LibGuides: Environmental Studies & Environmental Science and Management: Background Information

Find Background Information

To find entries in encyclopedias on your topic, use UC Library Search and search your keyword(s). For example: "marginalized communities". When you get your results, look on the left toolbar for Resource Type and select Reference Entries.

Below are some sample encyclopedias in environmental studies and environmental science and management.

Encyclopedia of American Environmental History
Call Number: Reference GE150 .E53 2011 (Print and Electronic Resource)

Publication Date: 2010
Encyclopedia of Biological Invasions
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)

Publication Date: 2011
Encyclopedia of Coastal Science
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)

Publication Date: 2019
Encyclopedia of Deserts
Call Number: Reference GB611 .E65 2017 (Print Resource)

Publication Date: 2017
Encyclopedia of Ecology
Call Number: Reference QH540.4 .E515 2008 (Print and Electronic Resource)

Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)

Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)

Publication Date: 2019
Encyclopedia of Environmental Science and Engineering
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)

Publication Date: 2012
Encyclopedia of Environment and Society
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)

Publication Date: 2007
Encyclopedia of Global Justice
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)

Publication Date: 2011
Encyclopedia of Islands
Call Number: GB471 .E53 2009 (Print and Electronic Resource)

Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of Lakes and Reservoirs
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)

Publication Date: 2012
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)

Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of Organic, Sustainable, and Local Food
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)

Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of Soil Science
Call Number: S592 .S53 2008 (Print and Electronic Resource)

Publication Date: 2016
Encyclopedia of Water: Science, Technology, and Society
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)

Publication Date: 2020
Encyclopedia of World Environmental History
Call Number: Reference GF10 .E63 2004 (Print Resource)

Publication Date: 2003
Environmental Encyclopedia
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)

Publication Date: 2011
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)

Publication Date: 2015
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Environmental Science
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)

Publication Date: 2014-
The Water Encyclopedia: Hydrologic Data and Internet Resources
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)

Publication Date: 2007
The World's Population: An Encyclopedia of Critical Issues, Crises, and Ever-Growing Countries
Call Number: Reference HB871 .S534 2015 (Print Resource)

Publication Date: 2014

Here are a few samples of dictionaries. To find more, use UC Library Search and search the keyword "dictionary" and combine it with any keywords of your choice. For example: dictionary AND water. Then select Resource Type > Books.

A Dictionary of Ecology
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)

Publication Date: 2015
A Dictionary of Environment and Conservation
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)

Publication Date: 2017

Environmental Science - Oxford Bibliographies
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)

Here are a few samples of biographies. To find more, use UC Library Search and search the keyword biography and combine it with any keywords of your choice. For example: biography AND Thoreau.

American Environmental Leaders
Call Number: Reference GE55 .B43 2000 (Print Resource)

Publication Date: 2000
Ecology or Catastrophe: The Life of Murray Bookchin
Call Number: GF16.B66 B54 2015 (Print Resource)

Publication Date: 2015
Biographical Dictionary of American and Canadian Naturalists and Environmentalists
Call Number: Reference QH26 .B535 1997 (Print Resource)

Publication Date: 1997
Fifty Key Thinkers on the Environment
Call Number: GE40 .F54 2001 (Print and Electronic Resource)

Publication Date: 2001
Planet Savers: 301 Extraordinary Environmentalists
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)

Publication Date: 2007
Shapers of the Great Debate on Conservation: A Biographical Dictionary
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)

Publication Date: 2004
Early American Nature Writers: A Biographical Encyclopedia
Call Number: PS163 .E18 2008 (Print Resource)

Publication Date: 2007
American Nature Writers
Call Number: Reference PS163 .A6 1996 (Print and Electronic Resource)

Publication Date: 1996

Here are a few samples of handbooks and manuals. To find more, use UC Library Search and search the keywords (handbook OR manual) and combine it with any keywords of your choice. For example: (handbook OR manual) AND environment. Then select Resource Type > Books.