It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
EEMB 144 - Marine Microbiology (Santoro, Fall 2021): Articles
Citations and abstracts for millions of articles in medicine, life science, and health administration. Includes the full contents of MEDLINE, plus "in process" citations for recent articles which have not yet been added to MEDLINE, and some additional references from life sciences journals.
Date Coverage: 1814 - presen
Materials Indexed: Journal Articles
Web of Science consists of nine databases: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Science Citation Index Expanded for journal aritcles; Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science and Conference Proceedings - Social Sciences and Humanities; Book Citation Index - Science and Book Citation Index - Social Sciences and Humanities; and Current Chemical Reactions and Index Chemicus. Web of Science covers thousands of research journals, and extensive collections of conference proceedings and books. across hundreds of disciplines. Both the science and social sciences journal article files offer searchable author abstracts. All three databases are updated weekly.
Date Coverage: Journal Articles: Arts and Humanities: 1975 to present; Sciences: 1945 to present; Social Sciences: 1900 to present.; Conference Proceedings: 1990-present; Books: 2005-present
Materials Indexed: Books; Conference Proceedings; Journal Articles
Alternate Titles: Science Citation Index
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. The UC has partnered with Google Scholar to allow our users to click on the familiar "UC-eLinks" button to reach full text of some items indexed. Use the "Scholar Preferences" link and select "University of California (UC-eLinks)" before saving your preferences.
Materials Indexed: Artworks; Audio; Biographical Information; Book Chapters; Book Reviews; Books; Business Data; Charts & Graphs; Conference Proceedings; Economic Data; Essays; Financial Data; Government Documents; Images; Journal Articles; Legal Literature; Lyrics; Magazine Articles; Maps; Monologues; Music Recordings; Musical Scores; Newsletter Articles; Newspaper Articles; Pamphlets; Patents & Trademarks; Photographs; Plays; Poetry; Poster Sessions; Preprints; Primary Sources; Prose; Public Opinion Polls; Questionnaire Responses; Radio Broadcasts; Reports; Statistics; Technical Data; Technical Reports; Television Broadcasts; Theses & Dissertations; Video
If you do not see a .pdf link to a journal article, look for the button. We might still have access to the article. Use this same button to request an article from elsewhere if UCSB does not subscribe to it.
This publication is a collection of standard research methods in the biosciences. They include: step-by-step protocols with annotations that alert you to special considerations, tips, and optional procedures; alternate and support protocols to accommodate different equipment and desired results; materials lists for each protocol; detailed recipes for reagents, solutions, and culture media; expert commentaries with troubleshooting instructions, and planning considerations; tables and figures to clarify complex procedures; and appendices filled with useful reference material. The protocols are browsable by Table of contents or keyword searchable with stemming (truncation) and a subject thesaurus.The online protocols available to UCSB include:
Current Protocols in Bioinformatics
Current Protocols in Cell Biology
Current Protocols in Cytometry
Current Protocols in Human Genetics
Current Protocols in Immunology
Current Protocols in Microbiology
Current Protocols in Molecular Biology
Current Protocols in Neuroscience
Current Protocols in Nucleic Acid Chemistry
Current Protocols in Pharmacology
Current Protocols in Protein Science
Current Protocols in Toxicology
Date Coverage: Current Information
Materials Indexed: Books; Technical Data
JoVE, the Journal of Visualized Experiments, is the world's first peer reviewed scientific video journal. Established in 2006, JoVE is devoted to publishing scientific research in a visual format to help researchers overcome two of the biggest challenges facing the scientific research community today; poor reproducibility and the time and labor intensive nature of learning new experimental techniques.
Springer Nature Experiments (formerly Springer Protocols) is the largest subscription-based electronic database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the Life and Biomedical Sciences. Experiments is a new research solution developed by Springer Nature to connect researchers with the most relevant and important protocols and methods to support their research projects. This database includes content from: Nature Methods, Nature Protocols, SpringerProtocols and Protocols Exchange.
NOTE: UCSB does not have full text access to all protocols indexed in this database.
Date Coverage: current information
Is it Peer Reviewed?
Many of the journals indexed in specialized databases are scholarly but those databases do not tell you whether a journal is peer reviewed or not.
To find out if a journal is peer reviewed look at the submission process on their website for authors.
You can also ask a reference librarian.
Scholarly and Academic Journal Articles
Scholarly journals (also called academic journals) contain articles written by, and addressed to, experts in a discipline. Scholarly journals present the research of experts in a field, although these journals also often carry opinion pieces or even advertisements unique to the field addressed by the journal. Publication cycles vary for scholarly journals, ranging from yearly to monthly but most frequently they are published bimonthly (every other month) or quarterly.
Peer-reviewed journals (also called refereed or juried journals) send submitted articles to one or more experts for review before deciding to publish them. This review process helps ensure that published articles reflect solid scholarship in a field. Most often, the experts reviewing an article make critical comments on the text, comments that the author must incorporate into the article before its publication.
While not all scholarly journals are peer-reviewed, it is usually safe to assume that a peer-reviewed journal is also scholarly.