Anthropology: Film, Video, & Images

Provides on demand access to videos spanning a wide range of subject areas, including documentaries, instructional videos, clinical videos, news, and artistic performances.

Comprehensive online resource for the visual study of human culture and behavior and the largest, most affordable streaming video collection of its kind. Contains classic and contemporary documentaries produced by leading video producers in the discipline; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films.

Authenticate with your UCSBnet ID/password to see videos currently licensed by UCSB Library. Provides streaming access to educational videos from producers including Criterion Collection, PBS, Great Courses, Kino Lorber, BBC, A&E, Films for the Humanities and Sciences, National Geographic, and others.

Africa Commons is a platform for discovering African historical and cultural materials held by organizations around the world.

Contains digital images with accompanying data, as well as software tools to enable researchers to use the images actively. Allows searching and browsing of images from a wide range of cultures and time periods, focusing on but not limited to the arts. Designed to enhance teaching, learning, and scholarship in art history and many other disciplines.

Primary source documents covering the history of the various territories under British colonial governance. Includes administrative documentation, trade and shipping records, minutes of council meetings, and details of plantation life, colonial settlement, imperial rivalries across the region, and the growing concern of absentee landlords.

Covers interactions between Indigenous Peoples and Europeans from their earliest contact, continuing through the turbulence of the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, to the civil rights movement of the mid- to late-twentieth century. This resource contains material from the Newberry Library’s Edward E. Ayer Collection.

Includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo. Search for, download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images.