Class Topics
Becoming an Academic Writer
With its friendly, step-by-step format, the Third Edition of Becoming an Academic Writer helps readers improve their writing by engaging in deep, deliberate, and daily practice. Author Patricia Goodson designed this book for anyone in an academic setting who must write to survive, from new graduate students to senior faculty. Featuring 50 exercises, this practical and flexible self-paced guide is organized so readers can either work through the exercises in order, or focus on the specific areas where they need additional practice. The Third Edition features an expanded unit on how to manage the reading required for any writing project - a strategy to help writers avoid getting bogged down in this crucial step. Updated material, alongside testimonials from students and readers, new appendices on topics such as processing reviewer feedback, and new "Research Shows" boxes help readers address important hurdles to developing a lower-stress, sustainable writing habit.
Call Number: PE1408 .G585 2024 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2023
From Research to Manuscript: A Guide to Scientific Writing
Observations Plus Recipes It has been said that science is the orderly collection of facts about the natural world. Scientists, however, are wary of using the word 'fact. ' 'Fact' has the feeling of absoluteness and universality, whereas scientific observations are neither ab- lute nor universal. For example, 'children have 20 deciduous [baby] teeth' is an observation about the real world, but scientists would not call it a fact. Some children have fewer deciduous teeth, and some have more. Even those children who have exactly 20 deciduous teeth use the full set during only a part of their childhood. When they are babies and t- dlers, children have less than 20 visible teeth, and as they grow older, children begin to loose their deciduous teeth, which are then replaced by permanent teeth. 'Children have 20 deciduous [baby] teeth' is not even a complete scientific sta- ment. For one thing, the statement 'children have 20 deciduous teeth' does not tell us what we mean by 'teeth. ' When we say "teeth," do we mean only those that can seen be with the unaided eye, or do we also include the hidden, unerupted teeth? An observation such as 'children have 20 deciduous teeth' is not a fact, and, by itself, it is not acceptable as a scientific statement until its terms are explained: scientifically, 'children have 20 deciduous teeth' must be accompanied by definitions and qualifiers.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2009
How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper
Thoroughly updated throughout, this classic, practical text on how to write and publish a scientific paper takes its own advice to be "as clear and simple as possible." "The purpose of scientific writing," according to Barbara Gastel and Robert A. Day, "is to communicate new scientific findings. Science is simply too important to be communicated in anything other than words of certain meaning." This clear, beautifully written, and often funny text is a must-have for anyone who needs to communicate scientific information, whether they're writing for a professor, other scientists, or the general public. The thoughtfully revised ninth edition retains the most important material--including preparing text and graphics, publishing papers and other types of writing, and plenty of information on writing style--while adding up-to-date advice on copyright, presenting online, identifying authors, creating visual abstracts, and writing in English as a non-native language. A set of valuable appendixes provide ready reference, including words and expressions to avoid, SI prefixes, a list of helpful websites, and a glossary. Students and working scientists will want to keep How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper at their desks and refer to it at every stage of writing and publication. Provides practical, easy-to-read, and immediately applicable guidance on preparing each part of a scientific paper, from the title and abstract to each section of the main text to acknowledgments and references Explains step-by-step how to decide to which journal to submit a paper, what happens to a paper after submission, and how to work effectively with a journal throughout the publication process Includes key advice on other communication important to success in scientific careers, such as giving presentations, writing proposals, and writing for a general audience Presents updated information throughout and new material on timely topics like copyright and presenting online
Call Number: T11 .D33 2022 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2022
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Widely adopted by universities, colleges, and secondary schools, the MLA Handbook is the guide millions of writers have relied on for over half a century. The seventh edition, taken out of print by the MLA in spring 2016 upon publication of the eighth edition, provides the MLA's previous recommendations on documentation style for use in student writing. Please note that copies of the seventh edition of the MLA Handbook include a code for accessing an accompanying Web site. The Web site is no longer available.
Call Number: LB2369 .G53 2009 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2009
The Oxford Guide to Effective Writing and Speaking
The Oxford Guide to Effective Writing and Speaking is the essential guide for everyone who needs to communicate in clear and effective English, both written and spoken. In the first section on communicating in everyday life, chapters cover everything from writing email to giving presentationsand preparing reports. John Seely also offers guidance on understanding the demands of particular audiences, subjects, and situations. With guidelines and exercises, this book will help you to tailor your message and language accordingly. The second section on the English language givesauthoritative advice on grammar, vocabulary, spelling, and punctuation to ensure that communication is accurate as well as appropriate. A final section examines the process of writing itself, including planning and research, drafting, and using technology. New to this edition are chapters on writingemail and help on writing for the internet.The Oxford Guide to Effective Writing and Speaking is designed to be practical and user-friendly, with boxed exercises, guidelines, and examples. A glossary and index make the volume easy to use and simple to navigate. This is the most comprehensive guide to using English for effective communicationavailable; it covers an unrivalled range of situations and requirements. Perfect for use at work, at college, or at home.
Call Number: PE1408 .S4559 2005 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2005
Writing a Winning Research Proposal: Your Path to Success
This comprehensive guide takes you through every critical aspect of crafting compelling proposals that command attention. Whether you are an experienced researcher or new to the field, this resource empowers you with practical examples, exercises, and insights from seasoned professionals. Through its pages, you will not only learn the intricacies of proposal writing but also gain the tools to put your newfound knowledge into practice for tangible, successful results. Drawing on the expertise of seasoned researchers, this book provides a treasure trove of best practices and expert advice, empowering you to shape the trajectory of your endeavors. Elevate your proposal-writing skills and achieve success in your academic or professional pursuits with this book.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2024
7 Secrets of Highly Effective Social Impact Communicators: How to Grow Your Influence to Solve Society's Most Pressing Challenges
Social impact communication is quickly become a mandatory skill for leaders of modern businesses and nonprofits, at all levels of an organization. Yet using strategy, language and influence to advance game-changing societal breakthroughs isn't something most people learn in college. This book provides a pathway for empathy, clarity and persuasive communication to advance the social impact work that can help people, their families and society. Too often, workplaces leave these essential capabilities to chance or trust osmosis to do the work. These aren't skills you can learn in a classroom. They must be learned while actively engaged in the work of social impact leadership. Too many organizations treat social impact communication and programmatic leadership as "just another marketing project." It's a tremendous missed opportunity for businesses seeking to add value to society and deepen their client/customer relationships. What's more, it directly damages other aspects of organizations' ESG priorities-- specifically, their cultivation of a healthy, safe and engaged workplace with team members whose personal values and professional activities are in harmony. Journalist and social impact business executive Nate Birt walks you through the essential mindset shifts and principles needed perform the social impact work that matters and have confidence your headed toward true north. The book includes firsthand insights, how-to strategies and social impact leadership anecdotes, along with insights and tips from dozens of social impact communicators whose perspective will provide you with real-world validation, strategies and encouragement. Each chapter includes a call for personal reflection or action that features a series of question-based prompts to encourage further introspection and journaling. At the end of the book, you'll get access to other resources to continue the conversation and professional development in the area of social impactcommunication. What You'll Learn Understand what makes social impact communication fundamentally different from conventional advertising, journalism or marketing See why social impact communication requires translational communication capabilities within an organization, across partner stakeholders, and with external audiences, clients and customers. Examine how social impact communication cultivates more engaged leaders and teams by unlocking the power of team members' individual values and personal purpose Who This Book Is For Social-impact executives and their teams in corporate or non-profit settings; non-ESG-focused executives seeking to better understand social impact and associated leadership/management strategies; college or university students seeking to specialize in social impact leadership; think-tank leaders, policymakers or others whose work intersects with social impactdisciplines and decision-making.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2023
Communicating the Environment to Save the Planet : A Journey into Eco-Communication
This book, based on authoritative sources and reports, links environmental communication to different fields of competence: environment, sustainability, journalism, mass media, architecture, design, art, green and circular economy, public administration, big event management and legal language. The manual offers a new, scientifically based perspective, and adopts a theoretical-practical approach, providing readers with qualified best practices, case studies and 22 exclusive interviews with professionals. A fluent style of writing leads the readers through specific details, enriching their knowledge without being boring. As such it is an excellent preparatory and interdisciplinary academic tool intended for university students, scholars, professionals, and anyone who would like to know more on the matter.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2019
The Rhetoric of Research: A Guide for Students of Social Science
Writing Readable Research analyses scientific writing in English for non-native and native speakers. The Introduction looks at different layers of constraints in scientific writing in English including grammatical and semantic rules, register, style, rhetoric, textual cohesion, social amenities, mode, field and genre. Section I covers the grammatical and sentential structures relevant to scientific genres and those that pose problems for non-native speakers. It explains the function of the relevant tenses, of voice, and conditional clauses and how grammatical and syntactic facets interact with rhetorical choices. Section II looks at problems common to novice writers, whether non-native or native English speakers, including neglect of the paragraph as an organizing unit, superfluous words and phrases, monotonous sentence structure and inappropriateness for the intended readership. Many writers who have been taught academic English still find themselves unable to cope with scientific English and the final section of the book discusses how to analyze various scientific genres, such as journal articles, oral presentations, abstracts, professional letters and grant proposals. This section also covers the usually neglected area of interpersonal relations in the scientific discourse community. How do we handle sensitive issues such as criticizing other researchers and advancing one's own claims? Praise for this Volume: 'A welcome addition to the array of academically inclined instructional manuals on how to create reader-friendly scientific texts. The author is an expert in the field of teaching scientific writing in the discipline of the Social Sciences and offers a compact volume with plenty of useful advice to students and guidance to tutors of scientific writing. The most attractive feature of the book is its balanced mix of explanations, theory and task-based approach with a strong emphasis on skills building through activities, which are all based on authentic materials showcasing some similarities but also many differences between disciplines under the Social Sciences umbrella.' -- Linguist List 24.396, January 2013
Call Number: H61.8 .L49 2010 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2010
The Routledge Handbook of Scientific Communication
Given current science-related crises facing the world such as climate change, the targeting and manipulation of DNA, GMO foods, and vaccine denial, the way in which we communicate science matters is vital for current and future generations of scientists and publics. The Routledge Handbook of Scientific Communication scrutinizes what we value, prioritize, and grapple with in science as highlighted by the rhetorical choices of scientists, students, educators, science gatekeepers, and lay commentators. Drawing on contributions from leading thinkers in the field, this volume explores some of the most pressing questions in this growing field of study, including: How do issues such as ethics, gender, race, shifts in the publishing landscape, and English as the lingua franca of science influence scientific communication practices? How have scientific genres evolved and adapted to current research and societal needs?　 How have scientific visuals developed in response to technological advances and communication needs?　 How is scientific communication taught to a variety of audiences?　 Offering a critical look at the complex relationships that characterize current scientific communication practices in academia, industry, government, and elsewhere, this Handbook will be essential reading for students, scholars, and professionals involved in the study, practice, and teaching of scientific, medical, and technical communication. 　
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2021
Writing in the Biological Sciences: A Comprehensive Guide to Scientific Communication
Writing in the Biological Sciences: A Comprehensive Guide to Scientific Communication serves as a comprehensive "one-stop" reference guide to scientific writing and communication for budding professionals in the life sciences and related fields. The book is designed to function both as afree-standing textbook for a course on writing in the sciences and as an accompanying text or reference guide in courses with writing-intensive components. It covers all the basics of scientific communication that students need to know and master for successful scientific careers. The book lays thefoundation for professional writing by starting with basic scientific writing principles and then by applying these principles to lab reports, summaries, and critiques and eventually also to full-fledged scientific research articles, review articles, and grant proposals. Practical advice fororganizing academic presentations and posters as well as for putting together job applications is also included.
Call Number: QH304 .H64 2022 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2021
How to Write Your Literature Review
This engaging guide by bestselling author Bryan Greetham takes students step-by-step through the process of writing a literature review, and equips them with practical strategies to help them navigate each stage. Each bite-sized chapter focuses on a specific aspect of the process, from generating ideas and pinning down the research problem through to searching for sources, citing references and planning, writing and editing the review. Chapters feature examples and exercises to help students apply ideas to their own work. Whether your students are writing a stand-alone review or one that is part of a dissertation or thesis, this guide is their essential companion. Accompanying online resources for this title can be found at bloomsburyonlineresources.com/how-to-write-your-literature-review dissertation. These resources are designed to support teaching and learning when using this textbook and are available at no extra cost.
Call Number: PE1478 .G74 2021 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2020
Literature Reviews: Modern Methods for Investigating Scientific and Technological Knowledge
This book begins by introducing the topic of knowledge in literature, including its scientific foundations. Due to the ever-increasing number of scientific publications, literature reviews are becoming more and more essential to stay updated. Literature Reviews describes an innovative system for creating systematic literature reviews, through reviewing, analyzing, and synthesizing scientific and technological literature. It then discusses systematic literature reviews, content analysis, and literature synthesis separately, before presenting the methodology to combine them in one process. It showcases computational tools to aid in this technique and offers examples of the method in action. Finally, the book takes a new of future developments in the subject. This book is of interest to graduate students, as well as researchers and academics, helping them to deepen insights and improve skills needed to conduct thorough literature reviews.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2021
Making Literature Reviews Work
This textbook guides the reader on how to undertake high-quality literature reviews, from traditional narrative to protocol-driven reviews. The guidance covers a broad range of purposes, disciplines and research paradigms. Whether the literature review is part of a research project, doctoral study, dissertation or a stand-alone study, the book offers approaches, methods, tools, tips and guidelines to produce more effective literature reviews in an efficient manner. The numerous examples are drawn from an array of subject areas, such as economics, healthcare, education, medicine, psychology, software engineering amongst others. This makes it worthwhile for a wide range of studies and for reviews into evidence-based interventions, policies, practices and treatments. There is attention given to presenting, reporting and publishing literature reviews. With the additional clarity brought about by explanatory tables and graphs, this textbook is a 'must-have' for all students,researchers, academics and practitioners at any stage of their project or career when engaging with literature. In addition, citizens, policymakers and practitioners will benefit from the guidance with better insight into how literature reviews could and should have been conducted.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2022
Telling a Research Story: Writing a Literature Review
Telling a Research Story: Writing a Literature Review is concerned with the writing of a literature review and is not designed to address any of the preliminary processes leading up to the actual writing of the literature review. This volume represents a revision and expansion of the material on writing literature reviews that appeared in English in Today's Research World. This volume progresses from general to specific issues in the writing of literature reviews. It opens with some orientations that raise awareness of the issues that surround the telling of a research story. Issues of structure and matters of language, style, and rhetoric are then discussed. Sections on metadiscourse, citation, and paraphrasing and summarizing are included.
Call Number: PE1478 .F34 2009 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2009
Technical Communication for Environmental Action
Climate change is one of the most significant challenges facing the global community in the twenty-first century. With its position at the border of people, technology, science, and communication, technical communication has a significant role to play in helping to solve these complex environmental problems. This collection of essays engages scholars and practitioners in a conversation about how the field has contributed to pragmatic and democratic action to address climate change. Compared to most prior work—which offers theoretical perspectives of environmental communication—this collection explores the actual practice of international technical communicators who participate in government projects, corporate processes, nonprofit programs, and international agency work, demonstrating how technical communication theories such as participatory design, social justice, and ethics can help shape pragmatic environmental action.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2023
Climate Change and Storytelling : Narratives and Cultural Meaning in Environmental Communication
Climate change is as much a cultural phenomenon as it is a natural one. This book is about those cultural patterns that surround our perception of the environmental crisis and which are embodied in the narratives told by climate change advocates. It investigates the themes and motifs in those narratives through the use of narrative theory and provides a framework for narrative analysis from a cultural perspective. Developing a framework for cultural narrative analysis, Climate Change and Storytelling draws on qualitative interviews with stakeholders, activists and politicians in the USA and Germany to identify motifs and the relationships between heroes, villains and victims, as told by the messengers of the narrative. This book will provide academics and practitioners with insights into the structure of climate change communication among climate advocates and the cultural fabric that informs it.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2018
New Forms of Environmental Writing: Gleaning and Fragmentation
Surveying a wide range of contemporary poetry, fiction, and memoir by women writers, this book explores our most pressing environmental concerns and shows how these texts find innovative new ways to respond to our environmental crisis. Arguing for the centrality of individual encounter and fragmentary form in 21st-century literature, as well as themes of attention, care, and loss, Baker highlights the ways that fragmentary texts can be seen as a mode of resistance. These texts provide new ways to consider the role of individual agency and enmeshment in a more-than-human world. The author proposes a new model of 'gleaning' to encompass ideas of collection, assemblage, and relinquishment and draws on theoretical perspectives such as ecofeminism, new materialism and posthumanism. Examining works by writers including Sara Baume, Ali Smith, Elizabeth-Jane Burnett, Bhanu Kapil and Kathleen Jamie, Baker provides important new insights into understanding our planetary predicament.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2022
Risk Journalism Between Transnational Politics and Climate Change
This book introduces a new methodology to assess the way in which journalists today operate within a new sphere of communicative 'public' interdependence across global digital communities by focusing on climate change debates. The authors propose a framework of 'cosmopolitan loops, ' which addresses three major transformations in journalistic practice: the availability of 'fluid' webs of data which situate journalistic practice in a transnational arena; the increased involvement of journalists from developing countries in a transnationally interdependent sphere; and the increased awareness of a larger interconnected globalized 'risk' dimension of even local issues which shapes a new sphere of news 'horizons.' The authors draw on interviews with journalists to demonstrate that the construction of climate change 'issues' is increasingly situated in an emerging dimension of journalistic interconnectivity with climate actors across local, global and digital arenas and through physical and digital spaces of flows.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2018
Storytelling for a Greener World: Environment, Community and Story-based Learning
The what, why and how of storytelling and storywork to promote environmental mindfulness and sustainable behaviour in adults and children.Written by 21 cutting-edge professionals in story-based learning and pro-environmental change.Shows how to apply this practice, indoors and outdoors, in organisations, NGOs, schools, colleges and communities.A treasury of over 40 stories, many creative activities and detailed descriptions of inspiring practice for both new and seasoned practitioners. Clearly explains how this practice works, why it is effective and how to adapt the ideas to the reader's situation.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2020
Storytelling to Accelerate Climate Solutions (Open Access Book)
The climate is changing faster than our cultural practices are adapting to it. This Open Access volume, co-edited by Emily Coren (a science communicator) and Hua Wang (a communication scientist), presents a survey of the latest in agency-focused climate storytelling. Together, practitioners and scholars across different fields shared their knowledge, experience, and insight about how stories can be designed and told to engage, enable, and empower individuals and communities in climate communication and action. You will learn a wide range of narrative strategies and exemplary applications of climate storytelling in terms of professional practices (e.g., education, literature, journalism, popular media), genres and formats (e.g., drama, comedy, fiction), media platforms (e.g., television, radio, mobile), and communication modalities (e.g., text, visual, audio, multisensory). Entertainment-education has been proven over decades to be an effective tool for social and behavior change in the public health sphere and has not yet been applied at scale to the massive ongoing climate–related disasters that we need to solve now, fast. There is an urgent need to rapidly apply and adapt public engagement tools for climate communication to speed up our response times for climate change mitigation and adaptation. This book takes a snapshot of where climate storytelling is currently at, describes where it fits within a climate communication landscape, and supports the next steps of its development. It facilitates the of creation climate storytelling efficiently by sharing and amplifying what is working well, and building collaborations between practitioners and researchers. This is an open access book.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2024
Interactive Media for Sustainability
Interactive Media for Sustainability presents a conceptually rich, critical account of the design and use of interactive technologies to engage the public with sustainability. Treating interactive technologies as forms of mediation, the book argues that these technologies advance multiple understandings of sustainability. At stake are the ways sustainability encodes the complexity of interrelated social and natural systems, and how it conveys the malleability of the future. The book’s argument is anchored in a diverse set of theoretical resources that include contemporary work in human-computer interaction (HCI), social theory, media studies, and the philosophy of technology, and is animated by a variety of examples, including interactive simulations, persuasive apps, digital games, art installations, and decision-support tools.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2018
Social Media Activism: Water as a Common Good (Open Access Book)
This book focuses on the referendums against water privatization in Italy and explores how activists took to social media, ultimately convincing twenty-seven million citizens to vote. Investigating the relationship between social movements and internet-related activism during complex campaigns, this book examines how a technological evolution -- the increased relevance of social media platforms -- affected in very different ways organizations with divergent characteristics, promoting at the same time decentralized communication practices, and new ways of coordinating dispersed communities of people.Matteo Cernison combines and adapts a wide set of methods, from social network analysis to digital ethnography, in order to explore in detail how digital activism and face-to-face initiatives interact and overlap. He argues that the geographical scale of actions, the role played by external media professionals, and the activists' perceptions of digital technologies are key elements that contribute in a significant way to shape the very different communication practices often described as online activism.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2019
Social Media Marketing: An Hour a Day
Updated with 100 pages of new content, this edition is better than ever In the newest edition of his top-selling book, social media expert Dave Evans bypasses theory to provide you with practical, hands-on advice on developing, implementing, and measuring social media marketing campaigns. In what can be an overwhelming topic, he demystifies the jargon, dispels the myths, and helps you develop an effective, day-by-day plan. Revised and updated with more than 100 pages of new material on all the latest developments, Evans includes new and updated coverage on Facebook, Twitter, and Google+; the latest on listening and analytics platforms; how to incorporate mobile and location-based services like Foursquare and Gowalla into your plan; and more. Helps marketers, advertisers, and small business owners quickly develop effective, practical approaches to social media marketing campaigns Highlights the latest you should know about Facebook, Twitter, and Google+; as well as mobile- and location-based services such as Foursquare and Gowalla Shows you how to track and measure results and integrate that information into your overall marketing plan Features case studies, step-by-step instructions, and hands-on tutorials If you've been seeking ways to break down social media marketing into tasks you can handle and campaigns that deliver, this is the book you need.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2012
Elements of Creative Writing (Open Access Textbook)
This free and open access textbook introduces new writers to some basic elements of the craft of creative writing in the genres of fiction, poetry, and creative nonfiction. The authors—Rachel Morgan, Jeremy Schraffenberger, and Grant Tracey—are editors of the North American Review, the oldest and one of the most well-regarded literary magazines in the United States. They’ve selected nearly all of the readings and examples (more than 60) from writing that has appeared in NAR pages over the years. Because they had a hand in publishing these pieces originally, their perspective as editors permeates this book. As such, they hope that even seasoned writers might gain insight into the aesthetics of the magazine as they analyze and discuss some reasons this work is so remarkable—and therefore teachable. This project was supported by NAR staff and funded via the UNI Textbook Equity Mini-Grant Program.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2023
Environmental Transformations
This special issue examines the ways fiction and poetry engage with environmental consciousness, and how African literary criticism addresses the implications of global environmental transformations. Does environmentalist literature offer new possibilities for critical thinking about the future? What constitutes environmentalist fiction and poetry? What kind of texts, themes and topics does climate writing include? Does any text in which the environment features become available to environmentalist criticism? In their engagement with the diverse genres, themes and frameworks through which contemporary African writers address topics including urbanisation, cross-species communication, nature and climate change, contributors to this special issue help to define African environmental writing. They look at the literary strategies adopted by creative writers to convey the impact of environmental transformationin narratives that are historically informed by a century of colonialism, nationalist political activism, urbanisation and postcolonial migration. How does environmental literature intervene in these histories? Can creative writers, with their powerfully post-human and cross-species imaginations, carry out the ethical work demanded by contemporary climate science? From Tanure Ojaide's and Helon Habila's attention to environmental decimation in the Niger Delta through to Nnedi Okorafor's and Kofi Anyidoho's imaginative cross-species encounters, the special issue asks how literature mediates the specificities of climate change in an era of global capitalism and technological transformation, and what the limits of creative writing and literary criticism are as tools for discussing environmental issues.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2020
Search for a Common Language: Environmental Writing and Education
A stellar group of writers, scientists, and educators illuminate the intersections between environmental science, creative writing, and education, considering ways to strengthen communication between differing fields with common interests. The contributing authors include Ken Brewer, Dan Flores, Hartmut Grassl, Carolyn Tanner Irish, Ted Kerasote, William Kittredge, Ellen Meloy, Louis Owens, Jennifer Price, Robert Michael Pyle, Kent C. Ryden, Annick Smith, Craig B. Stanford, Susan J. Tweit, and Keith Wilson.
Call Number: GE25 .S43 2005 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2005
The Art and Craft of Policy Advising: A Practical Guide
This book offers a practical guide for policy advisors and their managers, grounded in the author's extensive experience as a senior policy practitioner in New Zealand's Westminster-style system of government. A key message is that effective policy advising is less about cycles, stages and steps, and more about relationships, integrity and communication. Policy making is incremental social problem solving. Policy advising is mostly learned on the job, like an apprenticeship. It starts with careful listening, knowing one's place in the constitutional scheme of things, winning the confidence of decision makers, skillfully communicating what they need to hear and not only what they want to hear, and learning to lead from behind, scheme virtuously and play nicely with others. The author introduces a public value approach to policy advising that uses collective thinking to address complex policy problems, evidence-informed policy analysis that also factors in emotions and values, and the practice of "gifting and gaining" (rather than "trade-offs") in the long-term public interest. Theory is illustrated by personal anecdote and each chapter offers practical processes, tools, techniques and questions for reflection, to help readers master the art and craft of policy advising. This second edition has been substantially revised and updated. It provides an expanded, step-by-step approach to stakeholder analysis and prioritisation in relation to an agency's own strategic frame; it aligns and integrates theory about the public interest, public value and anticipatory governance; and it updates a "fair go" multi-criteria decision analysis matrix with the latest iteration of the N.Z. Treasury's Living Standards Framework.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2022
The CQ Press Writing Guide for Public Policy
The CQ Press Writing Guide for Public Policy, Second Edition, is loaded with rich real-world examples that help students master the process of translating insightful policy analysis into clear policy recommendations. Known for his conversational writing style, author Andrew Pennock offers step-by-step instructions on how to write for a variety of genres--including policy memos, briefs, op-eds, press releases, written testimony, social media, and emails--in a style that policy makers expect.Focusing on an audience-centered approach, the second edition of this award-winning book helps students learn how to create and organize an argument based on the unique needs and expectations of policy makers. The book also covers the nuts and bolts of how to write for a policy audience in specific genres, with special consideration of ethics and working with visual and technical material. The second edition features updated examples and a new chapter on writing for public speaking.Winner of the 2019 Textbook Excellence Award ("Texty") from the Textbook & Academic Authors Association (TAA)
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2023
Evidence-Based Policymaking: Insights from Policy-Minded Researchers and Research-Minded Policymakers
This book is for those who believe that good government should be based on hard evidence, and that research and policy ought to go hand-in-hand. Unfortunately, no such bond exists. Rather, there is a substantial gap, some say chasm, between the production of knowledge and its utilization. Despite much contrary evidence, the authors propose there is a way of doing public policy in a more reflective manner, and that a hunger for evidence and objectivity does exist. 　 The book is pragmatic, drawing on advice from some of the best and brightest informants from both the research and policy communities. In their own voices, researchers provide incisive analysis about how to bridge the research/policy divide, and policymakers provide insights about why they use research, what kind is most useful, where they seek it, and how they screen its quality. The book breaks through stereotypes about what policymakers are like, and provides an insiders' view of how the policy process really works. Readers will learn what knowledge, skills, approaches, and attitudes are needed to take research findings from the laboratory to lawmaking bodies, and how to evaluate one's success in doing so. 　 The book's balance between theory and practice will appeal to students in graduate and upper-level undergraduate courses in family studies and family policy, educational policy, law, political science, public administration, public health, social work, and sociology. This book will also be of interest to researchers who want to bring their ideas into policy debate and to those who work with policymakers to advance an evidence-based policy agenda.
Call Number: H97 .B64 2010 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2010
Methods of the Policy Process
The increasingly global study of policy processes faces challenges with scholars applying theories in radically different national and cultural contexts. Questions frequently arise about how to conduct policy process research comparatively and among this global community of scholars. Methods of the Policy Process is the first book to remedy this situation, not by establishing an orthodoxy or imposing upon the policy process community a rigid way of conducting research but, instead, by allowing the leading researchers in the different theoretical traditions a space to share the means by which they put their research into action. This edited volume serves as a companion volume and supplemental guide to the well-established Theories of the Policy Process, 4th Edition. Methods of the Policy Process acknowledges that growth and advancement in the study of the policy process is dependent not merely on conceptual and theoretical development, but also on developing and systematizing better methodological approaches to measurement and analysis. To maximize student engagement with the material, each chapter follows a similar framework: introduction of a given theory of the policy process, application of that theory (including best practices for research design, conceptualization, major data sources, data collection, and methodological approaches), critical assessment, future directions, and often online resources (including datasets, survey instruments, and interview and coding protocols). While the structure and focus of each chapter varies slightly according to the theoretical tradition being discussed, each chapter's central aim is to prepare readers to confidently undertake common methodological strategies themselves. Methods of the Policy Process is especially beneficial to people new to the field, including students enrolled in policy process courses, as well as those without access to formal training. For scholars experienced in applying theories, this edited volume is a helpful reference to clarify best practices in research methods.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2022
Real Stats: Using Econometrics for Political Science and Public Policy
Real Stats: Using Econometrics for Political Science and Public Policy offers an engaging and practical introduction to statistical analysis for political science, public policy, and law. Grounded in contemporary causal inference, the text invites students to see how statistical tools can help answer important and interesting questions. This emphasis on practical applications, combined with a lively and conversational narrative, provides students with a solid foundation in the analytical tools they will use throughout their academic and professional careers.
Call Number: HB139 .B345 2021 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2020
Theory and Practice in Policy Analysis: Including Applications in Science and Technology
Many books instruct readers on how to use the tools of policy analysis. This book is different. Its primary focus is on helping readers to look critically at the strengths, limitations, and the underlying assumptions analysts make when they use standard tools or problem framings. Using examples, many of which involve issues in science and technology, the book exposes readers to some of the critical issues of taste, professional responsibility, ethics, and values that are associated with policy analysis and research. Topics covered include policy problems formulated in terms of utility maximization such as benefit-cost, decision, and multi-attribute analysis, issues in the valuation of intangibles, uncertainty in policy analysis, selected topics in risk analysis and communication, limitations and alternatives to the paradigm of utility maximization, issues in behavioral decision theory, issues related to organizations and multiple agents, and selected topics in policy advice and policy analysis for government.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2017
Writing Public Policy: A practical Guide to Communicating in the Policymaking Process
Writing Public Policy is a practical, concise guide to writing and communicating in public policy processes. Designed to help students understand and perform common types of communication used in solving public problems, this text explains the standards and functions of communicating in the public sector and teaches the use of selected public policy communication genres. Catherine F. Smith presents a general method for planning, producing, and assessing communications in a variety of real-life contexts and situations of public policy work. Hands-on and accessible, Writing Public Policy, Sixth Edition, teaches know-how and techniques needed to effectively communicate in the democratic process of making public policy. It is a particularly useful tool for any student preparing for a career in politics, government, public relations, law, public policy, journalism, social work, public health, or any role concerned with public affairs.
Call Number: JF1525.C59 S64 2023 (Print Resource) - Services Desk - Course ReservesPublication Date: 2022
