A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Academic Search Complete includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. The database features some PDF content going back as far as 1867, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Date Coverage: 1984 to present
Materials Indexed: Book Chapters; Book Reviews; Books; Journal Articles; Magazine Articles; Newspaper Articles
America: History and Life is a bibliographic database containing citations to articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. The database covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide. In addition to covering all key English-language historical journals, America: History and Life coverage includes selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities.
Date Coverage: 1964 - present
Materials Indexed: Book Chapters; Book Reviews; Books; Journal Articles
Covers literature in education. Comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Full text of articles included cover to cover for selected titles, including 87 journals not covered by ERIC. Indexing of periodicals as far back as 1929, with abstracts beginning in 1994. Full text of articles from selected journals as far back as 1996.
Date Coverage: 1929 to present.
Materials Indexed: Books; Journal Articles
Film Index International is a major information resource for entertainment films and personalities produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute. With a scholarly, inclusive approach to all areas of film studies - from the very first silent movies, to art house classics or the latest blockbusters - Film Index International provides truly international coverage, indexing films from over 170 countries.
Date Coverage: 1900-present ## Materials Indexed: Biographical Information; Video
JSTOR allows searching of articles from its archival collection of journals in a wide range of subject areas by author and/or keywords taken from the titles, abstracts and/or full-text. Searches may be limited to a specific subject category of journals.
The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. The database contains citations from more than 4,400 periodicals and 1,000 book publishers. Coverage includes journal articles, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. While the majority of records are from English-language publications, at least sixty other languages are represented. Also available as a separate database is the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
Date Coverage: 1881 to present
Materials Indexed: Book Chapters; Books; Journal Articles; Magazine Articles; Plays; Poetry; Theses & Dissertations
The Music Index is a comprehensive guide to music periodicals and literature featuring digitized content from 1970 to present. Formerly The Music Index Online provided by Harmonie Park Press, this database contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 475 periodicals, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 230 periodicals. The comprehensive coverage of the music field and every aspect of the classical and popular worlds of music makes Music Index an invaluable resource for both novice and scholar. Music Index cites: • Book Reviews • Obituaries • News Periodicals • News and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry
Date Coverage: 1970 - present
Materials Indexed: Book Reviews; Journal Articles; Magazine Articles
Music Online: American Music (formerly know as American Song) is a history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more. Includes content from the African American Music database.
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index of philosophy books and articles. PhilPapers offers unique features such as real-time indexing of pre-prints, fine-grained classification by topic, email alerts, reading lists, advanced search functionality, and discussion forums.
Project MUSE is a searchable collection of hundreds of university press and other journals. Searching is available by author, year, journal title and keywords from titles, subjects or full-text. Older issues of many (but not all) of the journals are available in JSTOR. The Project MUSE advanced search allows you to search and link through to the corresponding JSTOR archives as well.
A searchable index of full text journals from SAGE. The searchable database consists of bibliographic records (indexed summaries or abstracts) as well as the complete text of each journal article. Every bibliographic record in the Collection links to the appropriate full-text in PDF format. Journals cover topics in area studies, ethnic and gender studies, humanities, health sciences, materials science and the social sciences.