LibGuides: ANTH 195A: Research Design in Anthropology (Saldivar, Spring 2021): Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

My Library Account

Want to:

renew books?

save searches?

check ILL requests?

Forgot your password?

Call us at (805) 893-3491
or e-mail circ@library.ucsb.edu

Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Encyclopedia of American Studies This link opens in a new window
Published by Johns Hopkins University Press for the American Studies Association (ASA), the Encyclopedia of American Studies covers the history, philosophy, arts, and cultures of the United States in relation to the world, from pre-colonial days to the present, from various perspectives and the global American Studies movement. With over 800 online, searchable articles and accompanying bibliographies, related websites, illustrations, and supplemental material, the Encyclopedia of American Studies is the leading reference work for American Studies.
Date Coverage: Current information
Materials Indexed: Biographical Information; Factual Information
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World This link opens in a new window
This encyclopedia looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in the context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. Containing thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more, this new encyclopedia fills a need in this key area of religious studies.
Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures (EWIC) is an interdisciplinary, trans-historical, and global project. It brings together upwards of 1,000 scholars to write critical essays on women, Muslim and non-Muslim and Islamic cultures in every region where there have been significant Muslim populations. It aims to cover every topic for which there is significant research, examining these regions from the period just before the rise of Islam to the present. EWIC hopes both to offer the state of the art in the broad sweep of topics to inform the general audience and to take on cutting-edge issues to stimulate new research in new terrains.
Materials Indexed: Biographical Information; Essays
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of online reference books in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Materials Indexed: Books

Printed Sources

Archaeology in America: an Encyclopedia.Ref E159.5 A68 2009

Countries and their Cultures.Ref GN 307 C68 2001

Dictionary of Anthropology.Ref GN 307 D485 1997

Dictionary of Concepts in Cultural Anthropology.Ref GN 307 W56 1991

Encyclopedia of Anthropology.Ref GN 11 E63 2006

Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology.Ref GN 307 E52 1996

Encyclopedia of Prehistory. Ref GN 710 E53 2001

Encyclopedia of World Cultures. Ref GN 307 E53 1991

Encyclopedia of Environmental HistoryRef GF 10 E63 2004

Glossary of the Third World.Ref GN 307 K87 1989

Handbook of Ethical Research with Ethnocultural Populations.Ref GN 495.4 H36 2006

Handbook of North American Indians.Ref E 77 H25

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences. Ref H 41 I58 2001

Oxford Handbook of Mesoamerican Cultures: the Civilizations of Mexico and Central America.Ref F1218.6.O95 2001

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life.Ref GN 333 W67 1998