Books at the UCSB Library
Developing Effective Research Proposals
A well-constructed research plan is vital to the successful execution of any research project. This book shows how to design and prepare a research proposal and present it effectively to a university review committee, funding body, or commercial client. The book is organized around three central themes: What are research proposals; who reads them and why?; what general guidelines and strategies can help students develop a proposal; and what might a finished proposal look like? The book will be invaluable across all areas of social science, both basic and applied, and for students undertaking quantitative, qualitative and mixed-method studies. Developing Effective Research Proposals can be used as a workbook to Keith Punch′s bestselling text An Introduction to Social Research (Sage, 1998) or as an independent guide.
Call Number: H62 .P92 2000 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2000
Developing Research Proposals
Writing a research proposal is one of the most important tasks facing academics, researchers and postgraduate students. Yet there is a good deal of misinformation and a great lack of guidance about what constitutes a good research proposal and what can be done to maximise one′s chances of writing a successful research proposal. Denicolo and Becker recognise the importance of developing an effective research proposal for gaining either a place on a research degree programme or funding to support research projects and set out to explore the main factors that that proposal writers need to attend to in developing successful proposals of their own. Developing Research Proposals will help readers to understand the context within which their proposal will be read, what the reviewers are looking for and will be influenced by, while also supporting the development of relevant skills through advice and practical activities. This book: Explores the nature and purpose of different kinds of proposals Focuses on the actual research proposed Discusses how best to carry out and structure the literature review Examines the posing and phrasing of research questions and hypotheses Looks at how methods and methodology should be handled in a proposal Discusses the crucial issues of planning, strategy and timing in developing targeted proposals Denicolo and Becker draw together the key elements in the process of preparing and submitting a proposal and concludes with advice on responding to the results, successful or not, and their relevance to future proposals. The Success in Research series, from Cindy Becker and Pam Denicolo, provides short, authoritative and accessible guides on key areas of professional and research development. Avoiding jargon and cutting to the chase of what you really need to know, these practical and supportive books cover a range of areas from presenting research to achieving impact, and from publishing journal articles to developing proposals. They are essential reading for any student or researcher interested in developing their skills and broadening their professional and methodological knowledge in an academic context.
Call Number: PE1404 .D3886 2012 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2012
Finding Funding: Grantwriting from Start to Finish, Including Project Management and Internet Use
`The authors introduce very valuable ideas/strategies with tips and guidelines that could make every grant proposal successful′ - Joen Hendricks-Painter, Educational Consultant. `It is a great reference to have for serious grantwriters′ - Janet Hurt, Assistant Superintendent `I think this is a wonderful grantwriting book filled with lots of examples and tips. The documentation that they included was very helpful, as well as the exhaustive listing of sources and internet sites′ - Shari Weber, Principal This latest edition of the best-selling Finding Funding brings the reader up to date with the ever-changing technology and strategies of writing successful government, foundation, and private grants. With this significant update, the authors focus on the same winning strategy as the previous best-selling editions find people and organizations with money, target proposals effectively, and understand how to traverse the various terrains of funding agencies to find and obtain the funding you need. This book is an absolute necessity for any educator interested in winning grants for research, programs, or special projects.
Call Number: LB2342.4.U6 B74 2008 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2007
The First-Time Grantwriter's Guide to Success
In any organization that is alive with creative ideas, funding is a constant problem. Finding ways to support new programmes without cutting back on existing services can seem impossible to school districts whose budgets tighten annually. Therefore, finding a resource for funding outside of limited budgets is crucial; grants can provide that resource. Grant money is available for just about anything, if you know where to look and how to write the proposal. The First-Time Grantwriter′s Guide to Success is a broadly applicable book that can be used by anyone assembling any grant proposal. While the book focuses on US Department of Education grants, it examines the common selection criteria applied by the majority of governmental departments, and includes portions of actual grant applications as examples. The First-Time Grantwriter′s Guide to Success is a complete reference to grant funding. The book includes multiple examples, as well as first hand experiences, failures, and successes. The author Cynthia Knowles provides readers with detailed information to navigate the process, from research, to writing, to submitting the final proposal. She includes a complete glossary of statute terms, forms and figures to assist readers in organization and planning, and a list of alternative grantwriting resources.
Call Number: LC243.A1 K56 2002 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2002
The Foundation Center's Guide to Proposal Writing
In the fifth edition of our essential Guide, author Jane C. Geever provides detailed instructions on preparing successful grant proposals. Incorporating the results of 40 interviews with grantmakers across the nation, the Guide reveals their priorities in reviewing submissions and provides insight into what makes a winning proposal. The Guide outlines the entire proposal-writing process: Pre-Proposal Planning Tips - This helps you decide when your nonprofit is ready to raise funds and determine how to best define your project. Components of the Proposal - Review actual cover letters, project descriptions, budgets, and examples of important follow-up communications with prospective donors. Guidance from Grantmakers - Interviews highlight new trends in grantmaking: preferred proposal formats, funder cultivation strategies, tips on re-submitting a rejected request, and on how to capture and sustain a grantmaker's interest. To illustrate key points, excerpts from successful grant proposals are inserted throughout the Guide. And a complete model proposal is included in the appendix. An updated bibliography features selected resources on proposal development, including web and print sources. A new chapter focuses on crafting an effective evaluation component, addressing the heightened interest in outcome-based assessment of funded projects. Book jacket.
Call Number: HG177.5.U6 G44 2007 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2007
The Grant Writing and Crowdfunding Guide for Young Investigators in Science
"The Grant Writing and Crowdfunding Guide for Young Investigators in Science is a guide that prepares young investigators in Science to step up to the challenge of funding their own research. Writing a successful grant demands much more than a first-class inquisitive scientific mind, as young investigators soon discover. The book presents the best strategies they should adopt to prepare themselves prior to taking the grant plunge. It then helps them draft a reasonable budget plan, assemble a winning grant team, write a stellar preproposal, and reassure the funding agencies that the financial risk they take in investing in them will produce great returns. The book also helps them write a grant title, abstract, and a specific aims section that highlight the significance, impact, and innovativeness of their project. It presents specific tools to catch problems early and avoid rejection. To improve the submission, the book presents a new source of funding: crowdfunding. It gives the young investigator a way to collect preliminary results and involve the public in their work. New investigators are usually lost when attempting to write their first grant application. The book is dedicated to them. It acts as a coach that supplements the work of the mentor. It is meant to be concrete. Although it considers the review practices of two of the largest grant organizations in the world, NIH and NSF, it is sufficiently generic to apply to other science funding agencies."--Publisher's website
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2017
Grant Writing for Dummies®
Learn to: Navigate federal grant databases and apply online for grants Find the most current public and private sector grant opportunities Create strong statements of need Submit applications that meet funders' expectations Your comprehensive guide to finding and winning grant monies Grant writing can be quite daunting, but this complete guide provides you with everything you need to get started with your application right away! Use this resource, including new and updated material, to move through the entire grant-writing process and apply for some of the billions of dollars available from public and private sector sources. Grant writing 101 -- get an easy-to-understand introduction to the ins and outs of grants, including who funds them and how to receive them Know what funders want -- discover the many grant-making organizations throughout the world and how to tailor your message to what your prospects expect Tug on reviewers' heartstrings -- find out how to tell your story so peer reviewers award your application the maximum number of points The write stuff -- explore writing techniques to create powerful, successful applications and proposals that convey your need for grant funding Go online and find templates for request letters, executive summaries, logic models, budget summary tables, and more Open the book and find: How to connect with grant-making agencies What goes into a grant submission How to build a great funding plan An overview of the peer review process A helpful checklist to make sure all the pieces are in place How to navigate federal grant websites Compelling words to use in applications Advice on requesting matching funds and other items
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2014
Grant Writing for Educators: Practical Strategies for Teachers, Administrators, and Staff
Write grant proposals that get results with the help of this concise resource. Packed with essential information, Grant Writing for Educators details effective ways to identify your school's needs; locate the best corporate, foundation, and government funding; and write winning proposals.
Call Number: LB2342.4.U6 B76 2005Publication Date: 2004
Grant Writing in Higher Education: A Step-by-step Guide
This resource for novice and experienced practitioners identifies some of the attitudes that can prevent grant writers from writing effective proposals and offers suggestions for moving proposals towards acceptance. A number of supplementary materials are found in the appendix, including a sample p
Call Number: LC241 .H46 2004 (Print Resouce)Publication Date: 2003
Guide to Effective Grant Writing: How to Write a Successful NIH Grant Application
Guide to Effective Grant Writing - How to Write a Successful NIH Grant is written to help the 100,000+ post-graduate students and professionals who need to write effective proposals for grants. Procuring grant funding is the central key to survival for any academic researcher in the biological sciences; thus, being able to write a proposal that effectively illustrates one's ideas is essential. Covering all aspects of the proposal process, from the most basic questions about form and style to the task of seeking funding, this volume offers clear advice backed up with excellent examples.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2005
How to Write a Successful Research Grant Application: A Guide for Social and Behavioral Scientists
Over the last fifty years behavioral and medical research has been generously supported by the federal government, private foundations, and other philanthropic organizations contributing to the development of a vibrant public health system both in the United States and worldwide. However, these funds are dwindling and to stay competitive, investigators must understand the funding environment and know how to translate their hypotheses into research grant applications that reviewers evaluate as having scientific merit.The Second Edition of 'How to Write a Successful Research Grant Application' is the only book of its kind written by federal research investigators which provides technical assistance for researchers applying for biobehavioral and psychosocial research funding and can give them an edge in this competitive environment. The book provides invaluable tips on all aspects of the art of grantsmanship, including: how to determine research opportunities and priorities, how to develop the different elements of an application, how to negotiate the electronic submission and review processes, and how to disseminate the findings. Charts, visual aids, Web links, an extensive real-world example of a research proposal with budget, and a "So You Were Awarded Your Grant--Now What?" chapter show prospective applicants how to:- Formulate a testworthy--and interesting--hypothesis.- Select the appropriate research mechanism.- Avoid common pitfalls in proposal writing.- Develop an adequate control group.- Conduct a rigorous qualitative inquiry.- Develop a budget justification of costs.- Develop a human subjects of animal welfare plan.- Write a data analytic plan.- Design a quality control/assurance program.- Read between the lines of a summary of the review of your application.Although its focus is on Public Health Service funding, 'How to Write a Successful Research Grant' is equally useful for all research proposals, including graduate students preparing a thesis or dissertation proposal. Service providers in community-based organizations and public health agencies will also find this a useful resource in preparing a proposal to compete for grant funds from state and community resources, non-government organizations, and foundations.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2010
The Insider's Guide to Winning Education Grants
Find, apply for, and win grant dollars for the classroom This accessible guide offers a proven, step-by-step process for researching, writing, applying for, and winning education grants. The book educates readers on the basics of grant writing, including what sources are the most reliable for securing education funding. It also serves as a practice tool, with worksheets, proposal templates, real-world examples, and advice from grant-winning teachers to help instill confidence about navigating this somewhat daunting process. Offers a proven formula for winning education grants in clear, step-by-step instructions Includes a wealth of handy tools, worksheets, templates, and teacher-tested advice Outlines the four main components of money-generating education grants Based on UNITE's celebrated "Grant Writing Teacher" Professional Development series The book's step-by-step process is filled with illustrative examples of successful grant proposals.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2013
Research Proposals: A Guide to Success
This third edition of the classic "how-to" guide incorporates recent changes in policies and procedures of the NIH, with particular emphasis on the role of the Internet in the research proposal process. Completely revised and updated, it reveals the secrets of success used by seasoned investigators, and directs the reader through the maze of NIH bureaucracies. In addition to providing a detailed overview of the entire review process, the book also includes hundreds of tips on how to enhance proposals, excerpts from real proposals, and extensive Internet references. This book is essential to all scientists involved in the grant writing process.
Call Number: R853.P75 O35 2002 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2002
Storytelling for Grantseekers: A Guide to Creative Nonprofit Fundraising
Grantwriters often have little or no training in the practical task of grantseeking. Many feel intimidated by the act of writing, and some don't enjoy writing. In Storytelling for Grantseekers, Second Edition, Cheryl Clarke presents an organic approach to grantseeking, one that views the process through the lens of the pleasures and rewards of crafting a good story. Grantseekers who approach the process as one in which they are connecting with an audience (grantmakers) and writing a narrative (complete with settings, characters, antagonists and resolutions) find greater success with funders. The writing process becomes a rewarding way to tell the organization's tale, rather than a chore, and their passion and creativity lead to winning proposals. This book walks readers through all the main phases of the proposal, highlighting the creative elements that link components to each other and unify the entire proposal. The book contains resources on crafting an effective synopsis, overcoming grantwriter's block, packaging the story, and the best ways to approach the "short stories" (inquiry and cover letters) that support the larger proposal. Clarke also stresses the need to see proposal-writing as part of a larger grantseeking effort, one that emphasizes preparation, working with the entire development staff, and maintaining good relations with funders. In Storytelling for Grantseekers, new and experienced grantseekers alike will discover how to write and support successful proposals with humor and passion. New edition features: Overall updates as well as both refreshed and new examples Workshop exercises for using the storytelling approach New chapters on the application of the storytelling method to other fundraising communications like appeal letters and case statements, as well as the importance of site visits Example of a full narrative proposal
Call Number: HV41.2 .C53 2009 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2009
Successful Grant Writing for School Leaders: 10 Easy Steps
This book breaks grant-writing down into 10 easy steps so school leaders learn how to sharpen their own skills and help others write highly-competitive grants. Stripping away the mystery of grant-writing, Successful Grant Writing for School Leaders: 10 Easy Steps provides a straightforward template for securing more grants for your school and district. Drawing on author Kenneth Henson's considerable success in this arena, the book outlines a series of steps that involve understanding the funder, identifying the funder's needs, and crafting proposals to capitalize on each opportunity. Filled with real examples, the book explains the parts of a grant, provides good grant sources, and details ways to ensure a grant gets funded again and again. Hallmark Features Draws on the authors' success and experience-which includes over 30 funded grants on a variety of topics from art to physics, ranging from a few thousand to several million dollars. Breaks grant writing down into 10 easy steps-and devotes chapters to the grant-writing process; common grant-writing myths; establishing a grant-writing library; the parts of a grant and how they are developed; constructing an irresistible budget; grant-writing sty≤ good grant sources; the importance of partnerships; and ensuring the grant works and gets refunded. Includes a full chapter on the budget (chapter 6)-and shows how to prepare a budget that will tempt any potential funder and convince them that your proposal is the most practical. Shows how to target good grant sources (chapter 8)-and includes grant-finding tips from successful grant writers so readers learn how to identify and secure funding sources. Provides examples of real grants written by PK-12 educators in a mix of urban, suburban, and rural schools-so readers can examine the actual grants and hear the author explain in their own words how they learned about the grant opportunities, why they wrote their grants, how each grant helped their schools. Offers a list of most frequently used terms and a comprehensive glossary of grant-writing terms (appendix)-that introduce the special language of grant writing. Includes an appendix with a variety of writing-ready tools-such asa glossary of grant terms, several full-blown grants, and grammar exercises to help develop a crisp writing style and avoid the most common grammatical mistakes.
Call Number: LC243.A1 H46 2012 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2011
Winning Grants Step by Step: The Complete Workbook for Planning, Developing, Writing, Successful Proposals
Written for both novice and experienced grantwriters, the workbook is filled with practical advice and illustrative examples, including Important information such as determining whether your program or idea is fundable Clear examples that make it easier to create a well-written letter of intent How to do the necessary research to find the right funder to approach Targeting your proposal to meet the priorities of the funder What happens to your proposal once it reaches the funder How to adapt this program- and project-specific funding approach to assist in general funding Once the workbook exercises are completed, your organization will have a fully developed grant proposal.
Call Number: HG177 .C374 2002 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2002
Winning Grants Step by Step: The Complete Workbook for Planning, Developing, Writing, Successful Proposals
Previous Praise for Winning Grants Step by Step "Warning: this book works. It provokes you to ask the right questions, hand-holds you through practical exercises, and offers a map that includes paths to develop strategic relationships with funders." --E. Eduardo Romero, Nonprofit Roundtable "Winning Grants Step by Step is a very practical A-to-Z resource that speaks to the importance of staying focused on your mission every step of the way. The third edition is artfully updated with words of wisdom from grantmakers themselves, as well as updates on the latest processes and buzzwords all grantseekers need to know." --Heather Iliff, Maryland Association of Nonprofit Organizations "With solid advice and clear examples, nonprofit leaders will find it a page turner!" --Clarence Hauer, senior director, strategy and organizational development, St. Louis Nonprofit Services Consortium "Winning Grants Step by Step is a gift to nonprofit organizations. The valuable insights and hands-on tools will instantly make any proposal more competitive." --Alex Carter, Your Nonprofit Coach "Developing great grant proposals is essential for nonprofit leaders. Winning Grants Step by Step provides important guidance to those who are new to fundraising as well as to anyone who needs a refresher. This new edition of Winning Grants brings updated tips and vivid examples. As an experienced fundraising consultant, I believe it will help my clients and colleagues alike." --Maria Gitin, CFRE, Maria Gitin & Associates "As an executive director, fundraising is on my mind every day. It's great to have a resource like Winning Grants Step by Step to use and share with my board, staff, and peers." --Deborah Menkart, executive director, Teaching for Change
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2013
Writing a Winning Research Proposal: Your Path to Success
This comprehensive guide takes you through every critical aspect of crafting compelling proposals that command attention. Whether you are an experienced researcher or new to the field, this resource empowers you with practical examples, exercises, and insights from seasoned professionals. Through its pages, you will not only learn the intricacies of proposal writing but also gain the tools to put your newfound knowledge into practice for tangible, successful results. Drawing on the expertise of seasoned researchers, this book provides a treasure trove of best practices and expert advice, empowering you to shape the trajectory of your endeavors. Elevate your proposal-writing skills and achieve success in your academic or professional pursuits with this book.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2024
Writing Dissertation and Grant Proposals: Epidemiology, Preventative Medicine, and Biostatistics
Competition for research funds in epidemiology, preventative medicine, and biostatistics has never been more intense and, at the same time, the grant application and review process at such agencies as the National Institutes of Health (NIH) is undergoing significant transformation. Writing Dissertation and Grant Proposals: Epidemiology, Preventive Medicine and Biostatistics targets effective grant proposal writing in this highly competitive and evolving environment. Covering all aspects of the proposal writing process, the text: Provides summary checklists and step-by-step guidelines for grant structure and style alongside broader strategies for developing a research funding portfolio Explains how to avoid common errors and pitfalls, supplying critical do's and don'ts that aid in writing solid grant proposals Demonstrates proven tactics and illustrates key concepts with extensive examples from successfully funded proposals Written by an established NIH reviewer with inside knowledge and an impressive track record of funding, Writing Dissertation and Grant Proposals: Epidemiology, Preventive Medicine and Biostatistics is a virtual cookbook of the appropriate ingredients needed to construct a winning grant proposal. Therefore, the text is not only relevant for early-stage investigators including graduate students, medical students/residents, and postdoctoral fellows, but also valuable for experienced faculty, clinicians, epidemiologists, and health professionals who cannot seem to break the barrier to obtain NIH-funded research.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2014
Writing Science: How to Write Papers That Get Cited and Proposals That Get Funded by
As a scientist, you are a professional writer: your career is built on successful proposals and papers. Success isn't defined by getting papers into print, but by getting them into the reader's consciousness. Writing Science is built upon the idea that successful science writing tells a story. It uses that insight to discuss how to write more effectively. Integrating lessons from other genres of writing with those from the author's years of experience as author, reviewer, and editor, the book shows scientists and students how to present their research in a way that is clear and that will maximize reader comprehension. The book takes an integrated approach, using the principles of story structure to discuss every aspect of successful science writing, from the overall structure of a paper or proposal to individual sections, paragraphs, sentences, and words. It begins by building core arguments, analyzing why some stories are engaging and memorable while others are quickly forgotten, and proceeds to the elements of story structure, showing how the structures scientists and researchers use in papers and proposals fit into classical models. The book targets the internal structure of a paper, explaining how to write clear and professional sections, paragraphs, and sentences in a way that is clear and compelling. The ideas within a paper should flow seamlessly, drawing readers along. The final section of the book deals with special challenges, such as how to discuss research limitations and how to write for the public. Writing Science is a much-needed guide to succeeding in modern science. Its insights and strategies will equip science students, scientists, and professionals across a wide range of scientific and technical fields with the tools needed to communicate effectively.
Call Number: T11 .S35 2012 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2011
Writing the NIH Grant Proposal: A Step-by-Step Guide
Written by an author with proven success in obtaining NIH grants and in developing grant application workshops in university settings and at association conventions the book utilizes specific supporting examples and cases and includes flow charts illustrating the grant application review process at NIH.
Call Number: RA11.D6 G47 2011 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2010
