Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Things to Know
- Contact your librarian Yao Chen (email@example.com) for research assistance.
- Electronic resources are accessible off campus via either the proxy server or the Virtual Private Network (VPN). (Some East Asian language databases only work with VPN.)
- Contact (firstname.lastname@example.org) directly for any VPN questions, troubleshooting, and support.
Get Started with Secondary Sources
UCSB Library Search Guide - Includes simple and advanced search, ILL, Course Reserves, etc.
Traditional Chinese Medicine (via Oxford Bibliographies in Chinese Studies) - DOI: 10.1093/OBO/9780199920082-0039
Journal Article and Book Chapter Databases
- Bibliography of Asian Studies - Includes western-language articles and book chapters on all topics on Asia (especially humanities and social sciences).
- Historical Abstracts - Includes articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada.
- America: History and Life - Includes articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
- PubMed - Includes articles in medicine, life science, and health administration.
Books via Library's Catalog
Useful subject headings:
- Medicine, Chinese
- Medicine, Chinese -- History
- Medicine, Chinese Traditional
- Medicine, Chinese Traditional -- history
- Medical literature -- China
- Medicine, Chinese -- United States
- Medicine, Chinese -- United States -- History
- Medicine, Chinese Traditional -- United States
- Medicine, Chinese Traditional -- United States -- History
- Plague -- China
- Epidemics -- China
Citation Tracing as A Search Strategy
- Access digitized print books and journals in HathiTrust as long as one of UC campuses owns a print copy of the title.
- Step-by-step instruction
- Set up "Library Links" to access UCSB licensed articles (follow the instructions created by Stanford and don't forget to change the search to UCSB)
- Search tips (University of Pittsburgh)
Search Primary Sources
Books via UC Library Search
Archives, correspondence, diaries, documents, interviews, maps, manuscripts, microfilm, oral history/histories, pamphlets, personal narratives, photographs, pictorial works, sources, speeches.
- ProQuest News and Newspapers Databases - Historical and current US newspaper databases, including major newspapers, such as Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, San Francisco Chronicle, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.
- Access World News - Provides full-text information and perspectives from U.S. and international news sources.
- Lexis Uni - Provides access to 17,000+ US and international news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis.
- More News Sources
- ARTstor - Includes 2.5+ million high resolution images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. ARTstor requires users to create an account and login before images can be downloaded.
- Peter Parker's Lam Qua Paintings Collection (Yale University) - Includes paintings and papers of Peter Parker (1804-1888), a medical missionary and diplomat to China.
- Chinese Public Health Campaign Slides 1950s-70s (Johns Hopkins University) - Includes 415 educational public health campaign slides that were produced in mainland China from the 1950s -1970s.
Selected Chinese Language Sources
Copyright © 2008-2019 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact Us • Policies