Technology Management: Article Databases & Primary Sources

Comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. Includes citations and abstracts from engineering journals and conference proceedings.

Full-text repository of papers from ACM journal and newsletter articles and conference proceedings published, co-published, or co-marketed by the Association for Computing Machinery and other publishers.

Contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications.

Contains peer-reviewed conference papers presented at Materials Research Society meetings. Topics include electronic materials, plastics and polymers, composite materials, ceramics and metals. For current MRS proceedings (2016-present) see the journal "MRS Advances".

Indexes papers on optics, photonics, optoelectronics, and imaging. Subject coverage is broad across optical technology, including astronomy, aerospace, remote sensing, biomedical optics, communications & fiber optics, electronic & medical imaging, lasers, microelectronics & micromachining, nanotechnology, optical physics, chemistry & biology, and signal & image processing.

Includes abstracts and citations from over 4,000 journals and other sources including conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books, and government publications.

Covers all aspects of aquatic science including aquaculture, biology, conservation, environmental quality, fisheries, freshwater environments, limnology, marine biotechnology, marine environments, meteorology, oceanography, policy and legislation, and wildlife management.

Contains citations to items in journals, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports, in all areas of the life sciences and biology. Many citations include abstracts.

Citations and abstracts for millions of articles in medicine, life science, and health administration. Includes full contents of MEDLINE, plus "in process" citations for recent articles, and some additional references from life sciences journals.

Indexes patents of chemical, electrical and mechanical inventions from 40 patent-issuing authorities worldwide. Searchable by topic, inventor, patent assignee, patent number, classification codes, as well as searching by cited patents, and by chemical compounds.

Materials Science and Engineering Database is a combination of a group of engineering databases from ProQuest. Expand “Additional Info” for a list.

New user? You must register for an account. Go to the SciFinder Registration Information page to begin. Commercial use of your University account is strictly prohibited. Searches Chemical Abstracts Service databases, including chemical substances, chemical reactions, chemical suppliers and references, with one of the largest collections in each area. Also provides unique full text access to a large collection of chemical patents via its PatentPak feature.

Covers thousands of research journals, and extensive collections of conference proceedings and books across hundreds of disciplines.

Provides full-text information and perspectives from U.S. and international news sources, offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Provides comprehensive coverage of current events (history in the making) and historical events. Provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including specific information about local companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and the people in the community.

Provides access to news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. Includes 3 primary collections: 1) full-text news sources (U.S. and international) 2) aggregated economic data on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; 3) full-text legal documents - U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews.

Supplemental database for customers of Business Source Premier. Includes daily updates and provides comprehensive full text for regional business publications.

Archive of television news from major U.S. national broadcast networks, covering special reports and periodic news broadcasts such as political campaign coverage and wars.

Searchable and displayable full text of the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present.

Searchable and displayable full text of the Wall Street Journal from 1889 to 2002.

Searchable and displayable full text of the Los Angeles Times from 1985 to the present. (Note: historical backfiles of the LA Times are available separately for 1881-1984.)

Searchable and displayable full text of the Los Angeles Times from 1881 to 1995. Note: current files of the LA Times (1985-present) are available separately.

Searchable and displayable full text of the New York Times from 1980 to the present. Note: historical backfiles of the New York Times are available as a separate file.

Searchable and displayable full text of the New York Times from 1851 to 2008. Note: current issues of the New York Times are available as a separate file.

Keeps readers informed of the latest news from the Chicago area, the nation and the world every day. The Tribune has a reputation for investigative and public service journalism earning 24 Pulitzer Prizes since 1932.

Searchable and displayable full text of the Chicago Tribune from 1849 to 1987.

Covers the international literature on economics. Provides bibliographic citations, with selected abstracts, of journal articles, books, dissertations and working papers.

Papers from NBER, a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. Includes research conducted by more than 500 university professors around the country, the leading scholars in their fields.

A collaborative effort to enhance the dissemination of research in economics. A decentralized database of working papers, journal articles and software components.

Allows users to simultaneously perform a search in any or all of the social sciences databases from ProQuest.
 

Covers thousands of research journals, and extensive collections of conference proceedings and books across hundreds of disciplines.

Covers all aspects of human impact on the environment. Includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.

Indexes data sets from selected repositories around the world, and also enables the user to find data sets which cite a particular work.

Contains over 10,000 data series—or single data measures over time about U.S. geographies—across 15 high-interest research areas. Detailed source information, with links where applicable, are provided for every data series.

Provides timely analysis and forecasts of the political, economic, social, and business environment in a total of 126 reports about more than 180 countries. Present the political and economic structure of the country, the current political scene, economic policy, domestic economy (covering industry, agriculture, money and finance), foreign trade and payments. These publications supplement the often less timely information published by governments and international organizations. For those countries that normally do not produce current information, these studies are a primary means of determining the conditions within a nation.

Provides access to Census Data, from the US Census Bureau. Includes data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas.

The most complete collection of historical and current financial and economic data available in the world. Covers more than 150 different countries. Provides over 30,000 different data series that are immediately downloadable from the website. Most series can also be viewed in graph format. In addition to economic and financial data, the GFDatabase includes a COVID-19 dataset and a dataset of events that includes global recessions, sovereign defaults, and when particular state and military leaders were in power.

Provides access to Industry Reports—full-text, fully searchable U.S. industry analyses, covering over 790 industries at the 5-digit NAICS level. Search or browse by industry (by NAICS code number classifications), or search by keyword or company name. UCSB's subscription also includes access to the U.S. Specialized Industry Reports; Industry Data Wizard; State Industry Reports; and the U.S. Business Environment Profiles (these are found under the tab "Industry Risk Ratings").

Collects and organizes hundreds of millions of shipping manifests and customs records from government agencies and private companies around the world. Useful for researching private and public companies to find out what they import and export, learn who their trading partners are, analyze industry trends, and more. In order to access this resource, UCSB students, faculty, and staff must create a free account using their university email address.

Archive of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion. Provides access to summary-level (aggregate) and micro-level (raw) public opinion data. Focuses on US public opinion, but also includes collections of micro-level European, Latin American (Latin American Databank), and Japanese (JPOLL) polls. 

Provides access and mapping tools for current and historical census data and demographic information.

Available through the DREAM Lab. Provides significant historical time series data including equity, index, commodity, currency, bond, futures, options, and economic data. Use to find historical data for a variety of securities and markets worldwide. The Excel add-on allows researchers to download data on multiple securities simultaneously.

Indexes the work of authors from graduate schools and universities in North America and from around the globe.  Starting with the 1980s records include abstracts of the works. Our subscription gives UCSB users access to UC dissertations in full text 1997 forward.

An index of over 1.6 million electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). To the extent possible, the index is limited to records of graduate-level theses that are freely available online.

An open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses. Incorporates EBSCO’s American Doctoral Dissertations, and features additional dissertation metadata contributed by select colleges and universities from around the world.

An international organization that promotes creation, access to, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs) from academic institutions around the world. The NDLTD Union Catalog provides access to over a million ETDs.