Careers for Environmental Types and Others Who Respect the Earth by Michael Fasulo; Jane KinneyThis title is part of the Careers for You series which offers a range of creative ideas that show people how to turn hobbies and interests into a viable and satisfying career. Each of the books in the series explores careers requiring various levels of training, offering a range of compensation, and an array of working conditions. Resources for further career exploration in each specific field are included throughout the text and first hand accounts from people working in the field will should give readers an idea of what to expect on-the-job.
Call Number: GE60 .F365 2002 (Print and Electronic Resource)
Publication Date: 2001-10-02
Careers for Nature Lovers and Other Outdoor Types by Louise MillerGrow your bank account naturally!Would you prefer a forest outpost to an office cube? Do you have an easy rapport with animals? Are Grizzly Adams and Mother Nature among your idols? If you answered yes to any of these questions, your career choice has already been made. Now you need to choose an occupation.Careers for Nature Lovers & Other Outdoor Typesprovides all the information you need to launch a career as a:Pump-station engineer * Bioscientist * Animal rehabilitator * Botanist * Plant ecologist * Agricultural scientist * Cartographer * Geologist * ArboristInside you'll find practical advice on deciding which calling is for you, along with firsthand accounts of everyday routines, information on working conditions of selected jobs, and a list of resources to help you get your foot in the door. LetCareers for Nature Lovers & Other Outdoor Typesput you on the path to a dynamic and rewarding career.
Careers in Focus: Environment by J. G. Ferguson Publishing Company StaffAimed at high school, college and general readers, the books in this series provide up-to-date career information. Written in an accessible style, the comprehensive series surveys a wide array of commonly held jobs and is arranged into volumes organized by specific industries and interests.
The ECO Guide to Careers That Make a DifferenceHow can you make a real difference in the world and make a good living at the same time? The ECO Guide to Careers That Make a Difference: Environmental Work for a Sustainable World provides the answer. Developed by The Environmental Careers Organization (ECO, the creators of the popular Complete Guide to Environmental Careers), this new volume is unlike any careers book you've seen before. Reaching far beyond job titles and resume tips, The ECO Guide immerses you in the strategies and tactics that leading edge professionals are using to tackle pressing problems and create innovative solutions. To bring you definitive information from the real world of environmental problem-solving, The ECO Guide has engaged some of the nation's most respected experts to explain the issues and describe what's being done about them today. You'll explore: Global climate change with Eileen Claussen, Pew Center for Global Climate Change; Biodiversity loss with Stuart Pimm, Nicholas School for the Environment at Duke University; Green Business with Stuart Hart, Kenan-Flager Business School at University of North Carolina; Ecotourism with Martha Honey, The International Ecotourism Society; Environmental Justice with Robert Bullard, Environmental Justice Center at Clark Atlanta University; Alternative Energy with Seth Dunn, Worldwatch Institute; Water Quality with Sandra Postel, Global Water Policy Project; Green Architecture with William McDonough, McDonough + Partners; and twelve other critical issues. To demonstrate even more clearly what eco-work feels like on the ground, The ECO Guide offers vivid "Career Snapshots" of selected employers and the professionals that work there. You'll visit government agencies like the USDA Forest Service, nonprofit organizations like Conservation International and Project Wild, and local advocates like Alternatives for Community and Environment. You'll go inside environmental businesses like Wildland Adventures and Stonyfield Farms. And you'll learn from academic institutions like the National Center for Atmospheric Research and the Gund Institute for Ecological Economics. ECO also identifies and describes forty specific jobs that are representative of environmental career opportunities in the twenty-first century. It provides dozens of the best Internet resources. And most importantly, The ECO Guide offers all of the insight about current trends you expect from ECO, the acknowledged leaders in environmental career information.
Environmental Careers, Environmental Employment and Environmental Training: International Approaches and Contexts by Walter Leal FilhoThis book presents an overview of experiences, projects and approaches related to employment in the environment sector and of trends related to sustainability. It also contains an article on career prospects for women in the field of engineering, of which environmental engineering is an important component. This publication, prepared as part of the project «Careers in Engineering» funded by the EU's LEONARDO Programme, documents a variety of experiences on environmental training useful to those involved with curriculum development, curriculum planning and other aspects of environmental education.
Call Number: TD170 .E573 2001 (Print Resource)
Publication Date: 2001-10-19
Environmental Jobs for Scientists and Engineers by Nicholas BastaExamines careers available to scientists and engineers in this booming job market. Includes specific environmental science professions and related areas such as chemical engineering; chemical manufacturing; air, water, solid pollution control and disposal. Complete lists of professional organizations and employers are provided along with profiles of working chemical engineers.
Good Green Jobs in a Global Economy: Making and Keeping New Industries in the United States by David J. HessGood Green Jobs in a Global Economy is the first book to explore the broad implications of the convergence of industrial and environnmental policy in the United States. Under the banner of green jobs, clean energy industries and labor, environmental, and antipoverty organizations have forged blue-green alliances and achieved some policy victories, most notably at the state and local levels. In this book, David Hess explores the politics of green energy and green jobs, linking the prospect of a green transition to tectonic shifts in the global economy. He argues that the relative decline in U.S. economic power sets the stage for an ideological shift, away from neoliberalism and toward developmentalism, an ideology characterized by a more defensive posture with respect to trade and a more active industrial policy.
Call Number: GE60 .H47 2012 (Print and Electronic Resource)
Publication Date: 2012-09-21
Great Jobs for Environmental Studies Majors by Julie DeGalan; Bryon MiddlekauffThese books answer the perennial question, What can I do with a degree in...? These are handy guides for those who are wondering how to translate their major into a career. This book is designed to help college students put their majors to work. It offers suggestions and profiles of career paths and general information about conducting an effective job search in the field specific to their major.
Handbook of Career Development by Gideon Arulmani; Anuradha J. Bakshi; Frederick T. L. Leong; A. G. WattsThis book is focused on work, occupation and career development: themes that are fundamental to a wide range of human activities and relevant across all cultures. Yet theorizing and model building about this most ubiquitous of human activities from international perspectives have not been vigorous. An examination of the literature pertaining to career development, counseling and guidance that has developed over the last fifty years reveals theorizing and model building have been largely dominated by Western epistemologies, some of the largest workforces in the world are in the developing world. Career guidance is rapidly emerging as a strongly felt need in these contexts. If more relevant models are to be developed, frameworks from other cultures and economies must be recognized as providing constructs that would offer a deeper understanding of career development. This does not mean that existing ideas are to be discarded. Instead, an integrative approach that blends universal principles with particular needs could offer a framework for theorizing, research and practice that has wider relevance. The central objective of this handbook is to draw the wisdom and experiences of different cultures together to consider both universal and specific principles for career guidance and counseling that are socially and economically relevant to contemporary challenges and issues. This book is focused on extending existing concepts to broader contexts as well as introducing new concepts relevant to the discipline of career guidance and counseling.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)
Publication Date: 2014-02-08
The New Complete Guide to Environmental Careers by Bill SharpFor students, recent college graduates, volunteers, career counselors, and anyone interested in working to protect the environment in the '90s, this is the most complete and reliable source of information available today. Since the initial publication of The Complete Guide to Environmental Careers, the need for practical information on environmental career opportunities has grown tremendously. The New Complete Guide to Environmental Careers is an entirely revised and updated edition that provides readers with an invaluable overview of the entire spectrum of environmental career fields. While retaining the personal narratives and breadth of information that made The Complete Guide so valuable, The New Complete Guide features a new, easy-to-read format and includes more statistical data, more information about educational paths to specific careers, new and expanded case studies, and in-depth analyses of environmental fields. Also included is general job-hunting information covering topics such as education, internships, volunteer programs, and career strategies.
Call Number: GE60 .C66 1993 (Print Resource)
Publication Date: 1993-01-01
Opportunities in Environmental Careers by Odom FanningOpportunities in Environmental Careers offers you essential information about a variety of careers within the environment field and includes training and education requirements, salary statistics, and professional and Internet resources.
Call Number: GE60 .F36 2002 (Print and Electronic Resource)
Saving the Earth as a Career: Advice on Becoming a Conservation Professional by Malcolm L. Hunter; David B. Lindenmayer; Aram J. K. CalhounWritten in an informal and engaging style, Saving the Earth as a Career is an ideal resource for students and professionals pursuing a career in conservation. Written in an informal and engaging style this book introduces all the important steps to becoming a conservation professional, from making the right career choice to finding a position in the field Provides helpful advice to students about selecting a course, conducting research projects, writing papers, and attending conferences Looks at a number of professions, from environmental lawyer and civil engineer, to ecologist and environmental scientist "Saving the Earth as a Career is a valuable reference and the authors have taken a momentous step forward in guiding future generations to protect the planet's natural assets," Conservation Biology, (Vol 23, No. 3, 2009)