It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ARTHI 186h Seminar in Seventeenth Century Southern European Art: Caravaggio and Caravaggism (Paul, Fall 2021): Reference Sources
Oxford Art Online allows you to search the vast content of Grove Art Online and Oxford art reference in one location. Users can also choose to view biographies, subject entries, or images when searching or browsing. The database includes more than 23,000 subject entries, 21,000 biographies, 500,000 bibliographic citations, 40,000 image links and 5,000 images contained within Grove Art Online. Thematic timelines and learning resources also provide users with powerful tools for navigating the content, and context-sensitive help pages are available throughout the site to guide users through the features and functionality.The database includes Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art.
Date Coverage: Current
Materials Indexed: Materials Indexed: Essays; Images
The Catholic Encyclopedia was the first major encyclopedia of the Catholic Church in English. Besides describing "the entire cycle of Catholic interests, action and doctrine" of its era, it includes "what Catholic artists, educators, poets, scientists and men of action have achieved in their several provinces."
Date Coverage: 1905-1914
Materials Indexed: Essays
Considered a standard reference in the field. Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture. The original 2,750 entries have been retained, many heavily updated, and approximately 600 entirely new articles have been added by an international team of scholars and contributors.
Date Coverage: 2005 (2nd edition)
Guide to Imagery
Gods and Heroes in Art
Reference N7760.I4713 2003
Old Testament Figures in Art
Reference N8020.D4 2003
Gospel Figures in Art
Reference N8030.Z8413 2003
Saints in Art
Reference ND1430.G5513 2003
Iconographic Index to New Testament Subjects
Reference ND1430.R6 1992
Iconographic Index to Old Testament Subjects
Reference ND1430.R63 1987
Extensive list of examples of biblical subjects depicted in paintings
Primarily Italian and other European objects, without explanation of subject matter or references to locations of reproductions
The Oxford Guide to Classical Mythology in the Arts, 1300-1990s
Reference NX650.M9 R45 1993
Summary of subjects
References to classical literary sources
Chronological examples of the subjects in all the arts