Handbooks & Guides, Including Research Methods
You will find books with Reference in front of the call number on the 2nd floor, across from the Ocean Elevators. Online resources are available on campus or off-campus for current students, staff, and faculty. Check the library location guide for book locations.
3D Imaging of the Environment: Mapping and Monitoring
This book gives readers detailed explanations of the techniques used to map and monitor the built and natural environment and how that data, collected from a wide range of scales and cost options, is translated into an image or visual experience. It is written with technical, professional, and academic readers in mind.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2023
Actionable Science of Global Environmental Change: From Big Data to Practical Research by Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2023
Advances in Business Statistics, Methods and Data Collection by
ADVANCES IN BUSINESS STATISTICS, METHODS AND DATA COLLECTION Advances in Business Statistics, Methods and Data Collection delivers insights into the latest state of play in producing establishment statistics, obtained from businesses, farms and institutions. Presenting materials and reflecting discussions from the 6th International Conference on Establishment Statistics (ICES-VI), this edited volume provides a broad overview of methodology underlying current establishment statistics from every aspect of the production life cycle while spotlighting innovative and impactful advancements in the development, conduct, and evaluation of modern establishment statistics programs. Highlights include: Practical discussions on agile, timely, and accurate measurement of rapidly evolving economic phenomena such as globalization, new computer technologies, and the informal sector. Comprehensive explorations of administrative and new data sources and technologies, covering big (organic) data sources and methods for data integration, linking, machine learning and visualization. Detailed compilations of statistical programs' responses to wide-ranging data collection and production challenges, among others caused by the Covid-19 pandemic. In-depth examinations of business survey questionnaire design, computerization, pretesting methods, experimentation, and paradata. Methodical presentations of conventional and emerging procedures in survey statistics techniques for establishment statistics, encompassing probability sampling designs and sample coordination, non-probability sampling, missing data treatments, small area estimation and Bayesian methods. Providing a broad overview of most up-to-date science, this book challenges the status quo and prepares researchers for current and future challenges in establishment statistics and methods. Perfect for survey researchers, government statisticians, National Bank employees, economists, and undergraduate and graduate students in survey research and economics, Advances in Business Statistics, Methods and Data Collection will also earn a place in the toolkit of researchers working -with data- in industries across a variety of fields.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2022
Adventures in Social Research: Data Analysis using IBM SPSS Statistcs by
Adventures in Social Research: Data Analysis Using IBM SPSS Statisticsprovides a practical, hands-on introduction to data conceptualization, measurement, and association through active learning. Students get step-by-step instruction on data analysis using the latest version of SPSS and the most current General Social Survey data. The authors start with an introduction to computerized data analysis and the social research process, then walk users through univariate, bivariate, and multivariate analysis using SPSS. The book contains applications from across the social sciences--sociology, political science, social work, criminal justice, health--so it can be used in courses offered in any of these departments.
Call Number: HA32 .B286 2023 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2022
Basic GIS Coordinates by
Coordinates are integral building tools for GIS, cartography, surveying and are vital to the many applications we use today such as smart phones, car navigation systems and driverless cars. Basic GIS Coordinates, Third Edition grants readers with a solid understanding of coordinates and coordinate systems and how they operate as well as valuable insight into what causes them to malfunction. This practical and comprehensive guide lays out the foundation of a coordinate system and the implications behind building it as it elaborates on heights, two coordinate systems, and the rectangular system.The previous editions described horizontal and vertical datums such as the North American Datum 1983 (NAD 83) and the North American Vertical Datum 1988 (NAVD 88). Both will be replaced in 2022 or thereabouts. The National Geodetic Survey (NGS) plans to replace NAD83 with a new semi-dynamic terrestrial reference frame for North America and a new vertical datum will replace NAVD88. The foundation of the new vertical datum will be a temporally tracked gravimetric geoid. The interim period is intended to smooth the transition to the new paradigm and this new edition explores the changes and provides assistance in understanding them.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2017
Comprehensive Remote Sensing by
Comprehensive Remote Sensing covers all aspects of the topic, with each volume edited by well-known scientists and contributed to by frontier researchers. It is a comprehensive resource that will benefit both students and researchers who want to further their understanding in this discipline. The field of remote sensing has quadrupled in size in the past two decades, and increasingly draws in individuals working in a diverse set of disciplines ranging from geographers, oceanographers, and meteorologists, to physicists and computer scientists. Researchers from a variety of backgrounds are now accessing remote sensing data, creating an urgent need for a one-stop reference work that can comprehensively document the development of remote sensing, from the basic principles, modeling and practical algorithms, to various applications. Fully comprehensive coverage of this rapidly growing discipline, giving readers a detailed overview of all aspects of Remote Sensing principles and applications Contains 'Layered content', with each article beginning with the basics and then moving on to more complex concepts Ideal for advanced undergraduates and academic researchers Includes case studies that illustrate the practical application of remote sensing principles, further enhancing understanding
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2017
Data Mining Approaches for Big Data and Sentiment Analysis in Social Media by
Social media sites are constantly evolving with huge amounts of scattered data or big data, which makes it difficult for researchers to trace the information flow. It is a daunting task to extract a useful piece of information from the vast unstructured big data; the disorganized structure of social media contains data in various forms such as text and videos as well as huge real-time data on which traditional analytical methods like statistical approaches fail miserably. Due to this, there is a need for efficient data mining techniques that can overcome the shortcomings of the traditional approaches. Data Mining Approaches for Big Data and Sentiment Analysis in Social Media encourages researchers to explore the key concepts of data mining, such as how they can be utilized on online social media platforms, and provides advances on data mining for big data and sentiment analysis in online social media, as well as future research directions. Covering a range of concepts from machine learning methods to data mining for big data analytics, this book is ideal for graduate students, academicians, faculty members, scientists, researchers, data analysts, social media analysts, managers, and software developers who are seeking to learn and carry out research in the area of data mining for big data and sentiment.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2021
Data Science Handbook: A Practical Approach by
DATA SCIENCE HANDBOOK This desk reference handbook gives a hands-on experience on various algorithms and popular techniques used in real-time in data science to all researchers working in various domains. Data Science is one of the leading research-driven areas in the modern era. It is having a critical role in healthcare, engineering, education, mechatronics, and medical robotics. Building models and working with data is not value-neutral. We choose the problems with which we work, make assumptions in these models, and decide on metrics and algorithms for the problems. The data scientist identifies the problem which can be solved with data and expert tools of modeling and coding. The book starts with introductory concepts in data science like data munging, data preparation, and transforming data. Chapter 2 discusses data visualization, drawing various plots and histograms. Chapter 3 covers mathematics and statistics for data science. Chapter 4 mainly focuses on machine learning algorithms in data science. Chapter 5 comprises of outlier analysis and DBSCAN algorithm. Chapter 6 focuses on clustering. Chapter 7 discusses network analysis. Chapter 8 mainly focuses on regression and naive-bayes classifier. Chapter 9 covers web-based data visualizations with Plotly. Chapter 10 discusses web scraping. The book concludes with a section discussing 19 projects on various subjects in data science. Audience The handbook will be used by graduate students up to research scholars in computer science and electrical engineering as well as industry professionals in a range of industries such as healthcare.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2022
Designing and Conducting Mixed Methods Research by
Combining the latest thinking in the field with practical, step-by-step guidance, the Third Edition of John W. Creswell and Vicki L. Plano Clark's Designing and Conducting Mixed Methods Research now includes seven mixed methods designs with accompanying journal articles illustrating each design. The authors walk readers through the entire research process and present updated examples from published mixed methods studies drawn from multiple disciplines. In addition, this new edition includes information about the dynamic and evolving nature of the field of mixed methods research, four additional methodological approaches, and coverage of new directions in mixed methods.
Call Number: H62 .C6962 2018 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2017
Digital Qualitative Research Methods by
The field of digital methods for qualitative research is a rapidly developing one. More and more researchers are researching the social, cultural, political, anthropological and other dimensions of computer-mediated communication (CMC), or using CMC as a means of generating and analysing research data. There is now a proliferating diversity of terms, including digital methods, online methods, virtual ethnography, hypermedia methods, and so forth, that requires clarification and classification. This four-volume set brings together the most important and influential articles that have been published in this area and which enable the reader to understand the implications of digital technology for all aspects and phases of qualitative research design and dissemination. There are eight main sections to the volumes, two in each volume:Volume One: Mapping the Field of Digital Qualitative Research Methods1. Online Research Methods2. Researching Online CommunicationVolume Two: Multimedia and Hypermedia3. Hypertext and Hypermedia Applications4. Multimedia and MultimodalityVolume Three: Data Analysis in Digital Applications5. Computer-Aided Qualitative Data Analysis6. Data Analysis in Sound, Vision and MultimediaVolume Four: Collaboration, Sharing and Ethics in Digital Research7. Data Sharing and Collaboration8. Research Ethics in the Digital Age
Call Number: Reference Q180.55.E4 D54 2012 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2012
Ecological Informatics: Data Management and Knowledge Discovery by
This book introduces readers to ecological informatics as an emerging discipline that takes into account the data-intensive nature of ecology, the valuable information to be found in ecological data, and the need to communicate results and inform decisions, including those related to research, conservation and resource management. At its core, ecological informatics combines developments in information technology and ecological theory with applications that facilitate ecological research and the dissemination of results to scientists and the public. Its conceptual framework links ecological entities (genomes, organisms, populations, communities, ecosystems, landscapes) with data management, analysis and synthesis, and communicates new findings to inform decisions by following the course of a loop. In comparison to the 2nd edition published in 2006, the 3rd edition of Ecological Informatics has been completely restructured on the basis of the generic conceptual f ramework provided in Figure 1. It reflects the significant advances in data management, analysis and synthesis that have been made over the past 10 years, including new remote and in situ sensing techniques, the emergence of ecological and environmental observatories, novel evolutionary computations for knowledge discovery and forecasting, and new approaches to communicating results and informing decisions.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2017
Ecological Modelling and Engineering of Lakes and Wetlands by
Ecological modelling has developed rapidly in recent decades, with the focus primarily on the restoration of lakes and wetlands. Ecological Modelling and Engineering in Lakes and Wetlands presents the progress being made in modelling for a wealth of applications. It covers the older biogeochemical models still in use today, structurally dynamic models, 3D models, biophysical models, entire watershed models, and ecotoxicological models, as well as the expansion of modeling to the Arctic and Antarctic climate-zones. The book also addresses modelling the effect of climate change, including the development of ecological models for addressing storm water pond issues, which are increasingly important in urban regions where more concentrated rainfalls are a consequence of climate change. The ecological engineering topics covered in the book also emphasize the advancements being made in applying ecological engineering regimes for better environmental management of lakes and wetlands. Examines recent progress towards a better understanding of these two important ecosystems Presents new results and approaches that can be used to develop better models Discusses how to increase the synergistic effect between ecosystems engineering and modelling
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2014
Environmental Chemicals Desk Reference by
Environmental Chemicals Desk Reference is a concise version of the widely read Agrochemicals Desk Reference and Groundwater Chemicals Desk Reference. This up-to-date volume was inspired by the need for a combination of the material in both references, together with the large number of research publications and the continued interest in the fate, transport, and remediation of hazardous substances. Much new data has been added to this unique edition, including global legislation (REACH) and sustainability, thereby reflecting the wealth of literature in the field. Featured are environmental and physical/chemical data on more than 200 compounds, including pesticides, herbicides, and fungicides.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2017
Environmental Data Analysis: Methods and Applications by
With the dramatic development of air-space-ground-sea environmental monitoring networks and large-scale high-resolution Earth simulators, Environmental science is facing opportunities and challenges of big data. Environmental Data Analysis focuses on state-of-the-art models and methods for big environmental data and demonstrates their applications through various case studies in the real world. It covers the comprehensive range of topics in data analysis in space, time and spectral domains, including linear and nonlinear environmental systems, feature extraction models, data envelopment analysis, risk assessments, and life cycle assessments. The 2nd Edition adds emerging network models, including neural networks, complex networks, downscaling analysis and streaming data on network. This book is a concise and self-contained work with enormous　amount　of　information. It is a must-read for environmental scientists who struggle to conduct big data mining and data scientists who try to find the way into environmental science.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2023
Environmental Engineer's Mathematics Handbook by
Advanced mathematics used in engineering is studied here in this text which examines the relationship between the principles in natural processes and those employed in engineered processes. The text covers principles, practices and the mathematics involved in the design and operation of environmental engineering works. It also presents engineering modelling tools and environmental algorithm examples. Major subjects covered in this book include:* modelling * algorithms * air and water pollution assessment and control calculations Providing concepts, definitions, descriptions, and derivations in an intuitive manner, it is both a textbook and reference tool for practitioners involved in the protection of air, water, and land resources.
Call Number: TD145 .S676 2005 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2004
Environmental Geology: Handbook of Field Methods and Case Studies by
This illustrated handbook describes a broad spectrum of methods in the fields of remote sensing, geophysics, geology, hydrogeology, geochemistry, and microbiology designed to investigate landfill, mining and industrial sites. The descriptions provide information about the principle of the methods, applications and fundamentals. This handbook also deals with the stepwise procedure for investigating sites and common problems faced in efficient implementation of field operations.
Call Number: Reference QE38 .E58 2007 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2007
The Environmental Resource HandbookCall Number: GE20 .E586 (Print Resource) Latest Edition in SEL ReferencePublication Date: Latest edition: 2021/22
GIS Algorithms by
Geographic information systems (GIS) have become increasingly important in helping us understand complex social, economic, and natural dynamics where spatial components play a key role. The critical algorithms used in GIS, however, are notoriously difficult to both teach and understand, in part due to the lack of a coherent representation. GIS Algorithms attempts to address this problem by combining rigorous formal language with example case studies and student exercises.Using Python code throughout, Xiao breaks the subject down into three fundamental areas: Geometric Algorithms Spatial Indexing Spatial Analysis and Modelling With its comprehensive coverage of the many algorithms involved, GIS Algorithms is a key new textbook in this complex and critical area of geography.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2016
Handbook of Clean Energy Systems by
The Handbook of Clean Energy Systems brings together an international team of experts to present a comprehensive overview of the latest research, developments and practical applications throughout all areas of clean energy systems. Consolidating information which is currently scattered across a wide variety of literature sources, the handbook covers a broad range of topics in this interdisciplinary research field including both fossil and renewable energy systems. The development of intelligent energy systems for efficient energy processes and mitigation technologies for the reduction of environmental pollutants is explored in depth, and environmental, social and economic impacts are also addressed. Topics covered include: Volume 1 - Renewable Energy: Biomass resources and biofuel production; Bioenergy Utilization; Solar Energy; Wind Energy; Geothermal Energy; Tidal Energy. Volume 2 - Clean Energy Conversion Technologies: Steam/Vapor Power Generation; Gas Turbines Power Generation; Reciprocating Engines; Fuel Cells; Cogeneration and Polygeneration. Volume 3 - Mitigation Technologies: Carbon Capture; Negative Emissions System; Carbon Transportation; Carbon Stora≥ Emission Mitigation Technologies; Efficiency Improvements and Waste Management; Waste to Energy. Volume 4 - Intelligent Energy Systems: Future Electricity Markets; Diagnostic and Control of Energy Systems; New Electric Transmission Systems; Smart Grid and Modern Electrical Systems; Energy Efficiency of Municipal Energy Systems; Energy Efficiency of Industrial Energy Systems; Consumer Behaviors; Load Control and Management; Electric Car and Hybrid Car; Energy Efficiency Improvement. Volume 5 - Energy Storage: Thermal Energy Stora≥ Chemical Stora≥ Mechanical Stora≥ Electrochemical Stora≥ Integrated Storage Systems. Volume 6 - Sustainability of Energy Systems: Sustainability Indicators, Evaluation Criteria, and Reporting; Regulation and Policy; Finance and Investment; Emission Trading; Modeling and Analysis of Energy Systems; Energy vs. Development; Low Carbon Economy; Energy Efficiencies and Emission Reduction. Key features: Comprising over 3,500 pages in 6 volumes, HCES presents a comprehensive overview of the latest research, developments and practical applications throughout all areas of clean energy systems, consolidating a wealth of information which is currently scattered across a wide variety of literature sources. In addition to renewable energy systems, HCES also covers processes for the efficient and clean conversion of traditional fuels such as coal, oil and gas, energy storage systems, mitigation technologies for the reduction of environmental pollutants, and the development of intelligent energy systems. Environmental, social and economic impacts of energy systems are also addressed in depth. Published in full colour throughout. Fully indexed with cross referencing within and between all six volumes. Edited by leading researchers from academia and industry who are internationally renowned and active in their respective fields. Published in print and online. The online version is a single publication (i.e. no updates), available for one-time purchase or through annual subscription.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2015
Handbook of Ecological Models Used in Ecosystem and Environmental Management by
It is estimated that roughly 1000 new ecological and environmental models join the ranks of the scientific literature each year. The international peer-reviewed literature reports some 20,000 new models spanning the period from 1970-2010. Just to keep abreast of the field it is necessary to design a handbook of models that doesn't merely list them,
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2016
The Handbook of Environmental Chemistry (Book Series)
In over four decades, The Handbook of Environmental Chemistry has established itself as the premier reference source, providing sound and solid knowledge about environmental topics from a chemical perspective. Written by leading experts with practical experience in the field, the series continues to be essential reading for environmental scientists as well as for environmental managers and decision-makers in industry, government, agencies and public-interest groups.
Two distinguished Series Editors, internationally renowned volume editors as well as a prestigious Editorial Board safeguard publication of volumes according to high scientific standards.
Presenting a wide spectrum of viewpoints and approaches in topical volumes, the scope of the series covers topics such as
local and global changes of natural environment and climate
anthropogenic impact on the environment
water, air and soil pollution
remediation and waste characterization
environmental contaminants
biogeochemistry and geoecology
chemical reactions and processes
chemical and biological transformations as well as physical transport of chemicals in the environment
environmental modeling
A particular focus of the series lies on methodological advances in environmental analytical chemistry.
The Handbook of Environmental Chemistry is available both in print and online via http://link.springer.com.proxy.library.ucsb.edu:2048/bookseries/698. Articles are published online as soon as they have been reviewed and approved for publication.
Meeting the needs of the scientific community, publication of volumes in subseries has been discontinued to achieve a broader scope for the series as a whole.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 1980-
Handbook of Environmental Engineering by
A comprehensive guide for both fundamentals and real-world applications of environmental engineering Written by noted experts, Handbook of Environmental Engineering offers a comprehensive guide to environmental engineers who desire to contribute to mitigating problems, such as flooding, caused by extreme weather events, protecting populations in coastal areas threatened by rising sea levels, reducing illnesses caused by polluted air, soil, and water from improperly regulated industrial and transportation activities, promoting the safety of the food supply. Contributors not only cover such timely environmental topics related to soils, water, and air, minimizing pollution created by industrial plants and processes, and managing wastewater, hazardous, solid, and other industrial wastes, but also treat such vital topics as porous pavement design, aerosol measurements, noise pollution control, and industrial waste auditing. This important handbook: Enables environmental engineers to treat problems in systematic ways Discusses climate issues in ways useful for environmental engineers Covers up-to-date measurement techniques important in environmental engineering Reviews current developments in environmental law for environmental engineers Includes information on water quality and wastewater engineering Informs environmental engineers about methods of dealing with industrial and municipal waste, including hazardous waste Designed for use by practitioners, students, and researchers, Handbook of Environmental Engineering contains the most recent information to enable a clear understanding of major environmental issues.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2018
Handbook of Environmental Health by
The Handbook of Environmental Health-Biological, Chemical and Physical Agents of Environmentally Related Disease, Volume 1, Fourth Edition includes twelve chapters on a variety of topics basically following a standard chapter outline where applicable with the exception of chapters 1, 2 and 12. The outline is as follows: 1. Background and status 2. Scientific, technological and general information 3. Statement of the problem 4. Potential for intervention 5. Some specific resources 6. Standards, practices, and techniques 7. Modes of surveillance and evaluation 8. Various controls 9. Summary of the chapter 10. Research needs for the future Chapter 1, Environment and Humans discusses ecosystems, energy technologies and environmental problems, important concepts of chemistry, transport and alteration of chemicals in the environment, environmental economics, risk-benefit analysis, environmental health law, environmental impact statements, competencies for the environmental health practitioner. Chapter 2, Environmental Problems and Human Health has a general discussion of people and disease followed by a brief discussion of physiology including the human cell, blood, lymphatic system, tissue membranes, nervous system, respiratory system, gastrointestinal system and urinary system. There is a discussion of toxicological principles including toxicokinetics and toxicodynamics. There is a discussion of carcinogenesis, mutagenesis, reproductive toxicity and teratogenesis and the role of environmental contaminants in causing disease. Medical surveillance techniques utilized to measure potential toxicity are included. Basic concepts of microbiology are discussed followed by principles of communicable diseases and emerging infectious diseases. There''s an explanation of epidemiological principles including epidemiological investigations and environmental health and environmental epidemiology. The chapter concludes with a discussion of risk assessment and risk management. Chapter 3, Food Protection discusses food microbiology, reproduction and growth of microorganisms, environmental effects on bacteria, detergents and disinfectants, sources of foodborne disease exposure, FoodNet, various foodborne infections, bacterial food poisoning, chemical poisoning, poisonous plants and fungi, allergic reactions, parasitic infections, chronic aftereffects of foodborne disease, vessel sanitation programs, food quality protection acts, plans review, food service facilities, food storage, inspection techniques, preparation and serving of food, cleaning and sanitizing equipment and utensils, insect and rodent control, flow systems, epidemiological study techniques, Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point Inspection, food protection controls, food service training programs, national food safety initiative. Chapter 4, Food Technology discusses emerging or reemerging foodborne pathogens, chemistry of foods, food additives and preservatives, food spoilage, pesticides and fertilizers in food, antibiotics in food, heavy metals and the food chain, use of recycled plastics in food packaging, environmental problems in milk processing, poultry processing, egg processing, meat processing, fish and shellfish processing, produce processing, and imported foods. National standards, practices and techniques are provided for milk, ice cream, poultry, eggs, meat, produce and seafood. Current modes of surveillance and evaluation as well as appropriate control measures are provided for each of the above areas. Chapter 5, Insect Control discusses scientific, technological, and general information about various insects of public health significance including fleas, flies, lice, mites, mosquitoes, and roaches. There is a substantial discussion of the many diseases transmitted by insects including African Bite Fever, Bubonic Plague, Chagas Disease, Colorado Tick Fever, Dengue Fever, Ehrlichioses, Encephalitis, Lyme Disease, Malaria, Rickettsial Pox, Rocky Mountain Spotted Fever, Scabies, Scrub Typhus, Tularemia, Typhus Fever, Viral Hemorrhagic Fevers, Yellow Fever. Included in the text are the national standards, practices, and techniques utilized to conduct surveys, methods of prevention and controls of the insects. Further there is a discussion of emerging and reemerging insect borne diseases including why this is occurring. Integrated pest management is a special topic. Chapter 6, Rodent Control discusses the characteristics and behavior of murine rodents and deer mice, how they affect humans and the various diseases that they cause. National standards, practices and techniques are established for rodent poisoning and trapping, food and harborage removal, and rodent proofing. A special feature is the discussion of an actual working community rodent control program. Chapter 7, Pesticides discusses current issues, current laws and the effects of pesticides on groundwater, surface water, land, food, air and people. The various categories of pesticides and current allowable usage of inorganic insecticides and petroleum compounds, chlorinated hydrocarbons, organophosphates, carbamates, biolarvicides, and insect growth regulators are discussed. Chapter 8, Indoor Environment discusses indoor air pollution, housing, health and the housing environment, human illness, monitoring environmental disease, residential wood combustion, environmental tobacco smoke, carbon monoxide, radon gas, volatile organic compounds, asbestos, molds, bacteria and other biological contaminants, environmental lead hazards, noise, accidents and injuries. National standards, practices, and techniques are provided for all areas of the indoor environment, and survey techniques and housing studies are included. Chapter 9-Institutional Environment discusses the complex environment and potential for disease in nursing and convalescent homes, old-age homes, schools, colleges, and universities, prisons and hospitals. There are in-depth discussions on the potential for spread of disease through air, water, fomites, surfaces, people, food, laundry, insects and rodents, laboratories and biohazards, and surgical suites. Within the hospital setting there are extended discussions of heating, air conditioning, and laminar flow, housekeeping, laundry, solid and hazardous waste, maintenance, plumbing, food, hazardous chemicals, insects and rodents, radioactive materials, water supply, emergency medical services, fire safety and patient safety programs. Handwashing and hospital environmental control is explained in depth including the various microorganisms that may be transmitted by hands. There is a special discussion on laboratories and bio hazards including bacterial agents, fungal agents, parasitic agents, prions, rickettsial agents, viral agents, arborviruses and related zoological viruses. There are additional discussions on human immunodeficiency virus, hepatitis B virus, hepatitis C virus, tuberculosis, resistant organisms. Emerging and reemerging infection problems are of great significance. Hospital acquired infection and routes of transmission are significant problems. Occupational health and safety problems in the hospital are analyzed. The most recent CDC guidelines for all these areas are included. A significant number of inspection and survey forms are included in order for the reader to get a better understanding of specific problems in a specific institution. Chapter 10-Recreational Environment includes problems and solutions to problems in water quality, water supply, sewage, plumbing, shelter, food, solid waste, fish handling, stables, swimming and boating. Chapter 11-Occupational Environment includes a discussion of the interrelated challenges of various pressures in the environment. It includes physical agents such as sound, non-ionizing radiation, ionizing radiation, hot and cold temperature extremes. It also includes discussions of chemical agents such as toxic chemicals, flammable chemicals, corrosive chemicals, reactive agents. It includes discussions of biological agents. Ergonomics is an essential part of the chapter. The occupational health controls of substitution, isolation, ventilation, personal protective equipment, housekeeping, and education for control of physical agents, chemical agents, biological agents and ergonomic factors are also discussed. Chapter 12-Major Instrumentation for Environmental Evaluation of Occupational, Residential, and Public Indoor Settings discusses instantaneous or real-time monitoring, integrated or continuous monitoring, personal monitoring and area monitoring. Techniques and equipment are discussed for various airborne particulates and gaseous agents. Integrated or continuous monitoring of sound as well as instantaneous or real-time monitoring of sound is explained. Evaluation of air temperature factors are discussed. Evaluations of the illumination, microwave radiation, electric and magnetic fields, ionizing radiation, air pressure, velocity and flow rate are presented. Excellent graphics help the reader understand the principles of instrumentation. A large and current bibliography by chapter is included at the end of the book. This state-of-the-art computerized graphics can be found throughout the book. A comprehensive index of both Volume I and Volume II is at the end of the book to aid the reader in easily finding necessary information. The reader is referred to the Volume II when appropriate. The book is user-friendly to a variety of individuals including generalalist professionals as well as specialists, industrial hygiene personnel, health and medical personnel, the media, supervisors and managers of environmental health and occupational health areas, and students. Individuals can easily gain appr
Call Number: RA565 .K67 2003 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2003
Handbook of Environment and Waste Management: Vol 1: Air and Water Pollution Control by
This is a compilation of topics that are at the forefront of many technical advances and practices in air and water control. These include air pollution control, water pollution control, water treatment, wastewater treatment, industrial waste treatment and small scale wastewater treatment.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2014
Handbook of Environment and Waste Management: Vol 2: Land and Groundwater Pollution Control by
The Handbook of Environment and Waste Management, Volume 2, Land and Groundwater Pollution Control, is a comprehensive compilation of topics that are at the forefront of many of the technical advances and practices in solid waste management and groundwater pollution control. These include biosolids management, landfill for solid waste disposal, landfill liners, beneficial reuse of waste products, municipal solid waste recovery and recycling and groundwater remediation.Internationally recognized authorities in the field of environment and waste management contribute chapters in their areas of expertise. This handbook is an essential source of reference for professionals and researchers in the areas of solid waste management and groundwater pollution control, and as a text for advanced undergraduate and graduate courses in these fields.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2013
Handbook of Environment and Waste Management: Vol 3: Acid Rain and Greenhouse Gas Pollution Control by
The third volume in the Handbook of Environment and Waste Management Series, this book provides a comprehensive compilation of topics at the forefront of many of the technical advances and practices in acid rain and greenhouse gas pollution control. Comprising chapters contributed by internationally recognized authorities in the field of environment and waste management on their areas of expertise, readers may obtain all necessary technical information on control technologies and methods for management of acid rain and greenhouse gases from this work.This handbook is an essential source and one-stop reference for professionals and researchers in the areas of acid rain and greenhouse gas pollution control, and as a text for advanced undergraduate and graduate courses in these fields.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2020
The Handbook of Groundwater Engineering by
This new edition adds several new chapters and is thoroughly updated to include data on new topics such as hydraulic fracturing, CO2 sequestration, sustainable groundwater management, and more. Providing a complete treatment of the theory and practice of groundwater engineering, this new handbook also presents a current and detailed review of how to model the flow of water and the transport of contaminants both in the unsaturated and saturated zones, covers the protection of groundwater, and the remediation of contaminated groundwater.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2016
Handbook of Mathematics and Statistics for the Environment by
A thorough revision of the previous "Environmental Engineer's Mathematics Handbook," this book offers readers an unusual approach to presenting environmental math concepts, emphasizing the relationship between the principles in natural processes and environmental processes. It integrates the fundamental math operations performed by environmental pr
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2013
Handbook of Meta-Analysis in Ecology and Evolution by
Meta-analysis is a powerful statistical methodology for synthesizing research evidence across independent studies. This is the first comprehensive handbook of meta-analysis written specifically for ecologists and evolutionary biologists, and it provides an invaluable introduction for beginners as well as an up-to-date guide for experienced meta-analysts. The chapters, written by renowned experts, walk readers through every step of meta-analysis, from problem formulation to the presentation of the results. The handbook identifies both the advantages of using meta-analysis for research synthesis and the potential pitfalls and limitations of meta-analysis (including when it should not be used). Different approaches to carrying out a meta-analysis are described, and include moment and least-square, maximum likelihood, and Bayesian approaches, all illustrated using worked examples based on real biological datasets. This one-of-a-kind resource is uniquely tailored to the biological sciences, and will provide an invaluable text for practitioners from graduate students and senior scientists to policymakers in conservation and environmental management. Walks you through every step of carrying out a meta-analysis in ecology and evolutionary biology, from problem formulation to result presentation Brings together experts from a broad range of fields Shows how to avoid, minimize, or resolve pitfalls such as missing data, publication bias, varying data quality, nonindependence of observations, and phylogenetic dependencies among species Helps you choose the right software Draws on numerous examples based on real biological datasets
Call Number: QH541.15.S72 H36 2013 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2013
The Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis by
Research synthesis is the practice of systematically distilling and integrating data from many studies in order to draw more reliable conclusions about a given research issue. When the first edition of The Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis was published in 1994, it quickly became the definitive reference for conducting meta-analyses in both the social and behavioral sciences. In the third edition, editors Harris Cooper, Larry Hedges, and Jeff Valentine present updated versions of classic chapters and add new sections that evaluate cutting-edge developments in the field. The Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis draws upon groundbreaking advances that have transformed research synthesis from a narrative craft into an important scientific process in its own right. The editors and leading scholars guide the reader through every stage of the research synthesis process--problem formulation, literature search and evaluation, statistical integration, and report preparation. The Handbook incorporates state-of-the-art techniques from all quantitative synthesis traditions and distills a vast literature to explain the most effective solutions to the problems of quantitative data integration. Among the statistical issues addressed are the synthesis of non-independent data sets, fixed and random effects methods, the performance of sensitivity analyses and model assessments, the development of machine-based abstract screening, the increased use of meta-regression and the problems of missing data. The Handbook also addresses the non-statistical aspects of research synthesis, including searching the literature and developing schemes for gathering information from study reports. Those engaged in research synthesis will find useful advice on how tables, graphs, and narration can foster communication of the results of research syntheses. The third edition of the Handbook provides comprehensive instruction in the skills necessary to conduct research syntheses and represents the premier text on research synthesis. Praise for the first edition: "The Handbook is a comprehensive treatment of literature synthesis and provides practical advice for anyone deep in the throes of, just teetering on the brink of, or attempting to decipher a meta-analysis. Given the expanding application and importance of literature synthesis, understanding both its strengths and weaknesses is essential for its practitioners and consumers. This volume is a good beginning for those who wish to gain that understanding." --Chance "Meta-analysis, as the statistical analysis of a large collection of results from individual studies is called, has now achieved a status of respectability in medicine. This respectability, when combined with the slight hint of mystique that sometimes surrounds meta-analysis, ensures that results of studies that use it are treated with the respect they deserve....The Handbook of Research Synthesis is one of the most important publications in this subject both as a definitive reference book and a practical manual."--British Medical Journal When the first edition of The Handbook of Research Synthesis was published in 1994, it quickly became the definitive reference for researchers conducting meta-analyses of existing research in both the social and biological sciences. In this fully revised second edition, editors Harris Cooper, Larry Hedges, and Jeff Valentine present updated versions of the Handbook''s classic chapters, as well as entirely new sections reporting on the most recent, cutting-edge developments in the field. Research synthesis is the practice of systematically distilling and integrating data from a variety of sources in order to draw more reliable conclusions about a given question or topic. The Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis draws upon years of groundbreaking advances that have transformed research synthesis from a narrative craft into an important scientific process in its own right. Cooper, Hedges, and Valentine have assembled leading authorities in the field to guide the reader through every stage of the research synthesis process--problem formulation, literature search and evaluation, statistical integration, and report preparation. The Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis incorporates state-of-the-art techniques from all quantitative synthesis traditions. Distilling a vast technical literature and many informal sources, the Handbook provides a portfolio of the most effective solutions to the problems of quantitative data integration. Among the statistical issues addressed by the authors are the synthesis of non-independent data sets, fixed and random effects methods, the performance of sensitivity analyses and model assessments, and the problem of missing data. The Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis also provides a rich treatment of the non-statistical aspects of research synthesis. Topics include searching the literature, and developing schemes for gathering information from study reports. Those engaged in research synthesis will also find useful advice on how tables, graphs, and narration can be used to provide the most meaningful communication of the results of research synthesis. In addition, the editors address the potentials and limitations of research synthesis, and its future directions. The past decade has been a period of enormous growth in the field of research synthesis. The second edition Handbook thoroughly revises original chapters to assure that the volume remains the most authoritative source of information for researchers undertaking meta-analysis today. In response to the increasing use of research synthesis in the formation of public policy, the second edition includes a new chapter on both the strengths and limitations of research synthesis in policy debates
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2019
Modelling Environmental Dynamics: Advances in Geomatic Solutions by
Modelling environmental dynamics is critical to understanding and predicting the evolution of the environment in response to the large number of influences including urbanisation, climate change and deforestation. Simulation and modelling provide support for decision making in environmental management. The first chapter introduces terminology and provides an overview of methodological modelling approaches which may be applied to environmental and complex dynamics. Based on this introduction this book illustrates various models applied to a large variety of themes: deforestation in tropical regions, fire risk, natural reforestation in European mountains, agriculture, biodiversity, urbanism, climate change and land management for decision support, etc. These case studies, provided by a large international spectrum of researchers and presented in a uniform structure, focus particularly on methods and model validation so that this book is not only aimed at researchers and graduates but also at professionals.
Call Number: GE45.M37 M63 2008 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2008
Numerical Methods in Environmental Data Analysis by
Numerical Methods in Environmental Data Analysis introduces environmental scientists to the numerical methods available to help answer research questions through data analysis. One challenge in data analysis is misrepresentation of datasets that are relevant directly or indirectly to the research. This book illustrates new ways of screening dataset or images for maximum utilization, introducing environmental modeling, numerical methods, and computations techniques in data analysis. Throughout the book, the author includes case studies that provide guidance on how to translate research questions into appropriate models. Individuals working with data sets or images generated from environmental monitoring centers or satellites will find this book to be a concise guide for analyzing and interpreting their data. Bridges the theoretical underpinnings of modeling to research Illustrates the computational resolution of environmental issues alongside the use of open-source software Provides information on the use of analogue versus digital data treatment processes
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2022
Plastics and Microplastics: A Reference Handbook by
Beginning with a history of plastic--from the first scientific discovery of the material to its diversity of forms and uses in the present day--Plastics and Microplastics: A Reference Handbook discusses the history and evolution of plastic and its many uses, both in the United States and around the world. Importantly, it delves into the problems and controversies concerning plastic and microplastics, such as the pollution of oceans, rivers, and streams; its exceptionally long shelf life; its contribution to air pollution; and ingestion of microplastics by marine life. One of the most valuable aspects of the book is its survey of the history of plastics and microplastics conducted in a manner that helps readers to identify key issues to address. Moreover, it discusses both implemented and proposed solutions. A perspectives chapter includes a broad range of voices, allowing crucial, diverse perspectives to round out the author's expertise.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2021
Research Data Management and Data Literacies by
Research Data Management and Data Literacies help researchers familiarize themselves with RDM, and with the services increasingly offered by libraries. This new volume looks at data-intensive science, or 'Science 2.0' as it is sometimes termed in commentary, from a number of perspectives, including the tasks academic libraries need to fulfil, new services that will come online in the near future, data literacy and its relation to other literacies, research support and the need to connect researchers across the academy, and other key issues, such as 'data deluge,' the importance of citations, metadata and data repositories. This book presents a solid resource that contextualizes RDM, including good theory and practice for researchers and professionals who find themselves tasked with managing research data. Gives guidance on organizing, storing, preserving and sharing research data using Research Data Management (RDM) Contextualizes RDM within the global shift to data-intensive research Helps researchers and information professionals understand and optimize data-intensive ways of working Considers RDM in relation to varying needs of researchers across the sciences and humanities Presents key issues surrounding RDM, including data literacy, citations, metadata and data repositories
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2021
Research Methodology by
This book offers a standardized approach for research aspirants working in the various areas. At the same time, all the major topics in social research have also been detailed thoroughly which makes this book a very good frame of study for students and researchers in diverse fields. This book charts new and evolving terrain of social research by covering qualitative, quantitative and mixed approach. The chapters has extensive number of case studies that help researchers to understand practical implications of the research and includes plenty of diagrammatic representations for easy understanding of various theories and procedures. Each phase of research is explained in detail so that even beginners can also effectively utilize this book. It is written in a highly interactive manner, which makes for an interesting read. Templates of technical report, business report and research reports are also included in the book. This provides the reader with a hands-on experience.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2018
Research Methods for Environmental Studies: A Social Science Approach by
The methodological needs of environmental studies are unique in the breadth of research questions that can be posed, calling for a textbook that covers a broad swath of approaches to conducting research with potentially many different kinds of evidence. Fully updated to address new developments such as the effects of the internet, recent trends in the use of computers, remote sensing, and large data sets, this new edition of Research Methods for Environmental Studies is written specifically for social science-based research into the environment. This revised edition contains new chapters on coding, focus groups, and an extended treatment of hypothesis testing. The textbook covers the best-practice research methods most used to study the environment and its connections to societal and economic activities and objectives. Over five key parts, Kanazawa introduces quantitative and qualitative approaches, mixed methods, and the special requirements of interdisciplinary research, emphasizing that methodological practice should be tailored to the specific needs of the project. Within these parts, detailed coverage is provided on key topics including the identification of a research project, hypothesis testing, spatial analysis, the case study method, ethnographic approaches, discourse analysis, mixed methods, survey and interview techniques, focus groups, and ethical issues in environmental research. Drawing on a variety of extended and updated examples to encourage problem-based learning and fully addressing the challenges associated with interdisciplinary investigation, this book will be an essential resource for students embarking on courses exploring research methods in environmental studies.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2023
Right Research: Modelling Sustainable Research Practices in the Anthropocene (Open Access Book) by Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2021
Routledge Handbook of International Environmental Law by
The Routledge Handbook of International Environmental Law is an advanced level reference guide which provides a comprehensive and contemporary overview of the corpus of international environmental law (IEL). The Handbook features specially commissioned papers by leading experts in the field of international environmental law, drawn from a range of both developed and developing countries in order to put forward a truly global approach to the subject. Furthermore, it addresses emerging and cross-cutting issues of critical importance for the years ahead. The book is split into six parts for ease of reference: The Legal Framework, Theories and Principles of International Environmental Law - focuses on the origins, theory, principles and development of the discipline; Implementing International Environmental Law - addresses the implementation of IEL and the role of various actors and institutions, including corporations, intergovernmental organisations and NGOs; Key Issues and Legal Frameworks - brings fresh perspectives of the common general issues of international environmental law, such as biological diversity and marine environmental law; Regional Environmental Law - explores the specific regimes developed to address regional environmental issues, considering the evolution, prospects and relationship of regional law and mechanisms to IEL; Cross-Cutting Issues - considers the engagement of international environmental law with other key fields and legal regimes, including international trade, human rights and armed conflict; Contemporary and Future Challenges - analyses pressing current and emerging issues in the field including environmental refugees and climate change, REDD and deforestation, and 'treaty congestion' in IEL. This up-to-date and authoritative book makes it an essential reference work for students, scholars and practitioners working in the field.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2012
Simulation of Ecological and Environmental Models by
Given the importance of interdisciplinary work in sustainability, Simulation of Ecological and Environmental Models introduces the theory and practice of modeling and simulation as applied in a variety of disciplines that deal with earth systems, the environment, ecology, and human-nature interactions. Based on the author's many years of teaching graduate and undergraduate students in the United States, Spain, and Latin America, the textbook shows how to implement simulations and analyze the results using an open-source software platform. Learn How to Use a Broad Range of Environmental Models The textbook is organized into three parts to allow greater flexibility using the material in various countries and types of curricula. The first part provides a tutorial-style mathematical review and a gentle introduction to the basics of R software. The second part explains the fundamentals of modeling methodology through one-dimensional models. After a review of matrix algebra, the third part progresses to multidimensional models, focusing on structured populations, communities, and ecosystems. The final chapters show how simple models are hooked together to generate more comprehensive models. Build from Fundamental Concepts to Problem Solving Each chapter starts with conceptual and theoretical material to give a firm foundation in how the methods work. Examples and exercises illustrate the applications and demonstrate how to go from concepts to problem solving. Hands-on computer sessions let students grasp the practical implications and learn by doing. Throughout, the computer examples and exercises use seem, an open-source R package developed by the author, which lets students quickly produce simulations and explore the effects of changing conditions in the model. This practical book is a comprehensive, unified presentation of ecological and environmental models. It describes the mathematical fundamentals to analyze models and the methodology to simulate them, with a focus on understanding environmental change--a key element of environmental management and problem solving.
Call Number: QH541.15.M3 A24 2013 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2012
Standard Handbook of Environmental Science, Health, and Technology by
The most comprehensive single volume ever assembled for the environmental professional--a one-stop, all-under-one-roof overview of environmental engineering subject areas, and a task-simplifying toolkit designed to simplify day-to-day decisions. Covers the varied topics of interest for today's environmental scientist: mathematical modeling, statistics, plant pathology, as well as engineering problem-solving, management decision-making, and public communication. The perfect resource for biologists, hydrologists, geologists, engineers, chemists, and toxicologists. Packed with numerous tables, charts, illustrations, sampling methods, monitoring methods, testing methods, control techniques, equipment maintenance procedures, and calculation methods. Includes lesson-filled editorial commentary by many of the nearly 100 environmental scientists who have contributed to this book.
Call Number: Reference GE123 .S73 2000 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2000
Understanding Climate Change: A Practical Guide by Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2021
Water and Wastewater Calculations Manual by
Step-by-step water and wastewater calculations--updated for the latest methods and regulations Water and Wastewater Calculations Manual, Third Edition, provides basic principles, best practices, and detailed calculations for surface water, groundwater, drinking water treatment, and wastewater engineering.The solutions presented are based on practical field data and the most current federal and state rules and regulations. Designed for quick access to essential data, the book contains more than 100 detailed illustrations and provides both SI and U.S. customary units. This up-to-date environmental reference contains new and revised information on: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency maximum contaminant levels for public water systems and protection from waterborne organisms Membrane filtration processes Clarification systems Ultraviolet disinfection Ozonation SNAD--simultaneous partial nitrification, ANAMMOX (anaerobic ammonium oxidation), and denitrification Membrane bioreactors Lake evaporation mathematical models Comprehensive coverage includes: Stream and river sanitation Lake and reservoir management Groundwater regulations and protection Fundamental and treatment plant hydraulics Public water supply Wastewater engineering Macro-invertebrate tolerance list Well function for confined aquifers Solubility product constants for solution at or near room temperature Freundlich adsorption isotherm constants for toxic organic compounds Factors for conversion
Call Number: Reference TD351 .L55 2014 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2014
Water and Wastewater Laboratory Techniques by
A teaching and reference tool for educating analysts in water and wastewater laboratories in the skills and techniques of the bench chemist. This book provides the vital background information needed to operate in a laboratory and engage with Standard Methods and other collections employed in a lab setting.A teaching and reference tool for educating analysts in water and wastewater laboratories in the skills and techniques of the bench chemist. This book provides the vital background information needed to operate in a laboratory and engage with Standard Methods and other collections employed in a lab setting.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2019
