UN BACKGROUND AND HISTORY
- About the United Nations
- Basic Facts About the United Nations [Ref JX 1977 A37 B3]
- Chronology and Fact Book of the United Nations [Ref JX 1977 A1 C48]
- Encyclopedia of the United Nations and International Agreements [Ref JX 1977 O8213 1990]
- Everyone's United Nations [JX 1977 A37 E9 1986]
- Guide to Information at the United Nations [Ref JX 1977 U42 1995]
- Historical Dictionary of the United Nations [Ref JX 1976 B395 1995]
- Who's Who in the United Nations and Related Agencies [Ref JX 1977 W467 1992]
- Yearbook of the United Nations [Ref JX 1977 A37 Y4]
UN Activities
- UN Dispatch -- with Youtube videos!
- Reform the UN - interesting info e.g. security council reform, the responsibility to protect, etc
Background Information On Countries
- Background Notes or for print version: GIC U.S. S1.123:
- Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country Intelligence
- Europa World Year Book............Ref Desk JN 3 E8
- Political Handbook of the World............Ref JF 37 P762
Articles on the UN and World Events
- From the Article Indexes and Databases page (www.library.ucsb.edu/databases)
- Academic Search Premier.
(magazines and journal articles) - Access UN
(current and retrospective United Nations documents and publications.) - Access World News (NewsBank).
(worldwide newspapers) - PAIS (public affairs). 1972-.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. 1975-.
- See also:
- Keesing's Record of World Events. …………………………………….. Ref D 410 K4
- Facts on File. …………………………………………………………… Ref AP 1 F33
- The Times(London)
(online from 1985- via NewsBank) and the New York Times
(online from 1851- via ProQuest), have excellent coverage of UN
activities. Current issues are in the Serials and Newspaper Room, the
rest are on microfilm on the 2nd floor. - Find press releases & other information from foreign governments and embassies via UCSB Library’s web page on Foreign Governments: www.library.ucsb.edu/subj/govt-for.html
UN DOCUMENTS, OFFICIAL RECORDS, RESOLUTIONS, ETC
- The UCSB Library's UN Documents microform collection has UN documents back to 1945. If an item is not full-text in one of the above, jot down it's UN Documents number and find it in the UN microfiche collection.
Meeting Records
Verbatim (PV) or summary (SR) records of meetings are indexed by (and often full-text online in) the above sources. They are also in the United Nations Documents microform collection, filed by document number. Document numbers for meeting records are made up of the following elements:General Assembly: A/session/PV.meeting# [ex.: A/46/PV.79 is the 79th meeting of the 46th session] 1st Committee: A/C.1/session/PV.meeting# 5th Committee: A/C.5/session/SR.meeting# 2nd Committee: A/C.2/session/SR.meeting# 6th Committee: A/C.6/session/SR.meeting# 3rd Committee: A/C.3/session/SR.meeting# General Committee: BUR/session/SR.meeting# 4th Committee: A/C.4/session/SR.meeting# Special Political Committee: /SPC/session/SR.meeting# Security Council: S/PV.meeting# Economic & Social Council: E/year/SR.meeting# Resolutions
Resolutions by topic may be identified using the Documents systems above. Also, see:- recent UN Resolutions.
- Resolutions and Decisions Adopted by the General Assembly. [JX 1977 A1 R47; latest 4 years in Ref]
- General Assembly: A/RES/session/number (A/RES/47/18 is res. 18 of the General Assembly's 46th session.)
- Economic & Social Council: resolutions are published in its Information Series. Use their Index to Proceedings to find the document number (e.g., E/1991/INF/5).
- Security Council: S/RES/# (e.g., S/RES/714)
Voting Records
An unofficial record of the vote on a resolution or decision is included in the press release that comes out after each meeting (see UN NewsCentre for recent press releases). The official vote is included in the meeting record of the meeting in which it was passed (see meeting records above). Many votes are not recorded, while for others only summary information is given (i.e., vote totals, but not by country). The easiest method to find voting records may be to use UNBISNet online:
- UNBISNet Voting Record
- Voting Records on adopted resolutions are available for the General Assembly (38th session-, 1983-) and Security Council (1st year, 1946, onward).
UN, Other Major Programs
(see UN System for full list)
- United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF)
- United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD)
- United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)
- United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)
- United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR)
- United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA)
- World Food Programme (WFP)
Autonomous Organizations with Agreements with UN, see: below.
UN Specialized Agencies
(autonomous
organizations with cooperative agreements with UN):
(Davidson Library owns various publications from the below)
- FAO (Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN)
- IAEA (International Atomic Energy Agency)
- ICAO (International Civil Aviation Organization)
- IFAD (International Fund for Agricultural Development)
-
ILO (International Labour Organization)
-- Statistics - IMO (International Maritime Organization)
-
IMF (International Monetary Fund)
-- International Financial Statistics Online
- ITU (International Telecommunication Union)
-
UNESCO (UN Educational, Scientific and
Cultural Organization)
-- Statistics - UNIDO (UN Industrial Development Organization)
- UPU (Universal Postal Union)
-
World Bank group
-- World Development Indicators
- WHO (World Health Organization)
- WIPO (World Intellectual Property Organization)
- WMO (World Meteorological Organization)
Questions? |
Angela BoydDavidson Library, Room 2523D
University of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805) 893-5086 (tel)
(805) 893- (fax)
Subjects:
Psychology & Web Services
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait