UCSB Library Article Databases
Finding scholarly articles is a multi-step process. Here are the basic steps to using the Library's article databases:
1. Decide which database to use. You can browse a list of the Library's databases organized alphabetically, by subject, or by type.
2. I've listed a few great databases to start with in the "Recommended Article Databases" tab at right, but because your topics cover multiple subjects you will want to explore others as well.
3. Always use the Advanced Search option.
4. Databases don't like full sentences! Build your search using a few words that best describe the main concepts of your topic. These are your "keywords."
4. Select whichever filters are appropriate. You may need to select "peer-reviewed" or "academic articles" in the left margin.
6. Do not select "full text" as one of the filters because this will severely limit your results. Instead, see #7 below.
7. If the full text of an article is not available in the database itself, use the 
link. This will take you to the article on another platform or, if we don't immediately have access to the article online, it will offer you an option to order a scanned copy through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
8. Most article databases allow you to save, email, cite, download, or export citations or full articles.
Recommended Databases
You can also browse a list of the Library's databases organized by subject or alphabetically if you want to branch out into disciplines like social science, religion, world history, gender studies, and so on.
