Skip to Main Content

ANTH 195A: Research Design in Anthropology (VanDerwarker, Spring 2024: Primary Sources (Archives, Special Collections, etc.)

Special Collections

UCSB Special Collections

The collection has five major areas: Rare Books, Manuscripts, and Named Collections; the California Ethnic and Multicultural Archive (CEMA); the Performing Arts Collections; the UCSB Oral History Program; and the University Archives.

Online Archive of California (OAC)

OAC provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by over 150 institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California as well as collections in the University of California libraries.

Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Culture, and the Environment

Contains primary materials related to the early encounters of peoples in North America, especially Native Americans. Materials included are letters, diaries, memoirs, and early accounts.

Research Centers and Institutes

Anthropology at the Smithsonian Institution

The Cullman Library holds the Smithsonian's collection of rare books in anthropology and the natural sciences. Its   world-class collection contains approximately 10,000 volumes published before 1840 in the fields of physical and cultural anthropology, ethnology, Native American linguistics, and archeology; botany; ornithology, mammalogy, herpetology, ichthyology, entomology, malacology, and other zoological fields; paleontology; and geology and mineralogy.

Part of the Smithsonian Institution this museum and research complex contain information on the array of programs exhibits and collections about the world.

Max Planck Institute of Physical Anthropology and Max Planck Institute for Social Anthropology

These two institutes are part of the German research institute, the Max Planck Society.

School for Advanced Research (at Santa Fe, New Mexico)

The School for Advanced Research, a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization, was established in Santa Fe, New Mexico in 1907 as a center for the study of the archaeology and ethnology of the American Southwest. Since 1967, the scope of the School's activities has embraced a global perspective through programs to encourage advanced scholarship in anthropology and related social science disciplines and the humanities, and to facilitate the work of Native American scholars and artists.

The Wenner-Gren Foundation

The Wenner-Gren Foundation for Anthropological Research, Inc. is a private operating Foundation that is dedicated to the advancement of anthropology throughout the world. Through programs of funding for research projects, conferences, symposia, fellowships, and publication, the Foundation aids basic research in all branches of anthropology and closely related disciplines concerned with human origins, development and variation.


 



Login to LibApps