Article Indexes and Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database covering thousands of journals and other publications. Includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, and indexing/abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of arts-related subjects from advertising art to video art. Includes full-text articles and books along with indexing and abstracts from a variety of book, journals, and more in a range of languages.
- ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
Indexes publications about modern and contemporary arts starting with the late 19th century. Emphasis is placed upon adding new and lesser-known artists and coverage of foreign-language literature. Covers all aspects of modern and contemporary art, including performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theater arts, crafts, jewelry, illustration, as well as the traditional fine arts of painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Contains news, culture and history from the ethnic, minority and native press. Includes complete articles and archival material. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages; more than 100,000 articles are in Spanish.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes full text of journals and books in a wide range of subject areas. Also includes high-quality primary sources and images from around the world, including artworks, maps, photographs, and more (including those from Artstor).
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides access to essential humanities and social science research. Hosts journals and books from leading university presses, scholarly societies, and related publishers. Also offers thousands of open access books and several open access journals on the platform.
- Social Sciences Databases (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Allows users to simultaneously perform a search in any or all of the social sciences databases from ProQuest.
Newspapers
- Los Angeles Times - Current (1985-present) This link opens in a new window
Searchable and displayable full text of the Los Angeles Times from 1985 to the present. (Note: historical backfiles of the LA Times are available separately for 1881-1984.)
- New York Times - Current (1980-present) This link opens in a new window
Searchable and displayable full text of the New York Times from 1980 to the present. Note: historical backfiles of the New York Times are available as a separate file.
- Washington Post - Current (1987-present) This link opens in a new window
The Washington Post is well known for not only in-depth news and analysis of American politics but also insightful coverage of national and international trends and events.
Need Research Help?
Google Scholar
Connecting Google Scholar to UCSB Library Full-Text Resources
Learn how you can connect UCSB Library to Google Scholar to easily access the full text of an article through UC Library Search.
Connecting Google Scholar to UCSB Library Full-Text Resources from UCSB Library on Vimeo.
Transcript:
Title: Connecting Google Scholar to UCSB Library Full-Text Resources: Teaching & Learning Series
Body: Starting on the Google Scholar homepage, login to Google using your UCSB NetID and password. Once you are logged in, find the menu in the top left corner of the screen and select the “settings” option, then the “library links” option. In the search box, enter “University of California, Santa Barbara” and search. Find the “Get it At UC” option and make sure the box is checked, then save your changes. Now, you can search for full-text articles in UCSB Library from Google Scholar! On the Google Scholar homepage, enter your search terms and search. Look for the “Get it at UC” links to access the full-text resource through the Library website. You’ve done it! Having trouble? Ask for help. Need help with your research? Visit us online: library.ucsb.edu/ask