The Ark and Beyond: The Evolution of Zoo and Aquarium Conservation by Rabb, George B.Scores of wild species and ecosystems around the world face a variety of human-caused threats, from habitat destruction and fragmentation to rapid climate change. But there is hope, and it, too, comes in a most human form: zoos and aquariums. Gathering a diverse, multi-institutional collection of leading zoo and aquarium scientists as well as historians, philosophers, biologists, and social scientists, 'The Ark and Beyond' traces the history and underscores the present role of these organizations as essential conservation actors
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)
Publication Date: 2018
Assessing Risks to Endangered and Threatened Species from Pesticides by National Research Council; Division on Earth and Life Studies; Board on Environmental Studies and Toxicology; Committee on Ecological Risk Assessment Under FIFRA and ESAThe US Fish and Wildlife Service (FWS) and the National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS) are responsible for protecting species that are listed as endangered or threatened under the Endangered Species Act (ESA) and for protecting habitats that are critical for their survival. The US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) is responsible for registering or reregistering pesticides under the Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and Rodenticide Act (FIFRA) and must ensure that pesticide use does not cause any unreasonable adverse effects on the environment, which is interpreted to include listed species and their critical habitats. The agencies have developed their own approaches to evaluating environmental risk, and their approaches differ because their legal mandates, responsibilities, institutional cultures, and expertise differ. Over the years, the agencies have tried to resolve their differences but have been unsuccessful in reaching a consensus regarding their assessment approaches. As a result, FWS, NMFS, EPA, and the US Department of Agriculture asked the National Research Council (NRC) to examine scientific and technical issues related to determining risks posed to listed species by pesticides. Specifically, the NRC was asked to evaluate methods for identifying the best scientific data available; to evaluate approaches for developing modeling assumptions; to identify authoritative geospatial information that might be used in risk assessments; to review approaches for characterizing sublethal, indirect, and cumulative effects; to assess the scientific information available for estimating effects of mixtures and inert ingredients; and to consider the use of uncertainty factors to account for gaps in data. Assessing Risks to Endangered and Threatened Species from Pesticides, which was prepared by the NRC Committee on Ecological Risk Assessment under FIFRA and ESA, is the response to that request.
Call Number: QH545.P4 A8 2013 (Print and Electronic Resource)
Publication Date: 2013-06-20
The Atlas of Endangered Species by Richard MackayWith twenty percent of the earth's species facing extinction by 2030, this striking atlas brings up to date the data on those that have been lost already, those that are threatened, and those that are surviving today. Vividly illustrated with full-color maps and detailed graphics, The Atlas of Endangered Species catalogs the inhabitants of a wide variety of ecosystems, including forests, mangroves, and coral reefs. It examines the major threats to biodiversity, from loss of habitat to hunting, and describes the steps being taken toward conservation. Copub: Myriad Editions
Call Number: QH75 .M285 2008 (Print Resource)
Publication Date: 2008-11-15
Beacham's Guide to Endangered Species of North America by Thomson Gale Staff; Walton Beacham; Frank V. Castronova; Suzanne SessineThis comprehensive resource, updating The Official World Wildlife Fund Guide to Endangered Species of North America, presents extensive data on the habitats and ecosystems of the more than 1,100 species identified as endangered or threatened by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. Arranged geographically, entries in Beacham's Guide to Endangered Species of North America begin with introductory information including an image of the species and a summary section. Each entry then provides detailed information on each species, including: -- Description -- general descriptive facts about the species, including characteristic size, color, weight, etc.-- Behavior -- discusses typical behavior patterns including reproduction and diet-- Habitat -- explains the species' favored and/or primary habitat-- Distribution -- surveys the areas the species is known to populate, both current and historical-- Threats -- describes existing threats to the continuation of the speciesEach entry concludes with a summary of recovery efforts and a bibliography of contacts for further information. Volume 7 includes comprehensive indexes list
Call Number: QH77.N56 B43 2001 (Print and Electronic Resource)
Publication Date: 2000-11-01
Conservation of Endangered Species in Captivity by Edward F. Gibbons; Barbara S. Durrant; Jack DemarestThis multi-disciplinary approach to conservation of endangered species in captivity is organized taxonomically and by scientific discipline. The seven taxonomic groups included are invertebrates; fish, reptiles and amphibians, birds, marine mammals, primates, and other mammals. Within each taxonomic group, four scientific disciplines are explored: conservation, reproductive physiology, behavior, and captive design. Conservation chapters summarize the status of the taxonomic group both in the wild and in captivity. Reviewed in the reproductive physiology chapters are anatomy, endocrinology and physiology for females and males of the taxonomic group. In the section on behavior the functions of captive animal research, the methods used, and the problems encountered are discussed. And, in examining captive design the authors provide a general historical outline of the philosophies, trends, and scientific issues for the targeted taxonomic group.
Call Number: QL82 .C665 1995 (Print Resource)
Publication Date: 1995-09-14
The Diversity of Life by Edward O. WilsonTraces the processes that produce new species, explains the importance of biodiversity, and recommends steps to help preserve diversity and improve the general quality of life.
Endangered Species: A Reference Handbook by Clifford J. SherryAn extensive list of print and nonprint resources is provided to facilitate further research. With the world's attention now focused on this vital issue, this volume will prove indispensable to school, public, and academic libraries. Includes biographical sketches of individuals and organizations committed to saving endangered species Provides an extensive list of print and nonprint resources to facilitate further research
Heatstroke: Nature in an Age of Global Warming by Anthony D. BarnoskyIn 2006, one of the hottest years on record, a "pizzly" was discovered near the top of the world. Half polar bear, half grizzly, this never-before-seen animal might be dismissed as a fluke of nature. Anthony Barnosky instead sees it as a harbinger of things to come. In Heatstroke, the renowned paleoecologist shows how global warming is fundamentally changing the natural world and its creatures. While melting ice may have helped produce the pizzly, climate change is more likely to wipe out species than to create them. Plants and animals that have followed the same rhythms for millennia are suddenly being confronted with a world they're unprepared for--and adaptation usually isn't an option. This is not the first time climate change has dramatically transformed Earth. Barnosky draws connections between the coming centuries and the end of the last ice age, when mass extinctions swept the planet. The differences now are that climate change is faster and hotter than past changes, and for the first time humanity is driving it. Which means this time we can work to stop it. No one knows exactly what nature will come to look like in this new age of global warming. But Heatstroke gives us a haunting portrait of what we stand to lose and the vitality of what can be saved.
Call Number: GF75 .B368 2009 (Print Resource)
Publication Date: 2009-03-13
The Importance of Species by Peter Kareiva; Simon A. LevinA great many species are threatened by the expanding human population. Though the public generally favors environmental protection, conservation does not come without sacrifice and cost. Many decision makers wonder if every species is worth the trouble. Of what consequence would the extinction of, say, spotted owls or snail darters be? Are some species expendable? Given the reality of limited money for conservation efforts, there is a compelling need for scientists to help conservation practitioners set priorities and identify species most in need of urgent attention. Ecology should be capable of providing guidance that goes beyond the obvious impulse to protect economically valuable species (salmon) or aesthetically appealing ones (snow leopards). Although some recent books have considered the ecosystem services provided by biodiversity as an aggregate property, this is the first to focus on the value of particular species. It provides the scientific approaches and analyses available for asking what we can expect from losing (or gaining) species. The contributors are outstanding ecologists, theoreticians, and evolutionary biologists who gathered for a symposium honoring Robert T. Paine, the community ecologist who experimentally demonstrated that a single predator species can act as a keystone species whose removal dramatically alters entire ecosystem communities. They build on Paine's work here by exploring whether we can identify species that play key roles in ecosystems before they are lost forever. These are some of our finest ecologists asking some of our hardest questions. They are, in addition to the editors, S.E.B. Abella, G. C. Chang, D. Doak, A. L. Downing, W. T. Edmondson, A. S. Flecker, M. J. Ford, C.D.G. Harley, E. G. Leigh Jr., S. Lubetkin, S. M. Louda, M. Marvier, P. McElhany, B. A. Menge, W. F. Morris, S. Naeem, S. R. Palumbi, A. G. Power, T. A. Rand, R. B. Root, M. Ruckelshaus, J. Ruesink, D. E. Schindler, T. W. Schoener, D. Simberloff, D. A. Spiller, M. J. Wonham, and J. T. Wootton.
Call Number: QH75 .I4 2003 (Print Resource)
Publication Date: 2003-01-05
A Less Green and Pleasant Land by Norman MacleanDisentangling the facts from the hype, this 'Domesday book' of the British and Irish countryside offers a definitive and up-to-date survey of the state of our wildlife today. Norman Maclean, editor of the bestselling Silent Summer, examines the latest findings of Britain and Ireland's top wildlife experts and interprets them for a wider audience. Each chapter provides reliable estimates of animal populations, showing which species are thriving and which are in decline. The book also considers the effects of climate change on our wildlife and how human population growth is influencing its development. Beautifully illustrated with colour plates and wood engravings throughout, this accessible and timely study reveals just how rapidly our countryside and its wildlife are changing, why we should be concerned, and what we can do about it.
Mass Extinction by Ashraf M. T. ElewaThe present book combines three main aspects: five major mass extinctions; contributions on some other minor extinctions; and more importantly contributions on the current mass extinction. All three aspects are introduced through interesting studies of mass extinctions in diverse organisms ranging from small invertebrates to mammals and take account of the most accepted subjects discussing mass extinctions in insects, mammals, fishes, ostracods and molluscs.
Call Number: QE721.2.E97 M37 2008 (Print and Electronic Resource)
Publication Date: 2008-01-03
Saving a Place: Endangered Species in the 21st Century by John Baden; Pete GeddesIt has become clear that the noble goals embodied in the Endangered Species Act are colliding with financial and social realities. Citizens increasingly face the cost of policies (for example gnat catchers in Southern California and grizzly bears in Idaho and Montana). In general, policies which fail to respect liberty and property meet serious resistence. While there is widespread verbal support for saving species at any cost, when trade-offs become obvious, the values compete, support for these policies evaporates.
Call Number: QH76 .S278 2000 (Print Resource)
Publication Date: 2000-06-01
Saving Endangered Species: Lessons in Wildlife Conservation by Robert W. ShumakerThe amazing true stories of the greatest wildlife champions of our time. Wildlife conservation is at a critical juncture. While large, charismatic mammals may be the first animals that come to mind--the mere 3,000 wild tigers still in existence, the giraffes declared endangered for the first time just last year--it is not only these magnificent keystone species disappearing. A full third of all studied birds, reptiles, and mammals have suffered devastating population losses, and a third of all insects are now endangered, including crucial pollinators that sustain worldwide food supply. Over 15,000 animal species are now considered to be threatened with extinction. There are, however, bright spots that provide optimism--many of them due to the efforts of a small group of scientists and activists. In Saving Endangered Species, Robert W. Shumaker brings together ten conservation heroes, seven of them winners of the Indianapolis Prize, three of them recipients of the Jane Alexander Global Wildlife Ambassador Award. With moving immediacy, each wildlife defender offers their unique perspective on the state of wildlife conservation and the future of the natural world. Bringing to life their work in the field, each contributor also explains key concepts in wildlife conservation, reveals why they are important, and discusses what kinds of work can be done to address biodiversity loss. Contributors sharing their stories in their own words include * George Schaller, one of the founding fathers of wildlife conservation, who conducted the field work that resulted in the establishment of the world's largest wildlife preserve, the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge * Iain Douglas-Hamilton, who is widely credited with developing the metrics and methods that stemmed the tide of elephant poaching for ivory in Africa * Steven Amstrup, who discovered the disturbing truth that the sea ice polar bears rely on for traveling, hunting, and raising their young was disappearing * Russell Mittermeier, who has discovered over 20 new animal species, conducted field work in more than 30 countries around the globe, and authored 15 books on biodiversity * Harrison Ford, Academy Award-winning actor, who has been a passionate wildlife advocate and board member of Conservation International for over 25 years * Sigourney Weaver, three-time Academy Award nominee, whose work with the Dian Fossey Gorilla Fund has helped save thousands of gorillas in Rwanda and Congo This unique book aims to win new recruits, inspire biologists and conservationists already in the field, and illustrate the profession's fundamental scientific tenets through wildlife champions' own exciting narratives. Covering issues from reproduction and prey-predator relationships to population dynamics and community engagement, Saving Endangered Species also addresses such thorny topics as overhunting, retaliatory killing by farmers, development-driven habitat loss, and the illegal wildlife trade. By encompassing a broad spectrum of subjects, this volume ultimately gives readers a first-person look into what it takes to dedicate oneself to the crucial field of wildlife conservation. Contributors: Jane Alexander, Steven C. Amstrup, George Archibald, Michael I. Crowther, Iain Douglas-Hamilton, Harrison Ford, Carl Jones, Russell Mittermeier, George B. Schaller, Robert W. Shumaker, Sigourney Weaver, Patricia Chapple Wright
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)
Publication Date: 2020-10-27
The Science of Conservation Planning by Reed F. Noss; Michael O'Connell; Dennis D. MurphyBroad-scale conservation of habitats is increasingly being recognized as a more effective means of protecting species and landscapes than single-species preservation efforts. While interest in the approach has grown tremendously in recent years, it remains controversial and the science behind it has yet to be fully developed.In The Science of Conservation Planning, three of the nation's leading conservation biologists explore the role of the scientist in the planning process and present a framework and guidelines for applying science to regional habitat-based conservation planning. Chapters consider: history and background of conservation planning efforts criticisms of science in conservation planning principles of conservation biology that apply to conservation planning detailed examination of conservation plans specific recommendations for all parties involved.The recommendations, interpretations, and questions provided are thoroughly based in the science of conservation biology, and the framework presented is adaptable to allow for revision and improvement as knowledge is gained and theories refined. The Science of Conservation Planning will serve as a model for the application of conservation biology to real-life problems, and can lead to the development of scientifically and politically sound plans that are likely to achieve their conservation goals, even in cases where biological and ecological information is limited.The book is essential for scientists at all levels, including agency biologists, academic scientists, environmental consultants, and scientists employed by industry and conservation groups. It is also a valuable resource for elected officials and their staffs, environmentalists, developers, students, and citizen activists involved with the complex and contentious arena of conservation planning.
Call Number: QH76 .N676 1997 (Print Resource)
Publication Date: 1997-10-01
Sold into Extinction: The Global Trade in Endangered Species by Jacqueline L. SchneiderThis revealing and compelling title analyzes the illegal trade in endangered species from a criminological viewpoint and presents specific crime reduction techniques that could help save thousands of species from extinction. The illegal trade in endangered species is a worldwide problem that involves not only animals but also plants, and it contributes to troubling factors such as organized crime as well as the further decline of the earth's natural climate. This book explores the extensive endangered species illegal market, spotlighting the worldwide nature and extent of the problem, and presents revealing case studies of terrestrial, marine, plant, and avian species. Sold into Extinction: The Global Trade in Endangered Species focuses attention on the plight of endangered wild flora and fauna as well as the specific illegal acts committed against them that have long and largely been ignored by criminology. The author provides a fresh look at the topic by presenting it within a crime reduction framework, an approach rarely taken by those with traditional criminological or conservation backgrounds, demonstrating how an innovative strategy to reduce illegal market activities can simultaneously further the conservation of these endangered species. International treaties, national and domestic laws, and international policing efforts pertaining to crimes involving endangered species are also examined. Illustrations, maps, and charts elucidate crime theory, import/export data on seizures of endangered species and products, and range states Photographs depict the grim reality of the global trade in endangered species An extensive bibliography contains over 30 pages of source materials
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)
Publication Date: 2012-03-23
State of the Wild 2010-2011 by Eva FearnState of the Wild is a biennial series that brings together international conservation experts and writers to discuss emerging issues in the conservation of wildlife and wild places. In addition to evocative writings and a fascinating tour of conservation news highlights and vital statistics from around the world, this 2010-2011 edition examines how destabilization and war affect wildlife and wild places. State of the Wild's accessible approach educates a wide range of audiences while at the same time presenting leading-edge scientific overviews of hot topics in conservation. Uniquely structured with magazine-like features up front, conservation news in the middle, and essays from eminent authors and experienced scientists throughout, this landmark series is an essential addition to any environmental bookshelf.
Call Number: QL82 .S73 2010 (Print Resource)
Publication Date: 2010-02-02
Watching, from the Edge of Extinction by Beverly P. Stearns; Stephen C. StearnsTo those struggling on the frontlines to save endangered plants & animals, the crucial challenge is to confront the biological causes of those species' decline. But just as threatening to their survival are obstacles erected by human politics, greed, corruption, folly, & hypocrisy. In this mesmerizing book, Beverly & Stephen Stearns tell the stories of people who have worked directly with disappearing species in Europe, Africa, North America, & Oceania. They are stories of passion & commitment, of competence & selflessness. They are also stories that alarm, for even as unheralded heroes are working to reverse what often seems to be a species' inevitable march toward extinction, incompetent or self-interested parties are often working against them. The authors interviewed people who work with endangered species as diverse as Mediterranean monk seals, large blue butterflies, African wild dogs, native Hawaiian crows, Texas salamanders, & rare plants on Mauritius. These dedicated individuals, in discussing how they view their work, the problems they encounter, & their thoughts on the broader significance of extinction, reveal that the causes of extinction are unique to each species - sometimes subtle & complex, at other times obvious & simple. Yet an extinction always represents an irretrievable loss of evolutionary potential & a diminishing of the beauty, diversity, & value in our own lives. The dramatic lessons of this book shed new light on the problems of endangered species & offer hope that we may yet change the fate of those species that totter on the edge of extinction.
Call Number: QH78 .S734 1999 (Print Resource)
Publication Date: 1999-03-11
Wild Life: The Institution of Nature by Irus BravermanWild Life documents a nuanced understanding of the wild versus captive divide in species conservation. It also documents the emerging understanding that all forms of wild nature--both in situ (on-site) and ex situ (in captivity)--may need to be managed in perpetuity. Providing a unique window into the high-stakes world of nature conservation, Irus Braverman describes the heroic efforts by conservationists to save wild life. Yet in the shadows of such dedication and persistence in saving the life of species, Wild Life also finds sacrifice and death. Such life and death stories outline the modern struggle to define what conservation should look like at a time when the long-established definitions of nature have collapsed. Wild Life begins with the plight of a tiny endangered snail, and ends with the rehabilitation of an entire island. Interwoven between its pages are stories about golden lion tamarins in Brazil, black-footed ferrets in the American Plains, Sumatran rhinos in Indonesia, Tasmanian devils in Australia, and many more creatures both human and nonhuman. Braverman draws on interviews with more than one hundred and twenty conservation biologists, zoologists, zoo professionals, government officials, and wildlife managers to explore the various perspectives on in situ and ex situ conservation and the blurring of the lines between them.