librarian
Chuck Huber
he/him/his
Contact:
UCSB Library, Room 2523A2
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
cfhuber@ucsb.edu
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
cfhuber@ucsb.edu
805-893-2762
Website
Journals Specializing in Nanotechnology
- ACS Nano (American Chemical Society) 2007-present
- Fullerenes, Nanotubes and Carbon Nanostructures (Taylor & Francis) 1993-present
- IEEE Nanotechnology Magazine (IEEE) 2007-present
- IEEE Transactions on NanoBioscience (IEEE) 2002-present
- IEEE Transactions on Nanotechnology (IEEE) 2002-present
- IET Nanobiotechnology (IET, formerly known as IEE) 2003-present
- Institution of Mechanical Engineers, Proceedings, Part N, Journal of Nanoengineering and Nanosystems (IME) 2004-present
- Journal of Cluster Science (Springer) 1989-present
- Journal of Nanobiotechnology (BioMed Central, recently purchased by Springer) (open access journal) 2003-present
- Journal of Nanomaterials (Hindawi) (open access journal) (2006-present)
- Journal of Nanoparticle Research (Springer) (1999-present)
- Journal of Nanophotonics (SPIE) 2007-present
- Journal of Physical Chemistry, Part C: Nanomaterials and Interfaces (American Chemical Society) 2007-present
- Journal of Vacuum Science and Technology, Part B: Microelectronics and Nanometer Structures (American Institute of Physics) 1964-present
- Micro and Nano Letters (IET) 2006-present
- Microfluidics and Nanofluidics (Springer) 2004-present
- Nano Letters (American Chemical Society) 2001-present
- Nano Today (Elsevier) 2006-present
- NanoEthics (Springer) 2007-present
- Nanomedicine: Nanotechnology, Biology and Medicine (Elsevier) 2005-present
- Nanoscale Research Letters (Springer) 2006-present
- Nanotechnology (Institute of Physics) 1990-present
- Nature Nanotechnology (Nature Publishing) 2006-present
- Physica E: Low-Dimensional Systems and Nanostructures (Elsevier) 1997-present
Note: Unless listed as "open-access", all of the journals above are restricted to UCSB on-campus access. For UCSB students, faculty and staff, use the "Off campus?" link above to log in through the campus proxy server.
Find Articles
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Academic Search Complete includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. The database features some PDF content going back as far as 1867, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
- BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new windowContains citations to items in journals, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports, in all areas of the life sciences and biology. Many citations include abstracts.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
- Compendex (via Engineering Village) This link opens in a new windowCompendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes citations and abstracts from engineering journals and conference proceedings.
- Materials Science and Engineering Database This link opens in a new windowMaterials Science and Engineering Database is a combination of a group of engineering databases from ProQuest. These include:
Abstracts in New Technology & Engineering
Aluminum Industry Abstracts
Biochemistry Abstracts 1 & 3
Biotechnology Research Abstracts
Ceramics Abstracts /World Ceramics Abstracts
Civil Engineering Abstracts
Copper Technical Reference Library
Corrosion Abstracts
Engineered Materials Abstracts
Environmental Engineering Abstracts
Materials Business File
Mechanical and Transportation Engineering Abstracts
METADEX (formerly Metals Abstracts)
ProQuest Engineering Journals Information
ProQuest Materials Science Journals - NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) This link opens in a new windowThe National Technical Reports Library provides access to US Federal government technical reports in science and technology. It indexes about 2,000,000 reports and currently provides access to PDF copies of some 800,000 reports published since 1995. (More reports will be added, as pre-1995 reports are scanned.) Note that while access is free to the public, you must register with NTRL to gain access, and you may only download five reports per session. Also, free access is only available within the borders of the United States of America.
- Preprint Citation IndexPreprint Citation Index currently indexes preprints from five major repositories: arXiv, bioRxiv, ChemRxiv, medRxiv and Preprints.org. It allows searching by topic, authors, etc. as well as cited reference searching. It profices a version history of preprints (where applicable) and links to citing preprint references as will as to citing references in journal articles, conference papers and patents.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts for millions of articles in medicine, life science, and health administration. Includes the full contents of MEDLINE, plus "in process" citations for recent articles which have not yet been added to MEDLINE, and some additional references from life sciences journals.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowNew user? -- The first time you use this database you need to register for an account. Go to the SciFinder Registration Information page to access registration information.
Already have a SciFinder account?: Your UCSB SciFinder username and password will also work for SciFinder-n. Note that your saved searches and Keep Me Posted alerts in SciFinder will not automatically transfer to SciFindern and vice versa. You may need to recreate them.
NOTE: Commercial use of your University account is strictly prohibited.
Database Information: (Note - the SciFinder-n interface is significantly different from the SciFinder interface, and may require practice for effective use even by experienced SciFinder users.)
SciFinder-n provides user friendly interfaces for searching bto the Chemical Abstracts Service databases, including chemical substances, chemical reactions, chemical suppliers and references, with one of the largest collections in each area.
It also provides unique full text access to a large collection of chemical patents via its PatentPak feature. - Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science consists of nine databases: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Science Citation Index Expanded for journal aritcles; Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science and Conference Proceedings - Social Sciences and Humanities; Book Citation Index - Science and Book Citation Index - Social Sciences and Humanities; and Current Chemical Reactions and Index Chemicus. Web of Science covers thousands of research journals, and extensive collections of conference proceedings and books. across hundreds of disciplines. Both the science and social sciences journal article files offer searchable author abstracts. All three databases are updated weekly.
Collect and Organize Your References in a Personal Database
- EndNote.com
- Create a personal database file of your favorite references by importing answer sets from catalogs and article indexes
- Generate bibliographies automatically formatted in your desired style (e.g. ACS, CSE, APA)
- Access your fles from any Web-connected computer.
Evaluate Journals by Impact Factor
- Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new windowJournal Citation Reports from Thomson Reuters provides analysis of the article publication and citation patters of major journals in the sciences and social sciences. Journals may be searched individually or by subject category, publisher or country of origin. Information available for each journal includes the total number of article published, total citations to articles from the journal, Impact Factor (ratio of number of citations to number of articles), Immediacy Index, Journal Half-Life, Impact Factor Trends and more. These indices are widely used in comparing and evaluating scholarly journal quality.