AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) serves as the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library, as well as a primary public source for world-wide access to agricultural information. The database covers materials in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition.
Date Coverage: 1970 - present
Materials Indexed: Books; Government Documents; Journal Articles
Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of publications in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.
Date Coverage: late 19th century - present
Materials Indexed: Book Chapters; Journal Articles; Reports
The Biological Science Collection provides comprehensive coverage of biological science fields including animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, chemoreception, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, immunology genetics, health and safety science, oncogenes, entomology, and endocrinology neuroscience. The resource also includes access to MEDLINE®, and the ability to cross-search with over 30 subject-specialized abstract and citation databases.
Date Coverage: 1982 - present
Materials Indexed: Journal Articles
Birds of the World is a powerful resource that brings deep, scholarly content from four celebrated works of ornithology into a single platform where biologists and birders can find comprehensive life history information on birds. Every bird has a story. Discover them all with Birds of the World.
An electronic collection of agricultural texts published between the early nineteenth century and the late twentieth century. Full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science, forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science. Scholars have selected the titles in this collection for their historical importance. Their evaluations and 4,500 core titles are detailed in the 7-volume series "The Literature of the Agricultural Sciences," Wallace C. Olsen, series editor. The collection is still developing; as of 2010, 2,047 monographs have been made available.
Date Coverage: 1620 - 1999
Materials Indexed: Book Chapters; Books
Flora of North America (FNA) is a project undertaken by North American botanists to provide authoritative, up-to-date information on the names, relationships, characteristics, and distributions of the approximately 21,000 species of plants that grow outside of cultivation in North America north of Mexico. It is a work in progress, with new volumes published simultaneously on the Web and in print by Oxford University Press. The print version is available in the UCSB Library and includes some volumes not yet online..
Date Coverage: Current information
Materials Indexed: Books
JSTOR allows searching of articles from its archival collection of journals in a wide range of subject areas by author and/or keywords taken from the titles, abstracts and/or full-text. Searches may be limited to a specific subject category of journals.
The Global Plants database is a growing collection of nearly three million high-resolution type specimens and related materials from partner herbaria around the world. It also includes partner-contributed reference works and primary sources, such as collectors’ correspondence and diaries, illustrations, and photographs. Relevant journal articles from JSTOR, the Biodiversity Library, the Global Biodiversity Information Facility, and Tropicos are linked.
Oxford Bibliographies in Anthropology is an entirely new and unique type of reference tool that has been specially created to meet a great need among today’s students, scholars, and professionals. It offers more than other bibliography initiatives on- and offline by providing expert commentary to help students and scholars find, negotiate, and assess the large amount of information readily available to them. It facilitates research in a way that other guides cannot by providing direct links to online library catalogs and other online resources. Organizing the resource around discrete subject entries will allow for quick and easy navigation that users expect when working on screen.
Web of Science consists of nine databases: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Science Citation Index Expanded for journal aritcles; Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science and Conference Proceedings - Social Sciences and Humanities; Book Citation Index - Science and Book Citation Index - Social Sciences and Humanities; and Current Chemical Reactions and Index Chemicus. Web of Science covers thousands of research journals, and extensive collections of conference proceedings and books. across hundreds of disciplines. Both the science and social sciences journal article files offer searchable author abstracts. All three databases are updated weekly.
Date Coverage: Journal Articles: Arts and Humanities: 1975 to present; Sciences: 1945 to present; Social Sciences: 1900 to present.; Conference Proceedings: 1990-present; Books: 2005-present
Materials Indexed: Books; Conference Proceedings; Journal Articles
Alternate Titles: Science Citation Index
SAGE Research Methods provides full-text access to more than 1,000 social sciences-related books, reference works and journal articles published by SAGE. Included in SRM are two research methods series known as the Little Blue Books and the Little Green Books.
The Cases sub-collection provides access to more than 500 case studies. Cases are peer-reviewed and come with pedagogical tools including learning objectives and discussions questions.
The Datasets sub-collection is comprised of teaching datasets and instructional guides. These practice datasets are indexed by method and data type, and are designed for use in classroom exercises or in exam papers.
SRM also includes a series of original instructional videos created by SAGE to aid pedagogy in social science research.