Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How can I get help at the library?
Learn how you can get help with your research at the UCSB Library. Watch the video below and visit us at library.ucsb.edu/ask.
Research Help at UCSB Library from UCSB Library on Vimeo.
Body: Ready for a little boost with your research? Librarians are ready to help! Visit us in person, or online. Go to: library.ucsb.edu/ask. Get assistance by chat, email, or appointment. Whether you need help, finding sources, constructing citations, brainstorming keywords, forming a topic, or something else entirely, we're eager to help! Need help with your research? Contact us 24/7 at: library.ucsb.edu/ask
Sources of Government Data
Governmental bodies collect and distribute data related to a wide array of mandates. As you search for data sources, consider which levels of government (federal, state, local, international, governmental organizations) and which types of agencies (labor, health, education, transportation) may have a mandate to gather and/or disseminate relevant data.
If you're not sure where to start, try these resources:
- ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
- The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. This resource is a continuation of the Statistical Abstract of the United States, previously published by the U.S. Census Bureau.
- ProQuest Statistical Insight
- Search summaries of statistical publications from government agencies, then link to the full-text of selected publications on Statistical Insight and government websites. Statistical Insight combines American Statistics Index (U.S. Federal statistics), Statistical Reference Index (U.S. state governments and private organizations) and Index to International Statistics (international agencies).
- The U.S. government's portal to open data allows users to easily find some of the latest data from many federal agencies.
- FedStats is a search portal for statistical content currently available on federal websites.
- This Java-based tool can be used to extract and analyze data from a variety of federal, state, and local sources.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States, Main Library Reference HA 202 .P76
- State Stats
- Includes data for the 50 states and the District of Columbia from both governmental and non-governmental sources.
- RAND California
- This resource includes some state-produced data and statistics, and a few local data resources are also available.
- The Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis provides a substantial collection of economic and financial data.
- The data portal of the United Nations searches across a large number of IGO and NGO data resources.
- World Bank Open Data
- International economic indicators and data related to international development are freely available from the World Bank.
- OECD iLibrary
- The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development disseminates data and provides statistical reports focusing on OECD member countries but sometimes including other countries.
- This directory lists international statistical agencies and can help with tracking down detailed data from a specific country.
- A substantial number of government data sets are deposited in ICPSR.
Sources for U.S. Demographic Data
- The Minnesota Population Center at the University of Minnesota maintains a portal for selecting and downloading comparable microdata samples from Census data going as far back as 1850.
- NHGIS Data Finder
- The National Historical Geographic Information System, hosted by the Minnesota Population Center at the University of Minnesota, can be used to obtain extracts of Census data going as far back as 1790.
- Historical Census Browser
- The University of Virginia Library hosts an application that provides access to download historical Census data. Most of the data can also be expored by category.
Copyright © 2008-2019 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact Us • Policies