Off Campus?
Before searching, log into the proxy server and return here.
Items marked
are available only to UCSB students, faculty, and staff from off campus.
Comments (0)
Citation Guide
Business/Industry Codes
North
American Industrial Classification System (NAICS). [Ref HF1042 N67 2007]
Used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business
establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing
statistical data related to the U.S. business economy. The SIC was replaced by
the NAICS starting in 1997, but data is still available with SIC-based codes.
Lists and describes SIC Codes, a system that categorizes
businesses by type. SIC Codes are then referred to in a variety of business and
economic resources. Being replaced by NAICS Codes.
Industry Analysis
See the Guide for Business for more resources.
Click on the
button to find to full-text if it is not available directly in the database.
button to find to full-text if it is not available directly in the database.ARTICLE DATABASES
Business Source Complete
.
The index and full-text of trade and scholarly publications in business, economics, and related fields.
The index and full-text of trade and scholarly publications in business, economics, and related fields.
Search your business or industry, or search the NAICS code.
Always look at the options in the column on the left, for example:
Trade publications
Then try adding:
datamonitor (Datamonitor is a leading business information company specializing in industry or company analyses.)
trends
environmental*
sustainab*
innovation* or technolog*
statistics
statistics
Good for news - general or business.
In left column click on News, then All News to get a more advanced search screen.
In left column click on News, then All News to get a more advanced search screen.
Suggestions:
Specify date: 2 or 5 previous years
Select Source: U.S. Newspapers and Wires
For companies involved in your business or industry use Combined Search, check Company Profiles.
Look at the options listed on the left when search results are displayed.
Standard and Poor's Industry Surveys. [Ref HC 106.6 S74]
Classifies U.S. economy into 52 industries, with detailed essays on each. Includes statistics on major companies in each industry. Includes index by named company.
Associations
Associations can be useful sources of information from organizations involved in a business or activity.
To find an association try searching Google:
Associations can be useful sources of information from organizations involved in a business or activity.
To find an association try searching Google:
[keyword] association OR society
(OR must be in upper case)
(OR must be in upper case)
Using Google
[industry] trends
Compiles the TRI data on toxic chemical releases and waste management activities reported annually by certain industries as well as federal facilities and makes it available through data files and database tools.
Find Industry reports, Company profiles and Market Statistics
This version is for public (free) reports only
Ceres
National network of investors, environmental organizations and other public interest groups working with companies and investors to address sustainability challenges such as global climate change.
National network of investors, environmental organizations and other public interest groups working with companies and investors to address sustainability challenges such as global climate change.
Encyclopedia of American Industries
A three-volume business reference that provides detailed, comprehensive information on a wide range of industries in every realm of American business. The work consists of more than 1,000 detailed profiles of the manufacturing and service industries.
A three-volume business reference that provides detailed, comprehensive information on a wide range of industries in every realm of American business. The work consists of more than 1,000 detailed profiles of the manufacturing and service industries.
Business Statistics of the United States. [Ref HF 3002 U5]
U.S. historical and current economic statistics, includes exports, prices, employment, production, etc., with some data broken down by industry.
U.S. historical and current economic statistics, includes exports, prices, employment, production, etc., with some data broken down by industry.
International directory of company histories [ Ref HD2721 .I58 1988]
Provides information about the inception, emergence and current status of new and established industries and business segments that are pioneering new technologies, introducing break-through marketing strategies or implementing innovative means of serving new markets.
STATISTICAL RESOURCES
Additional statistics
Economic Census and County Business Patterns and Zip Code Business Patterns
Find a NAICS Code for your type of business and enter it in the Industry Statistics Sampler (upper right) of the Economic Census. The code can also be used to get more local information about the industry at the County/Zip Code Patterns site.
Find a NAICS Code for your type of business and enter it in the Industry Statistics Sampler (upper right) of the Economic Census. The code can also be used to get more local information about the industry at the County/Zip Code Patterns site.
INDUSTRY RATIOS
Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios.
Reserve Book Service HF5681.R25 .A45
Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios.
Reserve Book Service HF5681.R25 I52
Questions? |
Contact Info Davidson Library, Rm 2523 A3 Univ. of California, Santa Barbara Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010 805-893-8724 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |

Loading...
