Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Career and Job Information 

Last update: Sep 03rd, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.ucsb.edu/careers  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Career Identification             Print Page
  
 

Career identification resources

Descriptions, forecasts, and other information about specific careers.

Occupational Outlook Handbook
Career guidance, information about prospective changes in the world of work, and the qualifications that will be needed by tomorrow's workers. For about 250 occupations, OOH describes the nature of work, job outlook, training/qualifications required, and earnings, and lists related occupations and sources of additional information.

Occupational Projections and Training Data
Statistical and research supplement to the Occupational Outlook Handbook; presents detailed, comprehensive statistics used in preparing the Handbook.

Occupational & Career Information from the California Employment Development Department
Select California Occupational Guides for in-depth statewide reports on approximately 300 occupations.

Career Guides
via JobStar
General employment outlooks and guides to specific careers from a variety of sources.

Salary Information
via JobStar.
Descriptions of and links to over 200 salary surveys or summaries.

UCSB's Career Services
Advisors and peers at C&CS assist students in exploring the nearly infinite job titles in the world of work. The Career Resources Room contains hundreds of career exploration resources. Learn how to figure out a major, research careers or find jobs.
 

In the Library : Finding books

Davidson Library has additional information on careers and salaries; selected resources listed here:

America's Top 300 Jobs: A Complete Career Handbook
a netLibrary e-book
The American Almanac of Jobs and Salaries
Reference HD 8038 U5 A43 2000/2001
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance
Reference Index Table HF 5381 .E52 2005
Job Hunter's Sourcebook
Reference Index Table HF 5382.75 .U6 J63
Peterson's Hidden Job Market
Reference Index Table HF 5382.75 .U6 H52
Plunkett's Employers' Internet Sites With Careers Information, 2002-2003: The Only Guide to America's Hottest Corporate Internet Sites for Job Seekers
a netLibrary e-book
Quick Guide to College Majors and Careers
a netLibrary e-book

Use the UCSB Library Catalog to find other books, using the Keyword search:

environmental sciences vocational guidance
engineering vocational guidance
counseling vocational guidance
music vocational guidance
teaching vocational guidance
forest service vocational guidance
 

In the Library : Finding articles

Use Expanded Academic ASAP and Business Source Complete to look for articles relating to industries, career development, job descriptions, etc.

Current UCSB students, faculty and staff: click here: Off-Campus Access to Research Databases for information on access to our databases and electronic texts from off-campus.

Examples on Expanded Academic ASAP:
statisticians and vocational guidance
environmental and vocational guidance
chemists and employment
job vacancies and forecasts
or, search by journal(s) occupational outlook quarterly
for full-text articles in the journal Occupational Outlook Quarterly

Examples on Business Source Complete:
SO Publication Name: occupational outlook quarterly
for full-text articles in the journal Occupational Outlook Quarterly
Default Fields: wages and legal assistant*
assistant* retrieves assistant and assistants
SU Subject Terms: job vacancies or supply and demand and Default Fields: programmers
SU Subject Terms: job vacancies and Default Fields: trends
Default Fields: job* and description* and accountants
Default Fields: job* and satisfaction and teachers
 

Questions?

Profile ImageJanet Martorana
Contact Info:
Davidson Library, Rm 2523 A3
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
805-893-8724
Send Email

Subjects:
Environmental Sciences, Local Area Government Publications, and California State Government Publications

Subject Guide

Profile ImageYen Tran
Contact Info:
Davidson Library, Room 2530
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
805.893.2689
Send Email

Subjects:
Reference, English

 

Copyright © 2008 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
Davidson Library (805) 893-2478 • Arts Library (805) 893-2850 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies
Description

  Loading content... please wait