Handbooks and Manuals
Following are the handbooks and manuals we have that are useful for research in medicine.
You will find books with Reference in front of the call number on the 2nd floor of the UCSB Library in the reference section across from the Ocean Elevators. Online resources are available on campus, or off-campus for current students, staff, and faculty.
The AAMC Official Guide to Medical School Admissions
The Official Guide to Medical School Admissions (formerly MSAR: Getting Started) is the only official comprehensive source of information on preparing for and applying to medical school. Discover: * How to prepare for medical school in your undergraduate years * Factors to consider when choosing the right medical school for you * How the MCATr exam is structured and scored, plus studying tips * Tips for interviewing for medical school * Medical career options, such as clinical practice, biomedical research, public health, and medical education * Statistics on what specialties entering medical students are considering * And much more This guide is updated annually in conjunction with the Medical School Admission Requirements for U.S. And Canadian Medical Schools (MSAR) - a powerful online database with the most recent data from LCME, AMCAS, the MCAT exam, and more, for U.S. and Canadian medical schools and B.S./M.D. program.
Call Number: Reference R743 .O34 2018 (Print Resource)ISBN: 9781577541318Publication Date: 2018
Acute Medicine: A Practical Guide to the Management of Medical Emergencies by
Acute Medicine offers an accessible and concise guide to the practical management of all acute medical problems likely to be encountered in the emergency department, ambulatory care centre, acute medical unit or on the wards. Reflecting the maturation of acute medicine as a separate specialty, the book is divided into common presentations, specific problems and procedures. New to the fifth edition is a chapter on bed-side ultrasonography; throughout, emphasis is placed on patient safety, and the use of flow diagrams, tables and figures ensures that key information is quickly accessible. Thoroughly revised by experts in the subject, and updated to reflect current approaches to diagnosis and management, Acute Medicine is an excellent companion for the trainee as well as an aide-mémoire for the more experienced physician.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9781118644270Publication Date: 2017-05-02
AMA Manual of Style: A Guide for Authors and Editors by
Provides a detailed and comprehensive guide to proper style and formatting for papers, articles, theses, dissertations, and books for medical and scientific researchers.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9780190246594Publication Date: 2020
Citing Medicine: The NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers (Open Access Resource) by
"Citing Medicine provides assistance to authors in compiling lists of references for their publications, to editors in revising such lists, to publishers in setting reference standards for their authors and editors, and to librarians and others in formatting bibliographic citations"--Introd.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2007
Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions by
The revised edition of the Handbook offers the only guide on how to conduct, report and maintain a Cochrane Review 
 The second edition of The Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions contains essential guidance for preparing and maintaining Cochrane Reviews of the effects of health interventions. Designed to be an accessible resource, the Handbook will also be of interest to anyone undertaking systematic reviews of interventions outside Cochrane, and many of the principles and methods presented are appropriate for systematic reviews addressing research questions other than effects of interventions. This fully updated edition contains extensive new material on systematic review methods addressing a wide-range of topics including network meta-analysis, equity, complex interventions, narrative synthesis, and automation. Also new to this edition, integrated throughout the Handbook, is the set of standards Cochrane expects its reviews to meet. Written for review authors, editors, trainers and others with an interest in Cochrane Reviews, the second edition of The Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions continues to offer an invaluable resource for understanding the role of systematic reviews, critically appraising health research studies and conducting reviews.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9781119536611Publication Date: 2019-09-23
Comprehensive Toxicology by
An explosive increase in the knowledge of the effects of chemical and physical agents on biological systems has led to an increased understanding of normal cellular functions and the consequences of their perturbations. The 14-volume Second Edition of Comprehensive Toxicology has been revised and updated to reflect new advances in toxicology research, including content by some of the leading researchers in the field. It remains the premier resource for toxicologists in academia, medicine, and corporations. Comprehensive Toxicology Second Edition provides a unique organ-systems structure that allows the user to explore the toxic effects of various substances on each human system, aiding in providing diagnoses and proving essential in situations where the toxic substance is unknown but its effects on a system are obvious. Comprehensive Toxicology Second Edition is the most complete and valuable toxicology work available to researchers today. Contents updated and revised to reflect developments in toxicology research Organized with a unique organ-system approach Features full color throughout Available electronically on sciencedirect.com, as well as in a limited-edition print version
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9780080468846Publication Date: 2010-06-01
Digital Qualitative Research Methods by
The field of digital methods for qualitative research is a rapidly developing one. More and more researchers are researching the social, cultural, political, anthropological and other dimensions of computer-mediated communication (CMC), or using CMC as a means of generating and analysing research data. There is now a proliferating diversity of terms, including digital methods, online methods, virtual ethnography, hypermedia methods, and so forth, that requires clarification and classification. This four-volume set brings together the most important and influential articles that have been published in this area and which enable the reader to understand the implications of digital technology for all aspects and phases of qualitative research design and dissemination. There are eight main sections to the volumes, two in each volume:Volume One: Mapping the Field of Digital Qualitative Research Methods1. Online Research Methods2. Researching Online CommunicationVolume Two: Multimedia and Hypermedia3. Hypertext and Hypermedia Applications4. Multimedia and MultimodalityVolume Three: Data Analysis in Digital Applications5. Computer-Aided Qualitative Data Analysis6. Data Analysis in Sound, Vision and MultimediaVolume Four: Collaboration, Sharing and Ethics in Digital Research7. Data Sharing and Collaboration8. Research Ethics in the Digital Age
Call Number: Reference Q180.55.E4 D54 2012 (Print Resource)ISBN: 9781847879523Publication Date: 2012-01-24
Doing a Systematic Review: A Student's Guide by
Written in a friendly, accessible style by an expert team of authors with years of experience in both conducting and supervising systematic reviews, this is the perfect guide to using systematic review methodology in a research project. It provides clear answers to all review-related questions, including: How do I formulate an appropriate review question? What's the best way to manage my review? How do I develop my search strategy? How do I get started with data extraction? How do I assess the quality of a study? How can I analyse and synthesize my data? How should I write up the discussion and conclusion sections of my dissertation or thesis?
Call Number: R853.S94 D65 2017 (Print Resource)ISBN: 9781473967007Publication Date: 2017-11-23
Emergency Clinical Diagnosis by
This book is a rapid reference guide for all levels of medical staff working in emergency and acute care settings, but may also benefit nursing professionals and medical students. In this book, the readers will find diagnostic checklists, organised according to potential emergency presentations and classified under body systems, including atypical presentations, lists of differential diagnoses and guidance to pattern recognition. The book aims to help the reader achieve the correct diagnosis in an emergency setting, which continues to remain a challenge, given the variety of potential clinical presentations. Diagnostic failure is the largest reason for delays in provision of appropriate treatment and the largest source of clinical complaints and untoward incidents
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9783319507187Publication Date: 2017
Handbook of Molecular and Cellular Methods in Biology and Medicine by
Several milestones in biology have been achieved since the first publication of the Handbook of Molecular and Cellular Methods in Biology and Medicine. This is true particularly with respect to genome-level sequencing of higher eukaryotes, the invention of DNA microarray technology, advances in bioinformatics, and the development of RNAi technology. Now in its third edition, this volume provides researchers with an updated tool kit that incorporates conventional as well as modern approaches to tackle biological and medicinal research in the post-genomics era. Significantly revised to address these recent changes, the editors have evaluated, revised, and sometimes replaced protocols with more efficient, more reliable, or simpler ones. The book has also been reorganized with section headings focusing on different biological levels connected to one another, taking into account the central dogma of biology (DNA → RNA → protein → metabolites). The book first explores traditional approaches and then moves to the modern "omics" approaches, including genomics, proteomics, and metabolomics. It also discusses the manipulation of biological systems (including RNAi) and macromolecular analyses, focusing on the use of microscopy. In each chapter, various notes and cautionary considerations are presented for potentially hazardous reagents. Filled with diagrams, tables, and figures to clarify methods, most chapters also contain Troubleshooting Guides indicating problems, possible causes, and solutions that may be incurred in carrying out the procedures. Researchers and scientists who master the techniques in this book are putting themselves at the cutting edge of biological and medicinal research.
Call Number: Reference QH506 .H36 2012 (Print and Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9781420069389Publication Date: 2011-12-12
Handbook of Nursing Diagnosis by
Carpenito's "Handbook of Nursing Diagnosis" is the ideal quick reference for Nursing Diagnosis information. This handbook offers practical guidance on nursing diagnoses and associated care. Compared to Carpenito's textbook, the handbook is a quick-reference type scope of content, easy for students to use while in clinical, in the classroom or simulation lab. From goals to specific interventions, Handbook of Nursing Diagnosis focuses on nursing. It provides a condensed, organized outline of clinical nursing practice designed to communicate creative clinical nursing. It is not meant to replace nursing textbooks, but rather to provide nurses who work in a variety of settings with the information they need without requiring a time-consuming review of the literature. It will assist students in transferring their theoretical knowledge to clinical practice. This title is intended for nursing students to use through their curriculum. The 15th edition is organized in three sections. Section 1 provides an alphabetical reference to nursing diagnoses, including NANDA-I definition and Section 2 focuses organizes all the health promotion/wellness nursing diagnoses for individuals. Under each diagnosis, Author's Notes will elaborate on the clinical usefulness of the diagnosis. Additional foundational knowledge is included in each diagnosis: NANDA-I definition Defining characteristics (physiologic, emotional and cognitive) Related factors including pathophysiologic, treatment related, and situational (personal and environmental) Maturational: infant/child, adolescent, adult and older adult Errors in Diagnostic Statements Key Concepts & General Considerations Special Population Consideration (Pediatric, Maternal, Geriatric, and Transcultural) Focused Assessment Criteria Goals (NIC/NOC) with Rationale Interventions for Special Population Lastly, section 3 covers Diagnostic Clusters, which presents medical conditions with associated collaborative problems and nursing diagnoses, designed for easy reference in the clinical setting. The handbook differs from the main textbook because it doesn't go into the foundation for understanding nursing diagnoses, including care planning and concept mapping. The handbook only covers the NANDA-I diagnoses and collaborative problems.
Call Number: Reference RT48.6 .C385 2017 (Print Resource)ISBN: 9781496338396Publication Date: 2016-08-03
Handbook of Obesity Prevention: A Resource for Health Professionals by
Comprehensive in scope and meticulously researched, Handbook of Obesity Prevention analyzes the intricate causes of this public health crisis, and sets out concrete, multilevel strategies for meeting it head-on. This innovative handbook clearly defines obesity in clinical, epidemiologic, and financial terms, and offers guidelines for planning and implementing programs and evaluating results. This systematic approach to large-scale social and policy change gives all parties involved--from individual practitioners to multinational corporations--the tools to set and attain realistic goals based on solid evidence and best practice in public health. A sample of topics covered: The individual: risk factors and prevention across the lifespan, specific populations (pregnant women, ethnic and regional groups). Levers for change in schools and workplaces. Community settings: role of the physical environment. "De-marketing" obesity: food industries and the media. Grassroots action: consumers and communities. The global obesity epidemic: rapid developments, potential solutions. From obesity prevention to health promotion: the future of the field. Its level of detail and wide range of topics make the Handbook of Obesity Prevention a bedrock sourcebook, overview, reference, or teaching text. Read by topic or cover to cover, here is accurate, up-to-date information for professionals and students in all areas of public health.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9780387478609Publication Date: 2007-09-23
Handbook of Psychophysiology by
The scope and coverage of psychophysiology has expanded tremendously over recent years and this revised and expanded Handbook of Psychophysiology provides both a context for and coverage of the biological bases of cognition, emotion, and behavior at a level of scholarship informative to the specialist and accessible to the student. The book is divided into six sections covering topics such as the history of psychophysiology, systemic psychophysiology ranging from the peripheral nervous system to the neuroendocrine and immune systems, principles of human behavior that have emerged from psychophysiological analyses, applications, and methodology. The final section provides detailed coverage of emerging topics in psychophysiology, including functional magnetic resonance imaging. This revised and expanded edition of the Handbook of Psychophysiology replaces Principles of Psychophysiology as an essential reference for students, researchers, and professionals in psychophysiology, psychology, psychiatry, neuroscience, and related biological and behavioral sciences.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 052162634XPublication Date: 2017
Handbook of Toxicology by
The Handbook of Toxicology, Third Edition provides an updated practical reference source for practicing toxicologists in the pharmaceutical and chemical industries, contract laboratories, regulatory agencies, and academia. Written by experts in their specific toxicology fields, the chapters provide both fundamental and applied information. Topics r
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9781439890141Publication Date: 2014-03-07
Handbook of Vitamins by
Thoroughly revised and updated, Handbook of Vitaminshighlights the recent research in vitamins and gene expression, vitamin-dependent genes, and vitamin effect on DNA stability. This fourth edition includes new chapters on vitamin-dependent modification of chromatin, analysis of vitamin metabolism using accelerated mass spectrometry, and dietary reference intakes for vitamins. Featuring contributions from international experts, it encompasses classical and modern approaches to vitamins, focusing on human nutrition, vitamin analysis, and vitamin action at the molecular level.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9780849340222Publication Date: 2007-06-08
Harrison's Manual of Medicine by
A distillation of clinical material from Harrison's principles of internal medicine.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 0071386793Publication Date: 2001-08-01
Hormones, Brain and Behavior by
Hormones, Brain, and Behavior Second Edition is a comprehensive work discussing the effect of hormones on the brain and, subsequently, behavior. This major reference work has 109 chapters covering a broad range of topics with an extensive discussion of the effects of hormones on insects, fish, amphibians, birds, rodents, and humans. To truly understand all aspects of our behavior, we must take every influence (including the hormonal influences) into consideration. Donald Pfaff and a number of well-qualified editors examine and discuss how we are influenced by hormonal factors, offering insight, and information on the lives of a variety of species. Hormones, Brain, and Behavior offers the reader comprehensive coverage of growing field of research, with a state-of-the-art overview of hormonally-mediated behaviors. This reference provides unique treatment of all major vertebrate and invertebrate model systems with excellent opportunities for relating behavior to molecular genetics. The topics cover an unusual breadth (from molecules to ecophysiology), ranging from basic science to clinical research, making this reference of interest to a broad range of scientists in a variety of fields. Available online exclusively via ScienceDirect. A limited edition print version is also available. * Comprehensive coverage of a growing field of research * Unique treatment of all major vertebrate and invertebrate model systems with excellent opportunites for relating behavior to molecular genetics * Covers an unusual breadth ranging from molecules to ecophysiology, and from basic science to clinical research
Call Number: QP356.45 .H433 2009 (Print and Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9780080887838Publication Date: 2009
Indian Medicinal Plants: Use and Propagation Aspects by
The demand for medicinal plants is increasing, and this leads to unscrupulous collection from the wild and adulteration of supplies. Providing high-quality planting material for sustainable use and thereby saving the genetic diversity of plants in the wild is important. In this regard, the methods of propagation of some important medicinal plants are provided along with the traditional methods of propagation. Indian Medicinal Plants: Uses and Propagation Aspects offers a unique compendium of more than 270 medicinal plant species from India with detailed taxonomic classifications based on the Bentham and Hooker system of classification. Salient Features: Provides traditional methods of propagation and discusses the propagation of medicinal plants Presents plant properties, plant parts and chemical constituents Describes the medicinal uses of more than 270 medicinal plant species from India This book is of special interest to practitioners of alternative medicine, students of Ayurveda, researchers and industrialists associated with medical botany, pharmacologists, sociologists and medical herbalists.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 1000176029Publication Date: 2020-10-26
Kaplan and Sadock's Comprehensive Textbook of Psychiatry by
Throughout seven prior editions, CTP has defined the field of psychiatry. Every edition has garnered accolades from the highest levels of psychiatry, and established the text as the authoritative text for the specialty. Carefully edited to include definitions and diagnostic criteria of mental disorders used in ICD-10 and the DSM-IV-TR, the Eighth Edition features approximately 450 contributors and section editors. A wealth of new information and updated coverage makes the Eighth Edition an essential cornerstone for every psychiatric practice. New information includes information on post-traumatic stress disorder after the attacks of September 11, 2001, and updated information on the many new psychotropic drugs.
Call Number: Reference RC454 .C637 2005 (Print Resource)ISBN: 0781734347Publication Date: 2004-11-15
The Merck Index OnlinePublication Date: Current Subscription
The Merck Manuals OnlinePublication Date: Current
The Metabolic and Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease by
This is a reference guide for information in the field of molecular biology. It covers areas such as, the effects of genes, their location on the chromosomes and what treatment, if any, can be recommended to paediatricians and other clinicians whose patients show certain signs and symptoms. This eighth edition has been expanded and updated to include colon cancer, breast cancer, triplet repeat disorders, fragile X mental retardation, biochemical and molecular mechanisms, and clinical diagnosis and management approaches.
Call Number: RC627.8 .M47 2001 (Print Resource)ISBN: 0079130356Publication Date: 2000-12-15
Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs: the International Encyclopedia of Adverse Drug Reactions and Interactions by
"This is a completely new edition of what has become the standard reference text in the field of adverse drug reactions and interactions since Leopold Meyler published his first review of the subject 55 years ago. Although we have retained the old title, Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs, the subtitle of this edition, The Encyclopedia of Adverse Drug Reactions and Interactions, reflects both modern terminology and the scope of the review. The structure of the book may have changed, but the Encyclopedia remains the most comprehensive reference source on adverse drug reactions and interactions and a major source of informed discussion about them."
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 0080548067Publication Date: 2006
The Oxford Companion to the Body by
Who is not interested in how the body works: how it grows, develops, and ages; how it goes wrong; how it has inspired artists and been the focus of ceremony and ritual? The extraordinary human body has been one of the great subjects of fascination and enquiry over the centuries. The OxfordCompanion to the Body presents many of the results of this curiosity from a wide variety of viewpoints, including those of writers, life scientists, historians, philosophers, health professionals, artists, psychologists, anthropologists, theologians, and many others.The Companion is a fascinating and authoritative guide to every aspect of the body. It provides concise and readable accounts of the structure and function of all the major systems of the body, and the causes of disorders which affect them. Interwoven with this coverage of the science of the bodyare entertaining and informative articles on social and religious attitudes to the body, its decoration and mutilation throughout history, the ceremonies and myths that surround the body, and its significance for artists, philosophers and writers. Although the contributors are international experts,it is written for a wide audience, and will appeal to anyone seeking an approachable reference to the human body, as well as to those studying or working in related fields.Included in the Companion:DT Over 1000 entries, from addiction and Adam's rib to witchcraft and X-rays, and over 350 expert contributors, under the guidance of a distinguished editorial board.DT Extensive coverage of subjects relating to the body, from the molecular events in individual cells to the nude in art, from birth to funeral practices, from ape man to space travel, and the biomedical sciences in their cultural and historical contexts.DT Over 750 pages with 150 illustrations and 8 pages of colour plates.DT Alphabetically arrranged entries with full cross-referencing, comprehensive indexing, and suggested further reading.The Companion is a unique and important reference source, which will be invaluable to anyone with an interest in the human bodyColin Blakemore is Professor of Physiology, University of Oxford. His research interests include vision and the development of the brain, and he has written and broadcast on many issues, ranging from consciousness and mad cow disease, to mobile phones and ethical issues in medical research.Sheila Jennett is Emeritus Profesor of Physiology, University of Glasgow. Starting from a background in clinical medicine, her research interest in cardiorespiratory function has included responses to analgesics, to high and low oxygen, and to exercise.
Call Number: QM7 .O96 2001 (Print and Electronic Resource)ISBN: 019852403XPublication Date: 2002-02-07
The Oxford Illustrated Companion to Medicine by
This Companion is a fascinating and authoritative guide to the field of medicine and its specialties. While drawing on the strengths of previous medical companions, the Oxford Illustrated Companion to Medicine has been rethought and redesigned. With a greater emphasis on the history ofmedicine, its cultural links with the arts and music, and its international nature, this new edition has been completely rewritten under the auspices of the distinguished editorial team headed by Stephen Lock. More than 200 contributors have contributed over 500 substantial articles and many moreshorter ones, ranging from "abortion" to "zygote". All the major medical and nursing specialties are covered, and detailed attention is given to complementary therapies, national medical systems, and the historical development of medicine. The clear and appealing layout and comprehensivecross-referencing ensure that information can be found quickly and easily. Features new to this edition include special 'Breakouts' that highlight key discoveries, diseases, and technologies. And many carefully researched illustrations complement the text, ensuring that the book is highlyattractive as well as informative. From reviews of the Oxford Medical Companion '... I cannot recommend too highly. Arranged alphabetically, ending with zygote, it is literate, readable, and companionable.' The Daily Telegraph 'Magisterial updating and revision ... A sparkling compromise betweentechnical and historical detail that any doctor or nurse would enjoy.' The Philadelphia Inquirer 'Every entry satisfied, some were brilliant, and from most I learnt something that I had not known before. If medicine is about human reality (disease)... This good and reliable companion will lightenthe reality. BMJ '... the book has an all-in-one quality that makes it appealing both as an excellent reference source and as a medical book that is fun to browse through.' Library Journal 'The book should prove educational and entertaining to all health professionals as well as to lay people....Carammed full of fascinating titbits of information on a hugely broad range of topics while containing trustworthy and comprehensive reviews.' The Lancet 'It is, obviously, difficult to confine "medicine" between two covers, but the editors of this engaging volume have probably come as close toaccomplishing the feat as we are likely to see.' Nature Medicine
Call Number: R121 .O884 2001 (Print and Electronic Resource)ISBN: 0192629506Publication Date: 2001
PDR for Nonprescription Drugs, Dietary Supplements and Herbs
This desk reference provides critical information on those ingredients that move from prescription to non-prescription status as well as new over-the-counter drugs that are introduced every year.
Call Number: Reference RM671.A1 P48 - Latest Edition (Print Resource)ISBN: 9781563635304Publication Date: 2005-12-01
The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics by
The landmark text in medical pharmacology is now in full color Includes DVD with image bank A Doody's Core Title for 2017! 4 STAR DOODY'S REVIEW! "This 12th edition of the most authoritative book in pharmacology is the best both in content and physical appearance....This edition of Goodman & Gilman's continues to be the most authoritative and widely used resource bridging the discipline of pharmacology with therapeutics. Moreover, readers will find this edition to be substantially improved from past editions in both content and physical appearance."--Doody's Review Service The most universally respected and read medical text in all of pharmacology, Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics represents the pinnacle of authority and accuracy in describing the actions and uses of therapeutic agents in relation to physiology and pathophysiology. Goodman & Gilman's careful balance of basic science and clinical application has guided thousands of practitioners and students to a clear understanding of the drugs essential to preventing, diagnosing, and treating disease. Enriched by a new full-color presentation and updated to reflect all critical new developments in drug action and drug-disease interaction, the twelfth edition includes more than 440 color illustrations depicting key principles and actions of specific pathways and therapeutic agents. The companion DVD includes all the images and tables in the text along with narrated animations. Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 12e is divided into nine sections, covering: General Principles Neuropharmacology Modulation of Cardiovascular Function Inflammation, Immunomodulation, and Hematopoiesis Endocrine Pharmacology Gastrointestinal Pharmacology Chemotherapy of Infectious Disease Chemotherapy of Neoplastic Diseases Special Systems Pharmacology More than a textbook, Goodman & Gilman's is a working template for the effective and rational prescribing of drugs in daily practice.
Call Number: Reference RM300 .G644 2011 (Print Resource)ISBN: 9780071624428Publication Date: 2011-01-10
Physicians Desk Reference (PDR)
The Physicians' Desk Reference has been the authoritative source on prescription drugs for 71 years. Found in virtually every physician's office, pharmacy, clinic, and library, no medical reference is more current, more recognized, or more respected. Now in its 71st edition, PDR contains full, FDA-approved drug label information, including warnings and precautions, drug interactions, and hundreds of full-color pill images. Every label in PDR includes information on dosages, side effects, and safety information, such as contraindications, pregnancy ratings, and interactions with other drugs, food, and alcohol. Data on clinical trials are also included.
Call Number: Reference RS75 .P5 Latest Edition (Print Resource)ISBN: 156363838X
Poisoning and Toxicology Handbook by
A unique reference containing detailed reviews of more than 900 drugs and poisons, the Poisoning and Toxicology Handbook, Fourth Edition provides the latest information on medicinal, biological, herbal, and non-medicinal agents, and antidotes. Increasing its depth and scope with analyses of newer drugs, chemicals, and environmental toxins, including drugs that have been recently approved by the FDA, this book is a compendium of useful resources. The present volume provides locations and phone numbers of poison control centers throughout the country, organizations offering information on toxicology, and teratology information services. It presents diagnostic testing and analytical procedures, evaluates the effectiveness of antidotes, and features an extensive symptoms listing. The section on special topics provides detailed treatment protocols, hospital preparedness guidelines, position statements, and practice guidelines focused on the treatment of toxicities. This fourth edition keeps you up to date in one of the most exciting and expanding fields in medical science.
Call Number: Reference RA1215 .P65 2008 (Print Resource)ISBN: 9781420044799Publication Date: 2007-08-10
Principles of Molecular Medicine by
The concept of molecular medicine dates back to Linus means that there are many new opportunities and challenges Pauling, who in the late 1940s and early 1950s generalized for clinical medicine. One of the effects of the completion of from the ideas that came from the study of the sickle cell the Human Genome Project is the increasing application of hemoglobin molecule. With the first cloning of human genes the fields of molecular biology and genetics to the und- about 1976, molecular genetics took the molecular perspec- standing and management of common diseases. Assimi- tive on disease to the level of DNA. The term molecular tion of the new developments since the first edition has been medicine achieved wide currency in the 1980s with the ably accomplished by Drs. Runge and Patterson with the assignment of this designation to journals, at least one soci- help of their many knowledgeable authors. ety, institutes, and academic divisions of departments of in- As was evident in the first edition, molecular genetics is ternal medicine. Undoubtedly, molecular medicine has been involved in every specialty of medicine. A recurrent theme abetted by the Human Genome Project, which has aided in that edition, perhaps even more striking in the present one, greatly in the molecular characterization of disease.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9781592599639Publication Date: 2007-11-18
The Routledge Handbook of Medical Anthropology by
The Routledge Handbook of Medical Anthropology provides a contemporary overview of the key themes in medical anthropology. In this exciting departure from conventional handbooks, compendia and encyclopedias, the three editors have written the core chapters of the volume, and in so doing, invite the reader to reflect on the ethnographic richness and theoretical contributions of research on the clinic and the field, bioscience and medical research, infectious and non-communicable diseases, biomedicine, complementary and alternative modalities, structural violence and vulnerability, gender and ageing, reproduction and sexuality. As a way of illustrating the themes, a rich variety of case studies are included, presented by over 60 authors from around the world, reflecting the diverse cultural contexts in which people experience health, illness, and healing. Each chapter and its case studies are introduced by a photograph, reflecting medical and visual anthropological responses to inequality and vulnerability. An indispensible reference in this fastest growing area of anthropological study, The Routledge Handbook of Medical Anthropology is a unique and innovative contribution to the field.
Call Number: GN296 .R68 2016 (Print Resource)ISBN: 9781138015630Publication Date: 2016-05-17
Sexually Transmitted Diseases by
Sexually Transmitted Diseases present a major public health challenge. Over 25 diseases can be transmitted through sexual activity, and effective treatment, especially where long term infection can lead to further health problems, and in women infertility, requires good diagnostic skills and understanding of the best treatment methods. This book aims to give a practical guide to diagnosis and treamtent in a patient-centred framework, with care at the heart of the book. The aim of the Gynecology in Practice Series is to provide a clinical 'in the office' or 'at the bedside' guide to effective patient care for gynecologists. The tone will be practical, not academic. The working assumption is that readers want to know what (and what not) might or should be done, without over emphasis on the why. That said, it is important to review the crucial basic science necessary for effective diagnosis and management, and to provide reminders in the context of the practical chapters. The books will not be heavily referenced, in line with a more practical approach. This allows for smoother reading (and also relieves the burden of comprehensive citing from authors). Key evidence (clinical trials, Cochrane or other meta analyses) should be summarized in 'Evidence at a Glance' boxes and key references such as reviews, major papers can be provided in the 'selected bibliography' at the end of each chapter. Practical guidance will be provided through: the use of algorithms and guidelines where they are appropriate 'Tips and Tricks' boxes - hints on improving outcomes perhaps via practical technique, patient questioning etc 'Caution' warning boxes - hints on avoiding problems, perhaps via contraindications 'Science Revisited' - quick reminder of the basic science principles necessary for understanding
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9781118314937Publication Date: 2012-04-12
Stahl's Essential Psychopharmacology by
This is a bundle, comprising the 3rd edition of Stahl's Essential Psychopharmacology text, with access to a 1-year subscription to Stahl's Essential Psychopharmacology Online.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9780521746090Publication Date: 2008-12-08
Surgical Anatomy and Technique: A Pocket Manual by
Generations of residents and general surgeons have relied upon and worn out their copies of Surgical Anatomy and Technique: A Pocket Manual. Thoroughly revised and with dozens of new illustrations, the fourth edition continues the tradition of providing a concise, accessible, and generously illustrated memory refresher for both novice and experienced clinicians. The editors have included techniques to keep the content fresh, relevant, and practice-based. Among the new topics are hand surgery, a section on central venous access, and creating an AV fistula for dialysis. All the existing chapters have been updated and expanded to reflect current surgical approaches and instrumentation. This fourth edition of Surgical Anatomy and Technique: A Pocket Manual provides the gold standard in correlating clear, practical anatomy with the correct technique in the pursuit of the best possible patient outcomes. This handy pocket manual remains a "must have" for every resident and general surgeon.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9781461485636Publication Date: 2013-11-08
Toxicological Profiles (Open Access Resource) by
This site offers access to toxicological profiles for more than 250 hazardous substances found at National Priorities List (NPL) sites "which are determined to pose the most significant potential threat to human health due to their known or suspected toxicity and potential for human exposure." The substances are ranked based on frequency of occurrence at NPL sites, toxicity, and potential for human exposure. The user may access PDF versions of the final profiles alphabetically by substance name.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)
Veterinary Medical School Admission Requirements by
Updated annually and packed with useful tips and helpful insights, Veterinary Medical School Admission Requirements (VMSAR) provides a comprehensive overview of the admission process for the national and international veterinary schools that are members of the Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC). This book provides concise, current, and the best comparative information for students interested in preparing for a career in veterinary medicine, as well as their advisors and counselors. The heart of this publication is a directory of member schools, providing the following information for each school: a summary of application procedures; requirements for application and residency; prerequisites for admission; deadlines for each component of the application process; a description of campus and campus life; and the costs of tuition and fees. Full-page spreads provide a complete profile of the different campuses and clearly lay out all the details you require to select the school that best matches your needs. Additional information includes an overview of the Veterinary Medical College Application Service (VMCAS), information about the accreditation of veterinary schools and professional licensure as a veterinarian, a helpful timeline for aspiring vets from high school onward, and firsthand accounts from current students and practitioners about what it is like to train as a vet. As Executive Director of AAVMC Dr. Andrew McCabe writes: "These are exciting times for veterinary medicine, a profession that bridges animal, human, and ecosystem health. We understand that getting started and making sense of all the choices and requirements can be challenging, but you've come to the right place by accessing this publication, which provides the essential information you need to begin your journey."
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9781557539441Publication Date: 2020-04-15
