It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Click the Get it at UC link to find the full text of the review, either online or in print on the library shelves. If the library does not have access to the review you need, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.
Covers academic journals, popular magazines, and other publications. Enter your book title or author of the book in the text box, and change the Document Type dropdown menu to "Book Review."
For reviews of popular books written before 1984, try Readers Guide Retrospective, below.
Date Coverage: 1984 to present
Materials Indexed: Book Chapters; Book Reviews; Books; Journal Articles; Magazine Articles; Newspaper Articles
Full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines, and academic journals of the alternative, radical and independent press. From the Advanced Search screen, use the dropdown menu for Document Type and choose "periodical reviews." For reviews before 1991 see Alternative Press Index Archive, below.
An international index to the literature of the arts and humanities. First click the small blue text labelled "+ Add Another Field" to create a new text box. In the search box that says "Topic," use the arrow to scroll to Document Type. You can now select "Book Review," then type your book title in the second box.
Date Coverage: Journal Articles: 1975 to present; Conference Proceedings: 1990 to present; Books: 2005 to present
Materials Indexed: Books; Conference Proceedings; Journal Articles
From the Advanced Search (button to the right of the search box) click Review from the alphabetical list, then click the "Add" button. You can now type the title of your book in the "Find" search box at the top. A keyword search will work.
A combination of indexes, including Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index, and Periodicals Index Online. Also contains almost a million records from the ongoing digitization of British Periodicals Collections I and II.
Date Coverage: 19th century
Materials Indexed: Books; Essays; Government Documents; Journal Articles; Magazine Articles; Newspaper Articles; Primary Sources
Index to journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality and gender during the Middle Ages. In English, French, German and Spanish. From the Advanced Search, type "book review" in the text box next to Article Type, then enter your book title or author in the appropriate box.
Date Coverage: 450 C.E. to 1500 C.E., Publication dates 1996 - present
Materials Indexed: Book Chapters; Book Reviews; Essays; Journal Articles
Over 200 titles offering historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women. From the Document Type box in the bottom half of the page, scroll down and check the Review box.
Date Coverage: 1970's to present
Materials Indexed: Book Reviews, Conference Proceedings; Government Documents; Journal Articles; Magazine Articles; Newspaper Articles; Pamphlets; Reports
Citations to articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Click "Book Review" from the Document Type box in the lower left corner.
Date Coverage: 1967 to present
Materials Indexed: Journal Articles
Iter contains approximately 135,000 records from scholarly journals pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance. Click the icon marked "Search a Database (Subscribers Only)", then choose "Iter Bibliography" from the next page. Go to the Advanced Search page, enter your book title in the "any field" text box at the top of the screen, then choose "review" from the dropdown menu at the bottom of the screen.
Date Coverage: Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700), Publication dates 1843 - present
Materials Indexed: Book Reviews; Books; Journal Articles; Theses & Dissertations
An archival collection (not an index) of major scholarly journals across all disciplines. All issues of JSTOR journals are full-text; the most recent year available for any particular journal varies. From the Advanced screen, click the Reviews box.
Full-text book reviews from newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and web publications. Click "News" from the left margin, then enter your book title in quotation marks in the text box labeled "Search in all News for..."
The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. From the center bottom of the page, click "Review" under "Document Type" in the drop down menu.
Date Coverage: 1973 - present
Materials Indexed: Book Chapters; Book Reviews; Books; Journal Articles; Theses & Dissertations
A comprehensive literature database that includes ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature) and the full text to hundreds of literary journals. Click the "Criticism" link from the blue banner at the top of the page, then choose "All Criticism." You can now click the box next to "Reviews" at the bottom of the page.
An index of nearly 5,000 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, psychology, and geography from their first issues to 1995, some full text. The scope is international. Many (but not all) have book reviews. From the Advanced Search, type your book's title into the keyword box and click the "review" option at the bottom of the page.
Date Coverage: 1665 - 1995
Materials Indexed: Book Reviews; Journal Articles
Index to the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the US, including publications such as The New Yorker, History Today, and The New York Times Review of Books. Enter your book title into the first text box, then limit to Book Review from the Document Type menu at bottom of page.
For reviews of popular books written after 1982, try Academic Search Complete, above.
Date Coverage: 1890 - 1982
Materials Indexed: Book Reviews; Magazine Articles
Despite its name, Web of Science also covers scholarly literature in the humanities, social sciences, and arts. To limit your search to book reviews, select Advanced Search and choose "Book review" from the "restrict results" box.
Date Coverage: Journal Articles: Arts and Humanities: 1975 to present; Sciences: 1945 to present; Social Sciences: 1900 to present.; Conference Proceedings: 1990-present; Books: 2005-present
Materials Indexed: Books; Conference Proceedings; Journal Articles
Alternate Titles: Science Citation Index
American Book Reviews
Ref Z1035 A1 A43
Black Literature Criticism
Ref PS 153 N5 B556
Book Review Index
Listed alphabetically by author of the book that has been reviewed. Gives an abbreviation for the journal containing the review, and brief citation information to the issue and page where the review appears. You may have to look at the index volume 2 or even 3 years after the book's publication date before seeing the first published review. Ref Z1219 B66
British Humanities Index
Ref A13 B72
Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Scholarly Journals, 1886-1974
Good for reviews written in the mid to early 20th century. Arranged by author and title. Ref Z1035 A1 V64
Cambridge Guide to Literature in English
Ref PR 85 C29 1992
Cumulative Book Review Digest
Ref Z1219 B65
Index to Book Reviews in England 1749 - 1774 and 1775-1800
Ref Z1035 A1 F67 1990
Index to Book Reviews in the Humanities
Ref Z1219 I5
Guide to Critical Reviews of United States Fiction 1870 - 1910