Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Following are the dictionaries and encyclopedias we have that are useful for research in Environmental Studies or Environmental Science and Management.
Encyclopedias can be a great source of background information for your topic and can help you find words to use for further research.
You will find books with Reference in front of the call number on the 2nd floor, across from the Ocean Elevators. Online resources are available on campus or off-campus for current students, staff, and faculty. Check the library location guide for book locations.
A Dictionary of Ecology by
"Written in a clear, accessible style, this authoritative and wide-ranging dictionary contains entries on all aspects of ecology and related environmental scientific disciplines such as biogeography, genetics, soil science, geomorphology, atmospheric science, and oceanography. Entries cover topics such as plant and animal physiology, animal behaviour, pollution, conservation, habitat management, population, evolution, environmental pollution, climatology, and meteorology. It also includes many line drawings and useful appendices."--Oxford Reference dictionary home page
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2015
A Dictionary of Environment and Conservation by
With over 8500 entries, this informative dictionary addresses the social, legal, political and economic aspects of the environment and conservation as well as the scientific terms.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2017
Encyclopedia of American Environmental History by
The Impact of Human-Environmental Interactions. From the Columbian Exchange beginning in 1492, the development of slavery as a Southern institution, and the westward movement to the dust bowl, the Endangered Species Act, and the destruction caused by the BP oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico, human interaction with the environment in America has been continuous, open-ended, and dynamic. How communities and individuals have used land, water, and natural resources has profoundly shaped U.S. history, influencing settlement patterns, social relations, cultural life, economic systems, and political institutions. In the past generation, scholars have examined these human-environmental interactions in myriad ways, giving birth to the exciting, new field of environmental history. By shedding light on new issues and recasting familiar views of major events and developments in our nation's past, environmental historians have reinterpreted American history in a way that is gripping, immediate, and timely. Definitive Coverage of Every Aspect of Environmental History The essential reference to this critical topic and the only work of its kind, the four-volume Encyclopedia of American Environmental History begins with eight broad thematic essays, which highlight the major issues and topics in environmental history and serve as an entryway to other, more specific articles throughout the reference. Arranged alphabetically, more than 750 articles cover every significant issue, event, law, and figure in U.S. environmental history. All articles are written and signed by leading environmental historians, scholars, and experts, many of them members of the American Society for Environmental History (ASEH). The Board of Advisers is composed of a wide array of distinguished historians, and many of them are ASEH founders and members. Useful reference features include 200 illustrations, 100 original documents, 80 maps, 20 charts, a master chronology, bibliography, and an index.
Call Number: Reference GE150 .E53 2011 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2010
Encyclopedia of Biological Invasions by
This pioneering encyclopedia illuminates a topic at the forefront of global ecology--biological invasions, or organisms that come to live in the wrong place. Written by leading scientists from around the world, Encyclopedia of Biological Invasions addresses all aspects of this subject at a global level--including invasions by animals, plants, fungi, and bacteria--in succinct, alphabetically arranged articles. Scientifically uncompromising, yet clearly written and free of jargon, the volume encompasses fields of study including biology, demography, geography, ecology, evolution, sociology, and natural history. Featuring many cross-references, suggestions for further reading, illustrations, an appendix of the world's worst 100 invasive species, a glossary, and more, this is an essential reference for anyone who needs up-to-date information on this important topic. Encyclopedia of Biological Invasions features articles on: * Well-known invasive species such the zebra mussel, chestnut blight, cheatgrass, gypsy moth, Nile perch, giant African snail, and Norway rat * Regions with especially large numbers of introduced species including the Great Lakes, Mediterranean Sea, Hawaiian Islands, Australia, and New Zealand. * Conservation, ecological, economic, and human and animal health impacts of invasions around the world * The processes and pathways involved in invasion * Management of introduced species
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2011
Encyclopedia of Coastal Science by
This thoroughly revised and expanded edition of the much acclaimed Encyclopedia of Coastal Science edited by M. Schwarz (Springer 2005), presents an interdisciplinary approach that includes biology, ecology, engineering, geology, geomorphology, oceanography, remote sensing, technological advances, and anthropogenic impacts on coasts. Within its covers the Encyclopedia of Coastal Science, 2nd ed. brings together and coordinates many aspects of coastal and related sciences that are widely dispersed in the scientific literature. The broadly interdisciplinary subject matter of this volume features contributions by over 280 well-known international specialists in their respective fields and provides an abundance of figures in full-color with line drawings and photographs, and other illustrations such as satellite images. Not only does this volume offer a large number of new and revised entries, it also includes an illustrated glossary of coastal geomorphology, extensive bibliographic citations, and cross-references. It provides a comprehensive reference work for students, scientific and technical professionals as well as administrators, managers, and informed lay readers. Reviews from the first edition: Awarded for Excellence in Scholarly and Professional Publishing: "Honorable Mention", in the category Single Volume/Science from the Association of American Publishers (AAP) 2005. "The contents and approach are interdisciplinary and, under a single cover, one finds subjects normally scattered throughout scientific literature." "The topics cover a broad spectrum, so does the geographic range of the contributors. ... besides geomorphologists, biologists, ecologists, engineers, geographers, geologists, oceanographers and technologists will find information related to their respective fields ... . Inclusion of appendices ... is very useful. The illustrated glossary of geomorphology will prove very useful for many of us ... ." Roger H. Charlier, Journal of Coastal Research, Volume 21, Issue 4, Page 866, July 2005. "It is an excellent work that should be included in any carefully selected list of best science reference books of the year "Summing Up: Highly recommended. " M.L. Larsgaard, Choice, Volume 43, Issue 6, Page 989, February 2006. "This volume is a comprehensive collection of articles covering all aspects of the subject: social and economic, engineering, coastal processes, habitats, erosion, geological features, research and observation." ... "As with similar works reviewed, I chose to read articles on familiar topics to see if they covered the expected, and some on unfamiliar topics to see if they could be readily understood. The book passed both tests, but the style is denser and more fact-filled than most of the encyclopedias I have reviewed." John Goodier, Reference Reviews, Volume 20, Issue 2, pages 35-36, 2006
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2019
Encyclopedia of Deserts by
Encyclopedia of Deserts represents a milestone: it is the first comprehensive reference to the first comprehensive reference to deserts and semideserts of the world. Approximately seven hundred entries treat subjects ranging from desert survival to the way deserts are formed. Topics include biology (birds, mammals, reptiles, amphibians, fishes, invertebrates, plants, bacteria, physiology, evolution), geography, climatology, geology, hydrology, anthropology, and history. The thirty-seven contributors, including volume editor Michael A. Mares, have had extensive careers in deserts research, encompassing all of the world?s arid and semiarid regions. The Encyclopedia opens with a subject list by topic, an organizational guide that helps the reader grasp interrelationships and complexities in desert systems. Each entry concludes with cross-references to other entries in the volume, inviting the reader to embark on a personal expedition into fascinating, previously unknown terrain. In addition a list of important readings facilitates in-depth study of each topic. An exhaustive index permits quick access to places, topics, and taxonomic listings of all plants and animals discussed. More than one hundred photographs, drawings, and maps enhance our appreciation of the remarkable life, landforms, history, and challenges of the world?s arid land.
Call Number: Reference GB611 .E65 2017 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2017
Encyclopedia of Ecology by
The groundbreaking Encyclopedia of Ecology provides an authoritative and comprehensive coverage of the complete field of ecology, from general to applied. It includes over 500 detailed entries, structured to provide the user with complete coverage of the core knowledge, accessed as intuitively as possible, and heavily cross-referenced. Written by an international team of leading experts, this revolutionary encyclopedia will serve as a one-stop-shop to concise, stand-alone articles to be used as a point of entry for undergraduate students, or as a tool for active researchers looking for the latest information in the field. Entries cover a range of topics, including: Behavioral Ecology Ecological Processes Ecological Modeling Ecological Engineering Ecological Indicators Ecological Informatics Ecosystems Ecotoxicology Evolutionary Ecology General Ecology Global Ecology Human Ecology System Ecology
Call Number: Reference QH540.4 .E515 2008 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy by
Examines the philosophical and ethical issues underlying contemporary and historical environmental issues, policies, and debates. Covers concepts, institutions, topics, events and people, including global warming, animal rights, environmental movements, alternative energy, green chemistry, industrial ecology, and eco-sabotage.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues
The third edition contains nearly 800 alphabetically arranged articles. They cover a wide variety of topics, including endangered animal species, air pollution, national parks, environmental legislation, oil spills, alternative energy sources, and global climate change. In recognition of the fact that people spend an overwhelming proportion of their time in human-made environments, essays also cover such topics as sick building syndrome, noise pollution, smog, and urban planning.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2019
Encyclopedia of Environmental Science and Engineering by
"The authors ... continue the pursuit of new knowledge, calculated to bring new fruits of health, safety, and comfort to man and his environs. The charms, as well as the subtle hazards, of the terms 'conservation, preservation, and ecology' need to be crystallized so that the public and their decision-makers practice this complex art with clearer conception and perception than is apparent in recent bitter confrontations." --From the Foreword to the Fourth Edition by Abel Wolman What's New in This Edition: New entries on environmental and occupational toxicology, geoengineering, and lead abatement Twenty-five significantly updated entries, including expanded discussion of water supplies and waste water treatment, biomass and renewable energy, and international public health issues An expanded list of acronyms and abbreviations Encyclopedia of Environmental Science and Engineering, Sixth Edition is still the most comprehensive, authoritative reference available in the field. This monumental two-volume encyclopedia now includes entries on topics ranging from acid rain, air pollution, and community health to environmental law, instrumentation, modeling, alternative energy, radioactive waste, and water treatment. The broad coverage includes highly specialized topics as well as those that transcend traditional disciplinary boundaries, reflecting the interdisciplinary skills and knowledge required by environmental researchers and engineers. Featuring expert contributors representing industry, academia, and government agencies, the encyclopedia presents fundamental concepts and applications in environmental science and engineering. The entries are supported by extensive figures, photographs, tables, and equations. This sixth edition includes new material on water supplies and wastewater treatment, biomass and renewable energy, and international public health issues. New entries cover environmental and occupational toxicology, geoengineering, and lead abatement. The Encyclopedia of Environmental Science and Engineering provides a view of the field that helps readers understand, manage, and respond to threats to the human environment. Also Available Online This Taylor & Francis encyclopedia is also available through online subscription, offering a variety of extra benefits for researchers, students, and librarians, including:  Citation tracking and alerts  Active reference linking  Saved searches and marked lists  HTML and PDF format options Contact Taylor and Francis for more information or to inquire about subscription options and print/online combination packages. US: (Tel) 1.888.318.2367; (E-mail) e-reference@taylorandfrancis.com International: (Tel) +44 (0) 20 7017 6062; (E-mail) online.sales@tandf.co.uk
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2012
Encyclopedia of Environment and Society by
Provides issues, concepts, theories, examples, problems, and policies, with the goal of explicating an emerging way of thinking about people and nature. Written by experts from incredibly diverse fields.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2007
Encyclopedia of Environmetrics by
A comprehensive overview of environmetric research and its applications... Environmetrics covers the development and application of quantitative methods in the environmental sciences. It provides essential tools for understanding, predicting, and controlling the impacts of agents, both man-made and natural, which affect the environment. Basic and applied research in this area covers a broad range of topics. Primary among these are the quantitative sciences, such as statistics, probability and applied mathematics, chemometrics, and econometrics. Applications are also important, for example in, ecology and environmental biology, public health, atmospheric science, geology, engineering, risk management, and regulatory/governmental policy amongst others. * Divided into 12 sections, the Encyclopedia brings together over 600 detailed articles which have been carefully selected and reviewed through the collaborative efforts of the Editors-in-Chief and the appropriate Section Editor * Presented in alphabetical order all the articles will include an explanatory introduction, extensive cross-referencing and an up-to-date bibliography providing literature references for further reading. Presenting state of the art information in a readable, highly accessible style, the scope and coverage provided by the Encyclopedia of Environmetrics will ensure its place as the landmark reference for the many scientists, educators, and decision-makers working across this multidisciplinary field. An essential reference tool for university libraries, research laboratories, government institutions and consultancies concerned with the environmental sciences, the Encyclopedia of Environmetrics brings together for the first time, comprehensive coverage of the full range of topics, techniques and applications covered by this multidisciplinary field. There is currently no central reference source which addresses the needs of this multidisciplinary community. This new Encyclopedia will fill this gap by providing a comprehensive source of relevant fundamental concepts in environmetric research, development and applications for statisticians, mathematicians, economists, environmentalists, ecologist, government officials and policy makers.
Call Number: Reference GE45.S73 E53 2002 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2001
Encyclopedia of Estuaries by
The Encyclopedia of Estuaries, part of Springer's Encyclopedia of Earth Sciences Series, provides a single, state-of-the-art, comprehensive reference volume on estuaries for research scientists, educators, students, and others. Consisting of almost 270 subject entries in an easy-to-use format, this volume covers the physical, chemical, and biological characteristics of estuaries. In total more than 225 authors from around the world have contributed to the encyclopedia on such diverse subjects as biotic communities, essential habitats, food webs, fisheries, hydrology, pollution, conservation, and many more. The Encyclopedia of Estuaries will meet the needs of professionals worldwide by supplying detailed information from world-class estuarine and marine scientists as well as experts from other fields of study.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2015
Encyclopedia of Global Change by
Mapping the relationship between human society and the Earth, the Encyclopedia of Global Change is the first general reference guide to the impact of politics, population, economics, and technology on the planet. Containing over 300 original, signed articles by distinguished scholars, it isthe comprehensive work for this multi-discipline, high-profile field.The Encyclopedia synethsizes current knowledge on natural and human-made changes in the Earth's physical , chemical, and biological systems and the effects of these changes on society. Areas such as altered ecosystems, climate change, food supply, water production and consumption, population, andthe political impact of global change are covered in detail. And the clearly written articles also include responses to global modification, agreements and associations, institutions, policies, biographies, and case studies.Enhanced by 1,500 illustrations, extensive cross-references, bibliographies, and an index, the Encyclopedia of Global Change links essential knowledge across many fields-geography, geology, geophysics, atmospheric science, political science, economics, technology, and others-in a resource that isboth accessible and authoritative. The jargon-free language makes it an excellent work for the professional scholar as well as the interested general reader.
Call Number: Reference GE149 .E47 2002 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2001
Encyclopedia of Global Environmental Change by
THE DEFINITIVE RESOURCE The Encyclopedia of Global Environmental Change is the first major reference work in this multi-disciplinary field, and presents... * Outstanding authorship and high quality editing * Comprehensive coverage with over 3,800 pages in 5 volumes * Over 500 articles, 100 biographies, 150 definitions and 100 acronyms * Extensive bibliographies with up-to-date references ABOUT THE ENCYCLOPEDIA The Wiley Encyclopedia of Global Environmental Change has been published to meet the need for a comprehensive integrated reference in this burgeoning field. It consists of five volumes of inter-related material: Volume 1: The Earth System: Physical and Chemical Dimensions of Global Environmental Change Volume 2: The Earth System: Biological and Ecological Dimensions of Global Environmental Change Volume 3: Causes and Consequences of Global Environmental Change Volume 4: Responding to Global Environmental Change Volume 5: Social and Economic Dimensions of Global Environmental Change * Each volume contains articles of between 1,000 and 10,000 words on major topics * Articles contain an abstract written for the non-specialist, followed by the main text which provides greater detail for the specialist * Biographies of distinguished environmental scientists discuss their contributions to a better understanding of global environmental change * Definitions of international terms and descriptions of acronyms of international and regional programs and agencies provide a quick reference source for the environmental scientist and student * Presents a thematic approach and includes theory, empirical studies and applications emphasising the inter-relationship between various disciplines and systems
Call Number: Reference GE149 .E443 2001 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2001
Encyclopedia of Global Justice by
The Encyclopedia is an international, interdisciplinary, and collaborative project, spanning all the relevant areas of scholarship related to issues of global justice, and edited and advised by leading scholars from around the world. The wide-ranging entries present the latest ideas on this complex subject by authors who are at the cutting edge of inquiry. The Encyclopedia sets the tone and direction of this increasingly important area of scholarship for years to come. The entries number around 500 and consist of essays of 300 to 5000 words. The inclusion and length of entries are based on their significance to the topic of global justice, regardless of their importance in other areas.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2011
Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change by
2008 Best Reference, Library Journal "The impact of global warming is rapidly evolving. This valuable resource provides an excellent historical overview and framework of this topic and serves as a general resource for geography, oceanography, biology, climatology, history, and many other subjects. A useful reference for a wide audience of business professionals and government officials as well as for the general public; essential for both academic and public libraries." -Library Journal "This is a useful set because of the individual country entries as well as the general-audience language . . ." - Booklist (Starred Review) The Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change helps readers learn about the astonishingly intricate processes that make ours the only planet known to be habitable. These three volumes include more than 750 articles that explore major topics related to global warming and climate change-ranging geographically from the North Pole to the South Pole, and thematically from social effects to scientific causes. Key Features Contains a 4-color, 16-page insert that is a comprehensive introduction to the complexities of global warming Includes coverage of the science and history of climate change, the polarizing controversies over climate-change theories, the role of societies, the industrial and economic factors, and the sociological aspects of climate change Emphasizes the importance of the effects, responsibilities, and ethics of climate change Presents contributions from leading scholars and institutional experts in the geosciences Serves as a general resource for geography, oceanography, biology, climatology, history, and many other subjects The Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change provides a primarily nonscientific resource
Call Number: Reference QC981.8.G56 E47 2008 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Hydrological Sciences by
With the increasing pressures on the availability and exploitation of fresh water resources through population increase, pollution and degradation of resources, and variations in distribution from regional and global change in the climate, compilation of knowledge in this area has become a prerequisite for education and training of practising and research hydrologists. The Encyclopedia of Hydrological Sciences is the definitive research level multi-volume treatment of this important topic. Written and edited by leading worldwide authorities in the field, and comprising nearly 200 substantial articles, the Encyclopedia provides detailed, informed coverage of the subject. Organised into 17 themed parts for the reader's ease of navigation, it offers up-to-date, scientifically rigorous information on all key aspects of the subject, from sub-catchment to the global scale, in a convenient and credible manner. * Written by over 200 contributors * Available both in print and online * Ideal for researchers in both academia and industry
Call Number: GB655 .E527 2005 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of Islands by
Islands have captured the imagination of scientists and the public for centuries--unique and rare environments, their isolation makes them natural laboratories for ecology and evolution. This authoritative, alphabetically arranged reference, featuring more than 200 succinct articles by leading scientists from around the world, provides broad coverage of all the island sciences. But what exactly is an island? The volume editors define it here as any discrete habitat isolated from other habitats by inhospitable surroundings. The Encyclopedia of Islands examines many such insular settings--oceanic and continental islands as well as places such as caves, mountaintops, and whale falls at the bottom of the ocean. This essential, one-stop resource, extensively illustrated with color photographs, clear maps, and graphics will introduce island science to a wide audience and spur further research on some of the planet's most fascinating habitats.
Call Number: GB471 .E53 2009 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of Lakes and Reservoirs by
Lakes and reservoirs hold about 90% of the world's surface fresh water, but overuse, water withdrawal and pollution of these bodies puts some one billion people at risk. The Encyclopedia of Lakes and Reservoirs reviews the physical, chemical and ecological characteristics of lakes and reservoirs, and describes their uses and environmental state trends in different parts of the world. Superbly illustrated throughout, it includes some 200 entries in a range of topics, including acidification, artificialisation, canals, climate change effects, dams, dew ponds, drainage, eutrofication, evaporation, fisheries, hydro-electric power, nutrients, organic pollution, paleolimnology, reservoir capacities and depths, sedimentation, water resources and more.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2012
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Wiley is pleased to announce the recent acquisition of the prestigious Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (ELS) from the Nature Publishing Group. "The most ambitious single source reference source ever produced in the biological sciences" --American Reference Books Annual Spanning the entire spectrum of life science research, the Encyclopedia features more than 3,000 specially commissioned and peer-reviewed articles. These concentrate primarily on the molecular and cellular life sciences, including biochemical topics, methods and techniques. Applied areas of science are also included on a selective basis, as are biographies and general interest articles on ethics and the history of science. Articles are divided into three categories indicating their level of complexity: Introductory articles ELS features more than 1,400 introductory level articles. These have been written primarily for undergraduates and non-specialists requiring the basic concepts of a particular subject. Scientists and researchers looking to extend their knowledge outside their own specific field of interest will also find these articles useful. Advanced articles Over 1,800 advanced articles provide more detailed discussions of specialised subjects, at a level equivalent to that found in graduate level texts. Keynote articles Written by leading international scientists, these keynote articles cover hot topics and controversial issues. All articles have been rigorously peer-reviewed and edited prior to publication by an international Editorial Advisory Board of 180 subject specialist advisors. Most articles are accompanied by colour illustrations and tables, with appendix and glossary material providing essential information for the non-specialist, including biochemical and taxonomic information, acronyms/synonyms, units and other technical data. "In particular, the illustrations are excellent..." --Microbiology Today The ELS provides an excellent source of information for undergraduates, graduates, post-graduates, teachers/lecturers as well as professionals and researchers working in the biomedical sciences and related areas. Although chapters on more complex subjects have been written primarily for those with a scientific background, unnecessary technical jargon is avoided, enabling the material to be accessed by the non-specialist. "This resource is a must-have for all biological sciences libraries and most larger academic and public libraries. It will be used often by undergraduate and graduate biology students, scientists, researchers, professors and government employees and journalists." --American Reference Books Annual
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences by
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences 2e is a new 6-volume online reference work, pulling together all the key information in one source from the leading publisher in the field. This second edition is online, offering the user greater flexibility, accessibility, and most importantly, usability with 24 hour access, multi-user access, remote access and excellent search functionality. Structured for success, each article contains a glossary, an introduction, a reference section and a wealth of cross-referenced links to premium and related material all accessible in a mouse-click, making complicated, time consuming research a thing of the past. *Approximately 500 articles covering the breadth and depth of the field with over 30% new and updated content reflecting the latest research in the field *Greater coverage of climate, remote sensing, and data modeling, with greater consideration of economic and political aspects provides a broad view of the field *Online availability facilitates easier research and increased productivity
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of Organic, Sustainable, and Local Food by
A comprehensive compilation of entries illuminates the key trends, activities, and themes in organic, sustainable, and local food, covering consumers, organizations, farming, policies, and much more. The Encyclopedia of Organic, Sustainable, and Local Food pulls together a fascinating array of diverse, interdisciplinary topics to provide a thorough overview of our current alternative food system. With increasing attention focused on organic and local food, many people are attracted to these sustainable food choices. Yet despite its popularity, there are misconceptions and a general lack of understanding about organic and local food. This encyclopedia illuminates social concerns, economic trends, policy influences, and ecological terms to provide a comprehensive overview. Contributions from expert authors from government agencies, research universities, and private organizations provide key information on each of these relevant topics. Eating is a basic human activity, yet many people do not know where their food comes from. This book helps readers fill the gap between the trendy and the factual. 150 comprehensive, A-Z entries cover all aspects of organic food and farming, local food production and consumption, and sustainable food initiatives A chronology of the years 1860-2009 includes over 40 events, detailing the history and evolution of organic and local food 30 photographs depict current themes in sustainable farming and organic/local food A bibliography lists key references for readers who wish to follow up on a specific theme
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of Soil Science by
The Encyclopedia of Soil Science provides a comprehensive, alphabetical treatment of basic soil science in a single volume. It constitutes a wide ranging and authorative collection of some 160 academic articles covering the salient aspects of soil physics, chemistry, biology, fertility, technology, genesis, morphology, classification and geomorphology. With increased usage of soil for world food production, building materials, and waste repositories, demand has grown for a better global understanding of soil and its processes. longer articles by leading authorities from around the world are supplemented by some 430 definitions of common terms in soil sciences.
Call Number: S592 .S53 2008 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2016
Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences by
Countless professionals and students who use statistics in their work rely on the multi-volume Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences as a superior and unique source of information on statistical theory, methods, and applications. This new edition (available in both print and on-line versions) is designed to bring the encyclopedia in line with the latest topics and advances made in statistical science over the past decade--in areas such as computer-intensive statistical methodology, genetics, medicine, the environment, and other applications. Written by over 600 world-renowned experts (including the editors), the entries are self-contained and easily understood by readers with a limited statistical background. With the publication of this second edition in 16 printed volumes, the Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences retains its position as a cutting-edge reference of choice for those working in statistics, biostatistics, quality control, economics, sociology, engineering, probability theory, computer science, biomedicine, psychology, and many other areas.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2004
Encyclopedia of Sustainability by
This three-volume encyclopedia explores the concept of sustainability in the contexts of the environment, economics, and justice. * Includes biological sketches of important leaders including Mohammad Yunnus, Wangari Maathai, and Karl Henrik RobËrt * Offers over 50 illustrations and drawings and a variety of helpful maps * Appendices of original documents not easily located otherwise * A guide to related topics opens each volume, allowing quick reference to entries by theme *A "Definitions and Contexts" section unique to each volume provides readers with a crash course in the often complex language of sustainability
Call Number: Reference GE10 .E528 2010 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology
The Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology (ESST) addresses the grand challenge for science and engineering today. It provides unprecedented, peer-reviewed coverage of sustainability science and technology with contributions from nearly 1,000 of the worlds leading scientists and engineers, who write on more than 600 separate topics in 42 sections. ESST establishes a foundation for the many sustainability and policy evaluations being performed in institutions worldwide. An indispensable resource for scientists and engineers in developing new technologies and for applying existing technologies to sustainability, the Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology is presented at the university and professional level needed for scientists, engineers, and their students to support real progress in sustainability science and technology. Although the emphasis is on science and technology rather than policy, the Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology is also a comprehensive and authoritative resource for policy makers who want to understand the scope of research and development and how these bottom-up innovations map on to the sustainability challenge
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2019
Encyclopedia of Sustainable Management by
This encyclopedia is the most comprehensive and up-to-date source of reference for sustainability in business and management. It covers both traditional and emerging concepts and terms and is fully international in its scope. More than 1.500 contributions of internationally renowned experts provide a definitive access to the knowledge in the area of sustainable and responsible management. All actors in the field will find reliable and up to date definitions and explanations of the key terms and concepts of management in this reference work. The Encyclopedia of Sustainable Management represents all aspects of management and business conduct. It takes sustainability as a management concept that gives due credit to the complexity and diverging constraints in which businesses and corporations act today, and it emphasizes and focuses approaches that help ensure that today's management decisions and actions will be the basis for tomorrow's prosperity
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2019
Encyclopedia of Sustainable Technologies by
Encyclopedia of Sustainable Technologies provides an authoritative assessment of the sustainable technologies that are currently available or in development. Sustainable technology includes the scientific understanding, development and application of a wide range of technologies and processes and their environmental implications. Systems and lifecycle analyses of energy systems, environmental management, agriculture, manufacturing and digital technologies provide a comprehensive method for understanding the full sustainability of processes. In addition, the development of clean processes through green chemistry and engineering techniques are also described. The book is the first multi-volume reference work to employ both Life Cycle Analysis (LCA) and Triple Bottom Line (TBL) approaches to assessing the wide range of technologies available and their impact upon the world. Both approaches are long established and widely recognized, playing a key role in the organizing principles of this valuable work. Provides readers with a one-stop guide to the most current research in the field Presents a grounding of the fundamentals of the field of sustainable technologies Written by international leaders in the field, offering comprehensive coverage of the field and a consistent, high-quality scientific standard Includes the Life Cycle Analysis and Triple Bottom Line approaches to help users understand and assess sustainable technologies
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2017
Encyclopedia of Water: Science, Technology, and Society by
A peer reviewed, comprehensive encyclopedia that reflects the current state of water science and engineering from multidisciplinary global viewpoints Water quantity and quality are becoming increasingly urgent environmental issues. To meet the growing water demands of our expanding global population, professionals are turning to nontraditional sources and technologies. This expansive, multidisciplinary reference work contains hundreds of articles that reflect the many substantial changes that have occurred in the field of water science. Topics include the hydrologic cycle, nanomaterials and colloids, ecology and microbiology, oceans and coastal processes, ice and glaciers, climate change and sustainability, societal considerations, water and health, and more. This comprehensive work features standalone, authoritative, verifiable, carefully edited, well organized, and accessible content. Written and peer-reviewed by experts from around the world, The Encyclopedia of Water: Science, Technology, and Society comes in five volumes that cover: Fundamentals of Water, Chemistry, Particles, and Ecology; Hydrology, Groundwater, and Surface Water; Atmosphere and Precipitation, Ice and Glaciers, Oceans and Costs, Soils and Mineral-Water Interface; Water Technology; and Human Dimension. The Encyclopedia: Offers a multidisciplinary reference work covering water-related topics at the fundamental and applied levels Contains 229 articles on a wide range of subjects, including: Basic Concepts, The Hydrologic Cycle, Water Technology, and Societal Considerations and Special Topics Provides carefully edited articles presenting verifiable information and references Written and reviewed by a team of global experts Encyclopedia of Water is a must-have reference for all hydrologists, environmental chemists and geochemists, environmental engineers, soil scientists, agriculturists, biologists, health scientists, and ecologists, as well as senior undergraduate and postgraduate students and educators in these areas. It is an important resource for all libraries in universities and colleges, industry, research organizations, and government departments.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2020
Encyclopedia of Water Politics and Policy In the United States
The Encyclopedia of Water Politics and Policy in the United States is the most comprehensive reference source available that analyzes water-related issues in America."
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2011
Encyclopedia of Water Science by
Filled with figures, images, and illustrations, Encyclopedia of Water Science, Second Edition provides effective concepts and procedures in environmental water science and engineering. It unveils a wide spectrum of design concepts, methods, and solutions for enhanced performance of water quality, treatment, conservation, and irrigation methods, as well as improved water efficiency in industrial, municipal, and agricultural programs. The second edition also includes greatly enhanced coverage of streams and lakes as well as many regional case studies. An International Team Addresses Important Issues The only source to provide full coverage of current debates in the field, the encyclopedia offers professional expertise on vital issues including: Current laws and regulations Irrigation management Environmental water economics Agroforestry Erosion control Nutrient best management practices Water sanitation Stream and lake morphology and processes Sharpen Your Skills -- Meet Challenges Well-Armed A direct and reliable source for best practices in water handling, preservation, and recovery, the encyclopedia examines challenges in the provision of safe water supplies, guiding environmental professionals as they face a worldwide demand for sanitary and affordable water reserves. Also Available Online This Taylor & Francis encyclopedia is also available through online subscription, offering a variety of extra benefits for researchers, students, and librarians, including: Citation tracking and alerts Active reference linking Saved searches and marked lists HTML and PDF format options Contact Taylor and Francis for more information or to inquire about subscription options and print/online combination packages. US: (Tel) 1.888.318.2367; (E-mail) e-reference@taylorandfrancis.com International: (Tel) +44 (0) 20 7017 6062; (E-mail) online.sales@tandf.co.uk
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2007
Encyclopedia of World Climatology by
Today, given the well-publicized impacts of events such as El Niño, there is an unequaled public awareness of how climate affects the quality of life and environment. Such awareness has created an increasing demand for accurate climatological information. This information is now available in one convenient, accessible source, the Encyclopedia of World Climatology. This comprehensive volume covers all the main subfields of climatology, supplies information on climates in major continental areas, and explains the intricacies of climatic processes. The level of presentation will meet the needs of specialists, university students, and educated laypersons. A successor to the 1986 Encyclopedia of Climatology, this compendium provides a clear explanation of current knowledge and research directions in modern climatology. This new encyclopedia emphasizes climatological developments that have evolved over the past twenty years. It offers more than 200 informative articles prepared by 150 experts on numerous subjects, ranging from standard areas of study to the latest research studies. The relationship between climatology and both physical and social science is fully explored, as is the significance of climate for our future well-being. The information is organized for speedy access. Entries are conveniently arranged in alphabetical order, thoroughly indexed, and cross-referenced. Every entry contains useful citations to additional source materials. The Editor John E. Oliver is Professor Emeritus at Indiana State University. He holds a B.Sc. from London University, and a MA and Ph.D from Columbia University. He taught at Columbia University and then at Indiana State where he was formerly Chair of the Geography-Geology Department, and Assoc iate Dean, College of Arts and Sciences. He has written many books and journal articles in Climatology, Applied Climatology and Physical Geography.
Call Number: Reference QC854 .E526 2005 (Print and Electronic)Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of World Environmental History by
While the relationship between man and nature has been a constant feature of the human situation, the human impact on the environment has only recently become a topic of general interest to students, as well as to scholars and professionals in disciplines across the board. This three-volume set, written by a team of international experts, provides not only broad historical coverage on how human beliefs and actions have altered the natural world, but also covers the latest developments in the field. An analysis of natural phenomena and events and their impact on human societies is also included. For a full list of entries, contributors, and more, visit the Encyclopedia of World Environmental History website. Also includes 20 maps.
Call Number: Reference GF10 .E63 2004 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2003
Environmental Encyclopedia by
Provides in-depth, worldwide coverage of environmental issues. Each article is written in a nontechnical style and provides current status, analysis, and suggested solutions whenever possible.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2011
Environmental Engineering Dictionary and Directory by
Like most technical disciplines, environmental science and engineering is becoming increasingly specialized. As industry professionals focus on specific environmental subjects they become less familiar with environmental problems and solutions outside their area of expertise. This situation is compounded by the fact that many environmental science related terms are confusing. Prefixes such as bio-, enviro-, hydra-, and hydro- are used so frequently that it is often hard to tell the words apart. The Environmental Engineering Dictionary and Directory gives you a complete list of brand terms, brand names, and trademarks - right at your fingertips.
Call Number: TD9 .P36 2001 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2000
Environment at a Glance 2020, OECD Indicators by
Environment at a Glance 2015 updates key environmental indicators and relevant socio-economic and sectoral indicators to track OECD country progress on major environmental issues and inform policy development and evaluation. This year's edition includes increased coverage of environmentally related taxation, ODA and R&D expenditure.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2020
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences by
Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes. Provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields Discusses history, current trends and future directions Topics are cross-referenced with related topics and each article highlights further reading
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2015
Life on Earth by
An examination of nature's extraordinary biological diversity and the human activities that threaten it. Life on Earth: An Encyclopedia of Biodiversity, Ecology, and Evolution tackles the critical issue for humanity in the 21st century--our ever more menacing impact on the environment. This two-volume, illustrated set, edited by American Museum of Natural History curator Niles Eldredge, begins with biodiversity, the complex planetary web of life that has emerged through three billion years of evolution. How does it work? And why is its continued health critical to the planet and to ourselves? More than 50 top scholars examine every form of life from amoebae to elephants, from plankton to whales. But Life on Earth is more than a catalog of species. An A-Z survey explores the myriad ways humanity is diminishing that biodiversity, from industrialization to natural habitat destruction, from overpopulation in the developing world to an unsustainable consumer lifestyle in the West. Life on Earth is the essential reference work for anyone curious about our planet's extraordinary diversity of life and the unprecedented threats it faces. 200+ A-Z detailed entries on Earth's ecosystems, major groups of organisms, threats to biodiversity, and academic disciplines related to the study of biodiversity Contributions from 50 recognized authorities from the fields of anthropology, biology, botany, earth science, ecology, evolution, and more 150 photographs of key people, animals, and organisms; line drawings; tables, charts, and graphs including the major families of birds, the effects of agricultural intensity on biodiversity, and the number of years needed to add each billion to the world's population Four major overview essays explaining what biodiversity is, why it is important, how it is threatened, and the Sixth Global Extinction
Call Number: Reference QH541.15.B56 L54 2002 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2002
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Environmental Science by Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2014-
Pollution A to Z by
Provides information on a variety of pollution issues, including sources of pollution; disposal; remediation; and the ethical, social and legal environment, as well as topics such as acid rain, cancer, noise pollution and zero growth population. Also covers careers and biographies of key people.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2003
Water Encyclopedia by
The Water Encyclopedia offers a comprehensive depository of all information relating to the scientific and technological aspects of the world's most important natural resource -- water. The role of water in science, engineering and society requires a one-stop location to find whatever information is available on the cutting edge of the 21st century. This book is a resource for useful public domain data. Its focus is expert narrative on all water-related subjects.
Call Number: Reference TD345 .L393 2005 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2005
The Water Encyclopedia: Hydrologic Data and Internet Resources by
�Just do an Internet search.� �It's on the Internet� These phrases have quickly become a part of the vernacular. The quintessential book of data relating to water, The Water Encyclopedia: Hydrologic Data and Internet Resources, Third Edition arose from the premise that most of the information provided within this publication could be easily
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2007
Wiley StatsRef: Statistics Reference Online by
Wiley StatsRef: Statistics Reference Online is a comprehensive online reference resource which covers the fundamentals and applications of statistics in all fields where it is widely used. This is the most inclusive, authoritative, online reference source available in statistics. Wiley StatsRef is aimed at advanced undergraduates, postgraduates, teachers of statistics, and for experienced researchers entering a new part of the field for the first time. Comprises over 6,000 articles from across the breadth of Wiley's extensive reference resources in statistics - equivalent to over 30 volumes in print Over 30,000 new cross-references and related article links added to greatly enhance the user experience by providing easy access to increased context and background Browse by article or topic Fully searchable Regularly updated with new and revised content New bespoke taxonomy created for a more intuitive and efficient user experience The new structure and article enhancements create a genuinely stand alone, self-contained work covering all aspects of the subject in a single product Articles in Wiley StatsRef have been carefully selected from the following eight products in Wiley's existing online reference work portfolio, with thousands of new cross-references and links to related articles added to hugely enhance discoverability and ease of navigation: Encyclopedia of Actuarial Science Encyclopedia of Biostatistics Encyclopedia of Clinical Trials Encyclopedia of Environmetrics Encyclopedia of Quantitative Risk Analysis and Assessment Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences Encyclopedia of Statistics in Behavioral Science Encyclopedia of Statistics in Quality and Reliability
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2014
The World's Population: An Encyclopedia of Critical Issues, Crises, and Ever-Growing Countries by
This one-volume encyclopedia examines key topics, major world players, and imminent problems pertaining to the world's ever-growing population. According to the United Nations, the population of our planet reached 7 billion people in 2011. What areas of the world have the most people? What measures, if any, are in place to control the population? Why is Europe's population shrinking, while the rest of the world is growing? This eye-opening encyclopedia answers questions like these by examining significant issues and topics relating to the population and exploring profiles of the most populated countries and cities of the world. More than 100 alphabetically arranged entries focus on such topics as census, demography, megacity, overpopulation, and urban sprawl. Author Fred M. Shelley, an accomplished academic in the field of environmental sustainability, reveals the steps taken by major cities such as Rio de Janeiro, Paris, Tokyo, Beijing, Mexico City, Seoul, Manila, and New Delhi in handling their population, and what is being done in China and other countries to prevent overcrowding. The text includes a discussion of how factors like migration patterns, war, and disease impact population change. This comprehensive encyclopedia also includes primary document excerpts from court cases, legislation, and political speeches relating to population issues. Provides interesting facts and figures through informative sidebars Reveals the populations of major countries and cities of the world to illustrate where people reside most and least Features maps, charts, and graphs to support visual learning and to compare and contrast factors affecting birth rates, deaths, and overall population profiles Contains excerpts from documents such as legislation and speeches relating to population and critical issues Examines the implications of China's one-child policy on controlling the population
Call Number: Reference HB871 .S534 2015 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2014
The WSPC Reference of Natural Resources and Environmental Policy in the Era of Global Change by
The WSPC Reference on Natural Resources and Environmental Policy in the Era of Global Change provides a comprehensive and prominent reference of various highly authoritative volumes of long-term scientific value, for milestone concepts and theories. The books in the reference set are edited by leading experts in the fields of: Game Theory, International Relations and Global Politics, Computable General Equilibrium (CGE): Economy-Wide Modeling, and Experimental Economics. Each book in the reference set includes chapters that are laid out by recognized, broadly respected researchers, in fields associated with issues related to natural resources and environmental policy in the era of global change. The reference set focuses on the economic and strategic aspects of interactions among various parts of society, all dependent on the availability and utilization of limited natural resources and their impact on the environment. Policy implications are addressed, including current challenges and future perspectives. The combination of the four books provides a unique perspective on the issues that engage the public discourse of researchers and policy-makers at state, regional, and global levels. Each of the books in the reference set and all four books as a whole provide coverage of disciplines and angles through which the reader can obtain an understanding of the state-of-the-art of dealing with natural resources and environmental policy in the era of global change. The books in the reference set complement each other and provide a scientific understanding of our ability to address the issues covered.
Call Number: Reference HC85 .W77 2017 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2016
