ANTH 195A: Research Design in Anthropology (Saldivar, Spring 2021): Articles and Research Methods

SAGE Research Methods provides full-text access to more than 1,000 social sciences-related books, reference works and journal articles published by SAGE. Included in SRM are two research methods series known as the Little Blue Books and the Little Green Books.

The Cases sub-collection provides access to more than 500 case studies. Cases are peer-reviewed and come with pedagogical tools including learning objectives and discussions questions.

The Datasets sub-collection is comprised of teaching datasets and instructional guides. These practice datasets are indexed by method and data type, and are designed for use in classroom exercises or in exam papers.

SRM also includes a series of original instructional videos created by SAGE to aid pedagogy in social science research.

A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Academic Search Complete includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. The database features some PDF content going back as far as 1867, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.

America: History and Life is a bibliographic database containing citations to articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. The database covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide.

Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of publications in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.

AnthroSource provides full-text anthropological resources from the publications of the American Anthropological Association. It contains more than 250,000 articles from AAA journals, newsletters, bulletins, and monographs covering a range of fields in anthropology.

Supports religious and theological scholarship in graduate education and faculty research. Contains thousands of citations from international titles and multi-author works in the field of religion. ATLA provides links to the full text of many of the articles indexed via ATLAS (ATLA Serials.)

The Biological Science Collection provides comprehensive coverage of biological science fields including animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, chemoreception, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, immunology genetics, health and safety science, oncogenes, entomology, and endocrinology neuroscience. The resource also includes access to MEDLINE®, and the ability to cross-search with over 30 subject-specialized abstract and citation databases.

The Ethnic NewsWatch database contains news, culture and history from 200 publications of the ethnic, minority and native press. Nearly 500,000 complete articles dating back to 1990 are available, along with archival material dating back to the mid 1980's

GenderWatch is a full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Publications include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, non-governmental-organization and special reports

Historical Abstracts is a bibliographic database containing citations to articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life)

The eHRAF Collection of Archaeology is modeled after the eHRAF Collection of Ethnography. It provides researchers and students access to archaeological materials for comparative studies within and across regions. Annual installments cover eight or more major archaeological/cultural traditions from around the world with at least 10,000 pages indexed according to a modified Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM) for quick retrieval of information. Each major tradition typically contains an overview by an expert and descriptive materials on 5 to 7 sites.

JoVE Journal: Biology includes techniques and experimental approaches in the fields of cellular, molecular, and organismal biology.

JSTOR allows searching of articles from its archival collection of journals in a wide range of subject areas by author and/or keywords taken from the titles, abstracts and/or full-text. Searches may be limited to a specific subject category of journals.

An index of over 1.6 million electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). To the extent possible, the index is limited to records of graduate-level theses that are freely available online.

An index of over 1.6 million electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). To the extent possible, the index is limited to records of graduate-level theses that are freely available online.

Oxford Bibliographies in Anthropology is an entirely new and unique type of reference tool that has been specially created to meet a great need among today’s students, scholars, and professionals. It offers more than other bibliography initiatives on- and offline by providing expert commentary to help students and scholars find, negotiate, and assess the large amount of information readily available to them. It facilitates research in a way that other guides cannot by providing direct links to online library catalogs and other online resources. Organizing the resource around discrete subject entries will allow for quick and easy navigation that users expect when working on screen.

PAIS Index includes both PAIS International, 1972 to present, with international coverage of materials in government, international relations, legislation, political science, statistics, and related areas and PAIS Archive, the historical segment, comprising a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, Volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976.

Project MUSE is a searchable collection of hundreds of university press and other journals. Searching is available by author, year, journal title and keywords from titles, subjects or full-text.  Older issues of many (but not all) of the journals are available in JSTOR.

The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities in North America and from around the globe.  The database includes citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Dissertations & Theses offers UCSB users access to UC dissertations in full-text digital format starting with titles published from 1997 forward.

The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities in North America and from around the globe.  The database includes citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Dissertations & Theses offers UCSB users access to UC dissertations in full-text digital format starting with titles published from 1997 forward.

Citations and abstracts for millions of articles in medicine, life science, and health administration. Includes the full contents of MEDLINE, plus "in process" citations for recent articles which have not yet been added to MEDLINE, and some additional references from life sciences journals.

A searchable index of full text journals from SAGE. The searchable database consists of bibliographic records (indexed summaries or abstracts) as well as the complete text of each journal article. Every bibliographic record in the Collection links to the appropriate full-text in PDF format. Journals cover topics in area studies, ethnic and gender studies, humanities, health sciences, materials science and the social sciences.

CSA Sociological Abstracts Database is a primary resource for accessing the latest research sponsored in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database draws information from an international selection of thousands of journals and other sources.

Web of Science consists of nine databases: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Science Citation Index Expanded for journal aritcles; Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science and Conference Proceedings - Social Sciences and Humanities; Book Citation Index - Science and Book Citation Index - Social Sciences and Humanities; and Current Chemical Reactions and Index Chemicus. Web of Science covers thousands of research journals, and extensive collections of conference proceedings and books. across hundreds of disciplines