It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Primary sources provide first-hand testimony or direct evidence concerning a topic under investigation. They are created by witnesses or recorders who experienced the events or conditions being documented. For more information about primary sources visit the Library of Congress' website, Getting Started with Primary Sources
Periodicals Archive Online (formerly known as Periodicals Contents Index Full Text) is an online archive of digitized, full-image journal articles published in the arts, humanities, social sciences, psychology and geography.This database includes over one million articles and millions of pages of text. The scope is international, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages.
Date Coverage: 1665 - 1995
Materials Indexed: Book Reviews; Journal Articles
Readers' Guide Retrospective, produced by The H. W. Wilson Company, is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. Note: For coverage of similar material from 1984 to the present, use Academic Search Complete
Date Coverage: 1890 - 1982
Materials Indexed: Book Reviews; Magazine Articles
The Chicago Defender is the oldest and most respected African-American newspaper in Chicago. The Chicago Defender was a weekly newspaper from 1909-1956, when it switched to daily coverage. The Chicago Defender was the most influential black weekly newspaper by the start of WWI, you can read more about the history of the newspaper here.
This database contains searchable and displayable full text coverage of the Chicago Defender.
Note: current files of the Chicago Defender (1989-present) are available separately under Chicago Defender (current: 1989 – current).
Date Coverage: Chicago Defender: 1910-1975; Daily Defender: 1956/1957
Materials Indexed: Newspaper Articles
The Ethnic NewsWatch database contains news, culture and history from 200 publications of the ethnic, minority and native press. Nearly 500,000 complete articles dating back to 1990 are available, along with archival material dating back to the mid 1980's. More than 7,500 new articles are added each month. Ethnic NewsWatch is searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages; more than 100,000 articles are in Spanish.
Materials Indexed: Newspaper Articles, Book Reviews
Calisphere is the University of California's free public gateway to a world of primary sources. More than 150,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts — reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history. Calisphere's content has been selected from the libraries and museums of the UC campuses, and from a variety of cultural heritage organizations across California.
Materials Indexed: Artworks; Newspaper Articles; Interviews; Oral History Interviews; Photographs
The Online Archive of California is a collaborative project to create a searchable online union database of finding aids to archival collections. This database includes the finding aids to repositories from 40 institutions statewide, including all nine UC campuses and is continuing to expand. A small but increasing number of the finding aids contain links to online digital versions of the source material. Finding aids are inventories, registers, indexes or guides to collections held by archives and manuscript repositories, libraries, and museums. Finding aids provide detailed descriptions of collections, their intellectual organization and, at varying levels of analysis, of individual items in the collections. Access to the finding aid is essential for understanding the true content of a collection and for determining whether it is likely to satisfy a scholar's research needs. For a detailed description on how to use primary source materials and their associated finding aids see: Library Research Using Primary Sources
: Listing of Adam Matthew digital archives databases available through UCSB Library. Look for these titles on the Article Indexes and Research Databases list to view more information about each of these primary source collections which are licensed by UCSB Library.
• African American Communities
• American Consumer Culture
• Archives Direct
• Defining Gender
• Empire Online
• Everyday Life and Women in America, 1800-1920
• Frontier Life
• Meiji Japan
• The Grand Tour
• Victorian Popular Culture
Music Online: American Music (formerly know as American Song) is a history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more. Includes content from the African American Music database.
“A collection of international documentary, newsreel and feature films reveals the world as seen by Soviet, Chinese, Vietnamese, East European, and Latin American filmmakers.”
Socialism on Film is a streaming video collection comprised of 20th century documentaries, newsreels, and feature films created in the communist world and later modified with English language enhancements for distribution to Western audiences.