Article Databases, Listed Alphabetically
Use the 
button to find the full text of an article, either online or in print on the library shelves. If the library does not have access to the article you need, the link will offer an option to borrow the item through Interlibrary Loan.
Below is a select list of article databases that are particularly useful for Italian literature, language, and culture. The complete A-Z list of databases at the UCSB Library is here.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowGeneral index to both scholarly journals and popular magazines across all disciplines. Searches can be limited to Italian language only.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCitations to articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present. Searches can be limited to Italian language. For U.S. and Canada, see "America: History and Life".
- Brepolis Medieval & Early Modern Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Comprises articles about the medieval period derived from periodicals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues). All articles are classified with full bibliographical details and subject classifications and indexing familiar to medievalists.
- ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Bibliography on the Renaissance (1300-1700) and Middle Ages (400-1500). Includes citations for books, journal material, dissertations, and essays in books.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes full text of journals and books in a wide range of subject areas. Also includes high-quality primary sources and images from around the world, including artworks, maps, photographs, and more (including those from Artstor).
- Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
Resource for the study and teaching of literature in English, combining the texts of literary works with a vast library of key criticism and reference resources. Full-text journals and author biographies help keep you up to date on the latest research into every aspect of literary and linguistic study.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowThe standard bibliography for all modern languages and literatures worldwide. Indexes journals, monographs, working papers and proceedings, but does not include book reviews. You can limit your search to Italian-language journals only.
- Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new windowIndex to hundreds of full text journals from 1802 to 2005, covering 37 disciplines
and sources from 30 countries. Links to PIO, below. - Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new windowIndex to over 6,000 journals published in the arts, humanities, social sciences, psychology and geography. The scope is international, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowSearchable collection of hundreds of university press journals. Search by author, year, journal title and keywords from titles, subjects or full text. Searches can be limited to Italian language only.
- Anthropological Index Online (1957 - present)An index based on the journal holdings of The Anthropology Library at The British Museum (Museum of Mankind) which receives periodicals in all branches of anthropology, from academic institutions and publishers around the world. Use the Advanced Search and then change the "choose a field" menu to limit searches to Italian language.
Full-Text Collections
- Italian Academies CollectionDatabase of printed material published by Italian learned Academies between 1525 and 1700 and now held in the collections of the British Library.