Writing & Publishing
Becoming an Academic Writer
With its friendly, step-by-step format, the Third Edition of Becoming an Academic Writer helps readers improve their writing by engaging in deep, deliberate, and daily practice. Author Patricia Goodson designed this book for anyone in an academic setting who must write to survive, from new graduate students to senior faculty. Featuring 50 exercises, this practical and flexible self-paced guide is organized so readers can either work through the exercises in order, or focus on the specific areas where they need additional practice. The Third Edition features an expanded unit on how to manage the reading required for any writing project - a strategy to help writers avoid getting bogged down in this crucial step. Updated material, alongside testimonials from students and readers, new appendices on topics such as processing reviewer feedback, and new "Research Shows" boxes help readers address important hurdles to developing a lower-stress, sustainable writing habit.
Call Number: PE1408 .G585 2024 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2023
From Research to Manuscript: A Guide to Scientific Writing
Observations Plus Recipes It has been said that science is the orderly collection of facts about the natural world. Scientists, however, are wary of using the word 'fact. ' 'Fact' has the feeling of absoluteness and universality, whereas scientific observations are neither ab- lute nor universal. For example, 'children have 20 deciduous [baby] teeth' is an observation about the real world, but scientists would not call it a fact. Some children have fewer deciduous teeth, and some have more. Even those children who have exactly 20 deciduous teeth use the full set during only a part of their childhood. When they are babies and t- dlers, children have less than 20 visible teeth, and as they grow older, children begin to loose their deciduous teeth, which are then replaced by permanent teeth. 'Children have 20 deciduous [baby] teeth' is not even a complete scientific sta- ment. For one thing, the statement 'children have 20 deciduous teeth' does not tell us what we mean by 'teeth. ' When we say "teeth," do we mean only those that can seen be with the unaided eye, or do we also include the hidden, unerupted teeth? An observation such as 'children have 20 deciduous teeth' is not a fact, and, by itself, it is not acceptable as a scientific statement until its terms are explained: scientifically, 'children have 20 deciduous teeth' must be accompanied by definitions and qualifiers.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2009
The Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis
Research synthesis is the practice of systematically distilling and integrating data from many studies in order to draw more reliable conclusions about a given research issue. When the first edition of The Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis was published in 1994, it quickly became the definitive reference for conducting meta-analyses in both the social and behavioral sciences. In the third edition, editors Harris Cooper, Larry Hedges, and Jeff Valentine present updated versions of classic chapters and add new sections that evaluate cutting-edge developments in the field. The Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis draws upon groundbreaking advances that have transformed research synthesis from a narrative craft into an important scientific process in its own right. The editors and leading scholars guide the reader through every stage of the research synthesis process--problem formulation, literature search and evaluation, statistical integration, and report preparation. The Handbook incorporates state-of-the-art techniques from all quantitative synthesis traditions and distills a vast literature to explain the most effective solutions to the problems of quantitative data integration. Among the statistical issues addressed are the synthesis of non-independent data sets, fixed and random effects methods, the performance of sensitivity analyses and model assessments, the development of machine-based abstract screening, the increased use of meta-regression and the problems of missing data. The Handbook also addresses the non-statistical aspects of research synthesis, including searching the literature and developing schemes for gathering information from study reports. Those engaged in research synthesis will find useful advice on how tables, graphs, and narration can foster communication of the results of research syntheses. The third edition of the Handbook provides comprehensive instruction in the skills necessary to conduct research syntheses and represents the premier text on research synthesis. Praise for the first edition: "The Handbook is a comprehensive treatment of literature synthesis and provides practical advice for anyone deep in the throes of, just teetering on the brink of, or attempting to decipher a meta-analysis. Given the expanding application and importance of literature synthesis, understanding both its strengths and weaknesses is essential for its practitioners and consumers. This volume is a good beginning for those who wish to gain that understanding." --Chance "Meta-analysis, as the statistical analysis of a large collection of results from individual studies is called, has now achieved a status of respectability in medicine. This respectability, when combined with the slight hint of mystique that sometimes surrounds meta-analysis, ensures that results of studies that use it are treated with the respect they deserve....The Handbook of Research Synthesis is one of the most important publications in this subject both as a definitive reference book and a practical manual."--British Medical Journal When the first edition of The Handbook of Research Synthesis was published in 1994, it quickly became the definitive reference for researchers conducting meta-analyses of existing research in both the social and biological sciences. In this fully revised second edition, editors Harris Cooper, Larry Hedges, and Jeff Valentine present updated versions of the Handbook''s classic chapters, as well as entirely new sections reporting on the most recent, cutting-edge developments in the field. Research synthesis is the practice of systematically distilling and integrating data from a variety of sources in order to draw more reliable conclusions about a given question or topic. The Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis draws upon years of groundbreaking advances that have transformed research synthesis from a narrative craft into an important scientific process in its own right. Cooper, Hedges, and Valentine have assembled leading authorities in the field to guide the reader through every stage of the research synthesis process--problem formulation, literature search and evaluation, statistical integration, and report preparation. The Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis incorporates state-of-the-art techniques from all quantitative synthesis traditions. Distilling a vast technical literature and many informal sources, the Handbook provides a portfolio of the most effective solutions to the problems of quantitative data integration. Among the statistical issues addressed by the authors are the synthesis of non-independent data sets, fixed and random effects methods, the performance of sensitivity analyses and model assessments, and the problem of missing data. The Handbook of Research Synthesis and Meta-Analysis also provides a rich treatment of the non-statistical aspects of research synthesis. Topics include searching the literature, and developing schemes for gathering information from study reports. Those engaged in research synthesis will also find useful advice on how tables, graphs, and narration can be used to provide the most meaningful communication of the results of research synthesis. In addition, the editors address the potentials and limitations of research synthesis, and its future directions. The past decade has been a period of enormous growth in the field of research synthesis. The second edition Handbook thoroughly revises original chapters to assure that the volume remains the most authoritative source of information for researchers undertaking meta-analysis today. In response to the increasing use of research synthesis in the formation of public policy, the second edition includes a new chapter on both the strengths and limitations of research synthesis in policy debates
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2019
How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper
Thoroughly updated throughout, this classic, practical text on how to write and publish a scientific paper takes its own advice to be "as clear and simple as possible." "The purpose of scientific writing," according to Barbara Gastel and Robert A. Day, "is to communicate new scientific findings. Science is simply too important to be communicated in anything other than words of certain meaning." This clear, beautifully written, and often funny text is a must-have for anyone who needs to communicate scientific information, whether they're writing for a professor, other scientists, or the general public. The thoughtfully revised ninth edition retains the most important material--including preparing text and graphics, publishing papers and other types of writing, and plenty of information on writing style--while adding up-to-date advice on copyright, presenting online, identifying authors, creating visual abstracts, and writing in English as a non-native language. A set of valuable appendixes provide ready reference, including words and expressions to avoid, SI prefixes, a list of helpful websites, and a glossary. Students and working scientists will want to keep How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper at their desks and refer to it at every stage of writing and publication. Provides practical, easy-to-read, and immediately applicable guidance on preparing each part of a scientific paper, from the title and abstract to each section of the main text to acknowledgments and references Explains step-by-step how to decide to which journal to submit a paper, what happens to a paper after submission, and how to work effectively with a journal throughout the publication process Includes key advice on other communication important to success in scientific careers, such as giving presentations, writing proposals, and writing for a general audience Presents updated information throughout and new material on timely topics like copyright and presenting online
Call Number: T11 .D33 2022 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2022
The Routledge Handbook of Scientific Communication
Given current science-related crises facing the world such as climate change, the targeting and manipulation of DNA, GMO foods, and vaccine denial, the way in which we communicate science matters is vital for current and future generations of scientists and publics. The Routledge Handbook of Scientific Communication scrutinizes what we value, prioritize, and grapple with in science as highlighted by the rhetorical choices of scientists, students, educators, science gatekeepers, and lay commentators. Drawing on contributions from leading thinkers in the field, this volume explores some of the most pressing questions in this growing field of study, including: How do issues such as ethics, gender, race, shifts in the publishing landscape, and English as the lingua franca of science influence scientific communication practices? How have scientific genres evolved and adapted to current research and societal needs?　 How have scientific visuals developed in response to technological advances and communication needs?　 How is scientific communication taught to a variety of audiences?　 Offering a critical look at the complex relationships that characterize current scientific communication practices in academia, industry, government, and elsewhere, this Handbook will be essential reading for students, scholars, and professionals involved in the study, practice, and teaching of scientific, medical, and technical communication. 　
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2021
The Scholarly Communication Handbook: From Research Dissemination to Societal Impact
1 The Scholarly Communication Landscape -- Introduction -- Key actors -- Where to publish? -- Research support and scholarly communication -- How to use this book -- 2 Publication Types -- Introduction -- Monographs -- Journal articles -- Conference proceedings -- Non-traditional publication channels -- Publication types and scholarly communication -- 3 Open Access -- Introduction -- The open access movement -- Green open access -- Diamond open access
Gold open access -- Open monographs -- Open access at a crossroads -- Open access and scholarly communication -- Online resources -- 4 Copyright and Licence to Publish -- Introduction -- Copyright -- Licence to publish: exclusive and non-exclusive -- Creative Commons (CC) licences -- Rights retention strategy -- Copyright, licences and scholarly communication -- Online resources -- 5 Peer Review -- Introduction -- The peer-review process -- Traditional peer review -- Open peer review (OPR) -- Post-publication peer review (PPPR) -- Peer review and scholarly communication -- 6 Research Metrics
Introduction -- Journal-level metrics -- Article-level metrics -- Composite metrics: h-index -- Data providers and coverage -- Matthew effect -- Responsible metrics -- Research metrics and scholarly communication -- Online resources -- 7 Societal Impact -- Introduction -- Planning for societal impact -- Ex ante and ex post impact assessments -- Social media: research and societal impacts -- Societal impact, social media and scholarly communication -- 8 Research Integrity -- Introduction -- Authorship -- Paper mills -- Reproducibility -- Retraction -- Generative AI: chatbots and more
Research integrity and scholarly communication -- 9 Critical Issues and the Future of Scholarly Communication -- Introduction -- Oligopolistic publishers -- Open research -- Bibliodiversity, multilingualism and sustainability -- The future of scholarly communication -- Case studies -- Case study 1 -- Inter- or multi-disciplinary research -- Case study 2 -- Preprints struggles -- Case study 3 -- Scholarly appeal and public audience -- References -- Index
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2023
Scientific Papers and Presentations
Electronic publishing and electronic means of text and data presentation have changed enormously since the first edition of this book was published in 1997. The third edition of Scientific Papers and Presentations applies traditional principles to today's modern techniques and the changing needs of up-and-coming academia. Topics include designing visual aids, writing first drafts, reviewing and revising, communicating clearly and concisely, adhering to stylistic principles, presenting data in tables and figures, dealing with ethical and legal issues, and relating science to the lay audience. This successful legacy title is an essential guide to professional communication, provides a wealth of information and detail and is a useful guide. Covers all aspects of communication for early scientists from research to thesis to presentations. Discusses how to use multi-media effectively in presentations and communication Includes an extensive appendices section with detailed examples for further guidance
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2012
Scientific Writing 3.0 A Reader and Writer's Guide
"The third edition of this book aims to equip both young and experienced researchers with all the tools and strategy they will need for their papers to not just be accepted, but stand out in the crowded field of academic publishing. It seeks to question and deconstruct the legacy of existing science writing, replacing or supporting historically existing practices with principle- and evidence-driven styles of effective writing. It encourages a reader-centric approach to writing, satisfying reader-scientists at large, but also the paper's most powerful readers, the reviewer and editor. Going beyond the baseline of well-structured scientific writing, this book leverages an understanding of human physiological limitations (memory, attention, time) to help the author craft a document that is optimized for readability. Through real and fictional examples, hands-on exercises, and entertaining stories, this book breaks down the critical parts of a typical scientific paper (Title, Abstract, Introduction, Visuals, Structure, and Conclusions). It shows at great depth how to achieve the essential qualities required in scientific writing, namely being clear, concise, convincing, fluid, interesting, and organized. To enable the writer to assess whether these parts are well written from a reader's perspective, the book also offers practical metrics in the form of six checklists, and even an original Java application to assist in the evaluation
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2022
Scientific Writing and Communication: Papers, Proposals, and Presentations
Scientific Writing and Communication: Papers, Proposals, and Presentations, Third Edition, covers all the areas of scientific communication that a scientist needs to know and master in order to successfully promote his or her research and career. This unique "all-in-one" handbook begins with adiscussion of the basic principles of scientific writing style and composition and then applies these principles to writing research papers, review articles, grant proposals, research statements, and resumes, as well as to preparing academic presentations and posters.
Call Number: Q223 .H64 2017 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2016
The Scientist's Guide to Writing
An updated and expanded edition of the acclaimed writing guide for scientists The Scientist's Guide to Writing explains the essential techniques that students, postdocs, and early-career scientists need to write more clearly, efficiently, and easily. Now fully updated and expanded, this incisive primer offers practical advice on such topics as generating and maintaining writing momentum, structuring a scientific paper, revising a first draft, handling citations, responding to peer reviews, managing coauthorships, and more. The ability to write clearly is critical to any scientific career. The Scientist's Guide to Writing shows scientists how to become better writers so that their ideas have the greatest possible impact. New chapters discuss effective reading, choosing the right journal for your research, and the advantages and disadvantages of posting preprints Provides additional advice on reporting statistical results, dealing with conflicting peer reviews, managing coauthorships, writing with English as an additional language, and more Emphasizes writing as a process, not just a product Encourages habits that improve motivation and productivity Offers detailed guidance on submission, review, revision, and publication Includes a wealth of new exercises
Call Number: T11 .H425 2022 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2022
A Short Guide to Writing about Biology
Written by a prominent biologist,A Short Guide to Writing about Biologyteaches students to think as biologists and to express ideas clearly and concisely through their writing. Students are provided with the tools they'll need to be successful writers in college and their profession, how to read critically, study, evaluate and report data, and how to communicate information clearly and logically.
Call Number: QH304 .P43 2007 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2006
Student's Guide to Writing College Papers, Fifth Edition
Students of all levels need to know how to write a well-reasoned, coherent research paper--and for decades Kate L. Turabian's Student's Guide to Writing College Papers has helped them to develop this critical skill. For its fifth edition, Chicago has reconceived and renewed this classic work for today's generation. Addressing the same range of topics as Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations but for beginning writers and researchers, this guide introduces students to the art of formulating an effective argument, conducting high-quality research with limited resources, and writing an engaging class paper. This new edition includes fresh examples of research topics, clarified terminology, more illustrations, and new information about using online sources and citation software. It features updated citation guidelines for Chicago, MLA, and APA styles, aligning with the latest editions of these popular style manuals. It emphasizes argument, research, and writing as extensions of activities that students already do in their everyday lives. It also includes a more expansive view of what the end product of research might be, showing that knowledge can be presented in more ways than on a printed page. Friendly and authoritative, the fifth edition of Student's Guide to Writing College Papers combines decades of expert advice with new revisions based on feedback from students and teachers. Time-tested and teacher-approved, this book will prepare students to be better critical thinkers and help them develop a sense of inquiry that will serve them well beyond the classroom.
Call Number: LB2369 .T82 2019 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2019
A Student Handbook for Writing in Biology
From reading technical literature, to writing scientific papers and lab reports, gain practical advice in communicating specifically for biology with the Student Handbook for Writing in Biology.
Call Number: QH304 .K59 2017 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2017
What Editors Want: An Author's Guide to Scientific Journal Publishing
Research publications have always been key to building a successful career in science, yet little if any formal guidance is offered to young scientists on how to get research papers peer reviewed, accepted, and published by leading scientific journals. With "What Editors Want," Philippa J. Benson and Susan C. Silver, two well-respected editors from the science publishing community, remedy that situation with a clear, straightforward guide that will be of use to all scientists. Benson and Silver instruct readers on how to identify the journals that are most likely to publish a given paper, how to write an effective cover letter, how to avoid common pitfalls of the submission process, and how to effectively navigate the all-important peer review process, including dealing with revisions and rejection. With supplemental advice from more than a dozen experts, this book will equip scientists with the knowledge they need to usher their papers through publication.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2012
A Writer's Reference
Get the answers to all your common writing questions, no matter the course, as Writer's Reference gives you the tools you need to becoming a stronger writer.
Call Number: PE1408 .H2778 2018 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2017
Writing and Publishing a Scientific Research Paper
This book covers all essential aspects of writing scientific research articles, presenting eighteen carefully selected titles that offer essential, "must-know" content on how to write high-quality articles. The book also addresses other, rarely discussed areas of scientific writing including dealing with rejected manuscripts, the reviewer's perspective as to what they expect in a scientific article, plagiarism, copyright issues, and ethical standards in publishing scientific papers. Simplicity is the book's hallmark, and it aims to provide an accessible, comprehensive and essential resource for those seeking guidance on how to publish their research work. The importance of publishing research work cannot be overemphasized. However, a major limitation in publishing work in a scientific journal is the lack of information on or experience with scientific writing and publishing. Young faculty and trainees who are starting their research career are in need of a comprehensive guide that provides all essential components of scientific writing and aids them in getting their research work published
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2017
Writing and Publishing Scientific Papers: A Primer for the Non-English Speaker (Open Access)
Gábor Lövei’s scientific communication course for students and scientists explores the intricacies involved in publishing primary scientific papers, and has been taught in more than twenty countries. Writing and Publishing Scientific Papers is the distillation of Lövei’s lecture notes and experience gathered over two decades; it is the coursebook many have been waiting for.
The book’s three main sections correspond with the three main stages of a paper’s journey from idea to print: planning, writing, and publishing. Within the book’s chapters, complex questions such as ‘How to write the introduction?’ or ‘How to submit a manuscript?’ are broken down into smaller, more manageable problems that are then discussed in a straightforward, conversational manner, providing an easy and enjoyable reading experience.
Writing and Publishing Scientific Papers stands out from its field by targeting scientists whose first language is not English. While also touching on matters of style and grammar, the book’s main goal is to advise on first principles of communication.
This book is an excellent resource for any student or scientist wishing to learn more about the scientific publishing process and scientific communication. It will be especially useful to those coming from outside the English-speaking world and looking for a comprehensive guide for publishing their work in English.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2021
Writing a Winning Research Proposal: Your Path to Success
This comprehensive guide takes you through every critical aspect of crafting compelling proposals that command attention. Whether you are an experienced researcher or new to the field, this resource empowers you with practical examples, exercises, and insights from seasoned professionals. Through its pages, you will not only learn the intricacies of proposal writing but also gain the tools to put your newfound knowledge into practice for tangible, successful results. Drawing on the expertise of seasoned researchers, this book provides a treasure trove of best practices and expert advice, empowering you to shape the trajectory of your endeavors. Elevate your proposal-writing skills and achieve success in your academic or professional pursuits with this book.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2024
Writing in Biology: A Brief Guide
At once sophisticated and practical, Writing in Biology: A Brief Guide advises students on composing research articles, literature reviews, oral presentations, and other key biology genres. The book gives careful attention to both the governing priciples of audience, purpose, and argument, and the ground rules for style, visual design, and sourcing. Writing in Biology: A Brief Guide is a part of a series of brief, discipline-specific writing guides from Oxford University Press designed for today's writing-intensive college courses. The series is edited by Thomas Deans (University of Connecticut) and Mya Poe (Northeastern University).
Call Number: QH304 .R65 2016 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2016
Writing in the Biological Sciences: A Comprehensive Guide to Scientific Communication
Writing in the Biological Sciences: A Comprehensive Guide to Scientific Communication serves as a comprehensive "one-stop" reference guide to scientific writing and communication for budding professionals in the life sciences and related fields. The book is designed to function both as afree-standing textbook for a course on writing in the sciences and as an accompanying text or reference guide in courses with writing-intensive components. It covers all the basics of scientific communication that students need to know and master for successful scientific careers. The book lays thefoundation for professional writing by starting with basic scientific writing principles and then by applying these principles to lab reports, summaries, and critiques and eventually also to full-fledged scientific research articles, review articles, and grant proposals. Practical advice fororganizing academic presentations and posters as well as for putting together job applications is also included.
Call Number: QH304 .H64 2022 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2021
Writing Science: How to Write Papers That Get Cited and Proposals That Get Funded by
As a scientist, you are a professional writer: your career is built on successful proposals and papers. Success isn't defined by getting papers into print, but by getting them into the reader's consciousness. Writing Science is built upon the idea that successful science writing tells a story. It uses that insight to discuss how to write more effectively. Integrating lessons from other genres of writing with those from the author's years of experience as author, reviewer, and editor, the book shows scientists and students how to present their research in a way that is clear and that will maximize reader comprehension.The book takes an integrated approach, using the principles of story structure to discuss every aspect of successful science writing, from the overall structure of a paper or proposal to individual sections, paragraphs, sentences, and words. It begins by building core arguments, analyzing why some stories are engaging and memorable while others are quickly forgotten, and proceeds to the elements of story structure, showing how the structures scientists and researchers use in papers and proposals fit into classical models. The book targets the internal structure of a paper, explaining how to write clear and professional sections, paragraphs, and sentences in a way that is clear and compelling. The ideas within a paper should flow seamlessly, drawing readers along. The final section of the book deals with special challenges, such as how to discuss research limitations and how to write for the public.Writing Science is a much-needed guide to succeeding in modern science. Its insights and strategies will equip science students, scientists, and professionals across a wide range of scientific and technical fields with the tools needed to communicate effectively.
Call Number: T11 .S35 2012 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2011
