ANTH 162, Fall 2022 (Prehistoric Food Production): Reference Sources (print and online)

An undertaking without parallel or precedent, this monumental volume encapsulates much of what is known of the history of food and nutrition. It constitutes a vast and essential chapter in the history of human health and culture. Ranging from the eating habits of our prehistoric ancestors to food-related policy issues we face today, this work covers the full spectrum of foods that have been hunted, gathered, cultivated, and domesticated; their nutritional make-up and uses; and their impact on cultures and demography. It offers a geographical perspective on the history and culture of food and drink and takes up subjects from food fads, prejudices, and taboos to questions of food toxins, additives, labelling, and entitlements. It culminates in a dictionary that identifies and sketches out brief histories of plant foods mentioned in the text - over 1,000 in all - and additionally supplies thousands of common names and synonyms for those foods.

The 7-volume Encyclopedia of Biodiversity, Second Edition maintains the reputation of the highly regarded original, presenting the most current information available in this globally crucial area of research and study. It brings together the dimensions of biodiversity and examines both the services it provides and the measures to protect it. Major themes of the work include the evolution of biodiversity, systems for classifying and defining biodiversity, ecological patterns and theories of biodiversity, and an assessment of contemporary patterns and trends in biodiversity. The science of biodiversity has become the science of our future.  It is an interdisciplinary field spanning areas of both physical and life sciences. Our awareness of the loss of biodiversity has brought a long overdue appreciation of the magnitude of this loss and a determination to develop the tools to protect our future. Second edition includes over 100 new articles and 226 updated articles covering this multidisciplinary field-- from evolution to habits to economics, in 7 volumes The editors of this edition are all well respected, instantly recognizable academics operating at the top of their respective fields in biodiversity research; readers can be assured that they are reading material that has been meticulously checked and reviewed by experts Approximately 1,800 figures and 350 tables complement the text, and more than 3,000 glossary entries explain key terms

The border between the United States of America and Mexico is the busiest in the world. This area is also the meeting place of the two great cultures of the Western Hemisphere, Spanish-speaking Latin America and English-speaking North America. Recent demographic migrations coupled with increasing globalization have necessitated closer cooperation and communication between these groups. The area of communication of this dictionary centers around the vernacular or common names of plants. Many recent immigrants from Mexico and further south have gained employment in areas of agriculture, landscaping, and commercial plant nurseries. The new residents also bring with them a rich history of herbal medicines that are becoming increasingly popular in the United States. Both groups share interests in each other's cuisines with respect to food plants and spices. This dictionary contains the Latin, English, and Spanish names for over 7,000 species of the most important plants found mainly in the southwestern United States and northern Mexico. Included are native and naturalized plants as well as plants of economic value. The main section of the book is organized alphabetically by the scientific Latin genus and species of each plant. The book is also fully indexed by common names primarily in American-English and Mexican-Spanish.

The dictionary contains about 30,000 vernacular and literary English names of plants (plus a few American), both wild and cultivated, with their botanical name and a brief account of the names' meaning if known. It was conceived as part of the author's wider interest in plant and tree lore, and ethnobotanical studies. Knowledge of plant names can give insight into largely forgotten beliefs. Why for example is, or was, the common red poppy known as "Blind Man"? An old superstition has it that if the poppy were put to the eyes it would cause blindness. Such names were probably the result of some taboo against picking the plant. Similarly, other names were likely to have been applied as a result of a country mother's warning to her children against eating poisonous berries. For the warning carries more weight when the name given to the berry reinforces the warning. Many such plants or fruits may be ascribed to the devil, Devil's Berries for Deadly Nightshade is an example. Names may also be purely descriptive, and can also serve to explain the meaning of the botanical name. Beauty-Berry is an example: it is the name given to the American shrub that belongs to the genus Callicarpa, which is made up of two Greek words that mean beauty and berry. Literary, or "book" names, have also been included in this dictionary, as being a very important part of the whole. Many of them provide links in the transmission of words through the ages. Thor's Beard, for example, is a book name for "houseleek", and has never been used in the dialect. But it highlights the legend that houseleek is a lightning plant, and by reverse logic is a preserver from fire.

Hardbound. Listed in this multilingual dictionary are the scientific names of wild and cultivated plants found in Europe. As the scientific names are most widely used internationally in the field of botany, these are given first with their vernacular names in English, French, Spanish, Italian, Dutch and German.The dictionary has been compiled with particular attention given to the wide and varied floras found in Italy and Great Britain, as these provide a solid representation of the flora of temperate and alpine zones. Additional names have been added when encountered, but rare plants have not been listed. A literal translation of the scientific name has been given in the cases where a name of a plant in a particular language - especially Spanish - did not seem to exist, or could not be found in the consulted sources. The user will find this dictionary of considerable value as an aid to translation work.

Gale proudly presents the first completely revised and updated version of this acclaimed set in 30 years. Some reviewers call Grzimeks Animal Life Encyclopedia the best reference work on animals ever published. Others call it the legacy left to us by famed zoologist and animal lover, Bernhard Grzimek. The accolades and praise go on for the newest addition to Gales line of reference titles. The original 13-vol. set, published in Germany in the late 1960s, is internationally renowned for its scientific reporting, coverage and illustrations, and serves as a major point of reference for researchers and students studying the animal kingdom. Thorough articles familiarize readers with animals found everywhere on the globe, detailing their life cycles, predators, food systems, overall ecology and much more. Staying true to the original scientific pedigree, Gale enlisted prominent advisors and contributors from the international scientific community to incorporate recent developments in the animal world. Our new editions of Grzimeks Animal Life Encyclopedia are sure to serve the needs of students at every academic level.

A Produce Reference Guide to Fruits and Vegetables from Around the World: Nature's Harvest answers the many questions consumers have about various fruits and vegetables. Providing basic, clear, and understandable information for each produce item, this reference guide gives you a synopsis of the fruit or vegetable, a short history of the item, the