Internet CollectionsLibrary Collections
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Declassified Documents  Tags: congress government_agencies government_information united_states declassified_documents foia  

A guide to locating declassified documents at Davidson Library.
Last update: Aug 12th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.ucsb.edu/declassified  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Internet Collections             Print Page
  
 

Off-campus?

Before searching, log into the proxy server and return here.

Items marked UCSB only are available only to UCSB students, faculty, and staff from off campus.

 

Ask a Librarian

 
 

Internet Collections

Declassified Documents Reference Service (DDRS): UCSB only
DDRS is a collection of declassified material from presidential libraries. The libraries receive declassified documents from various government agencies: the White House, the CIA, the FBI, the State Department and others. As researchers have visited the libraries and requested documents, the libraries have copied them and sent them to DDRS for scanning, creating a collection of more that 75,000 documents. The database ranges from the years immediately following World War II, when declassified documents were first made widely available, through the 1970's. Nearly every major foreign and domestic event of these years is covered: the Cold War, Vietnam, foreign policy shifts, the civil rights movement and others. The documents range in size and scope from telegrams, correspondence and unevaluated field reports to lengthy background studies and detailed minutes of cabinet level meetings.

Because of the method by which the materials have been selected, the collection isn't considered comprehensive, and researchers should use this tool in addition to others available.

National Security Archive via George Washington University:
Selected declassified documents are available from this website, and some publications may be identified by searching Pegasus and Melvyl by title.

 

Presidential Libraries

The documents made available through the Declassified Documents Reference Service (DDRS) are filmed from the holdings of Presidential libraries. However, not all the documents held at the Libraries have been scanned for inclusion in DDRS.

The Presidential Library system is made up of twelve Presidential Libraries, which are part of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA). These are repositories for preserving and making available the papers, records, and other historical materials of U.S. Presidents since Herbert Hoover. While Presidents who have held office more recently often have more information available on their web sites, some of the Presidential Libraries have scanned in documents (e.g. the Eisenhower Library documents on the U-2 Spy Plane Incident).

The homepage for the Presidential Libraries provides links to each of the libraries. Each of the web pages provides finding aids and material on the Presidents. The "About the Presidential Libraries System" provides background on the scope of the collections, and how these libraries came into being.

 

Librarian

Profile ImageChris Granatino
Contact Info:
Davidson Library, Room 2523
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805)893-6073
Send Email

Subjects:
Government Information

 

Copyright © 2008 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
Davidson Library (805) 893-2478 • Arts Library (805) 893-2850 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies
Description

  Loading content... please wait