Admin Sign In 

WRIT 109GS (Global Studies)  Tags: careers communication global  

Professional Writing for Global Careers
Last update: Nov 05th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.ucsb.edu/writ109gs  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

Off Campus?

Before searching, log into the proxy server and return here.

Items marked UCSB only are available only to UCSB students, faculty, and staff from off campus.

 

Citation Guide

Need help with citations?
   See the Citation Guide


Have a citation?
    Use the Citation Linker to locate the article.



 
 

Professional Writing for Global Careers Research Guide

You may also want to check out the guides for  Global and International Studies.
COUNTRY OVERVIEW
   Search: country review [countryname] look for Social overview, search etiquette

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country Intelligence EIU Profiles and Reports provide analysis and forecasts of the political, economic, social, and business environment for more than 180 countries.

Doing Business, the World Bank Group Use the dropdowns: Select a topic and Select an economy

STAT-USA ucsb only
Go to Globus/NTDB; then Market and Country Research, then Country Commercial Guides and Market Research Reports. Or, go to Globus/NTDB; then go to the Trade Library. Look at what is available in the drop down lists.

JOURNAL  ARTICLES
                                                                                                                                          
Business Source Complete ucsb only.
The index to trade and scholarly publications in business, economics, and related fields.
   Included are CountryWatch Reports, titled "xxx [country name] Country Review". These include a 'Social Overview' with a section on cultural etiquette. For the articles, suggested search terms (can use as "subject terms": communication, business communication, intercultural communication, business etiquette, communication and culture.

All four of the following databases can be search at once by using  Social Sciences Databases via CSA.

Communication Abstracts  ucsb only
Primary index to communication research. Suggested search phrases: business communication, cultural differences, intercultural communication, cross-cultural communication, ethnic differences, cross-national communication, cross-cultural research, organizational communication.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts 
ucsb only
Primary index to linguistics research. Suggested search phrases: business, cross cultural communication, cultural differences, cultural factors, cultural change, and various terms describing countries and languages.

Sociological Abstracts 
ucsb only
Primary index to sociology research. Suggested search phrases: business, crosscultural differences , communication, crossnational differences, sociolinguistics.

PsycINFO
ucsb only
Primary index to psychology and related fields, including communication. Suggested search phrases: business, cross cultural differences, globalization, communication.


LexisNexis Academic ucsb only
Good for for news - general or business.
Use General search
    Look at the options listed on the left when search results are displayed.

NEWS SOURCES

 Access World News (NewsBank) ucsb only
Full text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources.

World Newspapers, Magazines, and News Sites in English


OTHER ONLINE RESOURCES


Post Reports - these reports discuss Americans' living conditions in foreign countries.

Associations
Associations can be useful sources of information from organizations involved in a business or activity.  Once you find a potentially useful organization, go to the web site and see what kind of research and publications they make available.
To find an association try searching Google:
             [keyword] association OR society
                 (OR must be in upper case)

PRINT RESOURCES
Reference books (non-circulating):

Countries and Their Cultures; Main Ref GN 307 C68 2001
Encyclopedia of World Cultures; Main Ref GN 307 E53 1991
Glossary of the Third World; Main Ref GN 307 K87 1989
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life; Main Ref GN 333 W67 1998
Also try a keyword search in the Library Catalog on:
international business communication*

 

 


 

Questions?

Profile ImageBeverly Ryan
Contact Info:
Davidson Library, Room 2561
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
805-893-7225

ryan@library.ucsb.edu
Send Email

Subjects:
Economics, Computer Science, Military Science

 

Copyright © 2008 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
Davidson Library (805) 893-2478 • Arts Library (805) 893-2850 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies
Description

  Loading content... please wait