Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Victor V Disc Phonograph 1907
Over 50,000 tracks of American traditional music, including music of native American, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys, and songs about Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more.
except as indicated
Archival Sound Recordings - British Library
Freely accessible. Tens of thousands of recordings from the archival sound recording collections of the British Library. Includes Western classical, world music, popular, and more.
Belfer Cylinders Digital Connection
Freely accessible. The Belfer Audio Archive includes over 22,000 cylinders, 12,000 of which are unique. The digital collection will include 6,000 online audio files by 2010, selected in collaboration with the UCSB Cylinder Project to ensure non-duplication of the two projects.
Classical Music Library
A growing collection of over 50,000 tracks of music from the Middles Ages to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from solo vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.
Contemporary World Music
Contains a blend of contemporary and traditional world music recordings from many labels throughout the world. When complete, the database will contain 50,000 tracks, including genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz. Traditional genres will include Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more. Liner notes to all the albums are included in PDF format.
Cultural Equity: Sound Recordings
Freely accessible. Over 17,400 digitized audio recordings made by Alan Lomax from 1946 into the 1990s. Includes music from around the world as well as spoken material such as stories, interviews, and personal narratives.
A platform that cross-searches American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Smithsonian Global Sound, and the Garland Encyclopedia of World Music.
Listen to over 10,000 records made by the Victor Talking Machine Company between 1900 and 1925, with more to be added. Search by keyword, title, performer, genre, etc.
Naxos Music Library
A rapidly growing database of 50,000 albums and over 700,000 tracks. Most of the collection is classical, but it also includes jazz, world, new age, and some pop and rock. Labels included in addition to Naxos are Chandos, Caprice, Wergo, CPO, Hungaraton, and over 300 more. Free apps are available for the iPhone and Android; for instructions and information go to the Naxos Music Library blog
Naxos Music Library Jazz
A growing international collection of thousands of jazz albums, as well as blues and R&B. Includes the 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz.
Opera in Video
Contains approximately 290 opera performances via streaming video, from all historic periods of the genre.
Smithsonian Global Sound
Includes Smithsonian Folkways Recordings and the archival audio collections of Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon, and other labels and collections.
UCSB Cylinder Preservation and Digitization Project
Freely accessible. A digital collection of nearly 8,000 cylinder recordings. Dating from the early 20th century, they provide a window into society and culture of the period. The recordings may be streamed or freely downloaded. From the Department of Special Collections of the UCSB Library.
Search for Music
Alexander Street Press: Music Online
Search American Song, Classical Music Library, and Contemporary World Music
Copyright © 2008-2019 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact Us • Policies