Librarian
2nd Floor, Ocean Side
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Email: teaching&learning@library.ucsb.edu
For individual members' contact information visit our Staff Directory
Learn More About Primay Sources
Primary source materials are different depending on the field of study. Always check with your instructor if you are not sure what they mean by "primary source." The provided videos may help you learn the differences more readily!
- What is a Primary Source4-minute video from NCSU Libraries showing Sciences & Engineering, Social Sciences, and Arts & Humanities primary source examples.
- Primary SourcesThis video from the Stanford Libraries talks about what primary sources look like in the Arts & Humanities. Watch until 2:30 for the informative pieces (beyond that the video is still good, but focused on Stanford's special research collections.)
- SourcesThis video from UBC Writing Center will take you through different source types in the sciences. For more information on primary sources in the sciences, please visit the UBC Science Writing Resources site.
How to use this guide
This guide is designed to bring links together for the Student Life Essay assignment for WRIT 2. Since this assignment has some specific source requirements not compiled elsewhere, this guide is designed to save time by bringing multiple sources together. You're always welcome to use what the library has; not every course has a guide.
Links for Fall 2023 Library Session
UCSB Newspapers
UCSB Papers
- University of California, Santa Barbara Daily Nexus and antecedent newspapersStudent newspapers from the University of California, Santa Barbara and antecedent institutions. Includes the following titles: Daily Nexus (1971-), UCSB Daily Nexus (1970-1971), El Gaucho (1934-1970), El Gauchito (Summer sessions 1935-1965), Roadrunner (1930-1934), Stray Feathers (Summer sessions 1932-1934), and The Eagle (1923-1930).
- 93106 (News for the Faculty and Staff of UCSB)Physical copies are in the UCSB Archives.
Digital Copies (2000-2013) can be found by using the Wayback Machine and searching for this website: https://www.ia.ucsb.edu/93106/
Santa Barbara State College student papers
- El GauchitoCall Number: Microfilm Area LB3621.65 .R63Publication Date: Aug 9, 1944 - 1963"Official publication of the ... summer session."
- El GauchitoCall Number: Special Coll. Univ. Archives LB3621.65 .R63Publication Date: 1935-1965v.8 (1935),v.7 (1937),v.9 (1939)-v.10 (1940),v.12 (1941)-v.13 (1942),v.1 (1943),v.15 (1944)-v.17 (1946), v.1 (1949),v.3 (1951),1952-1961,v.4 (1962)-v.7 (1965)
Santa Barbara State Teachers College student paper
- The EagleCall Number: Special Coll. Univ. Archives LB3621.65 .D35Publication Date: Sept 28, 1923 - May 10, 1929v.1:no.1 (1923:Sept. 28)-v.1:no.10 (1924:Feb. 22);v. 3:no.11 (1924:Mar. 7)-v.7:no.19 (1928:Jan. 27),v.8:no.1 (1928:Sept. 21)-v.10:no.8 (1930:Nov. 4) (MISSING: v.7:no.1 (1927:Sept. 18)-v.7:no.2 (1927:Sept. 23), v.7:no.7 (1927:Oct. 28), v.7:no.18 (1928:Jan. 20),v.8:no.2 (1928:Sept. 28)-v.8:no.4 (1928:Oct.12),v.8:no.8 (1928:Nov.9),v.8:no.12 (1928:Nov. 9),v.8:no.14 (1929:Jan. 18)-v.8:no.15 (1929:Jan. 25),v.8:no.23 (1929:Mar. 22),v.8:no.29 (1929:May 10))
Other Student Publications
- The Daily NexusCurrent website for the The Daily Nexus UCSB's student newspaper.
- Starting LinesAn anthology of student work, published annually by the UCSB Writing Program.
- The Bottom Line UCSBA student-run, student-funded newspaper at UCSB.
- URCA JournalThe URCA Journal highlights the research of UCSB undergraduates and their graduate and faculty mentors.
Suggested Materials from the University Archive
In discussion with the University Archivist, Matt Stahl, some of the suggested materials for students in this class are:
- Guide to the University of California, Santa Barbara, Office of Public Information, Isla Vista / Student Unrest Subject Files
- College of Letters and Science, Isla Vista Riots Collection
- Office of Student Life Collection
- Student Organizations Collection
- Resource Center for Sexual and Gender Diversity
- Mujeres Unidas por Justica, Educación y Revolución (M.U.J.E.R.) Collection
Events & Exhibitions
Several of our Events and Exhibitions have included student-created work: