Introduction to the UCSB Library for New Graduate Students: Where Is...?

Campus Map

The UCSB Library is located near the center of campus.

 

Library Floor Plans

1st Floor

East Side - Facing Broida Hall

North Side = Mountain Side                                                                                                           South Side = Ocean Side 

Facing Ellison Hall                                                                                                                                        Facing Interactive Learning Pavilion

                                                            West Side - facing the Arbor, Girvetz Hall

During regular hours, you may enter the building at the Mountain Entrance, East Paseo, West Paseo, and the Davidson Entrance. When late night study is available, entrance is by the West Paseo entrance only.

The Services Desk is located near the West Paseo entrance. Instruction Room 1312 is located on the North/Mountain Side

The UCSB Library Makerspace is located on the 1st floor, Ocean Side on the East side of the building.

Note: The gray area to the left of the Paseo is the Art & Music collection, which is temporarily closed for renovation. The exception is the Comics & Zines collections, which have been moved to the 2nd floor.

 

2nd Floor

Note: The Children's and Young Adult Literature and Curriculum Resources collections are located on the 2nd floor, on the Ocean Side, in the southeast corner.

The DREAM Lab is located on the 2nd floor on the Mountain side, near the Group Study Rooms. It contains hardware and software for data manipulation and visualization. It also offers workshops on the use of Python, R, and other programming tools.

 Instruction room 2509 is located on the East side of the 2nd floor. Opposite it is the Graduate Quiet Study room (2504), accessible with a UCSB Access card showing graduate student status. Another GraduateQuiet  Study room (2582B) is located on the 2nd floor, Ocean Side, near the southwest corner. It, too, is accessible with a graduate Access card. The third Graduate Quiet Study room is on the 8th floor, Mountain Side (8503), also accessible with a graduate Access card.

The offices of most of the subject librarians are located in the suite behind the Ocean Elevators on the 2nd floor.

 

Cutaway profile of the entire Main Library

Call Number Locations in the UCSB Library

• A -- General Works - 1st floor, Ocean Side
• B -- Philosophy, Psychology, Religion - B-BA. 1st floor, Ocean Side; BC-BX - 2nd floor, Ocean Side
• C -- Auxiliary Sciences of History (Genealogy, Archaeology, Biography, etc.) - 4th floor, Ocean Side
• D -- History (General) and History of Europe - 4th floor, Ocean Side
• E -- History: America - 4th floor, Ocean Side
• F -- History: America - 4th floor, Ocean Side
• G -- Geography, Anthropology, Recreation - G-GE. 2nd floor, Mountain Side; GF-GV, 4th floor, behind Ocean Elevators.
• H -- Social Sciences - H-HC 79.P, 4th floor, behind Ocean Elevators.; HC 79.R-HX, 4th floor across from Ocean Elevators
• J -- Political Science - 6th floor, Ocean Side
• K -- Law - 6th floor, Ocean Side
• L -- Education - 6th floor, Ocean Side
• M -- Music and Books on Music - Art & Music Collection -1st floor, Mountain side (Note: temporarily closed for renovation)
• N -- Fine Arts - Art & Music Collection, 1st floor, Mountain Side (Note: temporarily closed for renovation)
• P -- Language and Literature - P-PJ, 6th floor, Ocean Side; PK-PN 6011, 7th floor, Ocean Side, behind Ocean Elevators; PN 6012-PR 3999, 7th floor, Ocean Side; PR  4000-PZ, 8th floor, Ocean Side
• Q -- Science - 2nd floor, Mountain Side
• R -- Medicine - 2nd floor, Mountain Side
• S -- Agriculture - 2nd floor, Mountain Side
• T -- Technology - 2nd floor, Mountain Side
• U -- Military Science - 2nd floor, Mountain Side
• V -- Naval Science - 2nd floor, Mountain Side
• Z -- Bibliography, Library Science - 2nd floor, Mountain Side

Special Locations Not Listed Above:

• Andelson Collection (LGBTQ): 2nd floor, Ocean Side, Ethnic & Gender Studies
• Asian American Studies:  2nd floor, Ocean Side, Ethnic & Gender Studies
• Black Studies:  2nd floor, Ocean Side, Ethnic & Gender Studies
• California Ethnic & Multicultural Archives:  3rd Floor, Mountain Side, Special Research Collections
• Coleccion Tloque Nahuaque (Chicana/o): 2nd floor, Ocean Side, Ethnic & Gender Studies 
• Comics & Zines - 2nd floor, Mountain Side, near Graduate Study Room
• Course Reserves:  1st floor, Paseo, Services Desk
• East Asian:  5th floor, Ocean Side
• Ethnic & Gender Studies:  2nd floor, Ocean Side
• Feminist Studies: 2nd floor, Ocean Side, Ethnic & Gender Studies
• Geospatial Collection:  Available by appointment
• Government Information, California:   2nd floor Mountain Side
• Government Information, Local:  2nd floor Mountain Side
• Government Information, United States:  2nd floor Mountain Side
• Juvenile Media:  2nd floor, Ocean Side
• Makerspace - 1st floor, Ocean Side, East
• Media:  2nd floor, Ocean Side
• Microforms:  2nd floor, Ocean Side
• Native American Studies: 2nd floor, Ocean Side, Ethnic & Gender Studies
• Oversize:  Oversize books shelved at beginning of call numbers on each floor
• Reference Collection:  2nd floor, Ocean Side
• Southern Regional Library Facility (SRLF): Off campus storage.
• Special Research Collections:  3rd floor, Mountain Side (use Mountain elevator)
• Tibetan Studies - 2nd floor, Ocean Side West. You must register with the Religious Studies Librarian to get access to this room.