Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 198: Migration and Climate Change (Amin-Hong, Spring 2022): Find Articles

Article Databases -- See Screenshot Below for Search Example

Finding articles in databases is a multi-step process:

1. Decide which database to use. Those below will be especially useful for this assignment, but feel free to explore all of the Library's databases organized by subject or alphabetically.

2. Always use the Advanced Search option.

3. Databases don't like full sentences! Build your search using a few nouns that best describe the main concepts of your topic. These are your "keywords." 

4. You can use the asterisk* symbol to pick up alternate endings to a root word. For example, migrat* will find migrate, migration, migrating, migratorial, migratory, migrations...

5. Select whichever filters are appropriate but do not click "full text" as one of the filters because this will severely limit your results. Rely instead on the Library's access; see #5 below.

6. If the full text of an article is not available in the database itself, use the                               link. This will take you to the article on another platform or, if we don't have access to the article online, it will offer you an option to order it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

7. Most article databases allow you to save, email, cite, download, or export citations or full articles. 

Database Suggestions

LION Search Example


Copyright © 2008-2019 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies