds new sections on Estuaries, Beaches, Barrier Islands, Shellfish, Macroalgae, Food Chains, Food Webs, Trophic Dynamics, System Productivity, Physical-Chemical-Biological Alteration, and Coastal Resource Management. The Handbook assembles an extensive international collection of marine science data throughout, with approximately 1,000 tables and illustrations. It provides comprehensive coverage of anthropogenic impacts in estuarine and marine ecosystems from local, regional, and global perspectives. Maintaining its user-friendly, multi-sectional format, this comprehensive resource will also be of value to undergraduate and graduate students, research scientists, administrators, and other professionals who deal with the management of marine resources. Now published in full color, the new edition offers extensive illustrative and tabular reference material covering all the major disciplines related to the sea.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 1315157594Publication Date: 2019-07-12
The Princeton Guide to Ecology by
The Princeton Guide to Ecology is a concise, authoritative one-volume reference to the field's major subjects and key concepts. Edited by eminent ecologist Simon Levin, with contributions from an international team of leading ecologists, the book contains more than ninety clear, accurate, and up-to-date articles on the most important topics within seven major areas: autecology, population ecology, communities and ecosystems, landscapes and the biosphere, conservation biology, ecosystem services, and biosphere management. Complete with more than 200 illustrations (including sixteen pages in color), a glossary of key terms, a chronology of milestones in the field, suggestions for further reading on each topic, and an index, this is an essential volume for undergraduate and graduate students, research ecologists, scientists in related fields, policymakers, and anyone else with a serious interest in ecology. Explains key topics in one concise and authoritative volume Features more than ninety articles written by an international team of leading ecologists Contains more than 200 illustrations, including sixteen pages in color Includes glossary, chronology, suggestions for further reading, and index Covers autecology, population ecology, communities and ecosystems, landscapes and the biosphere, conservation biology, ecosystem services, and biosphere management
Call Number: QH541 .P742 2009 (Print Resource)ISBN: 9780691128399Publication Date: 2009-08-16
Treatise on Estuarine and Coastal Science by
The study of estuaries and coasts has seen enormous growth in recent years, since changes in these areas have a large effect on the food chain, as well as on the physics and chemistry of the ocean. As the coasts and river banks around the world become more densely populated, the pressure on these ecosystems intensifies, putting a new focus on environmental, socio-economic and policy issues. Written by a team of international expert scientists, under the guidance of Chief Editors Eric Wolanski and Donald McClusky, the Treatise on Estuarine and Coastal Science examines topics in depth, and aims to provide a comprehensive scientific resource for all professionals and students in the area of estuarine and coastal science Most up-to-date reference for system-based coastal and estuarine science and management, from the inland watershed to the ocean shelf Chief editors have assembled a world-class team of volume editors and contributing authors Approach focuses on the physical, biological, chemistry, ecosystem, human, ecological and economics processes, to show how to best use multidisciplinary science to ensure earth's sustainability Provides a comprehensive scientific resource for all professionals and students in the area of estuarine and coastal science Features up-to-date chapters covering a full range of topics
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9780080878850Publication Date: 2012-03-06
Water Encyclopedia by
The Water Encyclopedia offers a comprehensive depository of all information relating to the scientific and technological aspects of the world's most important natural resource -- water. The role of water in science, engineering and society requires a one-stop location to find whatever information is available on the cutting edge of the 21st century. This book is a resource for useful public domain data. Its focus is expert narrative on all water-related subjects.
Call Number: Reference TD345 .L393 2005 (Print and Electronic Resource)ISBN: 0471441643Publication Date: 2005-06-13
