Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A Collection of Reference Books
A collection of subject specific reference books - encyclopedias, handbooks, directories, dictionaries, etc. Use to locate background information - facts, definitions, overviews, brief biographies, etc. - related to various aspects of your topic. Off-campus login required.
Individual Subject Specific Reference Books
This is a select list of broad disciplinary reference books in the humanities. There are many others with more narrowly defined subjects. For instance reference books on Chrtistianty, jazz, fiction, film noir, aesthetics, etc. Search the catalog or ask a librarian for help. Off-campus login required for ebooks.
Dictionary of American History
Call Number: Main Reference E174.D52 2003 V. 1-10
Publication Date: 2002-12-11
Encyclopedia of Religion in America by
Call Number: Reference BL2520 .E52 2010 V.1-4
Publication Date: 2010-06-01
The Encyclopedia of Superheroes on Film and Television by
Call Number: Main Library PN1992.6 .C863 2006
Publication Date: 2004-02-13
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature by
Call Number: Reference PS21 .E537 2004 V.1-4
Publication Date: 2004-01-29
Copyright © 2008-2019 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact Us • Policies