Catalogs -- English
- UC Library SearchUC Library Search is the discovery platform for UC Library and beyond. It lists books, journals, newspapers, and all other items held in the UCSB Library's collection, both online and in print. You can limit your search to German-language materials from the Advanced Search, or from the left margin once you've launched a simple search.
- WorldCat (via the FirstSearch platform)WorldCat is a union catalog that contains citations to tens of millions of records in all disciplines from approximately 12,000 libraries worldwide. Includes books, journals, manuscripts, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, computer files, newspapers, slides, videotapes, and more. Allows you to filter by language.
- Center for Research Libraries Catalog This link opens in a new windowCRL is a consortium of North American universities, colleges and independent research libraries. UCSB Library is a member institution, which allows you to search and borrow from the vast collections of print and digital materials in support of advanced research and teaching.
- Dissertations and ThesesThe database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities in North America and from around the globe. UCSB users have access to UC dissertations in full-text digital format published from 1997 forward.
- PDQT OpenDissertations and theses whose authors have opted to publish as open access. Freely accessible to everyone.
Catalogs - German
- Karlsruhe Virtual CatalogueThe KVK is an extremely useful "meta-catalog" that allows for simultaneous searching of several library catalogs, among them the union catalogs for Bavaria, North Rhine-Westphalia and Southwest Germany. The list of covered catalogs keeps growing; it now includes Austrian and Swiss libraries, as well as an increasing number of other national catalogs.
- Verzeichnis deutschsprachiger Kataloge und InstitutionenExtensive directory of German library catalogs.
- Deutsche NationalbibliothekThe German central national library comprehensively collects all German and German-language publications from 1913 on.
- Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin - Preussischer KulturbesitzThe largest research library in Germany.
- Bayerische Staatsbibliothek (Bavarian State Library)With holdings of over 10 million books and vast archives, one of the major research libraries of Europe.
- Gemeinsamer Bibliotheksverbund (GBV)Web portal of the seven German federal states Bremen, Hamburg, Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania, Lower Saxony, Saxony-Anhalt, Schleswig-Holstein, Thuringia and the Foundation of Prussian Cultural Heritage.
- The European LibraryAccess to the resources of 48 national libraries in Europe, both bibliographic records and full-text digital collections.
Online Books
- Digitale Bibliothek deutscher Klassiker This link opens in a new windowVery large full text collection of the works of German authors, including not only literary works but also philosophical, theological, and other texts as well as letters and diaries.
- Past Masters® This link opens in a new windowThis database contains full-text editions of Fichte (Sämmtliche Werke und Nachlass, ed. Karsten Worm), Hegel (Suhrkamp German edition), Kant's Hauptwerke (Akademie Ausgabe edition), and Kant's Philosophische Briefe (Akademie Ausgabe edition), among many other philosophical and literary writings.