Skip to Main Content

HIST 192 R (Research Seminar in Public History) Bergstrom: Archives, Special Collections, and Museums

Research Guide for Asian American Studies 168D (Asian American History from 1965-present)

Archival collections

CEMA is a division of the Davidson Library's Special Collection Department that collects and maintains primary research materials in support of research related to Ethnic Studies and minority communities.
 
Calisphere is a the University of California free public gateway to more than 150,000 digitized primary resource materials including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising and other unique cultural materials.   
 

Densho Archives

The Densho Digital Archvies contains more than 650 visual histories and over 1200 hours of recorded interviews related to Japanese American experience from early immigration experience in the 1900s to the Japanese Redress in the 1980s, with special emphais on the incarceration period during World War II. The collection also contains more than 11,000 historic photos, documents, and newspapers.  (A guest username and password is provided to use the collection)
 
This archival collection at UC Irvine contains primary source materials on a large number of immigrants and refugees from Cambodia, Laos, and Vietnam that settled in the Southern California. The strengths of the collection include materials relating to the resettlement of Southeast Asian refugees and immigrants in the United States, refugee camp and other experiences of the "boat people" and land refugees, and the development and progress of new ethnic communities.

 

Library of Congress

The oldest federal cultural institution and serves as the research arm of congress. The LOC is the largest library in the world with millions of books, recordings, maps, photographs, and manuscripts in its collections.

 

Guide to Archival collections (finding guides)

Login to LibApps