Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Book Reviews (Humanities) 

Last update: Nov 08th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.ucsb.edu/bookreviews  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Finding Reviews in Journals             Print Page
  
 

Print Indexes

American Book Reviews
    Ref Z1035 A1 A43

Black Literature Criticism
    Ref PS 153 N5 B556
 
Book Review Index
    Ref Index Area Z1219 B66
British Humanities Index
    Ref A13 B72
 
Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Scholarly Journals, 1886-1974
    Good for reviews written in the mid to early 20th century.  Arranged by author and title
    Ref Z1035 A1 V64
Cambridge Guide to Literature in English
    Ref PR 85 C29 1992
Cumulative Book Review Digest
    Ref Z1219 B65

Gale Literary Criticism Series
    Ref PN761 N56 - PN771 C59
Readers Guide to Periodical Literature  1900-1994
Main Ref  A13 R4

print indexes

  • American Book Reviews  
    Ref Z1035 A1 A45
  • Black Literature Criticism  
    Ref Ps 153 N5 B556
  • Book Review Index  
    Ref Z1218
    9 B66
 
 

Online Indexes

Click the UC e-Links link to find the full text of the review, either online or in print on the library shelves. If the library does not have access to the article you need, you can request that it be sent to you through Interlibrary Loan.

 

 Academic Search Complete 1984 - present
Covers academic  journals, popular magazines, and other publications. From the Advanced Search page, choose "Book Reviews" from the Document Type menu in the lower right half of the page. Enter your keywords in the text box (e.g. "mortenson three cups of tea").
 
Alternative Press Index 1991 - present
Full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines, and academic journals of the alternative, radical and independent press. From the Advanced Search screen, use the dropdown menu for Article Type Phrase and choose "book reviews". For reviews before 1991 see Alternative Press Index Archive, below.
 
Alternative Press Index Archive 1969 - 1990
Search as for API, above.
 
America: History and Life
Citations to articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Choose "Book Reviews" from the Document Type box in the lower right corner.

American Periodicals Series Online 1741 1900 (approximate)
Digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from 1740 to 1900. Use the advanced search. In the first box, select "Article Type" and then enter review. In the second box, enter the author's last name and title of the book.

 
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) 1920 - present
 From the Search: Criticism and Reference screen, click the "Reviews" box at the bottom of the screen.


Arts and Humanities Citation Index 1975 - present
In the first text box, choose Document Type, then Book Review. In the second text box, type your book title.


Biography Resource Center
Enter the author's name in the Search by Name box, then click the tab marked "magazines and news".

C19: The Nineteenth Century Index 1799-1901
A compiliation of indexes, including Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index, and Periodicals Index Online .

Contemporary Women's Issues 1992 - present
Covers the publications of world organizations.  Includes reviews of feminist scholarship in literature and the arts. Choose Book Review from the drop-down menu next to Article Type.


Ethnic NewsWatch dates vary; roughly 1975 - present
Index to publications of the ethnic, minority and native press. Use the Advanced Search and choose Document Type from the first dropdown menu. Then click the Look Up Document Types link (to the right) and select book review.

 
Global Books in Print
A useful source for locating information about older, new, and forthcoming books.


Guide to Critical Reviews of United States Fiction 1870 - 1910
Main Ref PS374 US E35 1971

 
Historical Abstracts 1967 - present
          Click "Book Reviews" from the Document Type box in the lower right corner.

Index to Book Reviews in England 1749 - 1774 and  1775-1800
An index to reviews of poetry, fiction and drama from the major review journals and magazines of the period.
Main Ref Index Area Z 1035 A1 F67 1990

 
 
Index to Book Reviews in the Humanities
Main Ref Index Area Z1219 I5

 
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance 1843 - present
Iter contains approximately 135,000 records from scholarly journals pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance. Click the icon marked "Search a Database (Subscribers Only)", then choose "Iter Bibliography" from the next page. Go to the Advanced Search page, enter your book title in the "any field" text box at the top of the screen, then choose "review" from the dropdown menu at the bottom of the screen.


The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
The online version of Johns Hopkins' Guide to Literary Theory, edited by Michael Groden and Martin Kreiswirth.


JSTOR dates vary
An archive (not an index) of major scholarly journals across the humanities and social sciences. All issues of JSTOR journals up to 2-5 years ago have been digitized; the most recent year available for any particular journal varies. From the Advanced screen, click the review box.


 
LION: Literature Online dates vary
A comprehensive literature database that includes ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature) and over 228 full-text journals, as well as reference works and full-text poetry. The default ‘quick search’ is the easiest way to start. For biographical information, click the yellow ‘author index’ link in the left margin.


Literature Resource Center dates vary
LRC is a huge database of literary biographies, bibliographies, reviews, and critical analyses from every age and literary discipline. Currently there is no option to limit your search to book reviews, so the best work-around is to go to the Advanced search screen and type "book review" (no quotation marks) in the first text box, and change the dropdown menu to Keyword. In the next text box type your book title and change the dropdown menu to keyword. Finally, in the dropdown menu at lower right, change database to "Full-text Journals.

 
Medieval Feminist Index 1994 - present
Index to journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality and gender during the Middle Ages. In English, French, German and Spanish. From the Advanced Search, type "book review" in the text box next to Article Type, then enter your book title or author in the appropriate box.


MLA International Bibliography 1981 - present
Although the MLA International Bibliography does not include book reviews, it is a valuable resource for literary research and criticism.


19th Century Masterfile 1800 - early 1900s
A collection of databases indexing various forms of literature and government documents. Includes full text links to Harper's Magazine, Atlantic Monthly, and North American Review.


Periodicals Archive Online 1665 - 1995
Full-text version of Periodicals Index Online (below).


Periodicals Index Online 1665 - 1995
An index of nearly 5,000 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995, some full text. The scope is international. Many (but not all) have book reviews. From the "Article Search" screen, type your book's title into the keyword box and click the Book Reviews option on the right.


Project MUSE Journals dates vary
Full-text access to hundreds of university press journals. From the left margin, choose Reviews Only in the "Type of Content" section..


Reader's Guide Retrospective 1890 - 1982
The electronic version of the Readers Guide to Periodical Literature indexes the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States. Enter your book title into the first text box, then limit to Book Review from the Document Type menu at bottom of page.

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageJane Faulkner
Contact Info:
Davidson Library, Room 2561 B
University of California
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
805.893.5380
Send Email

Subjects:
English, French

 

Copyright © 2008 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
Davidson Library (805) 893-2478 • Arts Library (805) 893-2850 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies
Description

  Loading content... please wait